DETAILED ACTION
Claim Objections
Claim 1 is objected to because of the following informalities: “layer disposed” in line 7 is missing a verb, i.e., it should be corrected as “layer is disposed”.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 3, 5-6, 9-10, 13 and 18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by KR 10-2015-0120025 A to Kang et al. (See attached machine-generated English-language translation).
Regarding claim 1, Kang et al. discloses an QDLED having the configuration of anode/HIL/HTL/EML/ETL/EIL/cathode, wherein the HIL comprises graphene, the HTL comprises a p-type nanomaterial such as nickel oxide, the EML comprises a quantum dot, and the ETL and the EIL comprise ZnO nanoparticles (p. 3). Claim 1 is therefore unpatentable. So are claims 5-6, 9-10, 13 and 18. The anode may be made of ITO (p. 3) and the cathode is made of a material having a low work function and good internal reflectivity (p. 3), such as Al (p. 4). Claim 3 is therefore anticipated.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 19-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over KR 10-2015-0120025 A to Kang et al.
Kang et al., discussed above, fails to disclose an electronic apparatus comprising the QDLED. Nevertheless, as the use of LEDs, including QDLEDs, in displays such as television sets, computer monitors and smartphones is well established in the art, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art at the time the instant invention was filed to use the QDLED in such displays without expecting any difficulty or negative consequences. Note that said displays all have the features of claim 20.
Claims 2, 4, 7-8 and 11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over KR 10-2015-0120025 A to Kang et al. in view of US 2019/0280230 A1 to Seo et al.
Kang et al., discusses above, fails to provide more examples of the low-work-function metals for the cathode, or disclose a thickness of the HIL, or suggest a HTL comprising organic hole-transporting material (in addition to p-type nanomaterials), or suggest an ETL comprising a phosphine oxide. On the other hand, Seo et al. discloses an QDLED wherein the cathode is made of a low-work-function metal. At least one of the anode and cathode is a light-transmitting electrode. When the cathode is non-transmitting, it can be a reflective metal such as Al. When it is light-transmitting, it can be ITO, IZO or the like ([0044-0045]). The HTL can be made of a metal oxide such as NiO or WO3 or MoO3, or a combination thereof with an organic hole-transporting material such as fluorene or a derivative thereof or poly(9,9-dioctylfluorene-co-N-(4-butylphenyl)-diphenylamine) [0080]. The ETL may include ZnO or a phosphine oxide [0089]. In the examples (see [0096]), the HIL has a thickness of 25 nm and the ETL comprises a phosphine oxide. Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art at the time the instant invention was filed to modify the LED disclosed by Kang et al. by (1) giving the HIL a thickness of about 25 nm, (2) using, as the material for the cathode, a transparent metal oxide such as ITO or IZO when the device is designed to have light output through the cathode, (3) using, as the material for the HTL, a metal oxide such as NiO, alone or in combination with a small organic hole-transporting molecule such as 9,9-dimethylfluorene or 9,9-diphenylfluorene, or a hole-transporting polymer such as poly(9,9-dioctylfluorene-co-N-(4-butylphenyl)-diphenylamine), and (4) using, as the material for the ETL, ZnO, alone or in combination with an organic electron-transporting molecule such as a phosphine oxide, and expect a favorable outcome. Note that the common fluorene derivatives 9,9-dimethylfluorene and 9,9-diphenylfluorene read on claim 7, and the polymer poly(9,9-dioctylfluorene-co-N-(4-butylphenyl)-diphenylamine) reads on claim 8.
Claims 15-17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over KR 10-2015-0120025 A to Kang et al. in view of US 2019/0321204 A1 to Cho et al.
Kang et al. fails to teach the diazide of claim 15. However, Cho et al. discloses a QDLED comprising an EML fabricated from a composition comprising light-emitting quantum dots and photocrosslinkable diazides, wherein the diazides are similar to the claimed azides (see Fig. 3A) and the solution-based fabrication technique lowers the cost and complexity of the LED-manufacturing process (Abstract, [0005], [0006]). Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art at the time the instant invention was filed to modify the LED disclosed by Kang et al. by using the fabrication technique recommended by Cho et al. in or order to lower the manufacturing costs.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 12 and 14 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter: The phosphine oxides of claim 12 are not suggested by Seo et al. and there is not an obvious reason for a POSITA to employ the material of claim 14 in the ETL of the device disclosed by Kang et al.
Other Prior Art of Record
The device of claim 1 is also disclosed by US 2020/0373512 A1 to Liang et al.
Contact Information
/VU A NGUYEN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1762