The restriction of 6/10/2025 is incorporated here by reference and made final. This application has been transferred to the examiner identified below.
Applicant’s election of group I (claims 1-12) in the reply filed on 8/11/2025 is acknowledged. Because applicant did not distinctly and specifically point out the supposed errors in the restriction requirement, the election has been treated as an election without traverse (MPEP § 818.01(a)).
Claims 13-16 are withdrawn from prosecution.
The subject matter of this application admits of illustration by a drawing to facilitate understanding of the invention. Applicant is required to furnish a drawing under 37 CFR 1.81(c). No new matter may be introduced in the required drawing. Each drawing sheet submitted after the filing date of an application must be labeled in the top margin as either “Replacement Sheet” or “New Sheet” pursuant to 37 CFR 1.121(d).
New drawings 3a and 3b are required. The lines pointing to the layers/elements of the claims are too light and in some instances (22,30) appear to refer to the same layer. Also at least layer (40) is not shown in the claims.
Claim 9 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
In claim 9, “the second radiation” lacks antecedent basis
Claims 1,5-8 and 10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being fully anticipated by Fischer DE 10050553.
Fischer DE 10050553 (machine translation attached) illustrates in figure 1, a carrier (9), an adhesive layer (8), a plastic layer (14) a color forming layer (7), an adhesive/insulating layer (13), a silver-white metallized ablatable aluminum layer formed by vapor deposition, a translucent plastic film (6), a translucent adhesive/insulating layer (12), an ablatable black metalized layer (4) and a transparent protective layer (1). A YAG laser (1064 nm) is used to selectively ablate the layers. The portions where only the black layer has been removed/ablated (10a,10b) is white, the positions where both the black and silver-white layer have been removed (11a,11b) have the color of the color forming contrast layer (7) and the remainder of the image is black. If the film laminate was first cut or punched into individual labels, plaques, signs, etc., these labels, plaques, signs, etc. can be detached individually from the carrier material 9 and can simply be stuck onto a wide variety of objects [0024-0026].
The ablatable layers can be metal, but one of the layers can be a (stoichiometric) metal oxide, non-stoichiometric metal oxide or a combination of metal and metal oxides [0009-0010]. At least one of the ablatable layers is preferably predominantly metallic. You can then, for example, translucent, d. H. largely for the laser beam permeable films sputtered or evaporated [0008]
The portion of the examiner is that the YAG laser (IR, 1064 nm fundamental wavelength) marking the silvery-white layer (5), which is made of aluminum meets the claims. The color formation layer also acts as a filter. While claims 7 and 8 introduce a “second radiation” , a step using it in an exposure is not recited, so this is merely descriptive of the function of the color filter due to its selective absorption.
The examiner notes that particles of many oxides, such as silica, titania and the like, are white, but thin coating of these materials are generally appreciated as colorless or transparent in the visible rather than white. Glass including window glass is primarily silica.
Claims 1,2 and 5-10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Fischer DE 10050553.
Fischer DE 10050553 does not exemplify a process bounded by the claims where the layer (5) is a thin layer containing a metal oxide.
It would have been obvious to one skilled in the art to modify the process exemplified using the laser markable structure where the aluminum layer is replaced by a layer of a metal oxide or a combination or a aluminum and a metal oxide with a reasonable expectation of forming a useful marked structure based upon the disclosed at [0009-0010].
Claims 1,2,4-8, and 10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lazzari 20130341900, in view of Fischer DE 10050553 and DeHeij et al. EP 1607235.
Lazzari 20130341900 teaches with respect to figure 3, the cross-section of an identity card (30), which has a transparent polymer carbonate body (11) coated with anticounterfeiting systems/layers (4). On the top side on opening in layer (4) is printed with a color image (RGB, 3) and a overcoating (2) with carbonized areas (7). The lower anticounterfeit layer (4) is perforated with small holes (23) which are 5-500 microns in diameter and distributed evenly to allow backlighting of the color image [0025-0029].
DeHeij et al. EP 1607235 teaches with respect to the figures, the use of a laser to form microperforated areas (3) corresponding to a portion of a water mark image (1) [0027-0029]. The use of these on ID cards, passports and banknotes is disclosed [0023].
Lazzari 20130341900 does not describe the perforated layer as a white or metal oxide layer perforated by s laser.
It would have been obvious top one skilled in the art to modify the process of fabricating the identity card of Lazzari 20130341900 by forming the layer(s) (4) to be perforated of silvery white aluminum or an oxide as taught by Fischer DE 10050553 and to use a laser to form the 5-500 micron holes as taught by Fischer DE 10050553 and DeHeij et al. EP 1607235 with a reasonable expectation of forming a useful identity card, noting that the laser marking of the card to form the carbonized areas (7) is taught in Lazzari 20130341900. Thew position of the examiner is that the colored areas (RGB) meet the filter limitations of claim 7. The layers (4) are formed across the entire width/length of the card. Further. It would have been obvious to form the holes/perforations in any arrangement associated with a photograph/portrait based upon the teachings of DeHeij et al. EP 1607235
Claims 1,2,4-8 and 11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lazzari 20130341900, in view of Fischer DE 10050553 and DeHeij et al. EP 1607235, further in view of Syrjanen et al., 20210053382.
Syrjanen et al., 20210053382 teaches with respect to figures 1B and 2, an identification document (20) which includes a (positive) portrait (21), which is laser engraved on the top of the identification document and a window (22) which is obtained by laser ablating/burning an outline/negative of the portrait (21) [0008]. In the embodiment of FIG. 2, the OVI patch 131 is laminated between two transparent layers 101 and 102. In such an embodiment, the laminated OVI patch 132 comprises a first side S1 and a second side S2. The first side S1 is for example the side the nearest from the overtop of the body 150, the second side S2 being the opposite side of the laminated OVI patch 132 i.e. the side the nearest from the bottom surface of the body 150. In this embodiment, a third visual marking may be engraving by a third laser beam on the second side S2, as shown by the arrow 200b. Indeed, since only the surface of the first side S1 of the laminated OVI patch 132 is engraved for forming the second visual marking 130, the second side S2 of said laminated OVI patch 132 may be also engraved without generating any interaction with the second visual marking [0055]. OVI is an optically variable ink. A cross-sectional view of a body 150 is represented on FIG. 2. This cross-sectional view is showing several transparent layers 101-105—for example transparent polycarbonate (PC) layers—shared over and under each opaque layer 111-112—for example opaque polycarbonate (PC) layer. Openings 121, 122 provided in each of the opaque layers 111,112 and superposed one with the other are constituting a window 120. The window 120 is a see-through portion in the body 150 wherein only transparent layers cross over the openings 121, 122 [0046]
The combination of Lazzari 20130341900, Fischer DE 10050553 and DeHeij et al. EP 1607235 does not teach the provision of a white tinted substate with a window surrounding the area to be laser ablated/perforated.
It would have been obvious to one skilled in the art to modify the laser marking processes rendered obvious by the combination of Lazzari 20130341900, Fischer DE 10050553 and DeHeij et al. EP 1607235 by adding opaque white substrates with windows delineating the laser marking regions as is known form figures 1B and 2 of Syrjanen et al., 20210053382 with a reasonable expectation of forming a useful ID card.
Claims 1,2 and 4-10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lazzari 20130341900, in view of Fischer DE 10050553 and DeHeij et al. EP 1607235, further in view of Bergmann et al. 6179338.
Bergmann et al. 6179338 teaches a card including a transparent layer containing additives which are absorbent for a laser beam (abstract, 1/11-16). In the prior art cited, DE-C 31 51 407 discloses for example an identity card wherein a plastic layer is provided in the card as a recording medium which appears completely transparent when viewed normally but absorbs the light of a laser beam so strongly that the laser beam causes blackening in the film. Pictures or data can thus be incorporated in the basically transparent layers in tamper-resistant fashion in the last processing step. The film suitable for laser inscription can be used either as a cover layer over the so-called card inlay or together with other transparent cover films which also appear transparent for the laser pencil (1/31-40). The film is sensitized for laser radiation by special additives which are incorporated in the basically transparent film in a concentration that impairs the transparency of the film as little as possible but provides sufficient absorption centers for the laser energy where discoloration of the film material or the material transformation can begin (2/27-33). The example adds 200 ppm of carbon black (5/60-67). The addition of sensitizing substances is disclosed (5/40). The sensitization is further discussed in EP 232502 and EP 190997 (2/48-56).
The combination of Lazzari 20130341900, Fischer DE 10050553 and DeHeij et al. EP 1607235 does not teach the addition of sensitizers to the transparent layer, which is carbonized.
It would have been obvious to one skilled in the art to modify the laser marking processes rendered obvious by the combination of Lazzari 20130341900, Fischer DE 10050553 and DeHeij et al. EP 1607235 by adding sensitizers, such as a low concentration of carbon black as taught by Bergmann et al. 6179338, to the transparent layer which is to be selectively carbonized by the laser to increase the sensitivity of the layer to carbonization by laser exposure with a reasonable expectation of success in forming a laser marks identification card.
Claims 1-8 and 10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lazzari 20130341900, in view of Fischer DE 10050553 and DeHeij et al. EP 1607235, further in view of Heim 20050127663.
Heim 20050127663 teaches that different vapor deposition methods are suitable for the production of the layers. One methodic group is formed by physical vapor deposition (PVD) with evaporation boat, vapor deposition by resistance heating, vapor deposition by induction heating or also electron-beam vapor deposition, sputtering (DC or AC) and electric-arc vapor deposition. Furthermore, the vapor deposition can also be effected by chemical vapor deposition (CVD) as e.g. sputtering in reactive plasma or any other plasma activated vapor deposition method. In principle, there is also the possibility that dielectric layers are printed on [0023].
The combination of Lazzari 20130341900, Fischer DE 10050553 and DeHeij et al. EP 1607235 does not teach the use of plasma enhanced CVD deposition techniques.
It would have been obvious to one skilled in the art to modify the laser marking processes rendered obvious by the combination of Lazzari 20130341900, Fischer DE 10050553 and DeHeij et al. EP 1607235 by using techniques known in the security/identification document arts such as the plasma based CVD of Heim 20050127663 with a reasonable expectation of success in forming a useful marked card.
Claims 1-11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lazzari 20130341900, in view of Fischer DE 10050553, DeHeij et al. EP 1607235 and Bergmann et al. 6179338, further in view of Heim 20050127663 and/or Syrjanen et al., 20210053382
The combination of Lazzari 20130341900, Fischer DE 10050553, DeHeij et al. EP 1607235 and Bergmann et al. 6179338 does not teach the use of plasma enhanced CVD deposition techniques or the provision of a white tinted substate with a window surrounding the area to be laser ablated/perforated.
It would have been obvious to one skilled in the art to modify the laser marking processes rendered obvious by the combination of Lazzari 20130341900, Fischer DE 10050553 and DeHeij et al. EP 1607235 and Bergmann et al. 6179338 by using techniques known in the security/identification document arts such as the plasma based CVD of Heim 20050127663 and/or adding opaque white substrates with windows delineating the laser marking regions as is known form figures 1B and 2 of Syrjanen et al., 20210053382 with a reasonable expectation of forming a useful ID card.
Claims 1,2 and 4-10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lazzari 20130341900, in view of Fischer DE 10050553, DeHeij et al. EP 1607235 and Bergmann et al. 6179338, further in view of O’Boyle et al. 20130082458 and Watabe et al. JP 2007304377
O’Boyle et al. 20130082458 teaches holograms or optically variable devices for use in identification or transaction cards, passports, and other objects [0002]. The present invention produces a highly secure OVD device highly suitable for ID cards, financial cards, high value documents or labels combining a partial see-through OVD with laser engraved identifier [0036]. Holograms are often used to protect personalized data on identity documents. HRI holograms are not inherently highly secure due to the fact that they can be produced by a large number of companies worldwide. Demetalized holograms are considered much more secure as there are fewer companies able to produce them. However when a demetalized hologram is used in conjunction with an identity document that is personalized with laser engraving, this personalization process ablates the remaining aluminum, thereby destroying the visual holographic effect [0063]. A reflection-enhancing coating is then applied on top of the diffractive structure. In one embodiment, the reflection-enhancing coating is a metal coating 300 shown in FIG. 3A. Aluminum is the most commonly used material for the reflective coating 300. Other metals, such as Chrome, Gold, or Silver, may be used as well. In another embodiment, the reflection-enhancing coating includes a material with a high refractive index (HRI) 310 (FIG. 3B), such as ZnS, TiO2, ZrO2. In yet another embodiment, both the metal coating 300 and the HRI coating 310 are present on the surface of the diffractive structure. Other embodiments include using a dielectric coating, organic/inorganic reflective pigment, metal flakes and color shifting stacks. Evaporation is the most commonly used method; however, the reflection-enhancing coating may be applied through sputtering, printing, etc [0040]. the overlay is laser-engraved so as to form ablated voids in the metal coating and carbonize the laser engravable polycarbonate under the ablated voids [0010]
Watabe et al. JP 2007304377 (machine translation attached) teaches compounds which are part of holograms which can be laser marked. These can have sizes of 50-700 nm and include inorganic materials such as synthetic or natural mica, talc, kaolin, glass flake silica, titanium dioxide, zinc oxide, tin oxide, zirconium dioxide, chromium oxide, nickel oxide, copper oxide, cobalt oxide, iron oxide, etc. Various metal oxides can be used. Fe-Co, Fe-Ni, Fe-Co-Ni, Co-Ni, Fe-Mn-Zn, Fe-Ni-Zn, Fe-Co-Ni-Cr, Fe-Co-Ni-P, Fe -Various alloy materials mainly composed of Fe, Co, Ni, such as -Co-B, Fe-Co-Cr-B, and Fe-Co-V. These include those added with elements such as Al, Si, Ti, Cr, Mn, Mg, and P for the purpose of imparting or improving various properties. [0062-0066]. The type of laser used for laser marking on the laser marking layer is not particularly limited, but far-infrared laser typified by CO .sub.2 laser, Nd: YAG laser, and near-infrared typified by Nd: YVO laser. Pulse laser, visible light pulse laser, excimer laser, Nd: YAG laser or Nd: YVO laser using third or fourth harmonic UV laser, semiconductor laser, femtosecond laser, picosecond laser, etc. It is done. In particular, the Nd: YAG laser and the Nd: YVO laser have advantages such as high output and high pulse stability. Further, the laser using the third harmonic or the fourth harmonic of the Nd: YAG laser or the Nd: YVO laser has advantages such as high resolution and UV light absorption of the marking material. In addition, an ultrashort pulse laser such as a femtosecond laser or a picosecond laser can break a molecular bond without bringing the material into a high temperature state, and thus writing without heat is possible [0086].
The combination of Lazzari 20130341900, in view of Fischer DE 10050553, DeHeij et al. EP 1607235 and Bergmann et al. 6179338 does not teach marking using a wide range of lasers or laser wavelengths.
It would have been obvious to one skilled in the art to modify the laser marking processes rendered obvious by the combination of Lazzari 20130341900, Fischer DE 10050553 and DeHeij et al. EP 1607235 and Bergmann et al. 6179338 by using far-infrared laser typified by CO .sub.2 laser, Nd: YAG laser, and near-infrared typified by Nd: YVO laser. Pulse laser, visible light pulse laser, excimer laser, Nd: YAG laser or Nd: YVO laser using third or fourth harmonic UV laser, semiconductor laser, femtosecond laser, picosecond laser, etc taught by Watabe et al. JP 2007304377 for laser marking holograms with a reasonable expectation of success based upon the similar processing of coating on holograms in IDs with lasers by O’Boyle et al. 20130082458.
Claims 1,2,5-8 and 10-11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Egli et al. WO2020212289, in view of O’Boyle et al. 20130082458 and Watabe et al. JP 2007304377.
Egli et al. WO2020212289 teaches with respect to figures 1a-1c, transparent cover layers (2,3), opaque areas (6) surrounding the data carrier area. The data carrier layer including processing layers (4zsa,4b) separated by ink (5a). The ink 5a can be an IR absorber. Exposure of 4a and 4b to laser radiation results in ablation forming the openings (41a,41b) (page 10/line 15-11/36)
The first and/or second processing layers preferably comprise one or more metals or metal-compounds, and/or the cover layer and/or the base layer are preferably transparent and preferably made of plastics, particularly preferably made from a polycarbonate or from a polyethylene terephthalate. Metals, metal-compounds or pigments that are ablated or bleached upon irradiation with electromagnetic radiation are conceivable. However, if a security feature such as a colored personalization is desired, a colored metal, metal- compound pigment should be used. For example, conceivable metals can be selected from Al, Cu, Au, Ag, Ti or combinations thereof and conceivable metal- compounds can be selected from TiN, TiCN, CrN, ZrN, TiZrN, ZrCN, TiC, TiCrN, AITiN, TiAIN, diamond like carbon or combinations thereof. Conceivable pigments or colorants are pigments or colorants that are commonly used in the field of the invention, such as the pigments disclosed in EP0327508, W09635585 or WO0136208 (6/7-29). The use of lasers emitting 355 or 1064 is disclosed (8/31-33)
Egli et al. WO2020212289 does not exemplify the use of laser ablatable layers which are whites or the use of metal oxides as laser ablatable materials.
It would have been obvious to one skilled in the art to modify form the embodiments of figure 9 or 6a of Egli et al. WO2020212289 by using silvery-white aluminum, silverly-white titanium or white/colorless metal compound laser ablatable materials based upon the direction to metals and metals compounds in Egli et al. WO2020212289, including the oxides disclosed by O’Boyle et al. 20130082458 and Watabe et al. JP 2007304377 and to mark these using the UV, visible or IR based lasers disclosed by Egli et al. WO2020212289, O’Boyle et al. 20130082458 and Watabe et al. JP 2007304377 with a reasonable expectation of forming a laser marked article based upon their success.
Claims 1,2 and 4-11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Egli et al. WO2020212289, in view of O’Boyle et al. 20130082458 and Watabe et al. JP 2007304377, further in view of Lazzari 20130341900, and Bergmann et al. 617933
The combination of Egli et al. WO2020212289, O’Boyle et al. 20130082458 and Watabe et al. JP 2007304377 does not teach blackening of the transparent layer(s) (2,3) using laser exposure.
In addition to the basis above, it would have been obvious to modify the processes of laser marking rendered obvious by the combination of Egli et al. WO2020212289, O’Boyle et al. 20130082458 and Watabe et al. JP 2007304377 by adding a sensitizer to the transparent layers (2,3) as taught by Bergmann et al. 617933 and laser marking the transparent layers as taught by Lazzari 20130341900, and Bergmann et al. 617933 with a reasonable expectation of success and increasing the information content of the ID card.
Claims 1,2 and 4-11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Egli et al. WO2020212289, in view of O’Boyle et al. 20130082458, Watabe et al. JP 2007304377, Lazzari 20130341900 and Bergmann et al. 617933, further in view of Heim 20050127663
The combination of Egli et al. WO2020212289, O’Boyle et al. 20130082458, Watabe et al. JP 2007304377, Lazzari 20130341900 and Bergmann et al. 617933 does not teach the use of plasma enhanced CVD deposition techniques.
It would have been obvious to one skilled in the art to modify the laser marking processes rendered obvious by the combination of Egli et al. WO2020212289, O’Boyle et al. 20130082458, Watabe et al. JP 2007304377, Lazzari 20130341900 and Bergmann et al. 617933 by using techniques known in the security/identification document arts such as the plasma based CVD of Heim 20050127663 with a reasonable expectation of success in forming a useful marked card.
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Bennett et al. JP 2008080805 (machine translation attached) teaches in example ,m layer A which is PET and silica particles, layer B which is PET and titania and layer A’ which is PET and silica, which is marked using 1064 YAG and 532 nm (frequency doubled YAG) [0086-0093]. Each of the layers will be white.
Takeuchi et al., 4856857 teaches layers for holograms including the dielectrics of tables 1-4, thin metal layers (table 5) and dye and pigments (col. 11/lines 15-54). The holographic effect-enhancing layer comprising the above thin film layer on a hologram-forming layer, when the thin film layer is made of a material of the above (1) to (4), it is possible to use thin film forming means in general such as the vapor deposition method, the sputtering method, the reactive sputtering method, the ion plating method, the electroplating method, etc.; when the thin film layer is made of a material of the above (5), coating methods in general can be used (9/52-61). A hologram on the display portion such as a numerical representation, magnetic recording portion, sealing portion, etc., for preventing forgery of cards or securities, it can hardly be realized for the above reasons (2/6-10). The display portion 5 refers to all which can be seen, which may have either specific meanings or no meaning, and in function as a design, decoration or also intended to convey information. such display portions may include, for example, images such as letters, numerals, symbols, figures, patterns, ground patterns, etc.; instrument reading information such as a barcode, OCR, MICR, bit data, etc.; individual identifying information such as finger prints, face photographs, signs, etc.; discriminating marks such as registered trade marks, etc.; certificate representations such as a seal of a company name, registered seal, etc. The display portion may also be a continuous printed layer provided by solid printing of a desired hue (3/50-63).
Berthe 20240100875 teaches the use of a filter is well-suited to fragile opaque layers with a white appearance, for example thin metal oxide layers, which might be affected, for example perforated by the laser beam at the laserization wavelength [0024]
Martins et al. WO 2023089190 teaches with respect to figure 1a a plurality of layers 10, 12, 13, 14, 16, 18, 19 for forming a plastic substrate 20, illustrated in Figure 1B, in accordance with an embodiment of the present invention. To form the plastic substrate 20, the layers 10, 12, 13, 14, 16, 18, 19 are arranged over one another and subsequently laminated together. The layers 10, 12, 13, 14, 16, 18, 19 may also be formed separately prior to being overlaid upon one another, although some layers, such as layer 19, may be applied to another layer 10, 12, 13, 14, 16, 18 prior to being overlaid upon the other layers 10, 12, 13, 14, 16, 18. They may be overlaid sequentially, but preferably they are mounted on feeding rolls or the like and brought together at substantially the same time as, or just prior to, lamination. Layers 10 ,12,14 and 18 are transparent and layer 29,19 is laser markable layers 25 and 27 can form concealing regions (14/31-17/2).
Useful lasers in the range of 240-11000 nm are disclosed with a preferences for 532 nm (green), and IR (1064, 10600) (7/8-20). The laser markable region can be a metal or a plastic pigmented with a suitable additive such as titanium dioxide, mica, carbon, of oxides (8/30-9/34).
Beach et al. GB 2497378 teaches with respect to figures 1,2, 4 and 5 a document with a portrait image (24) and a second portrait (22) which is within window region (18) surrounded by non-transparent/opaque foil material. The window is formed by ablating non-transparent foil around the portrait and the widow region can include the portrait, and other data such as name, birth date, social security number, signature, address, an account number or the like. The widow region is patterned using a laser and can include microtext which is too small to be viewed with the naked eye or which can be read with the naked eye. The laser power and focal point size can be changed as needed [0029-0038]. The foil being ablated can be a metal or non-metal foil. The overlays (52,54) can be materials suitable for forming a card, such as PVC, polycarbonate or PET. Information can be printed on the card using ink or the like in layers (56,58), and then protective overlayer (60,80,62,82) are coated. These overlayers can also have printing on them [0041-0044,0049]. There can be one or more windows [0046]. A hologram or other (diffractive) optically variable device can be added in the window or elsewhere [0049].
Nijssen et al. 20160176219 teaches the use of a first laser which produces a pattern when used to expose a laser sensitive materials such as an ink [0021]. A second laser, which is at least 10 times more intense can be used to ablate/perforate areas of the second image area (which is a window)[0022-0035]. The document can be a passport and the first image can be a portrait image of the passport holder. The image in the second area (laser perforated) is the same as the first and can include laser engraved digits and/or letters [0058-0060].
Ye et al. CN 115482716 (machine translation attached) illustrates in figures 5 and 6, a card base material (10), a carrier layer (11), a holographic structure layer (12) and plating layer, a temperature resistant fixing layer (12), a laser activation layer (14) and a protective layer (15). The care based can be polycarbonate (PC), polyethylene glycol terephthalate (PET), polyvinyl chloride (PVC), polypropylene (PE), polyurethane (TPU) and copolymers of these polymers. The carrier layer can be etched by a laser and is made of polycarbonate with oxides, carbon black, metal sulfides, mica or metal chlorides added in increase whiteness, promote laser etching, increase text resolution with metal oxides being preferred [0036-0043]. Referring to FIG. 5, on the card holographic anti-fake material surface by means of laser etching to etch the personalized information, the laser etching information is verified, it needs to avoid tampering, the personalized information may include, for example, user portrait, character information and digital number and so on. The suitable laser light source can be CO2 laser, Nd solid laser and IR laser, wavelength range 308-1064 nm specific power and line speed and other parameters can be determined by the application scene, selected to be enough to generate the needed image information. In this embodiment, the black-and-white laser identification 101 obtained by IR laser irradiation is gray-degree change, the color of the anti-fake card of the invention is tampered with the color of the tamper identification 102 presented by the laser activation layer 14 to form a significant difference contrast [0076-0077].
Van den Berg 20100059594 in FIG. 1 shows diagrammatically the front side of an identity document and FIG. 2 shows a cross section of the card shown in FIG. 1 at the position of perforation [0019-0020] The photograph of the bearer is indicated by 2. At the position of 3 a perforation pattern is provided, consisting of holes 5 that imitate diagrammatically the silhouette of said photograph. In the present exemplary embodiment this perforation is made by a laser beam [0025]
Fischer 20040048172 teaches ablatable layers contains metal oxide, whereby also non-stoichiometric metal oxides and mixtures of metals and metal oxides can be contained [0010].
Fuchi et al. JP 2019073031 (machine translation attached) teaches with respect to figures 4a and 4b, a card including a print layer (10), a white layer (312w) a silver layer (312S), a transparent layer (20), an intermediate layer (30), a substrate (40) an intermediate layer (50), a transparent layer (60) where the laser proce4ssing to different depths results in a different color. [0010, 0032-0038].
Hughes 6169266 teaches a substrate with black, cyan, magenta, yellow and white laser ablatable layers. a cover layer (20). is disclosed
Pearson 20220009268 teaches with reference to FIG. 8, a passport 18 in which the passport photograph 11 is fixed, for instance by means of glue, tubular rivets or other manner of attachment, is shown, in accordance with the present disclosure. In addition, as shown with reference to FIG. 8, the perforation pattern 16 representing the relevant image of the passport photograph 11 may be applied adjacent to the passport photograph 11. This allows for a comparison to be made by holding up the relevant page of the passport photograph 11 to a light source. Furthermore, it may also possible to apply the perforation pattern 16 on another page of the passport if a quick visual comparison may be possible. This configuration also makes forgery more difficult since two different pages must be forged. Moreover, images produced in accordance with embodiments of the present disclosure may be enlarged or reduced in size or modified in any other manner.
Egli et al. 20140023838 illustrates a data carrier including a metal layer (5) between transparent sheets (9), which is formed in an area within the core layer (7’) and capped by the lower transparent sheet (8) and the upper transparent sheet (6). Figure 4 is similar, but includes two metal layers (10,11) [0021-0023]. The metalized layer can be aluminum or titanium [0008].
MARTIN J. ANGEBRANNDT
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 1737
/MARTIN J ANGEBRANNDT/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1737 January 28, 2026