DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Response to Arguments
Claim(s) 7 is/are cancelled; claim(s) 14-15 was/were withdrawn.
Claim(s) 1-2, 11 is/are amended.
Applicant’s arguments regarding amendments with respect to the pending claims have been considered but are moot because the arguments based on the amendments do not apply to the current rejection. The amendments in the claims are rejected by previously relied on references below.
Applicant's remaining arguments for claim 1 filed 09/18/2025 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. Applicant argues that Hashizume nor Yamamoto disclose a collision-prevention roller, as amended.
Examiner disagrees, and notes that Hashizume teaches another embodiment where the guide rail can be a guide roller instead (para. [0164]).
Applicant’s amendments with subsequent arguments in support of the amendments, see pp. 6-7, filed 09/18/2025, with respect to claims 2-5, 11, 13 have been fully considered and are persuasive. The 103 rejections of 06/30/2025 have been withdrawn.
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are:
Control unit (control system including integration controller, coil controller, and sensor controller, para. [0057]) in claims 1-13.
Holding mechanism (mechanical hook, electrostatic chuck or the like, para. [0045]) in claims 8-9.
Film deposition source (vapor deposition source, para. [0047]) in claims 12-13.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1, 6, 8-10 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US 20210245974 to Hashizume in view of US 20210188569 to Yamamoto.
Claim 1: Hashizume discloses a transport system comprising: a mover (301 [mover], Fig. 1-2); a stator (201 [stator]); a plurality of magnets (303 [permanent magnets]) provided in one of the mover (301) or the stator and arranged along a first direction (Fig. 2A); a plurality of coils (202 [coils]) provided in one of the mover or the stator (201) that does not have the plurality of magnets (303) and arranged along the first direction so that the plurality of coils face to the plurality of magnets (303, para. [0054]); and
a control unit (3 [control unit], Fig. 3) that moves the mover (301) in the first direction while floating the mover (301) at a height position where magnetic attraction force acting between the plurality of magnets and the plurality of coils balances a gravitational force acting in a second direction crossing the first direction (para. [0050], [0065]).
However Hashizume does not explicitly disclose floating higher than an equilibrium position.
Yet Hashizume teaches the structure components and has six degrees of freedom of movement (para. [0071-0072]) and sensors to detect the various degrees of movement (para. [0071]) which render the apparatus capable of performing as necessary, for the purpose of controlling the conveyance of the mover while controlling the orientation of the mover (para. [0072]).
The courts have held that a claim containing a “recitation with respect to the manner in which a claimed apparatus is intended to be employed does not differentiate the claimed apparatus from a prior art apparatus” if the prior art apparatus teaches all the structural limitations of the claim. MPEP 2114 II.
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the various degrees of movement as taught by Hashizume with motivation to control the conveyance of the mover while controlling the orientation of the mover.
The apparatus of Hashizume does not disclose wherein the mover has a stopper, wherein the stator has a collision-prevention roller that restricts a movable range of the mover in the second direction by contacting the stopper, and wherein, when the stopper and the collision-prevention roller contact each other, the coil and the magnet are separated from each other.
Yamamoto discloses wherein the mover (105 [movable element adapters], Fig. 1) has a stopper (105d [protruding portion]), wherein the stator (210 [stator]) has a collision-prevention member (124 [stopper]) that restricts a movable range of the mover in the second direction by contacting the stopper (105d), and wherein, when the stopper (105d) and the collision-prevention roller (124) contact each other (para. [0054]), the coil (202 [coils]) and the magnet (103 [magnets]) are considered capable to be separated from each other (Fig. 1) for the purpose of restricting a movable range of the levitation state of the moveable element with this configuration (para. [0054]).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the stopper and collision-prevention roller member, with configuration as taught by Yamamoto with motivation to restrict a movable range of the levitation state of the moveable element with this configuration.
The apparatus of Hashizume in view of Yamamoto does not disclose the collision-prevention member is a roller.
Yet Hashizume teaches that the mover can be restricted by a guide roller (204, Fig. 14A-14C) instead of a guide rail (para. [0164]), for the purpose of restricting the mover from moving in the Y-direction and the Z-direction (para. [0164]).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the substitution of the kind of restrictor as a rail or guard member to a roller as taught by Hashizume with motivation to restrict the mover from moving in the Y-direction and the Z-direction.
Claim 6: The apparatus of Hashizume in view of Yamamoto discloses wherein the control unit (3, Fig. 3, Hashizume) is considered capable to change the height position of the one of the first member and the second member, on which the gravitational force acts, according to a position in the first direction (para. [0050]).
Claim 7: (Cancelled).
Claim 8: The apparatus of Hashizume in view of Yamamoto discloses wherein the first member (301, Fig. 1-2, Hashizume) includes: a bottom face (bottom of 301) positioned on an opposite side of the top face (top of 301); and a holding mechanism (“holding mechanism,” para. [0052]) that is provided and configured to hold a workpiece (102 [work]).
Regarding the holding mechanism being held on the bottom face, placement of holding mechanism can be located above or below the first member as an obvious matter of design choice; the courts have held that the mere rearrangement of parts which does not modify the operation of a device is prima facie obvious. MPEP 2144.04 VI (C).
Claim 9: The apparatus of Hashizume in view of Yamamoto discloses wherein the workpiece (102, Fig. 2, Hashizume) includes a substrate (102, para. [0034]).
Claim 10: The apparatus of Hashizume in view of Yamamoto discloses wherein the coil (202, Fig. 2, Hashizume) has a core and a winding wound around the core (para. [0056]).
Claim(s) 12 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hashizume in view of Yamamoto as applied to claims 1, 6, 8-10 above, and further in view of KR 101386685 to Goo.
Claim 12: The apparatus of Hashizume in view of Yamamoto discloses film forming apparatus comprising: the transport system (1 [conveyance apparatus], Fig. 1-2, Hashizume) according to claim 1 that transports a workpiece (102 [work]);
However Hashizume does not disclose and a film deposition source configured to form a film on the workpiece and provided below the transport system.
Goo teaches and a film deposition source (500 [deposition source], Fig. 6) configured to form a film on the workpiece (G [substrate]) and provided below the transport system (20 [carrier], para. [0039]) for the purpose of depositing a thin film using a bottom-up deposition process in which the substrate (G) is positioned at the top and the deposition source (500) is positioned at the bottom.
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the deposition source and configuration as taught by Goo with motivation to deposit a thin film using a bottom-up deposition process in which the substrate is positioned at the top and the deposition source is positioned at the bottom.
Claims 14-15: (Withdrawn).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 11, 13 are allowed.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter:
The prior art of record discloses a transport system comprising: a mover; a stator; a plurality of magnets provided in one of the mover or the stator and arranged along a first direction; a plurality of coils provided in one of the mover or the stator that does not have the plurality of magnets and arranged along the first direction so that the plurality of coils face the plurality of magnets; and a control unit that determines a height position of the mover based on a cogging torque, and moves the mover in the first direction while floating the mover, wherein the control unit determines the height position of the mover based on, as the cogging torque.
However the prior art of record fails to teach or suggest a cogging torque acting in a second direction parallel to the gravitational force, a cogging torque acting in a rotational direction with the first direction as an axis, and a cogging torque acting in a rotational direction with a third direction intersecting the first direction and the second direction as an axis, as set forth in the present claims. The apparatus of Hashizume in view Yamamoto fails to disclose the limitations above. Further, no other prior art was located that fairly suggested the claimed invention in whole or in part, along with the requisite motivation for combination, to anticipate or render the claimed invention obvious. This subject matter is therefore rendered allowable.
Claims 2-5 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten into the independent claim including all of the limitations of the independent claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. US 12139352, US 11851274, US 12015319, discloses a transport system includes: a mover that includes at least one magnetic body; a stator that includes a plurality of coils arranged in a first direction, and a control unit that controls the current applied to the plurality of coils to apply the force to the at least one magnetic body in the first direction, a second direction crossing the first direction, (abstract). US 5156093 discloses a transport system comprising: a first member (51 [supporting plate], Fig. 1-3) including a top face (top of 51) and a plurality of magnets (50 [magnetic units]) arranged on the top face along a first direction (Fig. 2-3); a second member (40 [stator]).
US 11374479, US 11777388 disclose a transport system includes: a mover having a first magnet group arranged in parallel to a first direction and a second magnet group arranged in parallel to a second direction crossing the first direction (abstract, Fig. 2).
US 12301144 discloses a similar invention by same assignee (Fig. 1).
/Charlee J. C. Bennett/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1718