DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
This rejection is withdrawn due to the amendments made to the claims.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 10-14 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Iwamoto (U.S. Pat. No. 10,961,689) in view of Horii (U.S. Pub. No. 2023/0323629).
Regarding claim 10, Iwamoto discloses a tracked vehicle, comprising:
a chassis (fig. 2) extending along a longitudinal direction of the tracked vehicle, wherein the chassis comprises a plurality of frame members (2, 6, 6a-f) extending along the longitudinal direction; an operator cabin (15) coupled to the chassis;
a power unit comprising a prime mover, wherein the power unit is mounted atop the chassis, wherein the power unit is housed within a housing (21, 23, 28, 22); and a pair of track assemblies (shown in fig. 2) coupled to the chassis via the plurality of frame members, wherein each track assembly of the pair of track assemblies comprises an endless track disposed around a plurality of wheels, the plurality of wheels comprising a drive wheel (shown in fig. 1 left side of track) spaced apart from an end wheel (shown in fig. 1 right side of track) and a plurality of support wheels positioned between the drive wheel and the end wheel (shown in fig. 1), wherein:
the housing comprises a plurality of service doors (21, 23, 28, 22) including a cooling system service door each configured to allow access to a respective subset of components of the power unit,
a front section of the housing wherein a front end of the front section has a first height that is less than a second height of a rear end of the front section to form a downsloping angle of the front section, wherein the operator cabin comprises a windshield comprising a front facing aspect and a plurality of lateral facing aspects, and wherein a first lateral facing aspect positioned on the first lateral side of the operator cabin is configured to align with the downsloping angle of the front section of the housing (see figure 1 below).
Figure 1 – Taken from fig. 1 of the Iwamoto citation
Iwamoto does not disclose a refueling service door, a filter service door or that the power unit is extends behind and to a first lateral side of the operator cabin. Although the housing has a lip that extends.
Horii, which deals in tracked vehicles, teaches a refueling service door (43b), a filter service door (115 can be accessed through 43g or 44) or that the power unit is extends behind and to a first lateral side of the operator cabin. (shown in fig. 6).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to have modified Iwamoto with the extension of Horii because this allows for additional access from above (¶215).
Regarding claim 11 which depends from claim 10, Horii discloses wherein the refueling service door is configured to allow access to a first subset of components of the power unit, wherein the first subset comprises a plurality of filler necks for various fluid tanks, wherein the first subset of components is configured to fit within the front section of the housing (19 and 23 is the fuel tank and condenser which are located towards the front of the housing).
Regarding claim 12 which depends from claim 10, Iwamoto discloses the filter service door is included in a rear section of the housing, and the cooling system service door is included in a middle section of the housing, wherein the refueling service door, the filter service door, and the cooling system service door do not overlap (the doors are shown not to overlap and the doors give access to these components).
Horii, as addressed in claim 11 above, teaches wherein the refueling service door is included in the front section of the housing (43b is a refueling door).
Regarding claim 13 which depends from claim 11, Iwamoto discloses wherein the first subset of components of the power unit further comprises a plurality of electrical components, and the front section of the housing comprises a cutout with a recessed portion configured to allow top down access to at least a portion of the first subset of components (the covers do allow access to electrical components).
Regarding claim 14 which depends from claim 10, Iwamoto discloses wherein the filter service door is configured to allow access to a second subset of components of the power unit and the cooling system service door is configured to allow access to a third subset of components, wherein the second subset comprises a plurality of filters and the third subset comprises one or more cooling system components (access is granted with these doors).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claim 1-9, 16-20 are allowed.
The following is an examiner’s statement of reasons for allowance: The claims are drawn to a multi-use construction vehicle with access doors to the various mechanical components. One of those doors has the condenser fixedly attached to the door and so moves with the door when the door is opened.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 12/10/25 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. Applicant argues on page 12 for the downward slope of the front section of the housing. This has been addressed above showing figure 1 which has a front section with a downward slope and lateral windows that conform to the shape.
Conclusion
GONZALO LAGUARDA
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 3747 email: gonzalo.laguarda@uspto.gov
/GONZALO LAGUARDA/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3747