DETAILED ACTION
There were no claim amendments filed on 26 December 2025
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are: pick-and-place device, magazine, return device (Claims 1-9, 11-19), input device (Claims 1,6-9,11,16-19), output device (Claims 1-5,11-15), first/second distributor (Claims 3-5,7-9,13-15,17-19).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-9 and 11-19 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hsieh et al (US 10910249; FIG. 2A below) (“Hsieh”) in view of Iwasaki et al. (US 6050768) (“Iwasaki”). Hsieh discloses:
Claim 1:
an input device connected to the process starting end
an output device connected to the process ending end
(at least 224B1 has processing, wherein the one port is input and the other port is output for FOUP/pods/AMHS/OHT/etc.)
a return device connected to the input device and the output device and configured to transport the
at least one pick-and-place device disposed on at least one of the input device and the output device, wherein the pick-and-place device is used to input a magazine carrying a target material to the input device and/or output the magazine carrying the
Claim 2: wherein the pick-and-place device is disposed on the input device, and the input device has at least one load port, such that the pick-and-place device moves the magazine from outside to the load port;
Claim 3: wherein the input device further has at least one first distributor that is used to distribute the target material in the magazine
Claim 4: wherein the input device further has at least one first operation area connected to the load port, and the magazine is moved to the first operation area via the load port, such that the target material in the magazine in the first operation area is processed by the first distributor;
Claim 5: wherein the input device has a first temporary storage port connected to the first operation area and the load port;
Claim 6: wherein the pick-and-place device is disposed on the output device, and the output device has at least one unload port, such that the pick-and-place device outputs the magazine in the output device to outside via the unload port;
Claim 7: wherein the output device further has at least one second distributor that is used to distribute the target material into the magazine
Claim 8: wherein the output device further has at least one second operation area connected to the unload port for placing the magazine, wherein the second distributor processes the target material into the magazine in the second operation area, and the magazine is moved to the unload port via the second operation area;
Claim 9: wherein the output device has a second temporary storage port connected to the second operation area and the unload port;
Claim 10: a return device connected to the input device and the output device to transport the magazine from the input device to the output device;
Claim 11: providing the working system of claim 1;
picking and placing the magazine from an automatic handling system into the input device via the pick-and-place device;
transferring the target material in the magazine
moving the processed target material to the output device via the output device;
loading the processed target material into the magazine in the output device via the output device;
moving the magazine with the processed target material in the output device to the automatic handling system via the pick-and-place device (FIG. 2A; column 7, line 52 to column 9, line 3; multiple 226/230 for pick-and-place for processing; FIG. 4-5);
Claim 12: wherein the pick-and-place device is disposed on the input device, and the input device has at least one load port, such that the pick-and-place device moves the magazine from the automatic handling system to the input device via the load port;
Claim 13: wherein the input device further has at least one first distributor that transfers the target material in the magazine
Claim 14: wherein the input device further has at least one first operation area, and the magazine is moved to the first operation area via the load port, such that the target material in the magazine in the first operation area is processed by the first distributor;
Claim 15: wherein the input device has a first temporary storage port connected to the first operation area and the load port, and the magazine on the load port is moved to the first temporary storage port;
Claim 16: wherein the pick-and-place device is disposed on the output device, and the output device has at least one unload port, such that the pick-and-place device outputs the magazine with the processed target material to the automatic handling system via the unload port;
Claim 17: wherein the output device further has at least one second distributor that moves the processed target material to the output device;
Claim 18: wherein the output device further has at least one second operation area connected to the unload port for placing the magazine, wherein the second distributor loads the processed target material into the magazine in the second operation area, and the magazine is moved to the unload port via the second operation area;
Claim 19: wherein the output device has a second temporary storage port connected to the second operation area and the unload port, and the magazine of the output device waiting to load the processed target material is temporarily stored in the second temporary storage port.
Hsieh does not directly show:
Claim 1: a track structure defined with a process starting end and a process ending end;
an input device connected to the process starting end of the track structure;
an output device connected to the process ending end of the track structure;
an input device configured to transfer a target material in a magazine to the track structure to empty the magazine and process the target material;
an output device configured to load the processed target material into the empty magazine in the output device;
a return device configured to transport the empty magazine from the input device to the output device;
Claim 3: the magazine and corresponds to the track structure;
Claim 7: the magazine and corresponds to the track structure;
processed target material; empty magazine;
Claim 8: processed target material; empty magazine;
Claim 11: the magazine to the track structure;
empty the magazine;
transporting the empty magazine from the input device to the output device via the return device;
Claim 13: the magazine to the track structure;
Claim 18: empty magazine.
Iwasaki shows a similar device having:
Claim 1: a track structure defined with a process starting end and a process ending end;
an input device connected to the process starting end of the track structure;
an output device connected to the process ending end of the track structure;
Claim 3: the magazine and corresponds to the track structure;
Claim 7: the magazine and corresponds to the track structure;
Claim 11: the magazine to the track structure;
Claim 13: the magazine to the track structure;
(column 13, lines 47-49, “… a track-type robot may be used instead.”)
with a reasonable expectation of success for the purpose of allowing the at least one pick-and-place device to automatically move along the track structure to reduce directional/navigational programming needs over the long-term due to the path parameters of the at least one pick-and-place device being pre-defined along the track structure. Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Hsieh as taught by Iwasaki and include Iwasaki’s similar device having:
Claim 1: a track structure defined with a process starting end and a process ending end;
an input device connected to the process starting end of the track structure;
an output device connected to the process ending end of the track structure;
Claim 3: the magazine and corresponds to the track structure;
Claim 7: the magazine and corresponds to the track structure;
Claim 11: the magazine to the track structure;
Claim 13: the magazine to the track structure;
with a reasonable expectation of success for the purpose of allowing the at least one pick-and-place device to automatically move along the track structure to reduce directional/navigational programming needs over the long-term due to the path parameters of the at least one pick-and-place device being pre-defined along the track structure.
Hsieh suggests a similar device having:
Claim 1: an input device configured to transfer a target material in a magazine to the track structure to empty the magazine and process the target material;
an output device configured to load the processed target material into the empty magazine in the output device;
a return device configured to transport the empty magazine from the input device to the output device;
Claim 7: processed target material; empty magazine;
Claim 8: processed target material; empty magazine;
Claim 11: empty the magazine;
transporting the empty magazine from the input device to the output device via the return device;
Claim 18: empty magazine;
(for the above claims, in at least column 13, lines 26-38 and column 10, line 60 to column 11, line 4, Hsieh suggests that “wafer data” is used to direct materials and magazines using communication among the autonomous devices to various locations as claimed; at least “(e.g., once the autonomous cart is full and ready for transport)” suggests that a device may be full, partially full, or not full (empty); wafer data is used throughout Hsieh which suggests that all structures and materials are directed and handled thereto);
with a reasonable expectation of success for the purpose of reducing the probability of human failure within the apparatus due to failure in human knowledge (forgetting/false knowledge) that may cause apparatus damage and/or damage to material that is transported (column 1, lines 51-58). Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Hsieh as taught by Hsieh and include Hsieh’s similar device having:
Claim 1: an input device configured to transfer a target material in a magazine to the track structure to empty the magazine and process the target material;
an output device configured to load the processed target material into the empty magazine in the output device;
a return device configured to transport the empty magazine from the input device to the output device;
Claim 7: processed target material; empty magazine;
Claim 8: processed target material; empty magazine;
Claim 11: empty the magazine;
transporting the empty magazine from the input device to the output device via the return device;
Claim 18: empty magazine;
with a reasonable expectation of success for the purpose of reducing the probability of human failure within the apparatus due to failure in human knowledge (forgetting/false knowledge) that may cause apparatus damage and/or damage to material that is transported.
Double Patenting
Claim 1 is provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claim 14 of copending Application No. 18/323,741 (reference application; PGPUB 2024/0266197) in view of Iwasaki. The reference application discloses the claim limitations below.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection.
Current Application
USSN 18/323,741
1. A working system for a semiconductor packaging process, comprising:
1. A working system for a semiconductor packaging process, comprising:
a process path connecting the process starting end and a process ending end
a process path connected to the process starting end and the process ending end;
an input device connected to the process starting end
including an input device connected to the process starting end of the machine equipment and
an output device connected to the process ending end,
an output device connected to the process ending end of the machine equipment,
at least one pick-and-place device disposed on at least one of the input device and the output device, … to the input device and/or output the magazine carrying the target material from the output device
(Claim 14: picking and placing the magazine from an automatic handling system into the input device …)
a return device connected to the input device and the output device and configured to transport the
a return device connected to the input device and the output device to transport the magazine from the input device to the output device.
The reference application does not directly show:
Claim 1: a track structure defined with a process starting end and a process ending end;
an input device connected to the process starting end of the track structure;
an output device connected to the process ending end of the track structure;
an input device configured to transfer a target material in a magazine to the track structure to empty the magazine and process the target material;
an output device configured to load the processed target material into the empty magazine in the output device;
a return device configured to transport the empty magazine from the input device to the output device.
Iwasaki shows a similar device having:
Claim 1: a track structure defined with a process starting end and a process ending end;
an input device connected to the process starting end of the track structure;
an output device connected to the process ending end of the track structure;
(column 13, lines 47-49, “… a track-type robot may be used instead.”)
with a reasonable expectation of success for the purpose of allowing the at least one pick-and-place device to automatically move along the track structure to reduce directional/navigational programming needs over the long-term due to the path parameters of the at least one pick-and-place device being pre-defined along the track structure. Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the reference application as taught by Iwasaki and include Iwasaki’s similar device having:
Claim 1: a track structure defined with a process starting end and a process ending end;
an input device connected to the process starting end of the track structure;
an output device connected to the process ending end of the track structure;
with a reasonable expectation of success for the purpose of allowing the at least one pick-and-place device to automatically move along the track structure to reduce directional/navigational programming needs over the long-term due to the path parameters of the at least one pick-and-place device being pre-defined along the track structure.
Hsieh suggests a similar device having:
Claim 1: an input device configured to transfer a target material in a magazine to the track structure to empty the magazine and process the target material;
an output device configured to load the processed target material into the empty magazine in the output device;
a return device configured to transport the empty magazine from the input device to the output device;
(in at least column 13, lines 26-38 and column 10, line 60 to column 11, line 4, Hsieh suggests that “wafer data” is used to direct materials and magazines using communication among the autonomous devices to various locations as claimed; at least “(e.g., once the autonomous cart is full and ready for transport)” suggests that a device may be full, partially full, or not full (empty); wafer data is used throughout Hsieh which suggests that all structures and materials are directed and handled thereto);
with a reasonable expectation of success for the purpose of reducing the probability of human failure due to failure in human knowledge (forgetting/false knowledge) that may cause apparatus damage and/or damage to material that is transported (column 1, lines 51-58). Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Hsieh as taught by Hsieh and include Hsieh’s similar device having:
Claim 1: an input device configured to transfer a target material in a magazine to the track structure to empty the magazine and process the target material;
an output device configured to load the processed target material into the empty magazine in the output device;
a return device configured to transport the empty magazine from the input device to the output device;
with a reasonable expectation of success for the purpose of reducing the probability of human failure due to failure in human knowledge (forgetting/false knowledge) that may cause apparatus damage and/or damage to material that is transported.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 26 December 2025 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Applicant argues the following.
However, assuming arguendo that Hsieh discloses such a return device, it would necessarily require the mobile robotic arms 226A, 226B, 226C, 230 to transport a magazine from the input port of wafer store/processing tool 224B 1 to the output port of the same wafer store/processing tool 224B 1. Hsieh does not disclose such functionality.
As described in column 10, lines 4-16 of the specification of Hsieh, FIGS. 4 and 5 illustrate that the first and second locations each have a wafer store/processing tool and a mobile robotic arm. The mobile robotic arm is used to transfer wafers and/or magazines from the wafer store/processing tool at the first location to an autonomous cart at the first location. Then, the autonomous cart transports the wafers and/or magazines to the second location, where another mobile robotic arm transfers the wafers and/or magazines from the autonomous cart to another wafer store/processing tool disposed at the second location. Thus, the mobile robotic arms of Hsieh only move wafers/magazines between wafer stores and autonomous carts, not from the input port of one wafer store/processing tool to the output port of the same wafer store/processing tool.
Therefore, Hsieh fails to disclose at least the distinguishing limitation "a return device connected to the input device and the output device and configured to transport the empty magazine from the input device to the output device," as recited in independent claim 1 of the present application. (original emphasis)
Applicant did not specifically address the rejections above re. “in at least column 13, lines 26-38 and column 10, line 60 to column 11, line 4, Hsieh suggests that ‘wafer data’ is used to direct materials and magazines using communication among the autonomous devices to various locations as claimed; at least ‘(e.g., once the autonomous cart is full and ready for transport)’ suggests that a device may be full, partially full, or not full (empty); wafer data is used throughout Hsieh which suggests that all structures and materials are directed and handled thereto.” At least the disclosure of Hsieh suggests (TSM) the claim limitation “a return device connected to the input device and the output device and configured to transport the empty magazine from the input device to the output device.” Also see FIG. 2A, column 7, line 52 to column 9, line 3, and multiple 226/230 for pick-and-place for processing; FIG. 4-5 discloses/are shown to anticipate the structures above; Multiple structures in FIG. 2A/2B disclose structures claimed above that meet the functions claimed thereto per the 102 rejections above re. the return device. Re. Iwasaki, Iwasaki was not used for the return device limitations, only track structure limitations.
The double patenting rejections have been maintained per the reasons stated above.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/Gerald McClain/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3652