DETAILED ACTION
Claims 1-20 are pending. Note that, Applicant’s response filed December 31, 2025, has been entered.
Claims 15-20 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected invention, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Election was made without traverse in the reply filed on July 2, 2025.
Objections/Rejections Withdrawn
The following objections/rejections as set forth in the Office action mailed 10/9/25 have been withdrawn:
The rejection of claims 1-9 and 11-14 under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by WO2010/104816, has been withdrawn.
The rejection of claim 10 under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over WO2010/104816, has been withdrawn.
Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over WO2006/081406.
With respect to independent, instant claim 1, ‘406 teaches compositions useful in microelectronic device manufacturing for surface preparation and/or cleaning of wafer substrates such as microelectronic device precursor structures. The compositions can be employed for processing of wafers that have, or are intended to be further processed to include, copper metallization, e.g., in operations such as surface preparation, pre-plating cleaning, post-etching cleaning, and post-chemical mechanical polishing cleaning of microelectronic device wafers. The compositions contain (i) alkanolamine, (ii) quaternary ammonium hydroxide and (iii) a complexing agent, and are storage-stable. See Abstract. Suitable complexing agents include proline, quinic acid, etc., and are included in amounts from 0.001 to 20% by weight. Suitable quaternary ammonium hydroxides that may be useful in specific compositions include, without limitation, choline, tetrabutylammoniumhydroxide, tetraethylammonium hydroxide, tetramethylammonium hydroxide, tetrapropylammoniumhydroxide, and combinations thereof, which may be used in an amount of from about 0.005% to about 40% by weight. See para. 88. Note that, the Examiner asserts that mixing a complexing agent such as proline with choline would form a cleaning accelerator as recited by the instant claims. This is evidenced by the instant specification which states that mixing various compounds together with a nitrogen containing compound form the cleaning accelerator as recited by the instant claims (See paras. 23, 79-84, and 125 of the instant specification).
‘406 does not teach, with sufficient specificity, a composition containing a solvent, a cleaning accelerator, and the other requisite components of the composition in the specific amounts as recited by independent, instant claim 1 and the respective dependent claims.
Nonetheless it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, a composition containing a solvent, a cleaning accelerator, and the other requisite components of the composition in the specific amounts as recited by independent, instant claim 1 and the respective dependent claims, with a reasonable expectation of success and similar results with respect to other disclosed components, because the broad teachings of ‘406 suggest a composition containing a solvent, a cleaning accelerator, and the other requisite components of the composition in the specific amounts as recited by independent, instant claim 1 and the respective dependent claims.
Claims 1-14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over White et al (US2020/0199500).
With respect to independent, instant claim 1, White et al teach a cleaning composition is disclosed for cleaning residue and/or contaminants from microelectronic devices having same thereon. The composition comprises at least one complexing agent, at least one cleaning additive, at least one pH adjusting agent, water, and at least one oxylamine compound. See Abstract. The compositions contain at least 50% water. See para. 33. Complexing agents include proline, ammonium citrate, tricarballylic acid, dimethylolpropionic acid, trimethylolpropionic acid, tartaric acid, etc., in amounts from about 0.01 wt % to about 20 wt %, based on the total weight of the cleaning composition. Preferably, the complexing agent is present in an amount of from about 0.01 wt % to about 10 wt %, based on the total weight of the cleaning composition, and, more preferably, in an amount of from about 0.01 wt % to about 5 wt %. See paras 37-38. The cleaning composition of the present disclosure comprises at least one pH adjusting agent used to raise or lower the pH of the composition to a target value. While the pH adjusting agent may include acids and/or bases, preferably the pH adjusting agent is a base and is used to raise the pH of the cleaning composition. Illustrative bases include, but are not limited to, alkali metal hydroxides (e.g., LiOН, KOH, RbOH, CsOH), alkaline earth metal hydroxides (e.g., Be(OH)2, Mg(OH)2, Ca(OH)2, Sr(OH)2, Ba(OH)2), ammonium hydroxide (i.e., ammonia), and a tetraalkylammonium hydroxide compound having the formula NR¹R²R³R4OH, etc. The pH adjusting agent may be present in an amount of from about 0.1 wt % to about 10 wt %, based on the total weight of the cleaning composition, and, more preferably, in an amount of from about 1 wt % to about 5 wt %. See para. 46. Note that, the Examiner asserts that mixing a complexing agent such as tartaric acid with ammonium hydroxide would form a cleaning accelerator as recited by the instant claims. This is evidenced by the instant specification which states that mixing various compounds together with a nitrogen containing compound form the cleaning accelerator as recited by the instant claims (See paras. 23, 79-84, and 125 of the instant specification).
White et al do not teach, with sufficient specificity, a composition containing a solvent, a cleaning accelerator, and the other requisite components of the composition in the specific amounts as recited by independent, instant claim 1 and the respective dependent claims.
Nonetheless it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, a composition containing a solvent, a cleaning accelerator, and the other requisite components of the composition in the specific amounts as recited by independent, instant claim 1 and the respective dependent claims, with a reasonable expectation of success and similar results with respect to other disclosed components, because the broad teachings of White et al suggest a composition containing a solvent, a cleaning accelerator, and the other requisite components of the composition in the specific amounts as recited by independent, instant claim 1 and the respective dependent claims.
Claims 1-13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over WO2004/094581.
With respect to independent, instant claim 1, ‘581 teaches dilute fluoride solutions and methods for cleaning plasma etch residue form semiconductor substrates including such dilute solutions. The compositions and methods according to the invention can advantageously provide both cleaning efficiency and material compatibility. See Abstract. The preferred dilute aqueous cleaner and residue remover contains from 0.02% to 0.18% by weight of a fluoride-containing compound selected from the group consisting of ammonium fluoride, alkylammonium fluorides, ethanolamine fluoride, ammonium biflouride, alkylammonium bifluorides, or a mixture thereof; between 15% to 35% by weight water; from 59% to 84% by weight total of an amide and an ether solvent, from 0.2% to 5% by weight of an acid selected from sulfamic acid, phosphonic acid, a soluble phosphonic acid derivative, or mixture thereof; and from 0.2% to 5% by weight of an alkanolamine. See para. 19. Additional alkaline components include comprise an alkaline compound such as ammonium tartrate, ammonium malate, etc., and quaternary ammonium compounds such as choline hydroxide, ammonium hydroxide, etc. See paras. 50-70. In one embodiment, alkaline compounds according to the invention may be present in the
solution in an amount from about 0.3% to about 5%, alternately from about 0.4% to about 3%, from about 0.5% to about 3%, from about 0.2% to about 1.5%, from about 0.2% to about 2%, from about 0.2% to about 1 %, from about 0.5% to about 1.5%, from about 1.5% to about 3%, or from about 1.5% to about 2.5%. See para. 70.
‘581 does not teach, with sufficient specificity, a composition containing a solvent, a cleaning accelerator, and the other requisite components of the composition in the specific amounts as recited by independent, instant claim 1 and the respective dependent claims.
Nonetheless it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, a composition containing a solvent, a cleaning accelerator, and the other requisite components of the composition in the specific amounts as recited by independent, instant claim 1 and the respective dependent claims, with a reasonable expectation of success and similar results with respect to other disclosed components, because the broad teachings of ‘581 suggest a composition containing a solvent, a cleaning accelerator, and the other requisite components of the composition in the specific amounts as recited by independent, instant claim 1 and the respective dependent claims.
Response to Arguments
With respect to the rejection of the instant claims under 35 USC 103 using WO2006/081406 or White et al, Applicant states that ‘406 or White et al do not teach the specific cleaning accelerator as recited by the instant claims.
In response, note that, the Examiner asserts that ‘406 and White et al teach the use of complexing agents such as proline, quinic acid, etc.; and tartaric acid, respectively, and in combination with choline or ammonium hydroxide, which would form the cleaning accelerator as recited by the instant claims. This is evidenced by the instant specification which states that mixing various compounds together (i.e., proline, tartaric acid, etc.) with a nitrogen containing compound form the cleaning accelerator as recited by the instant claims (See paras. 23, 79-84, and 125 of the instant specification). Thus, the Examiner asserts that the teachings of ‘406 or White et al are sufficient to render the claimed invention obvious under 35 USC 103.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/GREGORY R DELCOTTO/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1761
/G.R.D/April 20, 2025