Information Disclosure Statement
The Information Disclosure Statement is being considered by the Examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 5 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Regarding claim 5, recitation of a cleaning water nozzle as a separate element, then limiting the existing water film forming nozzle as the cleaning water nozzle renders the scope of the invention indefinite. The claim recites two separate structures then limits them to be the same structure. Please amend the claim to clarify the function of the water film forming nozzle as opposed to reciting two separate elements.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1 and 2 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Obata (US 20150162222) in view of Sastri (US 4122603).
Regarding claim 1, Obata discloses a deburring unit for removing burrs from a workpiece with the burrs formed along kerfs cut by a cutting blade (see Abstract), comprising:
a chuck table that holds the workpiece on a holding surface thereof (referring to Figure 6, see table 12A holding wafer 20);
an ultrasonic element that emits ultrasonic waves from a lower surface thereof, the lower surface facing an upper surface of the workpiece held on the holding surface (see ultrasonic oscillator 41B, Figures 6 and 7);
a water film forming element configured to supply water to the workpiece held on the holding surface and to form a water film such that the upper surface of the workpiece is covered in its entirety with the water film ([0012]: the wafer is submerged in the cleaning water; [0026]: cleaning water 30 is supplied from a cleaning water source, not shown, and wherein the wafer is submerged therein); and
a controller (variator 42B, [0030]),
wherein the controller is configured to cause the ultrasonic element to come into contact at the lower surface thereof with the water film formed with the water supplied from the water film forming nozzle and to cause ultrasonic vibrations to propagate to the water film, to thereby remove the burrs formed along the kerfs ([0012], [0027], [0030], [0039-0040]).
However, Obata does not explicitly teach the ultrasonic elements is a horn, nor that the water is dispensed from a nozzle.
From the same or similar field of endeavor of devices configured to treat workpieces, Sastri teaches of an ultrasonic horn (2) which emits ultrasonic waves therefrom (see Col. 6, lines 31-56), as well as a nozzle (8) for dispensing fluid therefrom; see Col. 6, lines 42-56; see also Col. 7, lines 8-56, Col. 7 line 67-Col. 8, line 8; Col. 4, lines 4-43.
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the invention of Obata to have a horn element for emitting ultrasonic waves and a nozzle spout for dispensing, as taught by Sastri. Obata intimates and suggests modifications to the structure which provides ultrasonic vibrations, including one below the wafer element (see Figures 4 and 5), one which is displaceable via cylinders and rods (see Figure 3, elements 450, 451 and ultrasonic oscillator 41), and the referenced pivotal oscillator shown in Figures 6 and 7. Obata also describes but does not show the source of water in at least [0026]. Sastri similarly describes several configurations of the horn device configured to provide ultrasonic waves, see at least Col. 7, lines 43-56. One would be motivated to do so in order to provide a translatable and controllable horn device, which provides additional control of the horn as it is displaceable, see Col. 3, lines 23-37 and Col. 5, line 66-Col. 6, line 22.
Regarding claim 2, Obata in view of Sastri teaches the claimed invention as applied above, wherein modified Obata further teaches wherein the ultrasonic horn is configured with a plurality of circular cylindrical horns integrally arranged in a direction parallel to the holding surface as seen in plan (Sastri: see at least horn element 2, which is cylindrical, and wherein Col. 7, lines 19-29 teaches of plural horns on either side, i.e. arranged in a direction that is parallel to the surface of the table of Obata).
Claim(s) 3-6 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Obata (US 20150162222) in view of Sastri (US 4122603) and Hiromitsu (JP 201615722A).
Regarding claim 3, Obata discloses a cutting machine (see Abstract regarding dividing the wafer) comprising:
a cutting unit that cuts a workpiece held on a holding surface of a chuck table (referring to Figure 6, see table 12A holding wafer 20);
an ultrasonic element having a lower surface that is facing an upper surface of the workpiece held on the holding surface of the chuck table, with a clearance therebetween (see ultrasonic oscillator 41B, Figures 6 and 7); and
a water film forming element configured to supply water to the workpiece held on the holding surface and to form a water film such that the upper surface of the workpiece is covered in its entirety with the water film (([0012]: the wafer is submerged in the cleaning water; [0026]: cleaning water 30 is supplied from a cleaning water source, not shown, and wherein the wafer is submerged therein).
However, Obata does not explicitly teach the wafer is cut with a cutting blade, a moving mechanism that moves the chuck table in a cutting feed direction of the cutting blade, that the ultrasonic element is a horn, nor that the water is dispensed from a nozzle.
From the same or similar field of endeavor of devices configured to perform operations on wafers, Hiromitsu teaches of cutting a wafer with a cutting blade (cutting blade 31, [0016], see also Figures 2-4) and a moving mechanism that moves the chuck table in a cutting feed direction of the cutting blade ([0037]: the chuck table is moved in the X-axis direction with respect to the cutting blade 31; see also [0006], [0012], [0014]), as well as a nozzle (see nozzle 51, as well as nozzle 34, [0021]-[0024]).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the apparatus of Obata to include a cutting blade element for separating the wafer, a moving mechanism which moves the chuck table in a cutting feed direction of the blade, as well as a nozzle, as taught by Hiromitsu. Obata provides a wafer that has been modified by a pulsed laser beam to impart dividing lines, which then serve to guide the separation lines when the wafer is divided by ultrasonic frequencies (see [0007]). Obata also describes but does not show the source of water in at least [0026]. One would be motivated to use the cutting blade element of Hiromitsu because providing a cutting blade and the associated mechanisms for dicing/dividing a wafer enables a greater level of control over the cutting operation, as evidenced by [0026] of Hiromitsu.
From the same or similar field of endeavor of devices configured to treat workpieces, Sastri teaches of an ultrasonic horn (2) which emits ultrasonic waves therefrom (see Col. 6, lines 31-56; Col. 6, lines 42-56; see also Col. 7, lines 8-56, Col. 7 line 67-Col. 8, line 8; Col. 4, lines 4-43).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the invention of Obata to have a horn element for emitting ultrasonic waves, as taught by Sastri. Obata intimates and suggests modifications to the structure which provides ultrasonic vibrations, including one below the wafer element (see Figures 4 and 5), one which is displaceable via cylinders and rods (see Figure 3, elements 450, 451 and ultrasonic oscillator 41), and the referenced pivotal oscillator shown in Figures 6 and 7. Sastri similarly describes several configurations of the horn device configured to provide ultrasonic waves, see at least Col. 7, lines 43-56. One would be motivated to do so in order to provide a translatable and controllable horn device, which provides additional control of the horn as it is displaceable, see Col. 3, lines 23-37 and Col. 5, line 66-Col. 6, line 22.
Regarding claim 4, Obata in view of Sastri and Hiromitsu teaches the claimed invention as applied above, wherein modified Obata further teaches wherein the ultrasonic horn is arranged beside the cutting blade in the cutting feed direction, and the water film forming nozzle is configured to also function as a cutting water nozzle that supplies cutting water to the cutting blade (wherein the combination as applied above teaches the claimed invention, see at least the horn 2 of Sastri as well as the cutting blade 31 of Hiromitsu; wherein the functional language regarding the water nozzle is also taught by the prior art, as the nozzle of Hiromitsu provides water during cutting as well, see [0021-0024]).
Regarding claim 5, Obata in view of Sastri and Hiromitsu teaches the claimed invention as applied above, wherein modified Obata further teaches a cleaning water nozzle that ejects cleaning water toward the workpiece, wherein the water film forming nozzle is configured to also function as the cleaning water nozzle (Hiromitsu: see nozzle 51, [0022-0024]).
However, modified Obata does not explicitly teach a separate cleaning table element, i.e. a cleaning unit including a cleaning table that holds the workpiece obtained after cutting processing and the workpiece held on the cleaning table.
However, Hiromitsu further teaches a cleaning unit including a cleaning table that holds the workpiece obtained after cutting processing and the workpiece held on the cleaning table (see table 18a, as well as [0018] and [0025]).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the apparatus of Obata to include a cleaning mechanism area as taught by Hiromitsu, and employ a preexisting nozzle for cleaning. One would be motivated to do so in order to provide an additional and separate area for cleaning the wafer after cutting is performed, with the additional benefit that the table (18a) may spin and dry the wafer; see [0018] of Hiromitsu.
Regarding claim 6, Obata in view of Sastri and Hiromitsu teaches the claimed invention as applied above. However, modified Obata does not explicitly teach a transfer unit that loads and unloads the workpiece onto and from the chuck table, wherein the ultrasonic horn is disposed on the transfer unit.
From the same or similar field of endeavor, Hiromitsu further teaches a transfer unit that loads and unloads the workpiece onto and from the chuck table (see at least first transfer arm 17 or second transfer arm 21, as well as [0018], [0025]).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have incorporated the transfer unit, as taught by Hiromitsu, into the invention of Obata. Obata is silent regarding the mechanism by which the wafer is transported, wherein Hiromitsu answers the silence with structures capable of providing wafers without damaging them. One would be motivated to provide the transfer element because doing so would form a more complete wafer processing system, thus decreasing user workload and possibility of user error/breakage of the wafers.
Regarding the location of the ultrasonic horn disposed on the transfer unit, the modification would be considered obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, as the modification would be considered a rearrangement of parts; see at least Section (VI.)(C.) of MPEP 2144.04. The operation of the device would not be altered, and the modification would provide the benefit of having the ability to displace the ultrasonic horn within the workspace, thus ensuring the horn does not encroach the workspace when not in user.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Takenouchi (US 2015/0262881), see Abstract as well as Figure 2.
Masateru (JPH 11214333A), see at least the Abstract.
Suzuki (US 6897161), see Figure 4.
/MAKENA S MARKMAN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3723