Information Disclosure Statement
The Information Disclosure Statement is being considered by the Examiner.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 4/22/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Applicant argues that the prior art does not disclose or teach the amended subject matter directed towards the pattern of the plurality of ultrasonic horns. As these limitations were not previously presented, the argument is considered moot, and the grounds of rejection have been updated below accordingly. This action is made final herein, as necessitated by amendment.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1 and 2 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Regarding claim 1, claim 1 recites “a plurality of ultrasonic horns”, and the final limitation recites “cause the ultrasonic horn to come into contact with…”. Please either amend the claim to clarify that the singular ultrasonic horn is one of the plurality of ultrasonic horns, or amend the claim to reflect that each of the plurality of ultrasonic horns are being limited.
Any claim listed as rejected above but not specifically addressed above has inherited the rejection of a claim specifically addressed above due to dependency therefrom.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1 and 2 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Obata (US 20150162222) in view of Sastri (US 4122603).
Regarding claim 1, Obata discloses a deburring unit for removing burrs from a workpiece with the burrs formed along kerfs cut by a cutting blade (see Abstract), comprising:
a chuck table that holds the workpiece on a holding surface thereof (referring to Figure 6, see table 12A holding wafer 20);
an ultrasonic element which emits ultrasonic waves from a lower surface thereof, the lower surface facing an upper surface of the workpiece held on the holding surface (see ultrasonic oscillator 41B, Figures 6 and 7);
a water film forming element configured to supply water to the workpiece held on the holding surface and to form a water film such that the upper surface of the workpiece is covered in its entirety with the water film ([0012]: the wafer is submerged in the cleaning water; [0026]: cleaning water 30 is supplied from a cleaning water source, not shown, and wherein the wafer is submerged therein); and
a controller (variator 42B, [0030]),
wherein the controller is configured to cause the ultrasonic element to come into contact at the lower surface thereof with the water film formed with the water supplied from the water film forming nozzle and to cause ultrasonic vibrations to propagate to the water film, to thereby remove the burrs formed along the kerfs ([0012], [0027], [0030], [0039-0040]).
However, Obata does not explicitly teach the ultrasonic element comprises a plurality of ultrasonic horns arranged in at least two rows or in an annular pattern, nor that the water is dispensed from a nozzle.
From the same or similar field of endeavor of devices configured to treat workpieces, Sastri teaches of a plurality of ultrasonic horns (2; wherein Col. 7, lines 19-29 teaches of plural horns on either side) each of which emit ultrasonic waves from a lower surface thereof (see Col. 6, lines 31-56), arranged in at least two rows or in an annular pattern (wherein recitation of a plurality requires two ultrasonic horns at minimum, and wherein Sastri discloses there may be horns on each side of the track 16, i.e. at least two rows), as well as a nozzle (8) for dispensing fluid therefrom; see Col. 6, lines 42-56; see also Col. 7, lines 8-56, Col. 7 line 67-Col. 8, line 8; Col. 4, lines 4-43.
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the invention of Obata to have a plurality of horn elements for emitting ultrasonic waves and a nozzle spout for dispensing, as taught by Sastri. Obata intimates and suggests modifications to the structure which provides ultrasonic vibrations, including one below the wafer element (see Figures 4 and 5), one which is displaceable via cylinders and rods (see Figure 3, elements 450, 451 and ultrasonic oscillator 41), and the referenced pivotal oscillator shown in Figures 6 and 7. Obata also describes but does not show the source of water in at least [0026]. Sastri similarly describes several configurations of the horn device configured to provide ultrasonic waves, see at least Col. 7, lines 43-56. One would be motivated to do so in order to provide a plurality of translatable and controllable horn devices, which provide additional control of the horns as they are displaceable, in addition to the increase in production based on plural horns being provided, see Col. 3, lines 23-37, Col. 5, line 66-Col. 6, line 22, and Col. 7, lines 19-29 of Sastri.
Regarding claim 2, Obata in view of Sastri teaches the claimed invention as applied above, wherein modified Obata further teaches wherein the plurality of ultrasonic horns each has a circular cylindrical shape and are integrally arranged in a direction parallel to the holding surface as seen in plan (Sastri: see at least horn element 2, which is cylindrical; see also the combination statement as applied above regarding the plurality of horns 2; wherein Col. 7, lines 19-29 teaches of plural horns on either side, i.e. arranged in a direction that is parallel to the surface of the table of Obata).
Claim(s) 3-6 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Obata (US 20150162222) in view of Sastri (US 4122603) and Hiromitsu (JP 201615722A).
Regarding claim 3, Obata discloses a cutting machine (see Abstract regarding dividing the wafer) comprising:
a cutting unit that cuts a workpiece held on a holding surface of a chuck table (referring to Figure 6, see table 12A holding wafer 20);
an ultrasonic element having a lower surface that is facing an upper surface of the workpiece held on the holding surface of the chuck table, with a clearance therebetween (see ultrasonic oscillator 41B, Figures 6 and 7); and
a water film forming element configured to supply water to the workpiece held on the holding surface and to form a water film such that the upper surface of the workpiece is covered in its entirety with the water film (([0012]: the wafer is submerged in the cleaning water; [0026]: cleaning water 30 is supplied from a cleaning water source, not shown, and wherein the wafer is submerged therein).
However, Obata does not explicitly teach the wafer is cut with a cutting blade, a moving mechanism that moves the chuck table in a cutting feed direction of the cutting blade, that the ultrasonic element comprises a plurality of ultrasonic horns arranged in at least two rows or in an annular pattern, nor that the water is dispensed from a nozzle.
From the same or similar field of endeavor of devices configured to perform operations on wafers, Hiromitsu teaches of cutting a wafer with a cutting blade (cutting blade 31, [0016], see also Figures 2-4) and a moving mechanism that moves the chuck table in a cutting feed direction of the cutting blade ([0037]: the chuck table is moved in the X-axis direction with respect to the cutting blade 31; see also [0006], [0012], [0014]), as well as a nozzle (see nozzle 51, as well as nozzle 34, [0021]-[0024]).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the apparatus of Obata to include a cutting blade element for separating the wafer, a moving mechanism which moves the chuck table in a cutting feed direction of the blade, as well as a nozzle, as taught by Hiromitsu. Obata provides a wafer that has been modified by a pulsed laser beam to impart dividing lines, which then serve to guide the separation lines when the wafer is divided by ultrasonic frequencies (see [0007]). Obata also describes but does not show the source of water in at least [0026]. One would be motivated to use the cutting blade element of Hiromitsu because providing a cutting blade and the associated mechanisms for dicing/dividing a wafer enables a greater level of control over the cutting operation, as evidenced by [0026] of Hiromitsu.
From the same or similar field of endeavor of devices configured to treat workpieces, Sastri teaches of a plurality of ultrasonic horns (2; wherein Col. 7, lines 19-29 teaches of plural horns on either side) each of which emit ultrasonic waves (see Col. 6, lines 31-56), arranged in at least two rows or in an annular pattern (wherein recitation of a plurality requires two ultrasonic horns at minimum, and wherein Sastri discloses there may be horns on each side of the track 16, i.e. two rows; see also Col. 6, lines 31-56; Col. 6, lines 42-56; see also Col. 7, lines 8-56, Col. 7 line 67-Col. 8, line 8; Col. 4, lines 4-43).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the invention of Obata to have a plurality of horn elements for emitting ultrasonic waves, as taught by Sastri. Obata intimates and suggests modifications to the structure which provides ultrasonic vibrations, including one below the wafer element (see Figures 4 and 5), one which is displaceable via cylinders and rods (see Figure 3, elements 450, 451 and ultrasonic oscillator 41), and the referenced pivotal oscillator shown in Figures 6 and 7. Sastri similarly describes several configurations of the horn device configured to provide ultrasonic waves, see at least Col. 7, lines 43-56. One would be motivated to do so in order to provide a plurality of translatable and controllable horn devices, which provide additional control of the horns as they are displaceable, in addition to the increase in production based on plural horns being provided, see Col. 3, lines 23-37, Col. 5, line 66-Col. 6, line 22, and Col. 7, lines 19-29 of Sastri.
Regarding claim 4, Obata in view of Sastri and Hiromitsu teaches the claimed invention as applied above, wherein modified Obata further teaches wherein the ultrasonic horns are arranged beside the cutting blade in the cutting feed direction, and the water film forming nozzle is configured to also function as a cutting water nozzle that supplies cutting water to the cutting blade (wherein the combination as applied above teaches the claimed invention, see at least the horn 2 of Sastri as well as the cutting blade 31 of Hiromitsu; wherein the functional language regarding the water nozzle is also taught by the prior art, as the nozzle of Hiromitsu provides water during cutting as well, see [0021-0024]).
Regarding claim 5, Obata in view of Sastri and Hiromitsu teaches the claimed invention as applied above. However, presently modified Obata incorporates a single nozzle (see combination statement applied above). Modified Obata does not explicitly teach a separate cleaning table element, i.e. a cleaning unit including a cleaning table that holds the workpiece obtained after cutting processing and a cleaning water nozzle that ejected cleaning water toward the workpiece held on the cleaning table,
wherein the water film forming nozzle is configured to also function as another cleaning water nozzle.
However, previously mentioned Hiromitsu further teaches a cleaning unit including a cleaning table that holds the workpiece obtained after cutting processing and a cleaning water nozzle that ejected cleaning water toward the workpiece held on the cleaning table, wherein the water film forming nozzle is configured to also function as another cleaning water nozzle (see table 18a, as well as [0018] and [0025]; see nozzle 51, nozzle 34, [0021-0024]).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the apparatus of Obata to include a cleaning mechanism area as taught by Hiromitsu, and employ an additional nozzle for cleaning. One would be motivated to do so in order to provide an additional and separate area for cleaning the wafer after cutting is performed, with the additional benefit that the table (18a) may spin and dry the wafer; see [0018] of Hiromitsu. Furthermore, both nozzles (34, 51) serve to clean and assist during the wafer processing operation, and provide benefits including cleaning both the wafer and working tool.
Regarding claim 6, Obata in view of Sastri and Hiromitsu teaches the claimed invention as applied above. However, modified Obata does not explicitly teach a transfer unit that loads and unloads the workpiece onto and from the chuck table, wherein the ultrasonic horns are disposed on the transfer unit.
From the same or similar field of endeavor, Hiromitsu further teaches a transfer unit that loads and unloads the workpiece onto and from the chuck table (see at least first transfer arm 17 or second transfer arm 21, as well as [0018], [0025]).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have incorporated the transfer unit, as taught by Hiromitsu, into the invention of Obata. Obata is silent regarding the mechanism by which the wafer is transported, wherein Hiromitsu answers the silence with structures capable of providing wafers without damaging them. One would be motivated to provide the transfer element because doing so would form a more complete wafer processing system, thus decreasing user workload and possibility of user error/breakage of the wafers.
Regarding the location of the ultrasonic horns disposed on the transfer unit, the modification would be considered obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, as the modification would be considered a rearrangement of parts; see at least Section (VI.)(C.) of MPEP 2144.04. The operation of the device would not be altered, and the modification would provide the benefit of having the ability to displace the ultrasonic horn within the workspace, thus ensuring the horn does not encroach the workspace when not in user.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/MAKENA S MARKMAN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3723