Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are:
a moving mechanism that moves the chuck table in a cutting feed direction of the cutting blade in claim 3. See specification [0022] disclosing the structure of moving mechanism 20.
a transfer unit that loads and unloads the workpiece onto and from the chuck table in claim 6. See specification [0031-0032] disclosing the structure of transfer unit 50.
Claim Objections
Claim 7 is objected to because of the following informalities:
Regarding claim 7, please amend “wherein the lower surface of the plurality of ultrasonic horns are parallel to the upper surface of the workpiece” to read” wherein the lower surface of each of the plurality of ultrasonic horns[[ are ]] is parallel to the upper surface of the workpiece” or an alternative amendment for proper grammar.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 3 and 4 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Qiu (US 20120137847).
Regarding claim 3, Qiu discloses a cutting machine for cutting a workpiece having an upper surface, a lower surface opposite the upper surface, and a peripheral edge between the upper surface and the lower surface (see Abstract, as well as Figures 1, 3, and 6), comprising:
a cutting unit that cuts with a cutting blade a workpiece held on a holding surface of a chuck table (see cutting apparatus comprising a cutting blade 43, see also chuck table 3 for supporting a workpiece, [0019-0020]);
a moving mechanism that moves the chuck table in a cutting feed direction of the cutting blade ([0019]: chuck table 3 is movable in the direction shown by the X arrow as a feeding direction, wherein the cutting apparatus includes feeding means for feeding the chuck table 3 in the X direction);
a plurality of ultrasonic horns each having a lower surface that is facing the upper surface of the workpiece held on the holding surface of the chuck table, with a clearance therebetween, for emitting ultrasonic waves from the lower surface thereof towards the upper surface of the workpiece and being arranged in at least two rows or in an annular pattern (see ultrasonic generating means 6 composed of a pair of units including a pair of mounting members 63, vibrating plates 61, ultrasonic vibrators 62, [0025], i.e. a plurality of ultrasonic horns under broadest reasonable interpretations; wherein these units have a lower surface facing the upper surface of the wafer workpiece W, and are arranged in at least two rows, see Figures 2, 3, 5, and 6; see also [0033-0035], [0038-0039]); and
a water film forming nozzle configured to supply water to the workpiece held on the holding surface and to form a water film such that the upper surface of the workpiece is covered in its entirety with the water film (see at least nozzles 531, 532, as well as Figures 5, 6, [0025], [0032-0035], [0038-0039]).
Regarding claim 4, Qiu discloses the claimed invention as applied above, wherein Qiu further discloses wherein the ultrasonic horns are arranged beside the cutting blade in the cutting feed direction (see Figures 1, 2, 5, and 6 regarding the pair of elements each comprising components 61/62/63, arranged beside the blade 43 in the X direction), and the water film forming nozzle is configured to also function as a cutting water nozzle that supplies cutting water to the cutting blade (see at least [0022-0025], [0032-0035], and [0039] regarding the nozzles acting to dispense cutting water).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1, 2, and 7 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over McDermott (US 20050183739) in view of Dobashi (JP 2014067864).
Regarding claim 1, McDermott (US 20050183739) discloses a deburring unit for removing burrs from a workpiece having an upper surface, a lower surface opposite the upper surface and a peripheral edge between the upper surface and the lower surface, with the burrs formed along kerfs cut by a cutting blade (see Abstract, as well as Figures 5 and 6, [0045-0046], [0125]), comprising:
a chuck table that holds the workpiece on a holding surface thereof ([0090]: silicon wafer placed on the surface of a rotating table, see also Figures 5 and 6);
a plurality of ultrasonic horns each of which that emits ultrasonic waves from a lower surface thereof towards the upper surface of the workpiece, each of the lower surfaces of the plurality of ultrasonic horns facing the upper surface of the workpiece held on the holding surface and being arranged in at least two rows or in an annular pattern (see at least Figures 5 and 6; [0090-0091]: see ultrasonic transducers 515, 517, 519, 521 and probes 523, 525, 527, 529, and wherein each probe includes probe main body 1, collar 5, and horn 7 of Figure 3; see Figures 5 and 6; see also [0092-0094]);
a water film forming nozzle configured to supply water to the workpiece held on the holding surface and to form a water film such that the upper surface of the workpiece is covered in its entirety with the water film (see inlet line 539, as well as [0092]; see also [0001-0002] regarding immersing articles during cleaning; see also [0031]; see also [0094]: fluid flows uniformly over the surface of the wafer; see also [0120]); and
the plurality of ultrasonic horns to come into contact at the lower surface thereof with the water film formed with the water supplied from the water film forming nozzle and to cause ultrasonic vibrations to propagate to the water film, to thereby remove the burrs formed along the kerfs (see at least [0001-0004] regarding ultrasonic energy being introduces into the bath; see also [0032-0045], [0072-0074], [0093]).
While McDermott describes that the invention is an ultrasonic cleaning system, McDermott is silent regarding a controller, wherein the controller is configured to cause the plurality of ultrasonic horns to perform as recited above.
However, from the same or similar field of endeavor, Dobashi teaches of a controller, wherein the controller is configured to control the components of the system (see [0019]: control unit 60 controls each component of the apparatus; see also the ultrasonic component controlled by the controller in [0028]; see also [0030-0031], Figure 1).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the apparatus of McDermott to include a controller, as taught by Dobashi. One would be motivated to do so in order to incorporated an automatic operating device which adjusts the apparatus as needed, while still enabling operator input (see [0030-0031] of Dobashi’s translation).
Regarding claim 2, McDermott in view of Dobashi teaches the claimed invention as applied above, wherein modified McDermott further teaches wherein plurality of ultrasonic horns each has a circular cylindrical shape and are integrally arranged in a direction parallel to the holding surface as seen in plan (McDermott: see Figures 5 and 6, see ultrasonic transducers 515, 517, 519, 521 and probes 523, 525, 527, 529; see also [0008], [0017], [0019], [0025], [0064], [0066-0067], [0072]).
Regarding claim 7, McDermott in view of Dobashi teaches the claimed invention as applied above, wherein modified McDermott further teaches wherein the lower surface of the plurality of ultrasonic horns are parallel to the upper surface of the workpiece (McDermott: see Figures 5 and 6, see ultrasonic transducers 515, 517, 519, 521 and probes 523, 525, 527, 529; see also [0008], [0017], [0019], [0025], [0064], [0066-0067], [0072]).
Claim(s) 5 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Qiu (US 20120137847) in view of Osada (JPH 1121433).
Regarding claim 5, Qiu discloses the claimed invention as applied above, wherein Qiu further discloses a cleaning unit including a cleaning table that holds the workpiece obtained after cutting processing (see cleaning means 15 and table surface of the housing 2, as well as [0028] and [0037]),
wherein the water film forming nozzle is configured to also function as another cleaning water nozzle (wherein given the nozzles 531, 532 are configured to dispense water, the nozzles are configured to clean the surface of the wafer by removing debris; see [0022-0023], [0032-0034]).
However, Qiu does not explicitly teach a cleaning water nozzle that ejects cleaning water toward the workpiece held on the cleaning table.
However, from the same or similar field of endeavor, Osada teaches of a cleaning unit (20) having a table 24, wherein there is a cleaning water nozzle (28) that ejects cleaning water toward the workpiece held on the cleaning table (see Figure 4, [0010-0011]: the cleaning unit 20 includes nozzle 28; see also [0015]).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have incorporated the cleaning nozzle as taught by Osada into the invention of Qiu. One would be motivated to do so in order to ensure that all unwanted contaminants/debris is removed from the wafer, i.e. further enhancing the cleaning means (15) of Qiu by incorporating an additional mechanism by which the wafer is cleaned.
Claim(s) 6 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Qiu (US 20120137847) in view of Higashi (US 7219419).
Regarding claim 6, Qiu discloses the claimed invention as applied above, wherein Qiu further discloses a transfer unit that loads and unloads the workpiece onto and from the chuck table (see transporting means 16, transporting means 14, handling means 13, [0028-0029], [0037]).
However, Qiu does not explicitly teach a combination of a transfer unit and ultrasonic assembly such that the ultrasonic horns are disposed on the transfer unit.
However, from the same or similar field of endeavor, Higashi teaches of a transfer unit that loads and unloads the workpiece, and wherein the ultrasonic unit is disposed on a transfer unit (wherein component handling device 23 is configured to bring a component to a different position, see Col. 5 lines 10-15; see also base 57, table 56, table 58, and Col. 7, lines 7-17 and 23-31; wherein there is also an ultrasonic component 24, see Col. 6, lines 39-54; see also Figure 6; wherein there are transfer components on which the ultrasonic device is located, i.e. the components which enable loading and unloading the workpiece includes the ultrasonic component located thereon; see also Col. 7, lines 47-49).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have combined a transport/gripping device with the ultrasonic unit configuration, as taught by Higashi, into the invention of Qiu. One would be motivated to do so in order to provide a combined, seamless transporting means with the cutting/ultrasonic configuration of Qiu, thus enabling additional gripping or adjustment of the position of the workpiece within the internal machine housing of Qiu, i.e. the transporting/handling means (13, 14, 16) of unmodified Qiu are unable to access/grip a workpiece from the exterior of the housing as can be seen in Figure 1 of Qiu, and thus the combination would result in a more advantageous apparatus configured to handle a workpiece therein.
Conclusion
/MAKENA S MARKMAN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3723