DETAILED ACTION
Claim Status
Claims 1-5, and 11 have been amended with support found in the instant specification.
Claims 17-18 have been added, support is found in previously presented claim 1. No new matter has been added.
Claims 1-18 are currently pending and have been examined on the merits in this office action.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement(s) (IDS) submitted on 06/26/2026, and 07/27/2026 are in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner. IDS statements of previous office actions have already been considered.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 1 lists broad general formulas I and II and then in the dependent claim such as claim 4 claims specific materials, however the specific materials that further limit claim 1, contradict the amendments to claim 1, such as general formula A7. Thus the materials as listed in claim 4 are read as reading on the claim language of the independent claims. Thus claims 2-16 are rejected for depending upon claim 1.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1 and 4-18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Onuki (JP 2011060464 A- as cited in the IDS) in view of Hidaka et al. (US 2020/0127332 A1).
Regarding claim 1, Onuki discloses an electrolyte, comprising:
An organic solvent ([0009,0021] electrolyte comprises an organic solvent); and
One or more of a compound represented by following general formula I or general formula II (Onuki Chemical formula 1 and examples as seen below; [0009,0045-0046]);
Wherein in the general formula I or the general formula II: X is O and R comprises one or more of a cyano or isocyanate group, a trimethylsilyl, a straight chain alkyl or branched chain alkyl with 2-4 carbon atoms (Figures below; chemical formula 1 and examples of the formula 1 wherein X is O and R is a straight chain alkyl or branched chain alkyl with 2-4 carbon atoms),
A content of the compound in the electrolyte is 0.01 wt-5 wt% ([0009] 0.0001-10 % by weight of the unsaturated cyclic acid anhydride of formulae 1-4); and
A content of ethylene carbonate in the organic solvent is less than or equal to 3 wt % ([0018] electrolytic solution has an organic solvent that can be ethylene carbonate and other carbonate materials wherein the ethylene carbonate provided can be greater than or equal to 0 and less than or equal to 39 % by weight of the organic solvent).
In the case where the claimed ranges “overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art” a prima facie case of obviousness exists. In re Wertheim, 541 F.2d 257, 191USPQ 90 (CCPA 1976); In re Woodruff, 919 F.2d 1575, 16 USPQ2d 1934 (Fed. Cir. 1990).
Onuki discloses materials that are very similar to the material as claimed, however, is silent with respect to the exact material used by Applicant.
Hidaka discloses an electrolytic solution for an electrochemical device, cell and module and is analogous with the instant invention as being within the same field of endeavor of battery electrolytes. Hidaka discloses a list of materials that can be used for the electrolyte including a base material as seen in chemical formula 8, wherein Rf14 can include a C1-C3 alkyl group containing halogen/fluorine atoms ([0022-0028]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious in view of a skilled artisan to substitute the electrolyte material of Onuki for the material of Hidaka as a simple substitution of one electrolyte material for another that comprises a very similar structure and would have reasonable expectation of success. The simple substitution of one known element for another is likely to be obvious when predictable results are achieved. See KSR International Co. v. Teleflex Inc., 550 U.S. __,__, 82 USPQ2d 1385, 1395 – 97 (2007) (see MPEP § 2143, B.). The selection of a known material, which is based upon its suitability for the intended use, is within the ambit of one of ordinary skill in the art. See In re Leshin, 125 USPQ 416 (CCPA 1960) (see MPEP § 2144.07).
Regarding claims 4-5, modified Onuki discloses all the claim limitations of claim 1. Hidaka further discloses wherein the compound comprises one or more selected from compounds A1-A12, specifically discloses formula A9 (Hidaka chemical formula 8 wherein R14 can be a C1 to C3 alkyl group and can contain a halogen).
Regarding claim 6, modified Onuki discloses all the claim limitations of claim 1. Onuki further discloses wherein a content of the compound in the electrolyte is 1-5 wt% ([0009] unsaturated cyclic acid anhydride selected from the group of general formulae 1-4 is contained in an amount of 0.0001 to 10% by weight based on the weight of the nonaqueous electrolytic solution). In the case where the claimed ranges “overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art” a prima facie case of obviousness exists. In re Wertheim, 541 F.2d 257, 191USPQ 90 (CCPA 1976); In re Woodruff, 919 F.2d 1575, 16 USPQ2d 1934 (Fed. Cir. 1990).
Regarding claim 7, modified Onuki discloses all the claim limitations of claim 6. Onuki further discloses wherein a content of the compound in the electrolyte is 2-3 wt% ([0009] unsaturated cyclic acid anhydride selected from the group of general formulae 1-4 is contained in an amount of 0.0001 to 10% by weight based on the weight of the nonaqueous electrolytic solution). In the case where the claimed ranges “overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art” a prima facie case of obviousness exists. In re Wertheim, 541 F.2d 257, 191USPQ 90 (CCPA 1976); In re Woodruff, 919 F.2d 1575, 16 USPQ2d 1934 (Fed. Cir. 1990).
Regarding claim 8, modified Onuki discloses all the claim limitations of claim 1. Onuki further discloses wherein the organic solvent is free of ethylene carbonate ([0018] electrolytic solution has an organic solvent that can be ethylene carbonate and other carbonate materials wherein the ethylene carbonate provided can be greater than or equal to 0 and less than or equal to 39 % by weight of the organic solvent and thus when the ethylene carbonate is provided at 0 % by weight the organic solvent is free of ethylene carbonate). In the case where the claimed ranges “overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art” a prima facie case of obviousness exists. In re Wertheim, 541 F.2d 257, 191USPQ 90 (CCPA 1976); In re Woodruff, 919 F.2d 1575, 16 USPQ2d 1934 (Fed. Cir. 1990).
Regarding claim 9, modified Onuki discloses all the claim limitations of claim 1. Onuki further discloses wherein the organic solvent contains one or more selected from a chain carbonate, a cyclic carbonate other than ethylene carbonate, a carboxylate, and an ether solvent ([0018] organic solvent can contain ethylene carbonate, a fluorine-substituted cyclic carbonate and a methyl carbonate, [0056-0058] specific examples of chain carbonates and cyclic carbonates used for the organic solvent).
Regarding claim 10, modified Onuki discloses all the claim limitations of claim 9. Onuki further discloses wherein the organic solvent contains the chain carbonate, and a content of the chain carbonate in the electrolyte is 40-90 wt% ([0018,0056-0057, 0061-0063] chain carbonates can be used such as methyl carbonate and similar chain carbonates can be provided between 0 and 100 wt% and preferable between 10-100%). In the case where the claimed ranges “overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art” a prima facie case of obviousness exists. In re Wertheim, 541 F.2d 257, 191USPQ 90 (CCPA 1976); In re Woodruff, 919 F.2d 1575, 16 USPQ2d 1934 (Fed. Cir. 1990).
Regarding claim 11, modified Onuki discloses all the claim limitations of claim 9. Onuki further discloses wherein the chain carbonate is selected from dimethyl carbonate, diethyl carbonate, dipropyl carbonate, methyl ethyl carbonate, methyl propyl carbonate, ethyl propyl carbonate, and trifluoroethyl methyl carbonate ([0057] examples of chain carbonates);
The cyclic carbonate other then ethylene carbonate is selected from fluoroethylene carbonate ([0058]);
The carboxylate is selected from ethyl acetate, methyl acetate ([0059] chain esters).
Examiner notes that claim 11 depends upon claim 9 in which the organic solvent contains one or more of chain carbonates, cyclic carbonates, carboxylates, and ether solvents and thus only one of the list is required to read on claim 9 and at least one material from the whole claim 11 is needed to read on claim 11. Thus claim 11 is rendered obvious through the teaching of Onuki as Onuki discloses at least one material listed for the organic solvent according to claim 11.
Regarding claim 12, modified Onuki discloses all the claim limitations of claim 1. Onuki further discloses wherein a content of the organic solvent in the electrolyte is 60 wt%-98wt% ([0009] electrolytic solution comprises an electrolyte and a nonaqueous organic solvent wherein the electrolyte comprises the unsaturated cyclic acid anhydride at a weight % of 0.0001 to 10 wt% with the remaining being the organic solvent of approximately 90-99.99 wt%). In the case where the claimed ranges “overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art” a prima facie case of obviousness exists. In re Wertheim, 541 F.2d 257, 191USPQ 90 (CCPA 1976); In re Woodruff, 919 F.2d 1575, 16 USPQ2d 1934 (Fed. Cir. 1990).
Regarding claims 13-16, modified Onuki discloses all the claim limitations of claim 1. Onuki further discloses wherein the electrolyte of claim 1 can be used in a secondary battery, battery module, battery pack and power consuming device ([0002] electrolyte batteries can be used as power sources for mobile devices such as phones, notebook computers that reads on secondary batteries, battery modules, battery pack and a power consuming device as all of these are known in the art for using battery that contains an electrolyte).
Regarding claim 17, modified Onuki discloses all the claim limitations of claim 1. Hidaka further discloses wherein the compound comprises one or more selected from A4, A6-A8, A10-A11 ([0064] R14 can be a fluorine atom or a trifluoromethyl group ; Chemical formula 8 will read on A4 of the claim).
Regarding claims 18, Onuki discloses an electrolyte, comprising:
An organic solvent ([0009,0021] electrolyte comprises an organic solvent); and
One or more of a compound represented by following general formula I or general formula II (Onuki Chemical formula 1 and examples as seen below; [0009,0045-0046]);
Wherein in the general formula I or the general formula II: X is O and R comprises one or more of a cyano or isocyanate group, a trimethylsilyl, a straight chain alkyl or branched chain alkyl with 2-4 carbon atoms (Figures below; chemical formula 1 and examples of the formula 1 wherein X is O and R is a straight chain alkyl or branched chain alkyl with 2-4 carbon atoms),
A content of the compound in the electrolyte is 0.01 wt-5 wt% ([0009] 0.0001-10 % by weight of the unsaturated cyclic acid anhydride of formulae 1-4); and
A content of ethylene carbonate in the organic solvent is less than or equal to 3 wt % ([0018] electrolytic solution has an organic solvent that can be ethylene carbonate and other carbonate materials wherein the ethylene carbonate provided can be greater than or equal to 0 and less than or equal to 39 % by weight of the organic solvent).
In the case where the claimed ranges “overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art” a prima facie case of obviousness exists. In re Wertheim, 541 F.2d 257, 191USPQ 90 (CCPA 1976); In re Woodruff, 919 F.2d 1575, 16 USPQ2d 1934 (Fed. Cir. 1990).
Onuki discloses materials that are very similar to the material as claimed, however, is silent with respect to the exact material used by Applicant.
Hidaka discloses an electrolytic solution for an electrochemical device, cell and module and is analogous with the instant invention as being within the same field of endeavor of battery electrolytes. Hidaka discloses a list of materials that can be used for the electrolyte including a base material as seen in chemical formula 8, wherein Rf14 can include a C1-C3 alkyl group containing halogen/fluorine atoms ([0022-0028], [0064] wherein the fluorine atom can be a trifluoromethyl group).
Therefore, it would have been obvious in view of a skilled artisan to substitute the electrolyte material of Onuki for the material of Hidaka containing the Chemical formula 8 with the trifluoromethyl group as a simple substitution of one electrolyte material for another that comprises a very similar structure and would have reasonable expectation of success. The simple substitution of one known element for another is likely to be obvious when predictable results are achieved. See KSR International Co. v. Teleflex Inc., 550 U.S. __,__, 82 USPQ2d 1385, 1395 – 97 (2007) (see MPEP § 2143, B.). The selection of a known material, which is based upon its suitability for the intended use, is within the ambit of one of ordinary skill in the art. See In re Leshin, 125 USPQ 416 (CCPA 1960) (see MPEP § 2144.07).
Claims 2-3 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Onuki (JP 2011060464 A- as cited in the IDS) in view of Hidaka et al. (US 2020/0127332 A1) as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Inaba (JP 2003151622 A).
Regarding claims 2-3, modified Onuki discloses all the claim limitations of claim 1. Onuki is silent with respect to the specific materials as claimed in claims 2-3.
Inaba discloses an nonaqueous electrolyte material for a battery and is analogous with the instant invention as being in the same field of endeavor of battery cells. Inaba further discloses wherein the electrolyte can have the structure below and wherein R can be hydrogen or an alkyl group ( [0010-0017]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious in view of as killed artisan to substitute the electrolyte material of Onuki for the material of Inaba containing the Chemical formula 3 above as a simple substitution of one electrolyte material for another that comprises a very similar structure and would have reasonable expectation of success. The simple substitution of one known element for another is likely to be obvious when predictable results are achieved. See KSR International Co. v. Teleflex Inc., 550 U.S. __,__, 82 USPQ2d 1385, 1395 – 97 (2007) (see MPEP § 2143, B.). The selection of a known material, which is based upon its suitability for the intended use, is within the ambit of one of ordinary skill in the art. See In re Leshin, 125 USPQ 416 (CCPA 1960) (see MPEP § 2144.07). Thus all the claim limitations of claims 2-3 are rendered obvious through the combination.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 07/24/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. Applicant argues that the amended claims overcome the rejection of record in view of the amendments. Examiner notes that the claims have been updated taking into account the amendments to the claims and thus are not persuasive.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Muldoon et al. (US 2010/0209780 A1)-discloses a high voltage electrolyte for a battery comprising a structure that is similar to the instant invention.
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/ADAM J FRANCIS/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1728