DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of Group I (claims 1-14) in the reply filed on January 20, 2026 is acknowledged. Claims 15-20 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected invention, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. The requirement is deemed proper and is therefore made FINAL.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 3-8 and 11-14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
In many of the claims, the examiner suggests amending the phrase “one or more of” to read “one or more from the group consisting of” to place the claims into a more standard Markush group language.
Claims 3-4, one occurrence.
Claims 5-8, three occurrences
Claims 11-14 are rejected for being dependent upon previously rejected claims.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1, 3, 5 and 7 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Hornig et al (US 3,876,577).
Regarding claims 1 and 3, Hornig teaches a emulsion polymer with the following structure (col. 4, Table, Latex 3):
Butadiene (structural unit B)
Acrylonitrile (structural unit C)
Methacrylamide (structural unit A)
While Hornig does not explicitly state that the polymer is a dispersant for a lithium-ion battery, given that there is no structural difference between the prior art polymer and the recited dispersant, the limitation “a dispersant for a lithium ion battery” is treated as an intended use limitation in the preamble of the claim and, therefore, does not carry much patentable weight.
Regarding claims 5 and 7, Hornig teaches that the nitrile monomer is acrylonitrile, and the diene monomer is butadiene (1,3 form is the most common) (Latex 3). It is noted that the acrylate monomer is not mandatorily present.
Claim(s) 1, 3, 5 ,7, 9, 11 and 13 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Aotani (US 2023/0250342).
Regarding claims 1 and 3, Aotani teaches a dispersant (Abstract) for a lithium-ion battery ([0002]) the following structure (Table 1, Dispersant 15)
butadiene (structural unit B)
acrylonitrile (structural unit C)
N, N-dimethylacrylamide (structural unit A)
Regarding claim 5 and 7, Aotani teaches that the nitrile monomer is acrylonitrile, the diene monomer is 1,3 butadiene ([0263)] (Dispersant 15). It is noted that the acrylate monomer is not mandatorily present.
Regarding claims 9, 11 and 13, Aotani teaches that the weight average molecular weight is 300,000 (Table 1, Dispersant 15)
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1, 4, 6, 8, 10, 12 and 14 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Aotani (US 2023/0250342).
Regarding claims 1 and 4, Aotani teaches a dispersant (Abstract) for a lithium-ion battery ([0002]) the following structure (Table 1, Dispersant 15)
65 % by weight butadiene (structural unit B) (molecular weight 54.1)
(67 mol %)
27 % by weight of acrylonitrile (structural unit C) (molecular weight of 53.1)
(28 mol %)
8 % by weight of N, N-dimethylacrylamide (structural unit A) (molecular weight of 99.1)
(4 mol %)
It is noted that this example recites all the components in the correct molar amounts except for structural unit A which, in the example is at 4 mol % instead of the recited 5 mol %. However, the teachings in the specification of Aotani teaches that the acrylamide component can be present in the amount from 0.1 to 10 % by mass ([0089]). It teaches that the nitrile containing unit (the acrylonitrile) can be present in the amount of 15 to 50 % by mass ([0071]). Given these teachings, It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use the teachings of Aotani to slightly modify the example cited above to the following formulation based on the teachings within the specification which reads on the claimed invention:
65 % by weight butadiene (structural unit B) (molecular weight 54.1)
(68 mol %)
25 % by weight of acrylonitrile (structural unit C) (molecular weight of 53.1)
(27 mol %)
10 % by weight of N, N-dimethylacrylamide (structural unit A) (molecular weight of 99.1)
(6 mol %)
Aotani fails to specifically exemplify the specific dispersant. However, Aotani discloses each of the components of the each of the structural units, and teaches that they are all suitable for use in the dispersant. It is within the ordinary level of skill in the art to make any of the dispersants suggested by a reference, including selecting materials and range of amounts from a list in a reference. Therefore, a person of ordinary skill would have been motivated to prepare any of the dispersants suggested by Aotani, including the claimed invention. In view of this, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the present invention to use the teachings of Aotani to arrive at the presently claimed invention. It would have been nothing more than using known components in a typical manner to achieve predictable results. KSR v. Teleflex, 550 U.S. 418, 82 USPQ2d 1385 (2007).
Regarding claims 6 and 8, Aotani teaches that the nitrile monomer is acrylonitrile, the diene monomer is 1,3 butadiene ([0263)] (Dispersant 15). It is noted that the acrylate monomer is not mandatorily present.
Regarding claims 10, 12 and 14, Aotani teaches that the weight average molecular weight is 300,000 (Table 1, Dispersant 15).
Conclusion
DORIS L. LEE
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 1764
/DORIS L LEE/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1764