DETAILED ACTION
Priority
Acknowledgment is made of applicant’s claim for foreign priority under 35 U.S.C. 119 (a)-(d).
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 12/26/23, 1/17/24, 2/2525 are considered by the examiner.
Drawings
The drawings submitted on 5/30/23 has been considered.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-5, 7-10 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Yongbing et al. (CN108630896).
Regarding claims 1-3, the Yongbing et al. reference discloses a negative electrode structure (Title), the negative electrode structure comprising an aluminum metal base (Experimental 1), and a plurality of holes (Fig. 2), on a surface of the metal base with pore size of each of the plurality of holes ranges from 0.05 µm to 500 µm (1-20 microns) .
It is noted that claim limitation such as “applied to an aluminum battery” and “disposed on” comprises product-by-process claim limitation. “Even though product-by-process claims are limited by and defined by the process, determination of patentability is based on the product itself. The patentability of a product does not depend on its method of production. If the product in the product-by-process claim is the same as or obvious from a product of the prior art, the claim is unpatentable even though the prior product was made by a different process.” In re Thorpe, 777 F. 2d 695, 698, 227 USPQ 964, 966 (Fed. Cir. 1985). Since the negative electrode structures is the same as to that of the Applicant’s, Applicant’s process is not given patentable weight in this claim.
Regarding claims 4 and 8, the Yongbing et al. reference is silent in disclosing the plurality of holes are made by corrosion” and “by electroplating or electroforming deposition.” However, “are made by corrosion” and “by electroplating or electroforming deposition are product-by-process claim limitations. “Even though product-by-process claims are limited by and defined by the process, determination of patentability is based on the product itself. The patentability of a product does not depend on its method of production. If the product in the product-by-process claim is the same as or obvious from a product of the prior art, the claim is unpatentable even though the prior product was made by a different process.” In re Thorpe, 777 F. 2d 695, 698, 227 USPQ 964, 966 (Fed. Cir. 1985). Since holes are the same as to that of the Applicant’s, Applicant’s process is not given patentable weight in this claim.
Regarding claim 5, the Yongbing et al. reference discloses wherein the plurality of holes have different sizes, and the pore size is an average pore size (Fig. 2).
Regarding claim 7, the Yongbing et a. reference discloses wherein a material of the metal base is nickel.
Regarding claim 9, the Yongbing et al. reference discloses wherein the negative electrode structure is a mesh structure (Fig. 2).
Regarding claim 10, the Yongbing et al. reference discloses the plurality of holes have substantially the same size (Fig. 2 when viewed and measured by larger scale inch scale).
Claim(s) 1-5, 7-10 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Seong et al. (KR 10-2016-0027365).
Regarding claims 1-3, the Seong et al. reference discloses a negative electrode structure (P17), the negative electrode structure comprising an aluminum metal base, and a plurality of holes (Fig. 1 and Fig. 2), on a surface of the metal base with pore size of each of the plurality of holes ranges from within the claimed range of 0.05 µm to 500 µm (Fig. 1).
It is noted that claim limitation such as “applied to an aluminum battery” and “disposed on” comprises product-by-process claim limitation. “Even though product-by-process claims are limited by and defined by the process, determination of patentability is based on the product itself. The patentability of a product does not depend on its method of production. If the product in the product-by-process claim is the same as or obvious from a product of the prior art, the claim is unpatentable even though the prior product was made by a different process.” In re Thorpe, 777 F. 2d 695, 698, 227 USPQ 964, 966 (Fed. Cir. 1985). Since the negative electrode structures is the same as to that of the Applicant’s, Applicant’s process is not given patentable weight in this claim.
Regarding claims 4 and 8, the Seong et al. reference is silent in disclosing the plurality of holes are made by corrosion” and “by electroplating or electroforming deposition.” However, “are made by corrosion” and “by electroplating or electroforming deposition are product-by-process claim limitations. “Even though product-by-process claims are limited by and defined by the process, determination of patentability is based on the product itself. The patentability of a product does not depend on its method of production. If the product in the product-by-process claim is the same as or obvious from a product of the prior art, the claim is unpatentable even though the prior product was made by a different process.” In re Thorpe, 777 F. 2d 695, 698, 227 USPQ 964, 966 (Fed. Cir. 1985). Since holes are the same as to that of the Applicant’s, Applicant’s process is not given patentable weight in this claim.
Regarding claim 5, the Seong et al. refernce discloses the the plurality of holes have different sizes and the pore size is an average pore size.
Regarding claims 7 , the Seong et al. reference discloses wherein a material of the metal base is nickel (P17).
Regarding claim 9, the Seong et al. reference discloses the negative electrode structure is a mesh structure (Fig. 1 and 2).
Regarding claims 10, the Haijun et al. reference discloses the plurality of holes have substantially the same size (Fig. 2).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 6 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Seong et al. (KR 10-2016-0027365).
Regading claim 6, the Seong et al. reference discloses an average pore size of 0.3-0.9 microns or 300-900 nm. The Seong et al. reference also discloses the average diameter of the pores corresponds to (D) in the current collector shown schematically in FIG. 3, and when the average diameter of the pores is less than 300 nm , the resistance increases, so that the lifespan and output characteristics of the secondary battery decrease. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to choose the instantly claimed value through process optimization, since it has been held that the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, discovering the optimum or workable values involve only routine skill in the art. See In re Boesch, 205 USPQ 215 (CCPA 1980).
Conclusion
/Helen Oi K CONLEY/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1752