DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 7 and 16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claims 7 recites the limitation "wherein dynamic allocation" in lines 1-2 and claim 16 recites the limitation “wherein the dynamic allocation” in line 1. There is insufficient antecedent basis for these limitations in the claims. Each claim suggests that the concept occurs previously in the claims, but it does not appear in claims 1 and 10 from which claims 7 and 16 respectively depend.
Double Patenting
Claims 1-18 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-18 of U.S. Patent No. 11,661,279. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the issued claims include all of the same limitations but vary in scope.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
(b) the invention was patented or described in a printed publication in this or a foreign country or in public use or on sale in this country, more than one year prior to the date of application for patent in the United States.
Claim(s) 1-6, 10, and 12-15 is/are rejected under pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 102b as being anticipated by US 4,007,843 to Lubbers.
Regarding claim 1 Lubbers discloses an autonomous transport vehicle for transferring case units to and from predefined storage areas of at least one elevated storage rack in an automated case unit storage system, the autonomous transport vehicle comprising :a frame (220 and figure 14) configured so that the autonomous transport vehicle traverses, as a unit, picking aisles and lanes interconnecting the picking aisles that are alongside each of the at least one elevated storage rack for transferring case units between the predefined storage areas and a case unit input or output (200 moves to different aisles and to input/output area); and a controller (col. 11 lines 30-35 and col. 13 lines 15-20) connected to the frame, the controller being configured to effect movement of the autonomous transport vehicle on the picking aisles and lanes for accessing each storage area of the at least one elevated storage rack (col. 13 lines 15-20); and an effector (240 and figure 14) integral to and dependent from the frame, the effector defining a case unit seating surface contacting the case unit being held by the effector, the effector being configured to hold the case units and being configured to transfer the case units in a substantially vertical hand off exchange between the autonomous transport vehicle and each storage area (col. 15 lines 15-25).
Regarding claim 2 Lubbers discloses the effector is configured to transfer the case units in a substantially vertical hand off exchange between the autonomous transport vehicle and at least one vertical lift (see col. 15 lines 15-25, the same mechanism is used for all load transfers to/from the vehicle). It is noted that the lift itself is not claimed only that the effector be configured for such a transfer which the Lubbers forks are.
Regarding claims 3 and 12 Lubbers discloses the autonomous transport vehicle is configured to transfer case units between each storage area of the at least one elevated storage rack and the at least one vertical lift with one pick (see col. 15 lines 15-25).
Regarding claims 4 and 13 Lubbers discloses the autonomous transport vehicle is configured to transfer case units to a predetermined area of the storage area of the at least one elevated storage rack (see col. 15 lines 15-25, Lubbers loads pallets into and out of the racks).
Regarding claims 5 and 14 Lubbers discloses the effector of the autonomous transport vehicle is configured to interface with at least one elongated finger (22) of a support shelf of the storage area for transferring the case units in a substantially vertical hand off exchange between the support shelf and the autonomous transfer vehicle (see col. 15 lines 15-25).
Regarding claims 6 and 15 Lubbers discloses the frame has a first end and a second end (figure 14), the autonomous transport vehicle further includes a pair of individually operable drive wheels (270) disposed at the first end and driven by a drive system and a pair of idler wheels disposed at the second end (270 at other nondriven end).
Regarding claim 10 Lubbers discloses a method for transferring case units to and from predefined storage areas in an automated case unit storage system, the method comprising: providing a frame (220 and figure 14) of an autonomous transport vehicle for traversing, as a unit, picking aisles and lanes interconnecting the picking aisles that are alongside each of at least one elevated storage rack of the automated case unit storage system for transferring case units between the predefined storage areas and a case unit input or output (see movement of 200 through system to handle pallets); and effecting movement of the autonomous transport vehicle, with a controller connected to the frame, on the picking aisles and lanes for accessing each storage area of the at least one elevated storage rack (see movement of 200 through system to handle pallets and control of motor to locate 200, col. 13 lines 15-25); and transferring the case units in a substantially vertical hand off exchange between the autonomous transport vehicle and each storage area with an effector integral to and dependent from the frame, the effector defining a case unit seating surface contacting the case unit being held by the effector (col. 13 lines 15-25).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
(a) A patent may not be obtained though the invention is not identically disclosed or described as set forth in section 102, if the differences between the subject matter sought to be patented and the prior art are such that the subject matter as a whole would have been obvious at the time the invention was made to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which said subject matter pertains. Patentability shall not be negated by the manner in which the invention was made.
Claim 11 is/are rejected under pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 103(a) as being unpatentable over Lubbers in view of US 5,002,449 to Kita.
Regarding claim 11 Lubbers discloses transferring the case units in a substantially vertical hand off exchange (col. 13 lines 15-25) but does not specifically disclose such transfers between the autonomous transport vehicle and at least one vertical lift with the effector.
Kita teaches a storage system including a storage method including transferring the case units between the autonomous transport vehicle and at least one vertical lift with the effector (see col. 11 lines 15-25) in order to extract items while allowing the picker 6 to stay on a specific level of the system (col. 11 lines 25-30).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to Applicant’s invention to have modified Lubbers to include transfers between the autonomous transport vehicle and at least one vertical lift with the effector, as taught by Kita, in order to increase efficiency and eliminate the need for every extraction to require the vehicle to travel all the way to the output zone, allowing some vehicles to stay on specific storage levels.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 8-9 and 17-18 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter: the sensors detecting the raised support surfaces in order to effect dynamic allocation of case units differentiates the claims from the prior art when considered in combination with the other limitations of the claims.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Additional cited references show other similar systems with vehicles that travel along multiple aisles and/or perform vertical hand offs.
/MARK C HAGEMAN/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3652