DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of Group I (claims 1-18) in the reply filed on 3/9/2026 is acknowledged.
Group II (claims 19-20) are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected invention, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Election was made without traverse in the reply filed on 3/9/2026.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-16 and 18 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Arai et al (US 20180056691 A1).
Regarding claims 1-8, Arai teaches an inkjet ink set comprising an ink composition comprising a pigment as a colorant and an overcoat liquid comprising water and particles of a resin [0013, 0186, 0200], a water-soluble organic solvent [0355].
The water reads on the claimed water.
The water-soluble organic solvent includes 1,2-hexanediol [0360], reading on the claimed co-medium, as evidenced by the applicant [0069 spec.].
The pigment is in particle form [0244], reading the claimed pigment particles.
The resin particles comprise a polymerization product of reactants comprising a first constitutional unit derived from a monomer having at least one group selected from a phosphonic acid group and a salt of a phosphonic acid group such as bis(2-methacryloyloxyethyl) acid phosphate [0076] (BMEP), and a second constitutional unit including styrene [0097, 0111]. Resin particles A-5 in Table 1 contains Solution A which comprises 8.3 g of emulsifying agent and 27.7 g of BMEP; and Solution B which comprises 110 g of styrene and 30 g of 2-ethylhexyl acylate [0495].
The styrene and 2-ethylhexyl acylate read on the claimed hydrophobic monomer, as evidenced by the applicant [0010 spec.].
The BMEP reads on the claimed anionic monomers comprising one or more types of crosslinkable anionic monomers, as specified in claims 7, 8.
The ratio of solution B/A is 0.2 [Table 1]. Thus, the total amount of BMEP in the resin particles is 43 wt%, as calculated by the examiner, meeting the claimed “a total amount of polymerized crosslinkable anionic monomers in the resin particles is at least about 1 weight% and a total amount of polymerized anionic monomers in the resin particles is at least about 15 weight%” in claim 2, and “a total amount of polymerized crosslinkable anionic monomers in the resin particles is at least about 3 weight% and a total amount of polymerized anionic monomers in the resin particles is at least about 20 weight%” in claim 3.
Arai teaches that a pigment is dispersed by a polymer dispersing agent, that is, at least a part of a pigment is coated with a polymer dispersing agent [0209]. The pigments include magenta pigment [0535] and black pigment [0542]. Thus, the pigment particles comprise water-insoluble polymer dispersed magenta pigment particles or black pigment particles, meeting claims 4-6.
Regarding claims 9-14, the limitations include all those listed in claims 1-8 and are addressed above.
Regarding claim 15, Arai teaches that the resin comprises styrene as stated above, and further comprises an anionic dissociable group-containing acrylic monomer including methacrylic acid [0258].
Regarding claims 16 and 18, Arai teaches that the water-soluble organic solvent includes 1,2-hexanediol as stated above, and further includes propylene glycol and glycerin (glycerol) [0357].
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-18 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Masatoki et al (US 20230212412 A1) in view of Arai et al (US 20180056691 A1).
Regarding claims 1 and 7-8, Masatoki teaches a water-based inkjet ink composition comprising a pigment, a binder resin, and a water-soluble solvent [abstract, 0001].
The water-soluble solvent includes 1,2-hexanediol [0138], which reads on the claimed co-medium, as evidenced by the applicant [0069 spec.].
The pigment is in particle form [0161], reading on the claimed pigment particles.
The binder resin is in microparticle form [0247], reading on the claimed resin particles.
The binder resin includes styrene [Table 3, 0239-0241], which read on the claimed hydrophobic monomer, as evidenced by the applicant [0010 spec.].
Masatoki does not teach anionic monomers comprising one or more types of crosslinkable anionic monomers.
In the same field of endeavor, Arai teaches a water-based inkjet ink set comprising an ink composition and an overcoat liquid [0013, 0186]. The ink composition contains resin particles [0251]; and the resin contains styrene [0273, 0289] and bis(methacryloxyethyl) phosphate (BMEP) for improving dispersion stability and aggregating properties [0278, 0281].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing to add BMEP in Arai’s resin composition, as it is expressly disclosed as being useful in an inkjet ink composition. It has been established that selection of a known material based on its suitability for its intended use is prima facie obvious (Sinclair & Carroll Co. v. Interchemical Corp., 325 U.S. 327, 65 USPQ 297 (1945)). See MPEP 2144.07. It also would be obvious to add BMEP for the benefit of improving dispersion stability and aggregating properties.
The BMEP reads on the claimed anionic monomers comprising one or more types of crosslinkable anionic monomers, as specified in claims 7, 8.
Regarding claim 2-3, Arai teaches that the overcoat liquid comprises resin particles comprising a polymerization product of reactants comprising a first constitutional unit derived from a monomer having at least one group selected from a phosphonic acid group and a salt of a phosphonic acid group such as bis(2-methacryloyloxyethyl) acid phosphate [0076] (BMEP), and a second constitutional unit including styrene [0097, 0111]. Resin particles A-5 in Table 1 contains Solution A which comprises 8.3 g of emulsifying agent and 27.7 g of BMEP; and Solution B which comprises 110 g of styrene and 30 g of 2-ethylhexyl acylate [0495].
The ratio of solution B/A is 0.2 [Table 1]. Thus, the total amount of BMEP in the resin particles is 43 wt%, as calculated by the examiner, meeting the claimed “a total amount of polymerized crosslinkable anionic monomers in the resin particles is at least about 1 weight% and a total amount of polymerized anionic monomers in the resin particles is at least about 15 weight%” in claim 2, and “a total amount of polymerized crosslinkable anionic monomers in the resin particles is at least about 3 weight% and a total amount of polymerized anionic monomers in the resin particles is at least about 20 weight%” in claim 3.
The examiner submits that since the overcoat is part of the inkjet set composition and its resin composition is substantially identical to the resin composition in the ink composition (both contains styrene and BMEP), it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing to the same ratio of BMEP in the overcoat in the ink composition.
Regarding claims 4-6, Masatoky teaches that the pigment surface is coated with a pigment dispersing resin (polymers) [0085, 0087]; and the pigment includes magenta pigment [0056, 0078].
Regarding claims Regarding claims 9-14, the limitations include all those listed in claims 1-8 and are addressed above.
Regarding claim 15, Masatoky teaches that the resin comprises styrene as stated above, and further comprises methacrylic acid [Table 3, 0239-0242].
Regarding claims 16 and 18, Masatoky teaches that the water-soluble organic solvent includes 1,2-hexanediol as stated above, and further includes propylene glycol and glycerol [0138, 0133].
Regarding claim 17, Masatoky teaches that the amount of pigment is preferably 0.5 to 10% by mass relative to the total amount of the water-based ink [0076], overlapping the claimed from about 4 weight% to about 10 weight%; the amount of binder resin respect to the total amount of the ink is preferably 1 to 15% by mass [0116], overlapping the claimed from about 1 weight% to about 5 weight%; and the amount of the water-soluble solvent is preferably 1 to 30% by mass relative to the total amount of the inkjet ink [0147], overlapping the claimed at least about 2 weight%. A prima facie case of obviousness exists where the claimed ranges "overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art" (MPEP 2144.05.I).
Conclusion
/JIANGTIAN XU/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1762