DETAILED ACTION
Examiner’s note
This communication replaces the previous Non-Final Action and includes a corrected statutory period for reply of 3 months from the mailing date of this Non-Final Action.
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election of Species I, upon which claims 1-4 and 7-16 read, in the reply filed on 12/22/2025 is acknowledged. Because applicant did not distinctly and specifically point out the supposed errors in the restriction requirement, the election has been treated as an election without traverse (MPEP § 818.01(a)).
Claims 5-6 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b), as being drawn to a nonelected species, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Applicant timely traversed the restriction (election) requirement in the reply filed on 12/22/2025.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-3, 7, 10-12, and 14-16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Trimberger et al. US 20170236809 A1 (hereinafter referred to as Trimberger), in view of Sturcken et al. US 10367415 B1 (hereinafter referred to as Sturcken), in view of Benson et al. US 20190326234 A1 (hereinafter referred to as Benson)
Regarding claim 1, Trimberger teaches
An integrated circuit (“PMIC die 106 disposed between “IC die 102” para. 0015 FIG. 1) comprising:
a first base (“IC die 102” para. 0015) that has a central area (a central area may be defined as drawn in annotated FIG. 1) and a peripheral area surrounding the central area in a plan view of the integrated circuit (outside of central area in annotated FIG. 1); and
a second base (“PMIC die 106” para. 0015) and that comprises a power amplifier circuit (“circuitry 130” in “PMIC die 106” includes a switching amplifier, para. 0019),
wherein the second base is overlain by the central area, and does not overlap the peripheral area, in the plain view (as defined in annotated FIG. 1, “PMIC die 106” lies within and beneath the central area of “IC die 102”).
However, Trimberger fails to teach the first base that at least partly comprises a first semiconductor material, second base that at least a partly comprises a second semiconductor material different from the first semiconductor material.
Nevertheless, Sturcken teaches
the first base (“processor 200 chip” col 5 lines 3-4 FIG. 2A) that at least partly comprises a first semiconductor material (“the substrate or die for the processor 200 chip can comprise silicon” col 5 lines 16-17), second base (“power management package substrate 220” col 5 lines 4-5) that at least a partly comprises a second semiconductor material different from the first semiconductor material (“power converter chip comprises silicon or gallium nitride” col 3 lines 15-16).
Trimberger and Sturcken teach integrated circuit packages including a power device. The materials of “IC die 102” and “PMIC die 106” are not specified in Trimberger. Meanwhile, Sturcken teaches “processor chip 200” comprising silicon and “power management package substrate 220” comprising gallium nitride. Silicon is a well-known material used for manufacturing dies. With gallium nitride in particular, Benson teaches it as a material suitable for high performance high frequency amplifiers (para. 0036). One of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention would have recognized that silicon a known material suitable to form “IC die 102” and gallium nitride is suitable to form a high performance “PMIC die 106”.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the integrated circuit in Trimberger with the materials taught in Sturcken and Benson. Silicon is well-known for use in die manufacturing and gallium nitride is used for high performance power devices.
Regarding claim 2, Trimberger, modified by Sturcken and Benson, teach the integrated circuit according to Claim 1, wherein the second base overlaps a center of the first base in the plan view (“PMIC die 106” overlaps the center of “IC die 102” as shown in annotated FIG. 1).
Regarding claim 3, Trimberger, modified by Sturcken and Benson, teach the integrated circuit according to Claim 2, wherein the power amplifier circuit comprises an amplifier transistor (“PMIC die 106” includes a switching amplifier and the examiner understands switching amplifiers include transistors, para. 0018), and wherein the amplifier transistor overlaps the center of the first base in the plan view (“PMIC 106” is entirely under the center of “IC die 102”, such that the transistor of the switching amplifier is understood to be in the center of “IC die 102”).
Regarding claim 7, Trimberger, modified by Sturcken and Benson, teach the integrated circuit according to Claim 1, wherein the first base comprises an electric circuit (“solid state circuitry 138 formed in the die 102” para. 0016).
Regarding claim 10, Trimberger, modified by Sturcken and Benson, teach the integrated circuit according to Claim 1, wherein the first base comprises a first electrode (“contact pad 136”, wherein at least one “contact pad 136” is bonded to “substrate 104”, para. 0016) on a surface of the first base that faces the second base.
Regarding claim 11, Trimberger, modified by Sturcken and Benson, teach the integrated circuit according to Claim 10, wherein the first electrode is overlain by the peripheral area in the plan view (the “contact pad 136” is overlain by the peripheral area of “IC die 102”).
Regarding claim 12, Trimberger, modified by Sturcken and Benson, teach the integrated circuit according to Claim 1, wherein the second base comprises a second electrode (“contact pad 142” para. 0022) on a surface of the second base that is opposite a surface that faces the first base (“contact pad 142” face “substrate 104”).
Regarding claim 14, Trimberger, modified by Sturcken and Benson, teach the integrated circuit according to Claim 1, wherein the first semiconductor material has a thermal conductivity greater than the second semiconductor material (as evidenced in “Thermal Conductivity of Common Semiconductors” by Francois Cardelli from Matmake, the thermal conductivity of silicon is around 124 W/(m·K) while the thermal conductivity of GaN is around 65.6 W/(m·K).
Regarding claim 15, Trimberger, modified by Sturcken and Benson, teach the integrated circuit according to Claim 1, wherein the first semiconductor material is silicon or gallium nitride (“the substrate or die for the processor 200 chip can comprise silicon” Sturcken 12), and wherein the second semiconductor material is gallium arsenide or silicon germanium (gallium arsenide is also taught in Benson para. 0036 as a high performance amplifier material).
Regarding claim 16, Trimberger, modified by Sturcken and Benson, teach
A radio-frequency module (“exemplary integrated chip package assembly 100” para. 0015) comprising:
the integrated circuit according to Claim 1 (“PMIC die 106 disposed between “IC die 102”); and
a module substrate (“substrate 104” para. 0015) that has a principal surface (“first surface 112” para. 0015), the integrated circuit being on the principal surface (“PMIC die 106” and “IC die “102” are on “substrate 102”),
wherein the first base is joined to the principal surface with a first electrode interposed in between the first base and the principal surface (a “contact pad 136” of “IC die 102”, para 0016), and
wherein the second base is joined to the principal surface with a second electrode interposed in between the second base and the principal surface (a “contact pad 142” under “PMIC die 106”, para. 0022).
Claim 4 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Trimberger, modified by Sturcken and Benson, in view of “Chapter 10: Multi stage amplifier configurations” by Mercer (hereinafter referred to as Mercer).
Trimberger, modified by Sturcken and Benson the integrated circuit according to Claim 3 but fails to teach wherein the power amplifier circuit is a multistage amplifier circuit, and wherein the amplifier transistor is an output-stage amplifier transistor.
Nevertheless, Mercer teaches that multiple stages of amplification can provide greater gain or bandwidth than a single stage amplification (page 1, first paragraph of included reference). Input and output impedance can be better matched as well. For example, Ida teaches the use of three transistors for signal amplification for radio communication devices (para. 0002), where the final transistor is an output stage transistor (para. 0148). One of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention would have recognized that a multistage amplifier circuit can provide a strong output signal suitable for communications devices.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the semiconductor device taught between Trimberger and Sturcken with the multistage amplifier circuit taught in Mercer and Ida. Multistage amplifier circuits provide increased signal strength for high frequency operations.
Claims 1, 7-8, and 13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kim et al. US 20210242896 A1 (hereinafter referred to as Kim), in view of Sturcken, in view of Benson.
Regarding claim 1, Kim teaches
An integrated circuit (“RFIC 110” with “second connection member 180” and “first FEIC 120a” para. 0058 and 0103) comprising:
a first base (“RFIC 110” with “second connection member 180”) that has a central area (central area as shown in annotated FIG. 2A) and a peripheral area (outside of central area as shown in annotated FIG. 2A) surrounding the central area in a plan view of the integrated circuit; and
a second base (“FEIC 120a) that comprises a power amplifier circuit (“first FEIC 120a may include at least a portion of a power amplifier” para. 0048), wherein the second base is overlain by the central area, and does not overlap the peripheral area, in the plain view (“FEIC 120a” is under and within central area of “RFIC 110” with “second connection member 180” as shown in annotated FIG. 2A).
However, Kim fails to teach the first base at least partly comprises a first semiconductor material and the second base at least a partly comprises a second semiconductor material different from the first semiconductor material.
Nevertheless, Sturcken teaches
the first base (“processor 200 chip” col 5 lines 3-4 FIG. 2A) that at least partly comprises a first semiconductor material (“the substrate or die for the processor 200 chip can comprise silicon” col 5 lines 16-17), second base (“power management package substrate 220” col 5 lines 4-5) that at least a partly comprises a second semiconductor material different from the first semiconductor material (“power converter chip comprises silicon or gallium nitride” col 3 lines 15-16).
Kim and Sturcken teach integrated circuit packages including a power device. The materials of “RFIC 110” and “first FEIC 120a” are not specified in Kim. Meanwhile, Sturcken teaches “processor chip 200” comprising silicon and “power management package substrate 220” comprising gallium nitride. Silicon is a well-known material used for manufacturing dies. With gallium nitride in particular, Benson teaches it as a material suitable for high performance high frequency amplifiers (para. 0036). One of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention would have recognized that silicon a known material suitable to form “IC die 102” and gallium nitride is suitable to form a high performance “PMIC die 106”.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the integrated circuit in Kim with the materials taught in Sturcken. Silicon is well-known for use in die manufacturing and gallium nitride is used for high performance power devices.
Regarding claim 7, Kim, modified by Sturcken and Benson, teach the integrated circuit according to Claim 1, wherein the first base comprises an electric circuit (“RFIC 110” is a radio frequency integrated circuit and forms circuits with “second connection member 180”, such as the circuit made up of “third electrical connection structures 133”, “second via 183”, and “core vias 163”, para. 0043, 0059, and 0063).
Regarding claim 8, Kim, modified by Sturcken and Benson, teach the integrated circuit according to Claim 7, wherein the electric circuit does not overlap the second base in the plan view (the circuit formed by “third electrical connection structures 133”, “second via 183”, and “core vias 163” does no overlap with “FEIC 120a”, as drawn in annotated FIG. 2A).
Regarding claim 13, Kim, modified by Sturcken and Benson, teach the integrated circuit according to Claim 1, wherein the power amplifier circuit comprises a circuit device having a collector layer, a base layer, and an emitter layer (is it known that power amplifiers use heterojunction bipolar transistors such as “HBT 15” in Sasaki, heterojunction bipolar transistors comprising a collector, a base layer, and an emitter, para. 0006-0009 and 0061), and wherein the collector layer, the base layer, and the emitter layer are laminated, the base layer being between the collector layer and the emitter layer (it is understood the collector, base, and emitter layers are laminated so that electrons and holes can diffuse across each layer, as seen in FIG. 1 para. 0005-0009 of Hase US 20040227155 A1 and FIG. 9 para. 0011 in Tsukao US 20070205432 A1).
However, Kim, modified by Sturcken, fails to teach the collector layer being closer to the first base than the base layer and the emitter layer.
Nevertheless, the laminate structure of a heterojunction bipolar transistor can be stacked in two ways: the collector, base, and then emitter layer or emitter, base, and then collector layer. Both arrangements have the same function given the appropriate connections to each layer. One of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention would have recognized that either configuration is obvious to try, given that same or similar characteristics are expected for the operation of the heterojunction bipolar transistor. As stated in MPEP 2143 Section E, “a person of ordinary skill has good reason to pursue the known options within his or her technical grasp. If this leads to the anticipated success, it is likely that product [was] not of innovation but of ordinary skill and common sense.”
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention that having the collector closer to the first base than the base layer or the emitter layer is a possible solution to the predictable result of mounting a heterojunction bipolar transistor in a power amplifier circuit. It is one of two viable options that would have been obvious to try.
Claim 9 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kim, in view of Sturcken and Benson, in view of Sasaki et al. US 20070190962 A1 (hereinafter referred to as Sasaki).
Kim, in view of Sturcken and Benson, teach the integrated circuit according to Claim 7, wherein the electric circuit comprises a control circuit (80), a first switching circuit (51), or a second switching circuit (52), the control circuit being configured to control the power amplifier circuit, the first switching circuit being connected to an output end of the power amplifier circuit, and the second switching circuit being connected to an input end of the power amplifier circuit.
Nevertheless, Sasaki teaches
wherein the electric circuit comprises a control circuit (“semiconductor chip 27 is mainly made of silicon, and a control circuit for controlling an amplifier circuit is formed therein” para. 0065 FIG. 4-5), a first switching circuit, or a second switching circuit, the control circuit being configured to control the power amplifier circuit (the control circuit in “semiconductor chip 27” is for controlling the amplifier circuit in “semiconductor chip 28”, para. 0065-0067), the first switching circuit being connected to an output end of the power amplifier circuit, and the second switching circuit being connected to an input end of the power amplifier circuit.
Kim, modified by Sturcken and Sasaki, teach integrated circuits comprising power amplifiers. The “RFIC 120” processes a base signal and generates an RF signal or vice versa while “FEIC 120a” in Kim amplifies RF signal by use of a power amplifier, a low noise amplifier, and a transmission/reception conversion switch. (para. 0044-0048); control operations are not described. Meanwhile, Sasaki teaches “semiconductor chip 27” for controlling the amplification of signals from “semiconductor chip 28”; the output signal from “semiconductor chip 28” can be chosen between two different bands by the control current from “semiconductor chip 27” (Sasaki para. 0054-0061). One of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention would have recognized that the control circuit in “semiconductor chip 27” can control the amplifying operation of “FEIC 120a”.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to the integrated circuit in Kim with the control circuit taught in Sasaki. The control circuit can determine the operation of the power amplifier circuit, such as selecting the frequency band of the signal output.
Conclusion
/ERIC MANUEL MULERO FLORES/ Examiner, Art Unit 2898 /JULIO J MALDONADO/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2898