DETAILED ACTION
Drawings
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a). The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims. Therefore, the “temperature sensor” recited in claims, 14 and 17 must be shown or the feature(s) canceled from the claim(s). No new matter should be entered.
Claim Objections
Claim(s) 4-5 is/are objected to because of the following informalities:
With respect to claim 4, “all of the fixed ends of the elastic cantilevers” recited in line 2 of the claim, should read “all of the fixed ends of the pair of elastic cantilevers”, in order to keep language consistent throughout the claims. Claim 5 which directly depends from claim 4 and which inherits issues of claim 4 is objected to for similar reasons.
With respect to claim 5, “each of the elastic cantilevers” and “the fixed ends” recited in lines 1-2 of the claim should read “each of the pair of elastic cantilevers” and “the pair of fixed ends”, respectively, in order to keep language consistent throughout the claims.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim(s) 7-9 and 18-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
With respect to claim 7, as currently presented the claim recites “the width direction of the bridging arms” in lines 1-2. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. For purpose of compact prosecution, “the width direction of the bridging arms” will be treated as if it were “a width direction of the bridging arms”. Claim 8, which directly depends from claim 7 and which inherits issues of claim 7 is objected to for similar reasons.
With respect to claim 9, as currently presented the claim recites “the one side in the width direction of each of the bridging arms” in lines 1-2. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. Specifically, it is not clear if the recited “the one side” is referring to a one side in width direction of elastic cantilevers (introduced in claim 6) or “a one side in the width direction of … the bridging arms”. For purpose of compact prosecution, “the one side in the width direction of the bridging arms” will be treated as if it were “a one side in a width direction of the bridging arms”.
With respect to claim 10, the term “roughly perpendicular” recited in line 3 of the claim is a relative term which renders the claim indefinite. Specifically, it is unclear, what the term “roughly” encompasses. Namely, the range of angles, covered by the term “roughly”, between a surface of an elastic cantilevers to the surface of the lead body is not clear. For purpose of compact prosecution, it will be assumed that the term “roughly perpendicular” requires the angle to be close to 90 degrees.
With respect to claim 18, as currently presented the claim recites “the terminal” in line 7. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. For purpose of compact prosecution, “the terminal” will be treated as if it were “a terminal”. Claims 19-20, which directly depend from claim 18 and which inherit issues of claim 18 are rejected for similar reasons.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-7, 9-11 and 13-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Zhu et al. (CN 216 413 353, hereinafter “Zhu”, cited on IDS and relying on the provided English translation).
Regarding claim 1, Zhu teaches in Figs. 1-9 (Figs. 2, 4, annotated Fig. 5 and annotated Fig. 9 shown below) a charging base lead frame (3, Fig. 2), comprising:
a frame body (300, Fig. 4 and ¶[0044]) having a receiving slot (302 , annotated Fig. 5 and ¶[0053]); and
a plurality of leads (e.g. 30, 31, 32, Figs. 6, 8 and annotated Fig. 9 and ¶¶[0049]-[0050]) fixed to the frame body (300, Fig. 4) and including a first lead (30, annotated Fig. 9 and ¶¶[0049]-[0050]) for electrical connection to a terminal (2, Fig. 2 and ¶[0042]) of a charging base, the first lead includes:
a lead body (33, annotated Fig. 9 and ¶[0055]) fixed to the frame body (300, Fig. 9);
a pair of elastic cantilevers (331, annotated Fig. 9 and ¶[0060]) connected to the lead body (33, annotated Fig. 9) and suspended in the receiving slot (302, annotated Fig. 5) for clamping the terminal (2, Fig. 2); and
a pair of bridging arms (annotated Fig. 9) respectively connecting a pair of fixed ends of the pair of elastic cantilevers (annotated Fig. 9) to the lead body (33, annotated Fig. 9) at least a portion of the fixed ends of each of the elastic cantilevers (331, annotated Fig. 9) is wrapped in the frame body (300, Fig. 4).
[AltContent: connector][AltContent: textbox (protruding part)][AltContent: textbox ((Annotated Figure))]
[AltContent: textbox (guide wing)][AltContent: connector][AltContent: textbox (fixed ends)][AltContent: connector][AltContent: connector][AltContent: connector][AltContent: connector][AltContent: textbox (width of cantilever)][AltContent: arrow][AltContent: arrow][AltContent: connector][AltContent: connector][AltContent: connector][AltContent: textbox (bridging arms)][AltContent: textbox ((Annotated Figure))]
[AltContent: textbox (width of bridging arms)]
Regarding claim 2 (1), Zhu teaches, wherein a portion of each of the pair of bridging arms (Fig. 4 and annotated Fig. 9) is wrapped in the frame body (300, Fig. 4).
Regarding claim 3 (2), Zhu teaches wherein a part of the pair of fixed ends (annotated Fig. 9) of each of the pair elastic cantilevers (331, annotated Fig. 9) and a part of each of the bridging arms (annotated Fig. 9) that is not wrapped in the frame body (300, Fig. 4) is suspended in the receiving slot (302, annotated Figs. 5 and 9).
Regarding claim 4 (1), Zhu teaches wherein all of the bridging arms (annotated Fig. 9) and all of the fixed ends (annotated Fig. 9) of the elastic cantilevers (331, annotated Fig. 9) are wrapped in the frame body (300, Fig. 4).
Regarding claim 5 (4), Zhu teaches wherein a rest of each of the elastic cantilevers (331, annotated Fig. 9) other than the fixed ends (annotated Fig. 9) is exposed from the frame body (300, Fig. 4) and suspended in the receiving slot (302, Fig. 5 and annotated Fig. 9).
Regarding claim 6 (1), Zhu teaches wherein each of the pair of bridging arms (annotated Fig. 9) is located at one side in a width direction of one of the elastic cantilevers (331, annotated Fig. 9) and is connected to a side edge of the fixed end of the one of the elastic cantilevers (annotated Fig. 9).
Regarding claim 7 (6), Zhu teaches wherein the width direction of the bridging arms (annotated Fig. 9) is parallel to a length direction of the elastic cantilevers (331, annotated Fig. 9), and a width of each of the bridging arms (annotated Fig. 9) is smaller than a width of each of the elastic cantilevers (331, annotated Fig. 9).
Regarding claim 9 (6), Zhu teaches wherein one side in the width direction of each of the bridging arms (annotated Fig. 9) is flush with an end side of the fixed end of one of the elastic cantilevers (331, annotated Fig. 9), and a portion of each of the bridging arms is wrapped in the frame body (300, annotated Fig. 5).
Regarding claim 10 (6), Zhu teaches wherein at least a part of each of the pair of bridging arms (annotated Fig .9) is bent relative to a surface of the lead body (33, annotated Fig. 9), a surface of each of the elastic cantilevers (331, annotated Fig. 9) is roughly perpendicular to the surface of the lead body (33, annotated Fig. 9).
Regarding claim 11 (1), Zhu teaches wherein the frame body (300, annotated Fig. 9) has a protruding part protruding (annotated Fig. 5) into the receiving slot (302, annotated Fig. 5), at least a portion of each of the bridging arms (annotated Fig. 9) and at least a portion of each of the fixed ends of the elastic cantilevers (annotated Fig. 9) are wrapped in the protruding part (annotated Figs. 5 and 9).
Regarding claim 13 (1), Zhu teaches wherein a through hole (301, annotated Fig. 5) is formed in the frame body (300, Fig. 2 and annotated Figs. 5 and 9) to allow the terminal (2, Fig. 2) to pass through (Fig. 2).
Regarding claim 14 (1), Zhu teaches wherein the plurality of leads include a second lead (31, Fig. 8) electrically connecting to a temperature sensor (4, Figs. 2-3 and ¶[0042]) of the charging base, a plurality of pins (312, 322, 332, Figs. 6, 10 and ¶¶[0057]-[0060]) of the first lead and the second lead are exposed from a side of the frame body and arranged in a row (Figs. 8-10).
Regarding claim 15 (1), Zhu teaches wherein the first lead (30, annotated Fig. 9) includes a pair of guide wings (annotated Fig. 9) respectively connected to a pair of sides of a pair of free ends of the elastic cantilevers (331, annotated Fig. 9), the pair of guide wings are flared outward in an octagonal shape to guide (i.e. it is noted that the guide wings disclosed by Zhu have the same shape and are flared outwardly in a same way as the guide wings (112) disclosed by the applicant, accordingly they would provide the same function as claimed) an end of the terminal (2, Fig. 2) to be inserted between the free ends of the pair of elastic cantilevers (331, annotated Fig. 9).
Regarding claim 16 (1), Zhu teaches wherein each of the plurality of leads is an integrated stamping molded part, the frame body and the plurality of leads are formed into an integrated injection molded part and the frame body (300, Fig. 4, annotated Fig. 5 and ¶[0048) is directly bonded to the plurality of leads (Fig. 4 and annotated Fig. 5). It is noted that the recitation of the method by which the plurality of leads and frame body are formed (e.g. integrated stamping molding, integrated injection molding), render the claim a product-by process claim, that will be treated according to MPEP § 2113, which states that “even through product-by process claims are limited by and defined by the process, determination of patentability is based on the product itself. The patentability of a product does not depend on its method of production. Since Zhu teaches all the claimed structure, the claimed method does not distinguish from the prior art.
Regarding claim 17, Zhu teaches in Figs. 1-9 (Figs. 2, 4, and annotated Figs. 5 and 9 shown above) a charging base lead frame assembly, comprising:
a charging base lead frame (3, Fig. 2 and ¶[0042]) including
a frame body (300, Fig. 4 and ¶[0044]) having a receiving slot (302 , annotated Fig. 5 and ¶[0053]) and a plurality of leads (30 (31, 32), Figs. 6, 8 and annotated Fig. 9 and ¶¶[0049]-[0050]) fixed to the frame body (300, Fig. 4) and including a first lead (e.g. 31, annotated Fig. 9) for electrical connection to a terminal (2, Fig. 2 and ¶[00) of a charging base and a second lead (e.g. 31, Fig. 8 and ¶¶[0049]-[0050]), the first lead includes a lead body (33, Fig. 9) fixed to the frame body (300, annotated Fig. 9),
a pair of elastic cantilevers (331, annotated Fig. 9) connected to the lead body (33, Fig. 9) and suspended in the receiving slot (302, annotated Fig. 5) for clamping the terminal (2, Fig. 2), and
a pair of bridging arms (annotated Fig. 9) respectively connecting a pair of fixed ends of the pair of elastic cantilevers (annotated Fig. 9) to the lead body (33, annotated Fig. 9) at least a portion of the fixed ends of each of the elastic cantilevers (331, annotated Fig. 9) is wrapped in the frame body (300, Fig. 4).
a temperature sensor (4, Figs. 2-3 and ¶[0042]), installed on the frame body (300, Fig. 1) to detect a temperature of the terminal of the charging base, the temperature sensor is electrically connected to the second lead (31, Fig. 8).
Regarding claim 18, Zhu teaches in Figs. 1-9 (Figs. 2, 4, annotated Figs. 5 and 9 shown above) a charging base (Fig. 1), comprising:
a housing (100, Fig. 1 and ¶[0042]);
a charging base lead frame (3, Fig. 2 and ¶[0042]) installed in the housing (100, Fig. 1),
the charging base lead frame (3, Fig. 2) including a frame body (300, Fig. 4 and ¶[0044]) having a receiving slot (302 , annotated Fig. 5 and ¶[0053]) and a plurality of leads (e.g. 30 (31, 32), Figs. 6, 8 and annotated Fig. 9 and ¶¶[0049]-[0050]) fixed to the frame body (300, Fig. 4) and including a first lead (e.g. 31, annotated Fig. 9), the first lead includes (33, annotated Fig. 9) a lead body (33, annotated Fig. 9 and ¶[0053]) fixed to the frame body (300, annotated Fig. 9),
a pair of elastic cantilevers (331, annotated Fig. 9 and ¶[0060]) connected to the lead body (33, Fig. 9) and suspended in the receiving slot (302, annotated Fig. 5) for clamping the terminal (2, annotated Fig. 2 and ¶[0042]); and
a pair of bridging arms (annotated Fig. 9) respectively connecting a pair of fixed ends of the pair of elastic cantilevers (annotated Fig. 9) to the lead body (33, annotated Fig. 9) at least a portion of the fixed ends of each of the elastic cantilevers (331, annotated Fig. 9) is wrapped in the frame body (300, Fig. 4); and
a terminal (2, Figs. 1-2 and ¶[0042]) installed in the housing and clamped between the pair of elastic cantilevers of the first lead (Figs. 1-3).
Regarding claim 19 (18), Zhu teaches wherein the terminal (2, Figs. 1-2) is a signal terminal (¶[0042]).
Regarding claim 20 (18), Zhu further teaches a charging terminal (1, Figs. 1-3 and ¶[0042]) installed in the housing and passing through the charging base lead frame (Figs. 1-3).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 8 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zhu as applied to claim 7 above. While Zhu does not explicitly teach that the width of each of the bridging arms is 10% to 60% of the width of each of the elastic cantilevers, or the width of each of the bridging arms is 20% to 50% of the width of each of the elastic cantilevers, absent of any criticality, changing the size (width) of the bridging arms and elastic cantilevers to fall within the claimed ranges would have been within capabilities of one of ordinary skill in the art as such a modification would have involved a mere change in the size of the component. A change of size is generally recognized as being within the level of ordinary skill in the art. In re Rose, 105 USPQ 237 (CCPA 1955).
Accordingly, it would have been an obvious matter of choice to form the bridging arms so that their width is 10% to 60% or 20% to 50% of the width of the elastic cantilevers, since such a modification would have involved a mere change in the size of the component.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claim(s) 12 is/are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is an examiner’s statement of reasons for allowance:
Regarding claims 12 the prior art of record, alone or in combination, and to the examiner’s knowledge does not teach, disclose, suggest, or render obvious, at least to the skilled artisan, the instant invention regarding a charging base lead frame, particularly characterized by a frame body that includes a limit beam located on a back of the frame body and bridging between a pair of sides of the receiving slot, where the limit beam is located between the pair of elastic cantilevers and extends along a length direction of the pair of elastic cantilevers, and an end of a terminal between a pair of free ends of the pair of elastic cantilevers, such that an end face of the end of the terminal is against the limit beam, in combination with all other elements of charging base lead frame recited in the claim(s). The closest prior art of record to Zhu (CN 216413353) fails to disclose the above noted elements of the claim.
Conclusion
/A.B.C/ Examiner, Art Unit 2893
/SUE A PURVIS/ Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2893