DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hu et al. (US 20190258104) in view of Zheng (US 20160187701).
Regarding claim 1, Hu discloses that an electronic device, comprising:
a first substrate 001 (Fig. 1g);
a second substrate 002 disposed opposite to the first substrate; a plurality of first electrodes disposed on the first substrate;
an insulating layer 007 (para. 0015) disposed between the first substrate 001 and the plurality of first electrodes (para. 0014, note: pixel electrode) ; and
a first spacer disposed between the first substrate and the second substrate.
Hu fails to teach that the insulating layer has a first opening, the first opening comprises a first enlarged part, and the first enlarged part and the first spacer are overlapped in a normal direction of the first substrate and wherein the first spacer and the plurality of the first electrodes are not overlapped in the normal direction of the first substrate.
Zheng suggests that the insulating layer 305-307 has a first opening, the first opening comprises a first enlarged part d3, or d2, or d1 (Fig. 3), and the first enlarged part and the first spacer are overlapped in a normal direction of the first substrate 320 and the plurality of the first electrodes 308 are not overlapped in the normal direction of the first substrate 320 (Fig. 3).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before effective filing date of applicant(s) claimed invention was made to provide Hu with insulating layer has a first opening, the first opening comprises a first enlarged part, and the first enlarged part and the first spacer are overlapped in a normal direction of the first substrate and wherein the first spacer and the plurality of the first electrodes are not overlapped in the normal direction of the first substrate as taught by Zheng in order to improve the quality of a panel by avoid dislocation therebetween in the plane pressure from the outside (para. 0080) and also, the claim would have been obvious because a particular know technique was recognized as part of the ordinary capabilities of one skilled in the art.
Reclaim 2, Hu & Zheng disclose that the plurality of first electrodes 308 are arranged along a first direction, and there is a first spacing area between two adjacent first electrodes of the plurality of first electrodes 308; wherein the first spacing area and the first opening are overlapped in the normal direction of the first substrate 320 (Fig. 3, Zhen).
Reclaim 3, Hu & Zheng disclose that a width of the first spacing area is greater than a width of the first opening in the first direction (Hu, Fig. 2 in view of Zheng’s Fig. 3, due to a shape of Hu’s spacer).
Reclaim 4, Hu & Zheng disclose that the plurality of first electrodes are arranged along a first direction, and a width of the first opening ranges from 1.5 um to 120 um in the first direction (Zheng, para. 0051).
Reclaim 5, Hu & Zheng disclose that a second spacer disposed between the first substrate and second substrate, wherein the insulating layer has a second opening, the second opening comprises a second enlarged part, the second enlarged part and the second spacer are overlapped in the normal direction of the first substrate, and a size of the first enlarged part is different from a size of the second enlarged part (Hu, Fig. 2 in view of Zheng’s Fig. 3, a height of space from the a top surface of the first substrate that is varied due to recess).
Reclaim 6, Hu & Zheng disclose that a height of the first spacer is greater than a height of the second spacer (Hu, Fig. 2 in view of Zheng’s Fig. 3, a height of space from the a top surface of the first substrate that is varied due to recess).
Reclaim 7, Hu & Zheng disclose that a light shielding unit 010 disposed between the first substrate and the second substrate, wherein the second opening and the light shielding unit are overlapped in the normal direction of the first substrate (Hu, Fig. 2 in view of Zheng’s Fig. 3).
Reclaim 8, Hu & Zheng disclose that a part of the first substrate 10 is exposed from the first opening in the normal direction of the first substrate (Yamamoto’s Fig. 3A & 5B).
Reclaim 9, Hu & Zheng disclose that in a cross-sectional view, the insulating layer has a bottom surface and a side surface, the side surface is adjacent to the first opening, and an included angle between the bottom surface and the side surface ranges (Zheng, Fig. 3).
Hu & Zheng fail to specify that the side surface is adjacent to the first opening, and an included angle between the bottom surface and the side surface ranges from 35° to 65°.
However, notwithstanding, one of ordinary skill in the art would have been led to the recited dimensions through routine experimentation and optimization.
Before effective filing date of the invention it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to use a certain range of angle between the bottom surface and the side surface, because it would have been to obtain a certain range of angle between the bottom surface and the side surface to achieve enhancing placing of the space.
Reclaim 10, Hu & Zheng disclose that a light shielding unit 010 disposed between the first substrate and the second substrate, wherein the first opening and the light shielding unit are overlapped in the normal direction of the first substrate (Hu, Fig. 2).
Regarding claim 11, Hu & Zheng disclose that a method for manufacturing an electronic device, comprising the following steps:
providing a first substrate 001;
forming an insulating layer 007 on the first substrate (Hu, Fig. 2);
forming a conductive layer 308 on the insulating layer 305-308 (Fig. 3);
patterning the insulating layer 305-307 to make the insulating layer has a first opening (Zheng, Fig. 3); and
patterning the conductive layer 308 to form a plurality of first electrodes, wherein there is a first spacing area between two adjacent first electrodes of the plurality of first electrodes, and the first spacing area and the first opening are overlapped in a normal direction of the first substrate (Zheng, Fig. 3); and providing a second substrate 002/301 and assembling the second substrate with the first substrate (Zheng, Fig. 3) wherein a first spacer 303 is disposed between the first substrate 320 and the second substrate 310, and the first spacer and the plurality of first electrodes 308 are not overlapped in the normal direction of the first substrate 320 (Fig. 3).
Reclaim 12, Hu & Zheng disclose that the conductive layer 308 is formed on the insulating layer after the insulating layer is patterned to make the insulating layer has the first opening (Zheng, Fig. 3).
Reclaim 13, Hu & Zheng disclose that the insulating layer 305-307 is patterned to make the insulating layer has the first opening d1-d3 after the conductive layer 308 is formed on the insulating layer 305-307.
Reclaim 14, Hu & Zheng disclose that the plurality of first electrodes 308 are arranged along a first direction, and a width of the first spacing area is greater than a width of the first opening in the first direction (Zheng, Fig. 3).
Reclaim 15, Hu & Zheng disclose that the plurality of first electrodes are arranged along a first direction, and a width of the first opening ranges from 1.5 um to 120 um in the first direction (Zheng, para. 0051).
Reclaim 16, Hu & Zheng disclose that a part of the first substrate is exposed from the first opening in the normal direction of the first substrate (Hu, Fig. 2).
Reclaim 17, Hu & Zheng disclose that in a cross-sectional view, the insulating layer has a bottom surface and a side surface, the side surface is adjacent to the first opening, and an included angle between the bottom surface and the side surface ranges (Hu, Fig. 2 in view of Zheng’s Fig. 3).
Hu & Zheng fail to specify that the side surface is adjacent to the first opening, and an included angle between the bottom surface and the side surface ranges from 35° to 65°.
However, notwithstanding, one of ordinary skill in the art would have been led to the recited dimensions through routine experimentation and optimization.
Before effective filing date of the invention it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to use a certain range of angle between the bottom surface and the side surface, because it would have been to obtain a certain range of angle between the bottom surface and the side surface to achieve enhancing placing of the space.
Reclaim 18, Hu & Zheng disclose that a step of providing a second substrate and assembling the second substrate with the first substrate after the step of patterning the conductive layer to form the plurality of first electrodes, wherein a first spacer is disposed between the first substrate and the second substrate, the first opening comprises a first enlarged part, and the first enlarged part and the first spacer are overlapped in the normal direction of the first substrate (Hu, Fig. 2 in view of Zheng Fig. 3).
Reclaim 19, Hu & Zheng disclose that a second spacer 004 is disposed between the first substrate and second substrate, wherein the insulating layer 007/ 305-307 (Hu, Fig. 1g/Zheng, Fig. 3) has a second opening, the second opening comprises a second enlarged part, the second enlarged part and the second spacer are overlapped in the normal direction of the first substrate, and a size of the first enlarged part is different from a size of the second enlarged part (Hu, Fig. 2 in view of Zheng Fig. 3).
Reclaim 20, Hu & Zheng disclose that a light shielding unit 010 is disposed between the first substrate 001 and the second substrate002, and the first opening and the light shielding unit 010 are overlapped in the normal direction of the first substrate (Hu, Fig. 2 in view of Zheng’s Fig. 3).
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/SU C KIM/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2899