DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of claims 1-5, 16-20 in the reply filed on 10/13/25 is acknowledged.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-5, 16-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Manack(USPGPUB DOCUMENT: 2022/0415762, hereinafter Manack) in view of Cook (USPGPUB DOCUMENT: 2019/0081133, hereinafter Cook).
Re claim 1 Manack discloses an electronic device comprising: a leadframe having a die pad(114/112) and leads; a die(120) attached to the die pad(114/112), the die(120) including an active side[0014]; and a wire bond(118) attached from the active side[0014] of the die(120) to the die pad(114/112); a mold compound(116) encapsulating the die(120), the wire bond(118), and a portion of the leadframe, wherein a stacked formation of the die(120).
Manack does not disclose the die(120) further including a dielectric layer deposited on a side of the die(120) opposite that of the active side[0014] and a die(120) attach film deposited on the dielectric layer; the dielectric layer, and the die(120) attach film form a capacitor that filters noise from a signal carried by the wire bond(118)
Cook disclose the die(201) further including a dielectric layer(210) deposited on a side of the die opposite that of the active side(top) and a die attach film(237) deposited on the dielectric layer; the dielectric layer, and the die attach film form a capacitor(231/232) that filters noise [0019,0023]
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the invention to apply the teachings of Cook to the teachings of Manack in order to provides an increased level of safety [0005, Cook]. In doing so, the die(201) further including a dielectric layer(210) deposited on a side of the die opposite that of the active side[0014] and a die attach film(237) deposited on the dielectric layer; the dielectric layer, and the die attach film form a capacitor(231/232) [0019,0023] that filters noise from a signal[0022 of Cook] carried by the wire bond(118 of Manack)
Re claim 2 Manack and Cook disclose the electronic device of claim 1, wherein the die(120) includes an electrically grounded and conductive substrate on the side opposite the active side[0014] that forms one electrically conductive plate of the capacitor (231/232 of Cook).
Re claim 3 Manack and Cook disclose the electronic device of claim 2, wherein the die(120) attach film is an electrically conductive film that along with the die pad(114/112) forms another electrically conductive plate of the capacitor (231/232 of Cook).
Re claim 4 Manack and Cook disclose the electronic device of claim 1, wherein the dielectric layer is comprised of an oxide and is deposited on the side opposite the active side[0014] of the die(120) via a spin coating process.
Re claim 5 Manack and Cook disclose the electronic device of claim 1, wherein the signal[0022 of Cook] is one of a reference voltage and an output signal[0022 of Cook].
Re claim 16 Manack discloses an electronic device comprising:a leadframe having a die pad(114/112) and leads; a die(120) attached to the die pad(114/112), the die(120) including an active side[0014] and a non-active side[0014] opposite that of the active side[0014]; a wire bond(118) attached from the active side[0014] of the die(120) to the die pad(114/112); a mold compound(116) encapsulating the die(120), the wire bond(118), and a portion of the leadframe,
Manack does not disclose a die(120) attach film attached to the non-active side[0014] of the die(120) that facilitates attachment of the die(120) to the die pad(114/112); wherein a stacked formation of the die(120), the die(120) attach film, and the die pad(114/112) form a capacitor that filters noise from a signal carried by the wire bond(118).
Cook disclose a die attach film(237) attached to the non-active side(bottom) of the die(201) that facilitates attachment of the die(201) to the die pad(221); wherein a stacked formation of the die(201), the die attach film(237), and the die pad(221) form a capacitor(231/232) that filters noise[0019,0023]
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the invention to apply the teachings of Cook to the teachings of Manack in order to provides an increased level of safety [0005, Cook]. In doing so, a die attach film(237) attached to the non-active side(bottom) of the die(201) that facilitates attachment of the die(201) to the die pad(221); wherein a stacked formation of the die(201), the die attach film(237), and the die pad(221) form a capacitor(231/232) [0019,0023] that filters noise from a signal[0022 of Cook] carried by the wire bond(118 of Manack).
Re claim 17 Manack and Cook disclose the electronic device of claim 16, wherein the die(120) attach film is made from a dielectric material that forms a dielectric layer of the capacitor (231/232 of Cook).
Re claim 18 Manack and Cook disclose the electronic device of claim 17, wherein the die(120) includes an electrically grounded and conductive substrate on the non-active side[0014] that forms one electrically conductive plate of the capacitor (231/232 of Cook).
Re claim 19 Manack and Cook disclose the electronic device of claim 18, wherein the die pad(114/112) forms another electrically conductive plate of the capacitor (231/232 of Cook).
Re claim 20 Manack and Cook disclose the electronic device of claim 16, wherein the signal[0022 of Cook] is one of a reference voltage and an output signal[0022 of Cook].
Conclusion
/PATRICIA D VALENZUELA/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2812