DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-5, 16-24 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Bonifield(USPGPUB DOCUMENT: 2021/0272886, hereinafter Bonifield) in view of Jackson (USPGPUB DOCUMENT: 2019/0341885, hereinafter Jackson).
Re claim 1 Bonifield discloses in Fig 1, 2, 3 an electronic device comprising: a leadframe having a die pad(160a) and leads(424); a die(120) attached to the die pad(160a), the die(120) including an active side(by way of 122a)[0021], the die(120) further including a dielectric layer(136)[0008] deposited on a side of the die(120) opposite that of the active side(by way of 122a)[0021] and a die attach film(156/152) deposited on the dielectric layer(136)[0008]; and a wire bond(151) attached from the active side(by way of 122a)[0021] of the die(120) to the die pad(160a); a mold compound(160), wherein a stacked formation of the die(120), the dielectric layer(136)[0008], and the die attach film(156/152) form a capacitor(100)[0032] that filters noise(since 100 demodulates or extracts this may be interpreted as filters)[0005,0031] from a signal carried by the wire bond(151).
Bonifield does not specifically teach a mold compound(160) encapsulating the die(120), the wire bond(151), and a portion of the leadframe,
Jackson discloses a mold compound(135) encapsulating the die(130), the wire bond(144/143), and a portion of the leadframe[claim 10],
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the invention to apply the teachings of Jackson to the teachings of Bonifield in order to improve the overall package performance [0006, Jackson].
Re claim 2 Bonifield and Jackson disclose the electronic device of claim 1, wherein the die(120) includes an electrically grounded and conductive substrate on the side opposite the active side(by way of 122a)[0021] that forms one electrically conductive plate of the capacitor(100)[0032].
Re claim 3 Bonifield and Jackson disclose the electronic device of claim 2, wherein the die attach film(156/152) is an electrically conductive film that along with the die pad(160a) forms another electrically conductive plate of the capacitor(100)[0032].
Re claim 4 Bonifield and Jackson disclose the electronic device of claim 1, wherein the dielectric layer(136)[0008] is comprised of an oxide and is deposited on the side opposite the active side(by way of 122a)[0021] of the die(120) via a spin coating process.
Re claim 5 Bonifield and Jackson disclose the electronic device of claim 1, wherein the signal is one of a reference voltage[0006,0028] and an output signal.
Re claim 16 Bonifield discloses in Fig 1, 2, 3 an electronic device comprising:a leadframe having a die pad(160a) and leads(424);a die(120) attached to the die pad(160a), the die(120) including an active side(by way of 122a)[0021] and a non-active side(side attached to 136) opposite that of the active side(by way of 122a)[0021];a die attach film(156/152) attached to the non-active side(side attached to 136) of the die(120) that facilitates attachment of the die(120) to the die pad(160a);a wire bond(151) attached from the active side(by way of 122a)[0021] of the die(120) to the die pad(160a);a mold compound(160), wherein a stacked formation of the die(120), the die attach film(156/152), and the die pad(160a) form a capacitor(100)[0032] that filters noise(since 100 demodulates or extracts this may be interpreted as filters)[0005,0031] from a signal carried by the wire bond(151).
Bonifield does not specifically teach a mold compound(160) encapsulating the die(120), the wire bond(151), and a portion of the leadframe,
Jackson discloses a mold compound(135) encapsulating the die(130), the wire bond(144/143), and a portion of the leadframe[claim 10],
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the invention to apply the teachings of Jackson to the teachings of Bonifield in order to improve the overall package performance [0006, Jackson].
Re claim 17 Bonifield and Jackson disclose the electronic device of claim 16, wherein the die attach film(156/152) is made from a die(120)lectric material that forms a dielectric layer(136)[0008] of the capacitor(100)[0032].
Re claim 18 Bonifield and Jackson disclose the electronic device of claim 17, wherein the die(120) includes an electrically grounded and conductive substrate on the non-active side(side attached to 136) that forms one electrically conductive plate of the capacitor(100)[0032].
Re claim 19 Bonifield and Jackson disclose the electronic device of claim 18, wherein the die pad(160a) forms another electrically conductive plate of the capacitor(100)[0032].
Re claim 20 Bonifield and Jackson disclose the electronic device of claim 16, wherein the signal is one of a reference voltage[0006,0028] and an output signal.
Re claim 21 Bonifield discloses in Fig 1, 2, 3 a packaged integrated circuit (IC) comprising:a leadframe having a die pad(160a) and leads(424);a die(120) attached to the die pad(160a) via an insulation material(136)[0008];a wire bond(151) electrically coupled between the die(120) to the die pad(160a); and a mold compound(160).
Bonifield does not specifically teach a mold compound(160) encapsulating the die(120), the wire bond(151), and at least a portion of the leadframe.
Jackson discloses a mold compound(135) encapsulating the die(130), the wire bond(144/143), and at least a portion of the leadframe[claim 10].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the invention to apply the teachings of Jackson to the teachings of Bonifield in order to improve the overall package performance [0006, Jackson].
Re claim 22 Bonifield and Jackson disclose the packaged IC of claim 21, wherein the insulation material includes a dielectric layer(136)[0008].
Re claim 23 Bonifield and Jackson disclose the packaged IC of claim 21, further comprising a die attach film(156/152) between the insulation material and the die pad(160a).
Re claim 24 Bonifield and Jackson disclose the packaged IC of claim 23, wherein the die attach film(156/152) is an electrical conductor.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 1-5, 16-24 have been considered but are moot because the arguments do not apply to any of the references being used in the current rejection.
Conclusion
/PATRICIA D VALENZUELA/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2812