DETAILED ACTION
Status of Claims
Claims 1-20 are pending. Of the pending claims, claims 1-10 are presented for examination on the merits, and claims 11-20 are withdrawn from examination.
Claims 1, 7, and 9 are currently amended.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-6 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US 8584,732 (B1) to Trexler et al. (“Trexler”) in view of US 2023/0138199 (A1) to Haghdoost et al. (“Haghdoost”) and further in view of US 2011/0223053 (A1) to Jahedi et al. (“Jahedi”).
Regarding claim 1, Trexler is directed to a method for making parts using a mold having a negative shape of the part and a process of releasing the mold from a cold-spray process. Abstract; col. 1, lines 12-14. The method includes the following steps (FIGS. 1-3):
(a) forming a mold that has a negative shape of the desired finished part (providing a mold including interior surfaces that define a mold cavity) (col. 2, lines 1-4);
(b) applying a release agent (14) (initial layer) to a surface (12) of a mold (10) (forming an initial layer on the interior surfaces of the mold) (col. 3, lines 6-15);
(c) depositing part material (18) (component layer) over the release agent (14) by a cold spray process so that the part material assumes the shape of the mold surface (forming a component layer by cold spraying additive manufacturing process) (col. 3, lines 25-32); and
(d) removing the finished part from the mold by removing the release agent from both the mold and the part (separating the initial layer from the mold) (col. 2, lines 24-27; col. 3, lines 39-42).
Trexler does not teach a coating layer between the release agent (initial layer) and the part material (component layer).
Haghdoost is drawn to rods and pipes that include a coated surface thereupon. Abstract; para. [0002]. The coating is provided on the external surface of the pipe (pipe corresponds to a component layer), the coating comprises a surface coating (coating layer defines a coating on the component layer). Para. [0046], [0217], [0218], [0220]; FIGS. 14, 17, and 18. The coating is deposited on the external surface of the pipe by suitable deposition methods (forming bond in situ contact surfaces between the component layer and the coating layer). Para. [0135], [0136]. There is a need for protective coatings on rods and pipes to reduce wear, increase the lifetime of the component, and protect the underlying substrate (pipe or rod) from degradation. Para. [0046], [0047].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to have formed a coating on the part material (component layer) in the process of Trexler because a coating would protect the external surface of the finished article from exposure to substances that could shorten the in-service lifetime of the component. To coat the part, coating material would have to be deposited on the release agent in Trexler (forming a coating layer on the initial layer). It would further be obvious to remove the release agent (initial layer) from the coating because the coating layer provides protection of the part and should stay with the part.
Trexler teaches that the part is formed the negative surface of the mold (interior surface of the mold) (col. 2, lines 1-4; FIGS. 1-3), but does not teach that the mold cavity is configured to produce a substantially tubular component.
Jahedi is directed to a method of manufacturing a pipe by cold spraying. Abstract; para. [0002], [0006]. In an embodiment, particles are cold sprayed on the mold/support member such that the inner surface of the mold defines an outer surface of the product being produced. Para. [0010]. The support member includes a cavity extending through it and the cavity is circular in cross-section, the internal diameter of the cavity corresponding to the external diameter of the pipe to be produced (mold includes interior surfaces that define a mold cavity configured to produce a substantially tubular component). Para. [0010].
It has been held that differences in shape are an obvious modification, absent persuasive evidence of the shape being significant. See MPEP § 2144.04(IV)(B). Given the teachings of Jahedi, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to have conducted the process of Trexler in view of Haghdoost on the mold taught by Jahedi because it provides a surface of shaping a tubular structure where a tubular-shaped part or article is desired.
Regarding claim 2, Trexler discloses separating part and mold by making the release agent weakly bond to the part and mold. Col. 2, lines 39-46. In doing so, the weak bond can be broken so that the release agent can be separated from part and mold (separating initial layer from mold by a mechanical release process). Col. 2, lines 39-46; col. 4, lines 11-19.
Trexler discloses an embodiment of separating part and mold by employing a solvent to dissolve the release agent but not the mold or the part material (removing the initial layer from the coating layer by a selective etching process). Col. 2, lines 39-46; col. 4, lines 11-19. Trexler discloses an embodiment of separating part and mold by heating at a temperature above the melting point of the release agent but less than the melting temperature of the mold material and the part material (removing the initial layer from the coating layer by a melting process). Col. 2, lines 24-38; col. 3, lines 39-49. Jahedi also discloses breaking (mechanical release), dissolving (etching), and melting as methods of separating pipe from support member. Para. [0007].
Trexler and Jahedi do not teach using the aforementioned methods of etching or melting in combination with the mechanical release embodiment. However, it has been held that it is prima facie obvious to combine known equivalents for the same purpose. See MPEP § 2144.06(I). In the present instance, removal by chemical dissolution (etching), melting, and mechanical force are known alternatives to separating a part from a release agent, as taught by Trexler and Jahedi. Therefore, it would have been obvious to employ a combination of separation techniques (e.g., mechanical separation with melting) to achieve the shared objective of separation and removal.
Regarding claim 3, Trexler discloses an embodiment of separating part and mold by employing a solvent to dissolve the release agent but not the mold or the part material (removing the initial layer from the coating layer by a selective etching process). Col. 2, lines 39-46; col. 4, lines 11-19. Trexler discloses an embodiment of separating part and mold by heating at a temperature above the melting point of the release agent but less than the melting temperature of the mold material and the part material (removing the initial layer from the coating layer by a melting process). Col. 2, lines 24-38; col. 3, lines 39-49.
Jahedi also discloses dissolving (etching) and melting as methods of separating pipe from support member. Para. [0007]. Separation may also take place by heating and cooling by taking advantage of the difference in thermal expansion coefficient of the support member and the pipe formed (separation by thermal cycling). Para. [0007], [0020].
Regarding claim 4, Trexler discloses separating part and mold by employing a solvent to dissolve the release agent but not the mold or the part material (separating the initial layer from the mold and removing the initial layer from the coating layer simultaneously by a selective etching process). Col. 2, lines 39-46; col. 4, lines 11-19. Jahedi also discloses dissolving (etching) as a method of separating pipe from support member. Para. [0007].
Regarding claim 5, Trexler discloses separating part and mold by heating at a temperature above the melting point of the release agent but less than the melting temperature of the mold material and the part material (separating the initial layer from the mold and removing the initial layer from the coating layer simultaneously by a melting process). Col. 2, lines 24-38; col. 3, lines 39-49. Jahedi also discloses melting as a method of separating pipe from support member. Para. [0007].
Regarding claim 6, Haghdoost discloses electrodeposition/electroplating as a method of forming coating layers on the pipe or rod. Para. [0135], [0138], [0150].
Claims 2, 7, and 9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Trexler in view of Hagdoost and Jahedi, as applied to claims 1 and 7 above, and further in view of US 2018/0179637 (A1) to Roberge et al. (“Roberge”).
Regarding claim 2, Trexler discloses separating part and mold by making the release agent weakly bond to the part and mold. Col. 2, lines 39-46. In doing so, the weak bond can be broken so that the release agent can be separated from part and mold (separating initial layer from mold by a mechanical release process). Col. 2, lines 39-46; col. 4, lines 11-19.
Trexler discloses an embodiment of separating part and mold by employing a solvent to dissolve the release agent but not the mold or the part material (removing the initial layer from the coating layer by a selective etching process). Col. 2, lines 39-46; col. 4, lines 11-19. Trexler discloses an embodiment of separating part and mold by heating at a temperature above the melting point of the release agent but less than the melting temperature of the mold material and the part material (removing the initial layer from the coating layer by a melting process). Col. 2, lines 24-38; col. 3, lines 39-49. Jahedi also discloses breaking (mechanical release), dissolving (etching), and melting as methods of separating pipe from support member. Para. [0007].
Trexler and Jahedi do not teach using the aforementioned methods of etching or melting in combination with the mechanical release embodiment.
Roberge is directed to a method of forming a sheet structure by cold-spraying material onto a tool (die or mold) (e.g., 308, 400, 500). Abstract; para. [0001], [0050]. An interface coating (corresponds to initial layer) may be applied on the surface of the tool. Para. [0007], [0015], [0053]; FIGS. 2, 3, 4A-4C. To remove the sheet structure from the tool, an acid can be applied to the interface coating or the interface coating can be melted. Para. [0063], [0064]. Separation can occur by one or more separation techniques. Para. [0074].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to have applied a combination of techniques to separate the component (and the coating thereupon) from the release agent (initial layer) because the materials at each interface may require different techniques for effective separation due to alloy compositional differences between the metals/alloys.
Regarding claim 7, Trexler is silent regarding the surface heights of the coating layer in contact with the component layer.
Haghdoost teaches that the surface may have an adhesive roughness designed to increase the adhesion, such as increasing adhesion between substrate (pipe or rod) and coatings. Para. [0081], [0123], [0127]; FIG. 11. In some embodiments, the roughness (Ra) of the surfaces with coating is more than 1 µm and less than 10 µm (para. [0083]), which falls within the claimed range of greater than 0.254 micrometers. Textures can be formed using electrodeposition or thermal spray techniques. Para. [0083].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to have introduced a textured surface between a coating and material part because a roughened surface facilitates the bonding between coating and part, ensuring that the coating remains on the part during removal from the mold and during the performance of the part.
Trexler is silent regarding the surface heights of the coating layer after the release agent (initial layer) is removed.
Roberge is directed to a method of forming a sheet structure by cold-spraying material onto a tool (die or mold) (e.g., 308, 400, 500). Abstract; para. [0001], [0050]. An interface coating (corresponds to initial layer) may be applied on the surface of the tool by electroplating. Para. [0007], [0015], [0053]. The interface coating may generate a desired surface finish or feature on layers placed thereupon or may provide erosion or thermal protection, facilitate separation of the sheet structure from the tool, and increase rigidity and resistance to deformation resulting from contact with high-velocity material ejected from a cold-spray gun. Para. [0053].
Haghdoost is directed to rods and pipes that possessing a coating. Abstract. Haghdoost teaches that adhesive roughness increases the adhesion of a surface or coating applied on top. Para. [0081]. (It therefore follows that a smoother surface would decrease adhesion.) Haghdoost also teaches that roughness impacts light reflection, with surface roughness (Ra) values less than 0.5 µm corresponding to a shinier surface. Para. [0082]. In other embodiments, the surface roughness is less than 0.2 µm (para. [0083]), which falls within the claimed range of less than 0.254 micrometers.
In an embodiment of Trexler, the release agent forms a weak mechanical bond to facilitate separation. Col. 2, lines 47-55; col. 4, lines 34-47. Given that an interface coating can generate a desired surface finish, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to have ensured that the release layer in Trexler was designed to create a smooth coating layer (minimized surface heights) after removal because a smooth surface would facilitate detachment of the release agent from the mold and part. Additionally, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to have selected a low surface roughness, such as less than 0.2 µm as taught by Haghdoost, in the method of Trexler in order to provide a part with a shiny aesthetic, where desired.
Regarding claim 9, Trexler discloses separating part and mold by employing a solvent to dissolve the release agent but not the mold or the part material (separating the initial layer from the mold and removing the initial layer from the coating layer simultaneously by a selective etching process). Col. 2, lines 39-46; col. 4, lines 11-19. Jahedi also discloses dissolving (etching) as a method of separating pipe from support member. Para. [0007].
Haghdoost discloses electrodeposition/electroplating as a method of forming coating layers on the pipe or rod. Para. [0135], [0138], [0150]. Trexler teaches applying a release agent (14) (initial layer) to the mold surface (col. 3, lines 6-15), but does not teach forming the initial layer by electroplating.
Roberge is directed to a method of forming a sheet structure by cold-spraying material onto a tool (die or mold) (e.g., 308, 400, 500). Abstract; para. [0001], [0050]. An interface coating (corresponds to initial layer) may be applied on the surface of the tool by electroplating. Para. [0007], [0015], [0053]. The interface coating may protect the tool from erosion or thermal damage. Para. [0053]. It may also generate a desired surface finish or feature, facilitate separation of the sheet structure from the tool, and increase rigidity and resistance to deformation resulting from contact with high-velocity material ejected from a cold-spray gun. Para. [0053].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to have formed the release agent (initial layer) of Trexler by an electroplating process because electroplating has been successfully applied to form an interface coating (corresponds to release agent or initial layer) for protecting the tool from damage.
Claims 3 and 10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Trexler in view of Hagdoost and Jahedi, as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of US 2019/0234697 (A1) to Chipko et al. (“Chipko”).
Regarding claim 3, Trexler discloses an embodiment of separating part and mold by employing a solvent to dissolve the release agent but not the mold or the part material (removing the initial layer from the coating layer by a selective etching process). Col. 2, lines 39-46; col. 4, lines 11-19. Trexler discloses an embodiment of separating part and mold by heating at a temperature above the melting point of the release agent but less than the melting temperature of the mold material and the part material (removing the initial layer from the coating layer by a melting process). Col. 2, lines 24-38; col. 3, lines 39-49.
Jahedi also discloses dissolving (etching) and melting as methods of separating pipe from support member. Para. [0007]. Separation may also take place by heating and cooling by taking advantage of the difference in thermal expansion coefficient of the support member and the pipe formed (separation by thermal cycling). Para. [0007], [0020].
Trexler and Jahedi do not teach using the aforementioned methods of etching or melting in combination with thermal cycling.
Chipko is drawn to process for fabricating heat exchangers and heat exchanger tubes. Abstract. A cold spray gun deposits material onto a mandrel (mold). Para. [0051]. An intervening coating or layer (referred to as a sacrificial release layer) is formed over the mandrel prior to cold spraying to facilitate removal of the mandrel from the rube. Para. [0058], [0059]. A mismatch in the coefficient of thermal expansion (CTE) facilitate with mandrel removal because it exploits the different thermal expansion rates of the different materials of the tube and mandrel upon heating and cooling (thermal cycling). Para. [0032], [0060].
Chipko teaches that many approaches can be utilized, alone and in combination, to facilitate separation of mandrel from tube. Para. [0059]. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to have applied a combination of techniques to separate the release agent (initial layer) from the component (and the coating thereupon) and mold because the materials at each interface may require different techniques for effective separation due to alloy compositional differences between the metals/alloys.
Regarding claim 10, Trexler, Haghdoost, and Jahedi do not teach a component made of non-equilibrium alloy.
Chipko is drawn to process for fabricating heat exchangers and heat exchanger tubes. Abstract. A non-equilibrium alloy (NEA) (component layer) is deposited onto a mandrel via cold spraying. Para. [0032], [0033]. NEA material can improve the temperature capabilities and tolerances of heat exchangers. Para. [0012], [0028], [0032]. The maximum temperature of the cold spray process is maintained below a critical temperature so as to preserve the non-equilibrium state of the material (component layer is non-equilibrium alloy and forming the component layer below the crystallization temperature of the non-equilibrium alloy). Para. [0055].
Trexler discloses an embodiment of separating part and mold by employing a solvent to dissolve the release agent but not the mold or the part material. Col. 2, lines 39-46; col. 4, lines 11-19. Trexler discloses separating part and mold by making the release agent weakly bond to the part and mold. Col. 2, lines 39-46. In doing so, the weak bond can be broken so that the release agent can be separated from part and mold. Col. 2, lines 39-46; col. 4, lines 11-19. In both embodiments, no external heat is applied, suggesting room temperature separation (separating initial layer from mold and removing initial layer from coating layer at temperatures below a crystallization temperature of the non-equilibrium alloy).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to have used NEA as the material of the material part in Trexler’s process, as modified by Haghdoost and Jahedi, because NEA would expand the utility of the Trexler’s manufacturing process through the fabrication of heat exchanger tubes with improved temperature characteristics. It is further obvious to have conducted the method of Trexler in view of Haghdoost and Jahedi at a temperature less than the critical temperature of NEA to ensure that the NEA structure is preserved in a non-equilibrium state.
Claim 8 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Trexler in view of Hagdoost and Jahedi, as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of US 2013/0025810 (A1) to Castle et al. (“Castle”).
Regarding claim 8, Haghdoost discloses that the coating may contain nickel, cobalt, carbide, and nitride. Abstract; para. [0049], [0089], [0091], [0094], [0229]. The substrate (pipe or rod) may include titanium, titanium alloys, aluminum, or aluminum alloys. Para. [0095], [0111], [0115]. Jahedi discloses that the pipe can be made of titanium or titanium alloy. Para. [0013].
Trexler does not teach a release agent (initial layer) or coating layer made of copper.
Castle is directed to a rapid manufacturing method and discloses the formation of tooling (32) as a die pattern (mold). Abstract; para. [0001], [0021]. The tooling is coated with a conductive material, such as copper-based alloys, to provide conductivity and durability. Para. [0030]. The conductive nature of a tooling coating permits heat to flow out of the tooling, thereby extending the operating life of the tooling. Para. [0030]; claim 19.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to have made the release agent of Trexler with copper-based alloys because it would lengthen the in-service life of the mold.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 03/30/2026 have been fully considered.
Applicant’s arguments with respect to Arndt (US 2017/0022615 (A1) to Arndt et al.) have been considered but are moot because Arndt is not relied upon to reject any claim limitations.
Applicant argues that Haghdoost achieves a desired finish by grinding or polishing, whereas the claim requires that the claimed smoothness be achieved in situ.
In response, any deposition technique will inherently impose some level of texture (smooth, rough, or somewhere in between) due to the fact that the material being deposited and consolidated is physically tangible and occupies a volume. This is further confirmed by Haghdoost, who discloses that deposition techniques create textures (para. [0083]). Haghdoost also states that a surface layer may not be smooth after deposition (para. [0127]), suggesting that deposition affects smoothness/roughness of a deposited material. Thus, Haghdoost is not limited to post-deposition creation of texture.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/VANESSA T. LUK/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1733
June 13, 2026