DETAILED ACTION
Claims 1, 9, and 17 have been amended.
Claims 1-20 have been examined.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US Patent No. 6,295,601 by Steele (hereinafter referred to as “Steele”) in view of US Publication No. 2011/0173394 by Gara et al. (hereinafter referred to as “Gara”) in view of US Publication No. 2021/0124627 by Giroux et al. (previously cited and hereinafter referred to as “Giroux”).
Regarding claims 1, 9, and 17, taking claim 1 as representative, Steele discloses:
a computer-implemented method for synchronizing processing work in a computing system, the method comprising: executing, by a first processor of a first type of processor, a first memory operation that specifies a first category, wherein the first memory operation stores data in a memory that is physically remote from the first processor (Steele discloses, at col. 10, lines 4- 38, a microprocessor using trap barriers to ensure correct operation, which discloses synchronizing processing work in a computing system. Steele also discloses, at Figure 4 and related description, executing an instruction that includes a trap barrier class identifier. As disclosed at col. 8, lines 38-52, the instruction can be a load/store instruction. Steele discloses, at Figure 1 and related description, a memory subsystem that is physically remote from the microprocessor. Steele also discloses, at claim 26, an embodiment using media storing instructions.);
executing a first barrier instruction that specifies the first category (Steele discloses, at Figure 5, a barrier instruction that includes a class identifier.);
determining that data associated with memory operations that specify the first category, including the first memory operation, is visible in the memory (Steele discloses, at Figure 6 and related description, determining whether instructions that are executing and that specify a particular class of barrier might trap, which discloses, in the case of memory operations, determining whether the data specified by the memory operation is visible in memory.); and
setting a … [signal] by the first processor, to enable a first process to execute on a …processor …while a second memory operation …is pending (Steele discloses, at Figure 6 and related description, clearing, which discloses setting, the “might trap” signal to enable a first process to execute. This occurs while other operations are pending, i.e., those that don’t specify the particular class of barrier associated with the first process, which discloses a second memory operation. See also Figure 3 and related description, which discloses concurrent pipelined execution of multiple instructions.),
wherein the …[signal] indicates that data stored by all memory operations that specify the first category, including the first memory operation, is visible in the memory (Steele discloses, at Figure 6 and related description, setting the signal indicates that none of the instructions associated with the class will trap, which discloses, in the case of memory operations, that all data is visible in memory.), and
the first process accesses the data associated with the first memory operation… (Steele discloses, at Figure 3, executing instructions. In the case of a memory instruction, once the instruction is complete, other instructions can use data associated with the memory instruction, which discloses the first process accessing the data.).
Steele does not explicitly disclose the aforementioned setting is of a flag, that the aforementioned enabling is for a second processor of a second type of processor different from the first type of processor, the aforementioned second memory operation is included in a second process executing on the second processor, and the second processor comprises a processor accessible to the first processor via a remote communications channel.
However, in the same field of endeavor (e.g., instruction control) Gara discloses:
one processor setting a flag to enable execution by a second processor (Gara discloses, at ¶ [0050] et seq., one core, i.e., processor, sets a flag to indicate to another core that data is valid, i.e., available for use by the other core. As disclosed at ¶ [0036], the first and second cores can be single processor units.); and
the second processor comprises a processor accessible to the first processor via a remote communications channel (Gara discloses, at Figure 1 and related description, e.g., at ¶ [0036], the first and second cores communicate with each other via interconnect 145, which discloses the second processor comprises a processor accessible to the first processor via a remote communications channel.).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Steele to include using a flag and communicating between processors, as disclosed by Gara, because doing so is an efficient way to convey status information, e.g., instruction completion or data availability in a distributed environment.
Also in the same field of endeavor (e.g., processing) Giroux discloses:
a system having different types of processors (Giroux discloses, at Figure 2A and related description, a system that includes CPUs and GPUs, which are different types of processors.).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Steele to include using different types of processors, as disclosed by Giroux, because offloading specific tasks to specialized processors, such as GPUs, is standard practice to accelerate computing performance.
Regarding claims 2 and 10, taking claim 2 as representative, Steele, as modified, discloses the elements of claim 1, as discussed above. Steele also discloses:
wherein the second memory operation specifies a second category that is different from the first category (Steele discloses, at Figure 7 and related description, multiple trap barrier counts, which discloses multiple different categories.).
Regarding claims 3 and 11, taking claim 3 as representative, Steele, as modified, discloses the elements of claim 1, as discussed above. Steele also discloses:
wherein the second memory operation does not specify a category (Steele discloses, at col. 13, lines 43-53, instructions that do not include a class field.).
Regarding claims 4 and 12, taking claim 4 as representative, Steele, as modified, discloses the elements of claim 1, as discussed above. Steele also discloses:
wherein the second memory operation does not specify a category, and wherein the second memory operation is deemed to specify a default category that is different from the first category (Steele discloses, at col. 13, lines 43-53, instructions that do not include a class field but are nevertheless assigned classes, which disclose being assigned default classes.).
Regarding claims 5 and 13, taking claim 5 as representative, Steele, as modified, discloses the elements of claim 1, as discussed above. Steele also discloses:
wherein the second memory operation specifies a default category that is different from the first category (Steele discloses, at Figure 7 and related description, multiple trap barrier counts, which discloses a different default category.).
Regarding claims 6, 14, and 18, taking claim 6 as representative, Steele, as modified, discloses the elements of claim 1, as discussed above. Steele also discloses:
executing the second memory operation that specifies the second category; executing a second barrier instruction that specifies the second category (Steele discloses, at Figure 7 and related description, executing instructions that specify different classes. As disclosed at col. 8, lines 38-52, the instructions can be load/store instructions.);
determining that data associated with memory operations that specify the second category, including the second memory operation, is visible in the memory (Steele discloses, at Figure 3, executing instructions. In the case of a memory instruction, this includes determining that data associated with the instruction is visible in memory.); and
subsequent to determining that the data associated with the second memory operation is visible in the memory, … enable a third process to execute on the …processor, wherein the third process accesses the data associated with the second memory operation (Steele discloses, at Figure 3, executing instructions. In the case of a memory instruction, once the instruction is complete, other instructions can use data associated with the memory instruction, which discloses enabling a third process to execute on a processor to access the data. As disclosed at col. 8, lines 38-52, the instructions can be load/store instructions.).
Steele does not explicitly disclose setting a flag by a first processor and that the aforementioned enabling is for a second processor.
However, in the same field of endeavor (e.g., instruction control) Gara discloses:
one processor setting a flag to enable execution by a second processor (Gara discloses, at ¶ [0050] et seq., one core, i.e., processor, sets a flag to indicate to another core that data is valid, i.e., available for use by the other core.).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Steele to include using a flag, as disclosed by Gara, because doing so is an efficient way to convey status information, e.g., instruction completion or data availability.
Regarding claims 7, 15, and 19, taking claim 7 as representative, Steele, as modified, discloses the elements of claim 1, as discussed above. Steele also discloses:
executing the second memory operation that does not specify a category (Steele discloses, at col. 13, lines 43-53, instructions that do not include a class field.);
assigning a default category to the second memory operation (Steele discloses, at col. 13, lines 43-53, instructions that do not include a class field but are nevertheless assigned classes, which disclose being assigned default classes.);
executing a second barrier instruction that specifies the default category (Steele discloses, at Figure 5, barrier instructions that include class identifiers.);
determining that data associated with memory operations that specify the default category, including the second memory operation, is visible in the memory (Steele discloses, at Figure 3, executing instructions. In the case of a memory instruction, this includes determining that data associated with the instruction is visible in memory.); and
subsequent to determining that the data associated with the second memory operation is visible in the memory, … enable a second process to execute on the processor, wherein the first process accesses the data associated with the second memory operation (Steele discloses, at Figure 3, executing instructions. In the case of a memory instruction, once the instruction is complete, other instructions can use data associated with the memory instruction, which discloses enabling a second process to execute on a processor to access the data. As disclosed at col. 8, lines 38-52, the instructions can be load/store instructions.).
Steele does not explicitly disclose setting a flag by a first processor and that the aforementioned enabling is for a second processor.
However, in the same field of endeavor (e.g., instruction control) Gara discloses:
one processor setting a flag to enable execution by a second processor (Gara discloses, at ¶ [0050] et seq., one core, i.e., processor, sets a flag to indicate to another core that data is valid, i.e., available for use by the other core.).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Steele to include using a flag, as disclosed by Gara, because doing so is an efficient way to convey status information, e.g., instruction completion or data availability.
Regarding claims 8, 16, and 20, taking claim 8 as representative, Steele, as modified, discloses the elements of claim 1, as discussed above. Steele also discloses:
executing the second memory operation that does not specify a category (Steele discloses, at col. 13, lines 43-53, instructions that do not include a class field.);
executing a second barrier instruction that does not specify a category (Steele discloses, at col. 15, lines 43-48, a barrier instruction that does not include a class field.);
determining that data associated with all pending memory operations, including the second memory operation, is visible in the memory (Steele discloses, at Figure 3, executing instructions. In the case of a memory instruction, this includes determining that data associated with the instruction is visible in memory.); and
subsequent to determining that the data associated with the second memory operation is visible in the memory, … to enable a second process to execute on the processor, wherein the first process accesses the data associated with the second memory operation (Steele discloses, at Figure 3, executing instructions. In the case of a memory instruction, once the instruction is complete, other instructions can use data associated with the memory instruction, which discloses enabling a second process to execute on a processor to access the data. As disclosed at col. 8, lines 38-52, the instructions can be load/store instructions.).
Steele does not explicitly disclose setting a flag by a first processor and that the aforementioned enabling is for a second processor.
However, in the same field of endeavor (e.g., instruction control) Gara discloses:
one processor setting a flag to enable execution by a second processor (Gara discloses, at ¶ [0050] et seq., one core, i.e., processor, sets a flag to indicate to another core that data is valid, i.e., available for use by the other core.).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Steele to include using a flag, as disclosed by Gara, because doing so is an efficient way to convey status information, e.g., instruction completion or data availability.
Response to Arguments
On page 11 of the response filed August 6, 2026 (“response”), the Applicant argues, “The Office Action's arguments do not apply to the independent claims as amended. In particular, neither Steele nor Gara contemplate any sort of messaging across processors of different types across a remote communications channel. Instead, both Steele and Gara contemplate managing data operations on a processor or different processing cores of the same processor. Consequently, neither Steele nor Gara cannot be interpreted as teaching or suggesting each and every feature of the independent claims.”
These remarks have been fully considered and, in light of the claim amendments presented in the response, are deemed persuasive. Please see above for new grounds of rejection of the amended claims. Gara discloses multiple processors coupled to one another via remote communication channels, e.g., a crossbar interconnect and Giroux discloses processors of different types, e.g., GPUs and CPUs. .
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/SHAWN DOMAN/
Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2183