DETAILED ACTION
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement filed 8/30/23 fails to comply with 37 CFR 1.98(a)(3)(i) because it does not include a concise explanation of the relevance (for Office Action of Taiwan Counterpart Application), as it is presently understood by the individual designated in 37 CFR 1.56(c) most knowledgeable about the content of the information, of each reference listed that is not in the English language. It has been placed in the application file, but the information referred to therein has not been considered.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 3 and 10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 3 recites that the weight of the metal plating layer on the hole material layer is less than 100 mg/cm2, which can be less than 2 mg/cm2, which is outside of the claimed range of claim 2, which claim 3 is depending on.
Claim 10 recites that the negative electrode structure comprises an intercalation material.
However, the specification discloses that the positive electrode structure comprises an intercalation material (para. 13 & 32). It is unclear whether the negative or positive electrode structure has an intercalation material. The examiner will interpret the limitation as the positive electrode structure, which is consistent with the specification.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1 and 3-10 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Zhamu et al. (US 2018/0233747 A1, hereinafter Zhamu, cited by applicant).
Re Claim 1. Zhamu teaches a negative electrode structure, applied to an aluminum battery (title, intended use), comprising:
a hole material layer (Fig. 2B, anode current collector, para. 21 & 67); and
a metal plating layer (anode active layer, para. 21 & 67), located on the hole material layer (Fig. 2B), such that a capacity decay rate of the aluminum battery is less than 5% per cycle.
Zhamu does not explicitly teaches that a capacity decay rate of the aluminum battery is less than 5% per cycle.
However, Zhamu and the claimed negative electrode structure has the same elements and material, a capacity decay rate of the aluminum battery of Zhamu would also be less than 5% per cycle.
When the reference discloses all the limitations of a claim except a property or function, and the examiner cannot determine whether or not the reference inherently possesses properties which anticipate or render obvious the claimed invention but has basis for shifting the burden of proof to applicant as in In re Fitzgerald, 619 F.2d 67, 205 USPQ 594 (CCPA 1980). See MPEP 2112- 2112.02.
Re Claim 4. Zhamu teaches wherein a specific surface area of the hole material layer is between 100 m2/g and 3000 m2/g (para. 19).
Re Claim 5. Zhamu teaches wherein a material of the hole material layer comprises natural graphite, artificial graphite, graphene, carbon black, soft carbon, hard carbon, mesophase graphite carbon microspheres (para. 22).
Re Claim 6. Zhamu teaches wherein the metal plating layer is an aluminum metal plating layer (para. 21 & 67).
Re Claims 7 and 8. Zhamu does not disclose that the metal plating layer is electroplated on the hole material layer by an ionic liquid wherein the ionic liquid comprises an aluminum salt-based ionic liquid.
However, the limitations are product-by-process limitations, which do not affect the patentability of the claimed negative electrode structure.
[E]ven though product-by-process claims are limited by and defined by the process, determination of patentability is based on the product itself. The patentability of a product does not depend on its method of production. If the product in the product-by-process claim is the same as or obvious from a product of the prior art, the claim is unpatentable even though the prior product was made by a different process. See MPEP 2113.
Re Claim 9. Zhamu teaches wherein the metal plating layer is located between a positive electrode structure of the aluminum battery and the hole material layer (Fig. 2B).
In addition, a positive electrode structure is not a part of the claimed negative electrode structure. Therefore, the spatial relationship between the metal plating layer and the positive electrode structure does not affect the patentability of the claimed negative electrode structure.
Re Claim 10. Zhamu teaches wherein the positive electrode structure comprises an intercalation material (para. 34).
In addition, a positive electrode structure is not a part of the claimed negative electrode structure. Therefore, a material of the positive electrode structure does not affect the patentability of the claimed negative electrode structure.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 2 and 3 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zhamu.
Zhamu does not teach that a weight of the metal plating layer on the hole material layer is greater than 2 mg/cm2 or less than 100 mg/cm2.
However, one would perform routine experimentation to find out the optimum weight of the metal plating layer for a desired battery capacity and cyclability.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. See PTO-892.
The rejections above rely on the references for all the teachings expressed in the text of the references and/or one of ordinary skill in the art would have reasonably understood from the texts. Only specific portions of the texts have been pointed out to emphasize certain aspects of the prior art, however, each reference as a whole should be reviewed in responding to the rejection, since other sections of the same reference and/or various combinations of the cited references may be relied on in future rejections in view of amendments.
/KEVIN E YOON/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1735
1/29/2026