Response to Amendment
The amendment filed on 2025-12-09 has been entered. Claim(s) 1-4, 9-10, 12, 15-17, and 21-24 remain pending in this application. No Claim(s) have been amended.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 2025-12-09 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Applicant argues that there is no need to combine the references of Andres and Lee as the motivation for combining is not needed on Andres as there is no need to push to initiate any slide because the gripper could not move. Thus, it would not be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify Andres in view of Lee as the modification is unnecessary and would make the structure of the gripper assembly of Andres more complicated without any practical purpose.
In response to applicant's argument that it would not be obvious to modify Andres in view of Lee, the test for obviousness is not whether the features of a secondary reference may be bodily incorporated into the structure of the primary reference; nor is it that the claimed invention must be expressly suggested in any one or all of the references. Rather, the test is what the combined teachings of the references would have suggested to those of ordinary skill in the art. See In re Keller, 642 F.2d 413, 208 USPQ 871 (CCPA 1981). The combined teachings of Andres in view of Lee do teach a gripper assembly containing a slider as claimed in claim 1 and detailed in the rejection below.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-3, 9-11, 15-17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Andres et al. (US-11879925-B1) in view of Lee (KR-102172376-B1 – Refer to attached machine translation for cited references).
Regarding Claim 1, Andres teaches a test apparatus, comprising:
a body (Fig 2 or 3: alignment plate, 110) having an opening (Fig 3: opening, 112);
first and second sliders (Figs 4-10: gripper assembly, 120) with respective ends that face one another in the opening (See Annotated Figure 2 of Andres), positions of the first and second sliders adjustable (Figs 5-10: extender, 124) along a first direction;
third and fourth sliders (Figs 4-10: gripper assembly, 120) with respective ends that face one another in the opening (See Annotated Figure 2 of Andres), positions of the third and fourth sliders adjustable (Figs 5-10: extender, 124) along a second direction that is orthogonal to the first direction (See Annotated Figure 2 Andres); and
a clamp (Fig 3: handler, 102) configured to apply a clamping force along a third direction to a device under test (DUT) (Col. 6, ln. 50-55 | Fig 2: DUT, 130) positioned in the opening (See Fig 2), the third direction orthogonal to the first and second directions (See Annotated Figure 3 of Andres).
Andres does not teach wherein each slider has an indented slot on a side surface, the side surface in parallel with the third direction.
However, Lee teaches wherein each slider has an indented slot on a side surface (Fig 5: side groove, 430. Para [0032] teaches the groove is on the side portion of the slider body), the side surface in parallel with the third direction. (From figure 5, the groove can be seen located on a side whose surface is parallel with the third direction). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have modified the sliders of Andres, to incorporate the indented slot of Lee. A motivation for this modification is to allow another member to push against the groove to initiate the slide, as taught by Lee in Paragraph [0070].
Regarding Claim 2, Andres further teaches wherein the ends of the first, second, third, and fourth sliders have a ramp surface at a non-zero angle to the third direction (Fig 10: chamfer, 124G).
Regarding Claim 3, The Andres further teaches wherein the ends of the first, second, third, and fourth sliders have a second surface extending from the ramp surface (Fig 10: Can be seen below 124G, unlabeled).
Regarding Claim 9, Andres teaches a system for evaluating an electronic a device under test (DUT), comprising:
a circuit board (Col. 5, ln. 60-65); and
a test apparatus, comprising:
a body (Fig 3: alignment plate, 110) mounted to the circuit board (Col. 5, ln. 60-65) and having an opening (Fig 3: opening, 112) over a portion of the circuit board;
first and second sliders (Figs 4-10: gripper assembly, 120) with respective ends that face one another in the opening (See Fig 2), positions of the first and second sliders adjustable along a first direction (Figs 5-10: extender, 124);
third and fourth sliders (Figs 4-10: gripper assembly, 120) with respective ends that face one another in the opening (See Fig 2), positions of the third and fourth sliders adjustable along a second direction that is orthogonal to the first direction (See Fig 2); and
a clamp (Fig 3: handler, 102) configured to apply a clamping force along a third direction to engage the DUT (Col. 6, ln. 50-55 | Fig 2: DUT, 130) to the portion of the circuit board, the third direction orthogonal to the first and second directions (See Figs 3 or 7).
Andres does not teach wherein each slider has an indented slot on a side surface, the side surface in parallel with the third direction.
However, Lee teaches wherein each slider has an indented slot on a side surface (Fig 5: side groove, 430. Para [0032] teaches the groove is on the side portion of the slider body), the side surface in parallel with the third direction. (From figure 5, the groove can be seen located on a side whose surface is parallel with the third direction). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have modified the sliders of Andres, to incorporate the indented slot of Lee. A motivation for this modification is to allow another member to push against the groove to initiate the slide, as taught by Lee in Paragraph [0070].
Regarding Claim 10, Andres further teaches wherein the ends of the first, second, third, and fourth sliders have a ramp surface at a non-zero angle to the third direction (Fig 10: chamfer, 124G).
Regarding Claim 11, Andres further teaches wherein the ends of the first, second, third, and fourth sliders have a second surface extending from the ramp surface (Fig 10: Can be seen below 124G, unlabeled).
Regarding Claim 15, Andres teaches a method for testing a device under test (DUT), the method comprising:
adjusting respective positions of first and second sliders (Figs 4-10: gripper assembly, 120) along a first direction in an opening of a test apparatus body mounted to a circuit board (Col. 5, ln. 60-65), the first and second sliders having respective ends that face one another in the opening (See Annotated Fig 2 of Andres);
adjusting respective positions of third and fourth sliders along (Figs 4-10: gripper assembly, 120) a second direction orthogonal to the first direction in the opening (See Annotated Figure 2 on Andres), the third and fourth sliders having respective ends that face one another in the opening (See Annotated Figure 2 on Andres);
positioning the DUT in the opening (See Fig 2 | col. 7 ln. 30-35);
engaging a clamp to apply a clamping force (col. 6 ln. 53-65) along a third direction to engage the DUT to a portion of the circuit board, the third direction orthogonal to the first and second directions (See Annotated Figure 3 of Andres); and
electrically testing the DUT (Col. 5, ln. 60 - col. 10 ln. 20).
Andres does not teach wherein each slider has an indented slot on a side surface, the side surface in parallel with the third direction.
However, Lee teaches wherein each slider has an indented slot on a side surface (Fig 5: side groove, 430. Para [0032] teaches the groove is on the side portion of the slider body), the side surface in parallel with the third direction. (From figure 5, the groove can be seen located on a side whose surface is parallel with the third direction). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have modified the sliders of Andres, to incorporate the indented slot of Lee. A motivation for this modification is to allow another member to push against the groove to initiate the slide, as taught by Lee in Paragraph [0070].
Regarding Claim 16, Andres further teaches wherein the ends of the first, second, third, and fourth sliders have a ramp surface at a non-zero angle to the third direction (Fig 10: chamfer, 124G).
Regarding Claim 17, Andres further teaches wherein the ends of the first, second, third, and fourth sliders have a second surface extending from the ramp surface (Fig 10: Can be seen below 124G, unlabeled).
Annotated Figure 2 of Andres
Annotated Figure 3 of Andres
Claims 4, and 12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Andres in view of Lee and further in view of Haslam et al. (US-20210283377-A1).
Regarding Claim 4, The combination of Andres in view of Lee teaches first, second, third and fourth sliders. Andres in view of Lee does not teach that the sliders have a ribbed surface. However, Haslam teaches a slider (Fig 3A: slider, 170) with a ribbed surface (Fig 3A: ribs, 171). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have modified the sliders of Andres in view of Lee to incorporate the ribbed surface of Haslam. A motivation for doing so would be to improve a user’s grip on the slider as taught by Haslam (Para [0051]).
Regarding Claim 12, The combination of Andres in view of Lee teaches first, second, third and fourth sliders. Andres in view of Lee does not teach that the sliders have a ribbed surface. However, Haslam teaches a slider (Fig 3A: slider, 170) with a ribbed surface (Fig 3A: ribs, 171). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have modified the sliders of Andres in view of Lee to incorporate the ribbed surface of Haslam. A motivation for doing so would be to improve a user’s grip on the slider as taught by Haslam (Para [0051]).
Claims 21-24 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Andres in view of Lee and further in view of Panagas (US-20130200913-A1).
Regarding Claim 21 and 22, The combination of Andres in view of Lee teaches the test apparatus of claim 1. The combination of Andres in view of Lee does not teach wherein the body further comprises a slot. wherein the clamp comprises a clamp tab configured to engage and lock in the slot. However, Panagas teaches wherein the clamp (Fig 15: guide structure, 50) comprises a clamp tab (Fig 15: engagement feature, 51) configured to engage and lock in the slot (Para [0078] teaches guide structure may be used to securely fasten). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have modified the body and clamp of Andres in view of Lee to incorporate the slot and tab of Panagas. A motivation for this change is to have a means to securely fasten the objects together as taught by Panagas in paragraph [0078].
Regarding Claims 23 and 24, The combination of Andres in view of Lee teaches the system of claim 9. The combination of Andres in view of Lee does not teach wherein the body further comprises a slot. wherein the clamp comprises a clamp tab configured to engage and lock in the slot. However, Panagas teaches wherein the clamp (Fig 15: guide structure, 50) comprises a clamp tab (Fig 15: engagement feature, 51) configured to engage and lock in the slot (Para [0078] teaches guide structure may be used to securely fasten). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have modified the body and clamp of Andres in view of Lee to incorporate the slot and tab of Panagas. A motivation for this change is to have a means to securely fasten the objects together as taught by Panagas in paragraph [0078].
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/JEREMIAH J BARRON/Examiner, Art Unit 2858
/LEE E RODAK/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2858