DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendments
2. The action is responsive to the Applicant’s Amendment filed on 4/21/2026. Claims 1- 43, are pending in the application. Claims 1, 9, 28-34, 40, 42, and 43 are amended.
Applicant’s amendments to the claims have overcome each and every objection previously set forth in the Non-Final Office Action mailed 03/25/2026.
The 101 rejection of claims 1-43 previously set forth in the Non-Final Office Action mailed 03/25/2026 is hereby withdrawn.
Response to Arguments
3. Applicant’s arguments with respect to the rejections of claims 1-43 have been fully considered. In view of the claim amendment filed, the rejection has been withdrawn. However, upon further consideration, a new ground(s) of rejection is made.
Further, regarding the new limitations recited in claims 1, 9, 28-34, 40, 42, and 43, it is submitted that they are properly addressed by the new ground of rejection.
Furthermore, it is also submitted that all limitations in pending claims, including those not specifically argued, are properly addressed. The reason is set forth in the rejections. See claim analysis below for detail.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-43 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Nixon et al. (US 20210089592 A1) in view of Enver et al. (US 2022300502 A1) and Lawson et al. (US 20130212214 A1).
Regarding Claim 1, Nixon discloses a method for external devices to securely interact with a process control system of a process plant, the method comprising ([0008]: Techniques, systems, apparatuses, components, devices, and methods for providing search functionality within the process plant and for remotely receiving and viewing process plant-related data are disclosed herein; [0034]-[0035]: To illustrate, FIG. 1 is a block diagram of an example edge gateway system 1 which securely delivers process plant-related data from a process plant 5 to one or more external systems 8):
obtaining, by an edge gateway system of the process control system during runtime of an industrial process being controlled by the process control system (Fig. 1; edge gateway system 1), a data set from a knowledge repository storing process content data related to the industrial process and context data indicative of relationships between the process content data ([0035]: For example, as illustrated in FIG. 1, the one or more memories 38 of the edge-facing component 12 store respective data sets; [0064]: In this scenario, only devices authorized to interact with process control devices may receive process plant-related data from the contextual knowledge repository 42 (e.g., operator workstations, mobile workstations, etc.),
the data set being responsive to a query of the knowledge repository (Fig. 4; [0071]: In any event, the process plant search engine 406 receives a process plant search query from a user interface device… The process plant search engine 406 then analyzes/parses the process plant search query to identify the subject of the search query, context for the search query, and/or other information in the search query which may be used to filter a data set responsive to the search query);
providing, by the edge gateway system, the data set via a first communication path to an external application executing on one or more computing devices external to cybersecurity barriers of the process control system (Fig. 1; [0006]: The process control system may, be in turn, be connected with various business and external networks… the interconnection of process plants and/or process control systems to enterprise and/or external networks and systems increases the risk of cyber intrusions; [0080]-[0082]: the process plant search engine 406 may filter the data set to include only process plant-related data corresponding to the MODULE:CATCR which is in Area 1 of the Houston plant… the process plant search engine 406 transforms the filtered process plant-related data into process plant search results),
the first communication path being a unidirectional communication path configured to deliver data from the process control system;
However, Nixon does not explicitly teach “receiving, by the edge gateway system and responsive to the provided data set, an instruction corresponding to the runtime industrial process via a second communication path, the second communication path being a unidirectional communication path separate from the first communication path configured to deliver data to the process control system, and presenting, by the edge gateway system, a display including a change to a data value on one or more user interfaces of the process control system in accordance with the received instruction”.
On the other hand, in the same field of endeavor, Enver teaches
receiving, by the edge gateway system and responsive to the provided data set, an instruction corresponding to the runtime industrial process via a second communication path ([0006]: The data highway utilized by the hardware devices, controllers and field devices may include a wired communication path, a wireless communication path, or a combination of wired and wireless communication paths), the second communication path being a unidirectional communication path separate from the first communication path configured to deliver data to the process control system ([0023]: as shown in FIG. 1, the data diode 15 includes one or more transmission media via which data (e.g. electronic data) is transported from the field-facing component 10 to the edge-facing component 12… In a preferred embodiment, the data diode 15 is unidirectional).
Additionally, Lawson teaches presenting, by the edge gateway system, a display including a change to a data value on one or more user interfaces of the process control system in accordance with the received instruction (Fig. 1; [0039]: the industrial devices 108 and 110 connect to the cloud gateways 106; [0039]: Cloud services 112 can include, but are not limited to… control applications (e.g., applications that can generate and deliver control instructions to industrial devices 108 and 110 based on analysis of near real-time system data or other factors; [0091]: FIG. 15 illustrates an example methodology 1500 for dynamically controlling an upload frequency of a cloud gateway; Fig. 7; [0067]: For example, cloud-based application 708 may be a cloud-based operator interface application (e.g., a cloud-based HMI system) that serves operator interface screens to authorized client devices 704); Fig. 1; [0036]-[0041]: These outputs can include… operational commands to a machining or material handling robot, mixer control signals, motion control signals, and the like).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the teaching of Nixon to incorporate the teachings of Enver and Lawson to cause the edge gateway system to include instructions to modify an operation or data store of the process control system.
The motivation for doing so would be to support the flow of data from the field-facing component to the edge facing component as recognized by Enver ([0023]: hardware and/or software of the unidirectional data diode 15 may be otherwise configured to prevent the flow of any type of data… while supporting the flow of data from the field-facing component 10 to the edge facing component 12) and to allow industrial facilities at different geographical locations to migrate their automation data to the cloud platform without establishing a private network between the facilities, as recognized by Lawson ([0040] of Lawson: Moreover, multiple industrial facilities at different geographical locations can migrate their respective automation data to the cloud platform 102 for aggregation, collation, collective analysis, and enterprise-level reporting without the need to establish a private network between the facilities).
Regarding Claim 2, the combined teaching of Lawson, Enver, and Nixon disclose the method of claim 1.
Lawson further teaches wherein providing the data set to the external application includes providing the data set to a user interface application executing on a computing device of an agent of the process control system or the process plant ([0008]: The cloud gateway can include a device interface configured to receive data from one or more industrial devices (e.g., industrial controllers, telemetry devices, sensors, etc.); Fig. 7; [0067]: For example, cloud-based application 708 may be a cloud-based operator interface application (e.g., a cloud-based HMI system) that serves operator interface screens to authorized client devices 704 over a generic internet layer 702, and renders selected subsets of the controller data on the operator interface screens).
Regarding Claim 3, the combined teaching of Lawson, Enver, and Nixon disclose the method of claim 1.
Nixon further teaches wherein providing the data set to the external application includes providing the data set to a remote process control system application executing on one or more remote computing devices ([0005]: The viewing applications, which may be executed on one or more operator workstations (or on one or more remote computing devices in communicative connection with the operator workstations and the data highway), receive data from the controller application via the data highway and display this data to process control system designers, operators, or users using the user interfaces).
Regarding Claim 4, the combined teaching of Lawson, Enver, and Nixon disclose the method of claim 1.
Lawson further teaches wherein providing the data set to the external application includes providing the data set to an enterprise application executing on one or more remote computing devices, the enterprise application provided by an enterprise associated with the process control system ([0035]: FIG. 1 illustrates a high-level overview of an industrial enterprise that leverages cloud-based services. The enterprise comprises one or more industrial facilities 104, each having a number of industrial devices 108 and 110 in use).
Regarding Claim 5, the combined teaching of Lawson, Enver, and Nixon disclose the method of claim 1.
Nixon further teaches wherein providing the data set to the external application includes providing the data set to a third-party application provided by a third-party (Fig. 1; The one or more external systems 8 may include any number of public computing systems and/or private computing systems, which may be respectively implemented using any suitable technology, such as banks of servers, cloud computing systems, and the like, and on which various applications (e.g., third-party applications, websites, etc.) may execute).
Regarding Claim 6, the combined teaching of Lawson, Enver, and Nixon disclose the method of claim 1.
Nixon further teaches wherein providing the data set to the external application includes providing the data set to a soft or smart sensor application (Fig. 1; [0050]-[0051]: The controller 111 implements a control strategy using what are commonly referred to as function blocks… Control based function blocks typically perform one of an input function, such as that associated with a transmitter, a sensor… The wired field devices 115-122 may be any types of devices, such as sensors).
Regarding Claim 7, the combined teaching of Lawson, Enver, and Nixon disclose the method of claim 1.
Nixon further teaches wherein providing the data set to the external application includes providing the data set to a web client application (Fig. 5; [0035]: The one or more external systems 8 may include any number of public computing systems and/or private computing systems, which may be respectively implemented using any suitable technology, such as banks of servers, cloud computing systems, and the like, and on which various applications (e.g., third-party applications, websites, etc.) may execute).
Regarding Claim 8, the combined teaching of Lawson, Enver, and Nixon disclose the method of claim 1.
Nixon further teaches providing the data set to the external application includes providing the data set to an external application executing on a mobile device (Fig. 1; [0044]: Further, the edge gateway system 1 allows for a multiplicity of different types of applications to safely and easily operate on the contextual knowledge corresponding to the process plant 5, such as mobile connectivity applications).
Regarding Claim 9, the combined teaching of Lawson, Enver, and Nixon disclose the method of claim 1.
Nixon further teaches further comprising updating, by the edge gateway system, the knowledge repository to include (i) additional content data indicative of at least one of the query, the data set, the instruction, or modification to at least one of an operation or a data store within the cybersecurity barriers of the process control system in accordance with the received instruction, and (ii) additional context data indicative of respective relationships between the at least two of the query, the data set, the instruction, or the modification (Fig. 1; [0042]: The contextual knowledge miner 45 mines the data lake 40 to discover relationships between various content data stored in the data lake 40, and generates/modifies/updates the contextual knowledge repository 42 so that the contextual knowledge repository 42 includes indications of both the received content data as well as the discovered relationships).
Regarding Claim 10, the combined teaching of Lawson, Enver, and Nixon disclose the method of claim 1.
Nixon further teaches, further comprising receiving, by the edge gateway system, a search query ([0009]: To provide search functionality within the process plant, a process plant search query server receives and analyzes process plant search queries from software modules and/or user interface devices), and
wherein obtaining the data set from the knowledge repository is responsive to the search query ([0010]: For example, the process plant search query server may obtain process plant-related data from a contextual knowledge repository; [0071]: context for the search query, and/or other information in the search query which may be used to filter a data set responsive to the search query).
Regarding Claim 11, the combined teaching of Lawson, Enver, and Nixon disclose the method of claim 10.
Nixon further teaches wherein the query of the knowledge repository is a repository access query (Fig. 1; [0035]: The edge-facing component 12 of the edge gateway system 1 includes… one or more access mechanisms 48 for the contextual knowledge repository 42), and the method further comprises generating, by the edge gateway system, the repository access query based on the received search query (Fig. 4; [0071]: The process plant search engine 406 then analyzes/parses the process plant search query to identify the subject of the search query, context for the search query, and/or other information in the search query which may be used to filter a data set responsive to the search query).
Regarding Claim 12, the combined teaching of Lawson, Enver, and Nixon disclose the method of claim 10.
Nixon further teaches wherein receiving the search query includes receiving a natural language search query entered by a user ([0010]: The process plant search queries may be provided by users in a natural language format).
Regarding Claim 13, the combined teaching of Lawson, Enver, and Nixon disclose the method of claim 12.
Nixon further teaches wherein receiving the natural language search query entered by the user includes receiving a voice natural language search query entered via a microphone ([0079]: Additionally, the context may include device information for the device in which the user submits the process plant search query… the capabilities of the device (e.g., audio, display, microphone, applications executing on the device, etc.)).
Regarding Claim 14, the combined teaching of Lawson, Enver, and Nixon disclose the method of claim 12.
Nixon further teaches wherein receiving the natural language search query entered via by the user includes receiving a textual natural language search query entered via a keyboard, a touchscreen, or another text input user interface ([0010]: The process plant search queries may be provided by users in a natural language format, such as “Show me the alarms at my boiler unit.”; [0108]: hardware input controls for entering alphanumeric characters or providing other user input, software input controls for entering alphanumeric characters or providing other user input via a touch-screen).
Regarding Claim 15, the combined teaching of Lawson, Enver, and Nixon disclose the method of claim 12.
Nixon further teaches further comprising: resolving, by the edge gateway system, a domain of the natural language search query ([0010]: The process plant search query server then analyzes the process plant search query to identify the subject of the search query (e.g., alarms), modifiers or filters for filtering the search results (e.g., alarms specific to a boiler unit), and to identify the context of the process plant search query (e.g., the user is a plant supervisor for a process plant in Houston, Texas and supervises Plant Area A which has one boiler unit)); and
querying, by the edge gateway system, the knowledge repository based on the domain, wherein obtaining the data set from the knowledge repository is responsive to the domain-based query ([0010]: Then the process plant search query server obtains process plant-related data related to the process plant search query. For example, the process plant search query server may obtain process plant-related data from a contextual knowledge repository ).
Regarding Claim 16, the combined teaching of Lawson, Enver, and Nixon disclose the method of claim 15.
Nixon further teaches wherein resolving the domain of the natural language search query includes utilizing the knowledge repository to resolve the domain of the natural language search query ([0010]: For example, the process plant search query server may obtain process plant-related data from a contextual knowledge repository that organizes process plant-related data according to semantic relations between the process plant-related data and the process plant entities).
Regarding Claim 17, the combined teaching of Lawson, Enver, and Nixon disclose the method of claim 15.
Nixon further teaches wherein resolving the domain of the natural language search query includes resolving the domain of the natural language search query to a module, a block, a batch name, or another process control entity defined in the process control system ([0080]: Based on the name and location of the process plant where the user works and the organizational role of the user within the process plant, the process plant search engine 406 may identify the MODULE:CATCR of several instances of MODULE:CATCR in the contextual knowledge repository 42 that the user operates, maintains, is responsible for, etc.).
Regarding Claim 18, the combined teaching of Lawson, Enver, and Nixon disclose the method of claim 17.
Nixon further teaches wherein resolving the domain of the natural language search query comprises resolving the domain of the natural language search query further based on an identity of a user of an operator computing device ([0010]: The process plant search query server then analyzes the process plant search query… to identify the context of the process plant search query (e.g., the user is a plant supervisor for a process plant in Houston, Texas and supervises Plant Area A which has one boiler unit)).
Regarding Claim 19, the combined teaching of Lawson, Enver, and Nixon disclose the method of claim 10.
Nixon further teaches wherein receiving the search query includes receiving the search query from the external application ([0085] The process plant search query server 400 receives a process plant search query from a user interface device which may be within or external to the process plant 5).
Regarding Claim 20, the combined teaching of Lawson, Enver, and Nixon disclose the method of claim 10.
Nixon further teaches wherein receiving the search query includes receiving a search query generated by a web client application ([0035]: The one or more external systems 8 may include any number of public computing systems and/or private computing systems, which may be respectively implemented using any suitable technology, such as banks of servers, cloud computing systems, and the like, and on which various applications (e.g., third-party applications, websites, etc.) may execute).
Regarding Claim 21, the combined teaching of Lawson, Enver, and Nixon disclose method of claim 10.
Nixon further teaches wherein receiving the search query includes receiving a search query that has been automatically generated by a soft or smart sensor application ([0009]: To provide search functionality within the process plant, a process plant search query server receives and analyzes process plant search queries from software modules and/or user interface devices, such as operator workstations, mobile devices such as smart phones and tablets, vehicle head units, etc.; Fig. 1; [0051]: The wired field devices 115 - 122 may be any types of devices, such as sensors).
Regarding Claim 22, the combined teaching of Lawson, Enver, and Nixon disclose the method of claim 1.
Nixon further teaches wherein receiving the instruction includes receiving the instruction from a remote process control system application executing on one or more remote computing devices ([0008]: Techniques, systems, apparatuses, components, devices, and methods for providing search functionality within the process plant and for remotely receiving and viewing process plant-related data are disclosed herein; [0024]: FIG. 9 illustrates a display of a vehicle head unit for presenting process plant-related data at a remote location from the process plant).
Regarding Claim 23, the combined teaching of Lawson, Enver, and Nixon disclose the method of claim 1.
Lawson further teaches wherein receiving the instruction includes receiving the instruction from an enterprise application executing on one or more remote computing devices, the enterprise application provided by an enterprise associated with the process control system (Fig. 1; [0035]-[0045]: To provide a general context for the cloud gateway devices and services described herein, FIG. 1 illustrates a high-level overview of an industrial enterprise that leverages cloud-based services. The enterprise comprises one or more industrial facilities 104, each having a number of industrial devices 108 and 110 in use… FIG. 3 illustrates an exemplary cloud gateway capable of receiving industrial data from one or more industrial control systems).
Regarding Claim 24, the combined teaching of Lawson, Enver, and Nixon disclose the method of claim 1.
Nixon further teaches wherein receiving the instruction includes receiving the instruction from a third-party application provided by a third-party ([0035]: The one or more external systems 8 may include any number of public computing systems and/or private computing systems… on which various applications (e.g., third-party applications, websites, etc.) may execute).
Regarding Claim 25, the combined teaching of Lawson, Enver, and Nixon disclose the method of claim 1.
Lawson further teaches wherein receiving the instruction includes receiving an instruction that has been automatically generated by a soft or smart sensor application (The cloud gateway can include a device interface configured to receive data from one or more industrial devices (e.g., industrial controllers, telemetry devices, sensors, etc.); [0068]-[0070]: One or more embodiments of cloud gateway services 716 can also support remote auto-updating… In response, the cloud-based ERP system can analyze the production data and generate updated production schedule information).
Regarding Claim 26, the combined teaching of Lawson, Enver, and Nixon disclose the method of claim 1.
Nixon further teaches wherein receiving the instruction includes receiving the instruction from a web client application ([0035]: he one or more external systems 8 may include any number of public computing systems and/or private computing systems, which may be respectively implemented using any suitable technology, such as banks of servers, cloud computing systems, and the like, and on which various applications (e.g., third-party applications, websites, etc.) may execute).
Regarding Claim 27, the combined teaching of Lawson, Enver, and Nixon disclose the method of claim 1.
Nixon further teaches wherein receiving the instruction includes receiving the instruction from an external application executing on a mobile device ([0044]: Further, the edge gateway system 1 allows for a multiplicity of different types of applications to safely and easily operate on the contextual knowledge corresponding to the process plant 5 , such as mobile connectivity applications).
Regarding Claim 28, the combined teaching of Lawson, Enver, and Nixon disclose the method of claim 1.
Lawson further teaches wherein: receiving the instruction corresponding to the runtime industrial process includes receiving a command to write the data value to the process control system, the data value determined based on the provided data set; and further comprising writing the data value to a data store ([0073]: For example, a cloud-based ERP or HMI service may attempt to write a new setpoint value to a selected controller of one of the industrial systems 906. The cloud gateway service 912 can receive this new setpoint value and write the new value to the appropriate data tag in the selected controller over plant network 920).
Regarding Claim 29, the combined teaching of Lawson, Enver, and Nixon disclose the method of claim 28.
Lawson further teaches further comprising modifying an operation of the process control system based on the written data value ([0091]: FIG. 15 illustrates an example methodology 1500 for dynamically controlling an upload frequency of a cloud gateway… At 1506, an instruction is received from the cloud-based application to change the upload frequency of the cloud gateway).
Regarding Claim 30, the combined teaching of Lawson, Enver, and Nixon disclose the method of claim 28.
Lawson further teaches wherein: receiving the command to write the data value to the process control system comprises receiving a command to change a current data value stored in the data store of the process control system; further comprising the changing the current data value to the data value indicated by the command ([0091]: FIG. 15 illustrates an example methodology 1500 for dynamically controlling an upload frequency of a cloud gateway… At 1506, an instruction is received from the cloud-based application to change the upload frequency of the cloud gateway).
Regarding Claim 31, the combined teaching of Lawson, Enver, and Nixon disclose the method of claim 28.
Lawson further teaches wherein: receiving the command to write the data value to the process control system comprises receiving a command to store a new data value at the process control system; and further comprising storing the new data value ([0091]-[0092]: FIG. 15 illustrates an example methodology 1500 for dynamically controlling an upload frequency of a cloud gateway… At 1506, an instruction is received from the cloud-based application to change the upload frequency of the cloud gateway… FIG. 16 illustrates an example methodology 1600 for implementing store-and-forward functionality in a cloud gateway… where incoming industrial data is stored (e.g., by a storage control component 1308) in local storage associated with the cloud gateway).
Regarding Claim 32, the combined teaching of Lawson, Enver, and Nixon disclose the method of claim 28.
Lawson further teaches wherein: receiving the command to write the data value to the process control system comprises receiving a command to display the data value on a user interface of the process control system ([0073]: For example, a cloud-based ERP or HMI service may attempt to write a new setpoint value to a selected controller of one of the industrial systems 906. The cloud gateway service 912 can receive this new setpoint value and write the new value to the appropriate data tag in the selected controller over plant network 920).
Regarding Claim 33, the combined teaching of Lawson, Enver, and Nixon disclose the method of claim 28.
Lawson further teaches wherein: receiving the command to write the data value to the process control system comprises receiving a response to an alert or an alarm generated by the process control system; and further comprising ([0067]: In another exemplary scenario, cloud-based application 708 may be a cloud-based notification system that monitors the controller data provided by cloud gateway service 716, and issues notifications to pre-designated client devices 704 in response to detection of a pre-defined notification trigger condition (e.g., a particular system value exceeding a setpoint, an alarm condition, etc.)).
Nixon further teaches further comprising causing an indication of the response to the alert or the alarm to be delivered to an application, of the process control system, that generated the alert or the alarm ([0005]-[0012]: The viewing applications, which may be executed on one or more operator workstations (or on one or more remote computing devices in communicative connection with the operator workstations and the data highway), receive data from the controller application via the data highway and display this data to process control system designers, operators, or users using the user interfaces… . For example, a search results display on the user interface device may present the names of each of the alarms (e.g., Alarm A, Alarm B, Alarm C, etc.)).
Regarding Claim 34, the combined teaching of Lawson, Enver, and Nixon disclose the method of claim 28.
Lawson further teaches wherein: receiving the command to write the data value to the process control system comprises receiving a command to store an indication of a triggering condition that, upon occurrence, causes the process control system to generate a notification ([0067]: In another exemplary scenario, cloud-based application 708 may be a cloud-based notification system that monitors the controller data provided by cloud gateway service 716, and issues notifications to pre-designated client devices 704 in response to detection of a pre-defined notification trigger condition (e.g., a particular system value exceeding a setpoint, an alarm condition, etc.); [0092]: FIG. 16 illustrates an example methodology 1600 for implementing store-and-forward functionality in a cloud gateway… where incoming industrial data is stored (e.g., by a storage control component 1308) in local storage associated with the cloud gateway); and
further comprising: storing, in the data store, an indication of the triggering condition ([0067]: Cloud-based application 708 may also store some or all of the controller data provided by the cloud gateway service 716 on cloud storage 710 for archival purposes).
Regarding Claim 35, the combined teaching of Lawson, Enver, and Nixon disclose the method of claim 1.
Lawson further teaches wherein: receiving the instruction corresponding to the runtime industrial process includes receiving a command to modify a runtime operating behavior of the industrial process being controlled by the process control system ([0091]: FIG. 15 illustrates an example methodology 1500 for dynamically controlling an upload frequency of a cloud gateway… At 1506, an instruction is received from the cloud-based application to change the upload frequency of the cloud gateway).
Regarding Claim 36, the combined teaching of Lawson, Enver, and Nixon disclose the method of claim 35.
Lawson further teaches wherein receiving the instruction to modify the runtime operating behavior of the industrial process being controlled by the process control system includes receiving a command to stop or start an execution of a batch process being controlled by the process control system ([0035]-[0036]: Exemplary automation systems can include, but are not limited to, batch control systems… Exemplary automation systems can include one or more industrial controllers that facilitate monitoring and control of their respective processes… These outputs can include device… operational commands; [0052]: For example, an administrator of the cloud-based application can define… an inactivity timeout… and the cloud application can provide a corresponding instruction to the cloud gateway 302 (via cloud interface component 318) configuring the communication parameters accordingly).
Regarding Claim 37, the combined teaching of Lawson, Enver, and Nixon disclose the method of claim 35.
Nixon further teaches wherein receiving the instruction to modify the runtime operating behavior of the industrial process being controlled by the process control system includes receiving a command to display a prompt for a batch process being controlled by the process control system ([0108]-[0109]: As shown in FIG. 9, the display 902 includes a prompt requesting the user to provide a request; [0048]: The controller 111… may operate to implement a batch process or a continuous process using at least some of the field devices 115 – 122 and 140 – 146; [0062]: For example, the set of data sources 30 may include… batch systems).
Regarding Claim 38, the combined teaching of Lawson, Enver, and Nixon disclose the method of claim 35.
Lawson further teaches wherein receiving the instruction to modify the runtime operating behavior of the industrial process includes receiving a command to stop or start an execution of a portion of a continuous process being controlled by the process control system (Fig. 4; [0049]: Configuration file 402 can also include communication parameters defining collection and transmission intervals, store-and-forward preferences, and other such configuration information. For, example, configuration file 402 may define an upload interval, a data collection interval, a number of messages per packet, an inactivity timeout duration, a maximum number of uploads per minute, etc.).
Regarding Claim 39, the combined teaching of Lawson, Enver, and Nixon disclose the method of claim 1.
Lawson further teaches wherein receiving the instruction includes receiving the instruction from a user interface application executing on a computing device of an agent of the process control system or process plant ([0051]-[0052]: Returning now to FIG. 3, device interface component 306 collects the industrial data 304 from the controller tags identified in the cloud gateway's configuration file (e.g., configuration file 402 of FIG. 4); Fig. 7; [0067]: For example, cloud-based application 708 may be a cloud-based operator interface application (e.g., a cloud-based HMI system) that serves operator interface screens to authorized client devices 704).
Regarding Claim 40, the combined teaching of Lawson, Enver, and Nixon disclose the method of claim 39.
Nixon further teaches wherein receiving the instruction from the user interface application executing on the agent computing device includes receiving a natural language command entered by the user ([0010]: The process plant search queries may be provided by users in a natural language format), and
the method further comprises: resolving a domain of the natural language command ([0010]: The process plant search query server then analyzes the process plant search query to identify the subject of the search query (e.g., alarms), modifiers or filters for filtering the search results (e.g., alarms specific to a boiler unit), and to identify the context of the process plant search query (e.g., the user is a plant supervisor for a process plant in Houston, Texas and supervises Plant Area A which has one boiler unit)); and
modifying at least one of an operation or a data store of the process control system in accordance with the domain ([0004]: These hardware devices run applications that may, for example, enable an operator to perform functions with respect to controlling a process and/or operating the process plant, such as changing settings of the process control routine, modifying the operation of the control modules within the controllers or the field devices).
Regarding Claim 41, the combined teaching of Lawson, Enver, and Nixon disclose the method of claim 40.
Nixon further teaches wherein resolving the domain of the natural language command includes resolving the domain of the natural language command to a module, a block, a batch name, or another process control entity defined in the process control system ([0080]: Based on the name and location of the process plant where the user works and the organizational role of the user within the process plant, the process plant search engine 406 may identify the MODULE:CATCR of several instances of MODULE:CATCR in the contextual knowledge repository 42 that the user operates, maintains, is responsible for, etc.).
Regarding Claim 42, the combined teaching of Lawson, Enver, and Nixon disclose the method of claim 1.
Lawson further teaches wherein the instruction is received, via a plurality of intermediate servers disposed within the cybersecurity barriers of the process control system, to a recipient application or a recipient data store disposed within the cybersecurity barriers of the process control system (Figs. 1, 15; [0091]: At 1506, an instruction is received from the cloud-based application to change the upload frequency of the cloud gateway. For example, the cloud-based application may determine that a maximum total bandwidth or a maximum cloud storage utilization is at risk of being exceeded, and in response, send an instruction to the cloud gateway to alter one or more communication parameters; [0069]: In this exemplary embodiment, the firewall box 812 can collect industrial data 814 from industrial devices 806.sub.1-806.sub.N, which monitor and control respective portions of controlled process(es) 802).
Regarding Claim 43, the combined teaching of Lawson, Enver, and Nixon disclose the method of claim 42.
Nixon further teaches wherein: the instruction is received at a plant secured write gatekeeper in communicative connection with the plurality of intermediate servers ([0034]-[0040]: To illustrate, FIG. 1 is a block diagram of an example edge gateway system 1 which securely delivers process plant-related data from a process plant 5 to one or more external systems 8); and
the plant secured write gatekeeper validates the received instruction ([0032]: process control systems generally fall into security levels 0-2 (e.g., levels that have a higher level of trust in the safety and validity of messages, packets, and other communications), transmits the received instruction to the plurality of intermediate servers when the validation is successful ([0062]: For example, the set of data sources 30 may include… network routing devices or components that transmit information between various components and/or devices of the process plant 100), and
initiates a security mitigation procedure in lieu of transmitting the received instruction when the validation is not successful ([0032]-[0040]: Securing process plants and process control systems against cyber intrusions and malicious cyber attacks typically utilizes a layered or leveled security hierarchy, with at least some of the layers or levels secured by using firewalls and other security mechanisms… To illustrate, FIG. 1 is a block diagram of an example edge gateway system 1 which securely delivers process plant-related data from a process plant 5 to one or more external systems 8... the exposable data type system 24 and data typer 25 of the edge gateway system 1 further protect the process plant 5 from possible security breaches from external systems 8).
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/S D H/Examiner, Art Unit 2168
/CHARLES RONES/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2168