Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 12/31/2025 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
On page 9, applicant argues that Huo only discloses nested mode in which a second virtual desktop is accessed by launching a client inside a first virtual desktop, and that data for the second desktop is exchange only through the nested client and agents. Examiner respectfully disagrees. Huo teaches establishing a first virtual desktop session, then a second session in “nested mode” and further teaches that after the second session is established data may be exchange over connection using virtual channels with the client on the user device and second desktop connected via a bridge in the first virtual desktop. Page 5, [0025] Thus, after the session on the first virtual desktop is established, one or more connections can be formed, over which data such as data used for redirection of features can be exchanged. When the second virtual desktop session on the second virtual desktop in nested mode is established, redirection of features to the second virtual desktop can likewise be performed by exchanging data over connections that are established between the client on the user device and the agent in the second virtual desktop. As will be described in further detail below, the client on the user device and the agent in the second desktop can connect via a bridge in the first virtual desktop
On page 10, applicant argues that the amended claim requires streaming graphical data corresponding to an application window from the first virtual desktop to the second virtual desktop over a virtual channel, presenting that application window within the GUI of the second virtual desktop and forwarding user input back over the virtual channel. Examiner respectfully disagrees. Huo teaches on page 7-8. [0031] “As in a full desktop session, with virtual applications user inputs can be conveyed from the client device to the remote desktop and redirected to the operating system (OS) of the remote desktop, so that the OS can deliver the inputs to the application, while the GUI of the application is streamed back and displayed on the client device. It should be understood that the term "virtual desktop", as used herein, can apply to cases where access is provided to the substantially entire desktop as well as to cases where access is limited to certain portions of the remote computing environment, such as in the case of virtual applications.” Huo expressly teaches a “virtual application” in which the “application’s user interface” maybe visible, user inputs are conveyed to the remote desktop, and the “GUI of the application is streamed back”. Huo also teaches that virtual channels. Thompson also teaches cross desktop window that a user may “switch to the virtual desktop of that window” and may move an individual window or all application’s windows to another virtual desktop. See Thompson [0020-0025]
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-3, 5, 7-10, 12, 14-17, 19-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Huo (PCT/CN2021/142402 ) in view of Thompson (US 20050125739 A1).
Regarding claim 1, Huo teaches:
A method, comprising: (Claim 1 A method for dynamically switching feature redirection between desktops under nested mode in virtual desktop environments, comprising)
by a virtual desktop client operating on a client device, establishing a first virtual desktop session on a first virtual desktop and, by the virtual desktop client, establishing a second virtual desktop session on a second virtual desktop, the first virtual desktop and the second virtual desktop executing on one or more host servers. (Page 4, [0022] The process can begin by establishing a first virtual desktop session between a first virtual desktop client operating on a client computing device and a first virtual desktop agent operating in a first virtual desktop on a host server. For example, this can be performed by a user opening a client on their user device and launching and connecting to the first virtual desktop using the client. After the first virtual desktop session is established, a second virtual desktop session can be initiated between a second virtual desktop client operating in the first virtual desktop and a second virtual desktop agent operating in the second virtual desktop. For example, this can be performed by the user opening the second client in the first virtual desktop, and then launching and connecting to the second virtual desktop using the second client. This type of configuration, where a virtual desktop client running within a virtual desktop is used to connect to another virtual desktop is referred to herein as “nested mode”. Page 6, [0029] Each host server may host any number of virtual machines (e.g., tens, hundreds, etc.) and each virtual machine may be owned by an individual user. The virtual machine typically includes a guest operating system (e.g., Windows) capable of executing applications for the user and the virtual machine is used to provide a virtual desktop for the individual user. The user who owns the virtual desktop can remotely log into his or her virtual desktop using a client device that establishes a network connection (e.g., Wide Area Network connection) with the host server and remotely execute various applications on the virtual machine as if the desktop was running on the user's local client device. The client device can be any computing device capable of establishing a network connection, including but not limited to personal computers (PCs), laptops, mobile phones, tablet computers, wearable devices (e.g., smart watches, electronic smart glasses, etc.) or the like.)
establishing a connection between the first virtual desktop and the second virtual desktop for exchanging data between the first virtual desktop and the second virtual desktop. wherein the connection comprises a virtual channel established between the first virtual desktop and the second virtual desktop; (Page 5, [0025] Thus, after the session on the first virtual desktop is established, one or more connections can be formed, over which data such as data used for redirection of features can be exchanged. When the second virtual desktop session on the second virtual desktop in nested mode is established, redirection of features to the second virtual desktop can likewise be performed by exchanging data over connections that are established between the client on the user device and the agent in the second virtual desktop. As will be described in further detail below, the client on the user device and the agent in the second desktop can connect via a bridge in the first virtual desktop. Page 16, [0059] Accordingly, to redirect the feature to the first desktop 502, the client 1 feature module 522 can be connected to the agent 1 feature module 524 and corresponding data can be exchanged over the connection, which can be a virtual channel, to perform feature redirection. To redirect the feature to the second desktop 504, the client 1 feature module 522 can be connected to the agent 2 feature module 528 and data can be exchanged over this connection to perform feature redirection. As described above, the connection between the client 1 feature module 522 and the agent 2 feature module 528 can utilize the virtual channel between client 1 510 and agent 1 512, the virtual channel between client 2 514 and agent 2 516, and a bridge connection between agent 1 512 and client 2 514 connecting the virtual channels. See also page 10, [0040] and page 24, [0088])
and using the connection between the first virtual desktop and the second virtual desktop, redirecting an application executing in the first virtual desktop to the second virtual desktop to enable a user of the client device to access and interact with the redirected application from within the second virtual desktop; (Page 14, [0053] In various embodiments, to enable feature redirection between the second desktop 404 and client 1 410, connections can be established between client 1 410 and agent 2 416 and data can be exchanged over such connections to perform feature redirection between client 1 410 and agent 2 416. For example, the clipboard, printer, MMR, and USB features in client 1 410 can be connected with the clipboard, printer, MMR, and USB features in agent 2 416, respectively, so that data needed to redirect these features between client 1 410 and agent 2 416 can be exchanged over the corresponding connections. Page 23, [0086] In various embodiments, the feature bridge can be a “nested bridge” that can be established between the first virtual desktop agent and the second virtual desktop client, both running in the first virtual desktop, for communicating data between the first virtual desktop agent and the second virtual desktop client. The nested bridge can utilize Inter-Process Communication (IPC) for fast and efficient transfer of data between the first virtual desktop agent and the second virtual desktop client. Consequently, the nested bridge can be utilized in conjunction with the virtual channels for exchanging data between the first client running on the client device and the second virtual desktop. For example, data can be conveyed from the first client on the client device to the first agent in the first virtual desktop over a virtual channel, passed from the first agent to the second client running in the first virtual desktop using the nested bridge, and then conveyed from the second client to the second agent in the second virtual desktop over a virtual channel. Data can likewise be communicated from the second virtual desktop agent to the first client over the virtual channels and the nested bridge in the opposite direction. As a result, a fast and efficient path for exchanging data between the first client on the client device and the second virtual desktop is provided, which can be utilized for enabling various features and capabilities in the second virtual desktop. See also Page 14 -15, [0054-0056] and page 24-25, [0087-0090] )
wherein redirecting the application comprises: streaming graphical data corresponding to an application window of the application from the first virtual desktop to the second virtual desktop over the virtual channel: (Page 7, [0030] When a client device is accessing a remote desktop using a remote desktop protocol (e.g., RDP, PCoIP, VNC, etc.), the graphical user interface (GUI) of the desktop is generated on the server, the GUI image data is then encoded and transmitted over the network to the client device, where it is decoded and displayed to the user. For example, in one embodiment, the framebuffer pixel data on the server is encoded using a codec, such as H264, and transmitted over an Internet connection to the client, where the data is decoded and rendered on a local display screen to the user. Similarly, any user input information, such as keyboard and mouse events, is transmitted from the client device to the server over the network connection, where it may in turn cause various updates to the GUI of the remote desktop. In this manner, the user can view the GUI of the remote desktop and interact with it as if the desktop was running on the local client device, even though the desktop is actually executing remotely. See also page 27-28, [0097-0098])
Huo does not appear to explicitly teach presenting the application window within a graphical user interface of the second virtual desktop; and forwarding user input received in the second virtual desktop for the application window to the first virtual desktop over the virtual channel to be effectuated by the application.
However, Thompson teaches: [0024] Display and Interaction with Window List
[0025] The system of the present invention provides a novel method for viewing the windows display ed in each virtual desktop and for interacting with them. The present invention implements a menu in menu bar 106 that contains a list of virtual desktops that is available to be switched to. The user may select one of these desktops and switch to it. In addition, each item in the desktop menu is provided with a submenu that contains a list of windows on each virtual desktop. The user may then select one of these windows and will then switch to the virtual desktop of that window, and automatically activate it.[0026] Individual Pop Up Menus for Windows[0027] The present invention provides a novel method for managing a window and its virtual desktop settings by allowing the user to press a configurable hot key when the mouse is hovering over a window. A virtual desktop management window that is tailored to the window the mouse is hovering over will be presented, and will allow the user to change that window's settings.[0028] The present invention also provides a novel method in the pop up menu that allows the user to move an individual window to any chosen virtual desktop via the pop up menu, or to move all of the application's windows to any chosen virtual desktop. The destination virtual desktop is selected within this menu.
Accordingly, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Huo with Thompson so that the streamed application content in Huo’s nested virtual desktop environment would be presented and managed using Thompson’s cross desktop window selection. One would have been motivated to make this combination to improve the continuity of interacting with applications across multiple desktops.
Regarding claim 2, Huo teaches:
The method of claim 1, further comprising: detecting by the virtual desktop client that multiple virtual desktop sessions including the first virtual desktop session and the second virtual desktop session are established and, in response to detecting that the multiple virtual desktop sessions are established, requesting one of the virtual desktops to establish the connection with the other virtual desktop. (Page 19, [0070] In various embodiments, such a filter can be placed or activated in response to the nested mode being used. For example, when an agent or client is not operating as part of a nested configuration, the filter may be unnecessary and the standard connection/disconnection events of the virtual channel can be permitted during non-nested mode operation. Once a nested mode is utilized, however, the connect/disconnect events of the remote experience features may be controlled differently to enable dynamic feature redirection switching, as described herein. Accordingly, when nested mode is used, the filter can be implemented. In various embodiments, the filter can be implemented in response to the nested mode being detected, e.g., when a second virtual desktop session is launched within a first virtual desktop session. For example, the filter can be a dll (dynamic link library) file that is loaded by a corresponding feature redirection module or remote experience feature process when nested mode is used. In various embodiments, the filter can be a filter driver that intercepts requests or messages made to the remote experience feature process. Page 20 [0071] FIG. 7A illustrates an example of a system for dynamic connection switching in virtual desktops under nested mode implementing a filter, in accordance with various embodiments. As illustrated in the example of FIG. 7A, in a nested mode configuration, client 1 710 on a client device 700 can connect to agent 1 712 on a first virtual desktop 702 in a first desktop session. Client 2 714 on the first virtual desktop 702 can connect to agent 2 716 on a second virtual desktop 704 in a second virtual desktop session. As described above, a protocol session can be established between each client 710, 714 and agent 712, 7516 respectively.)
Regarding claim 3 , Huo does not appear to explicitly teach:
The method of claim 1, further comprising: redirecting a topmost application of the first virtual desktop to the second virtual desktop when the user switches to the second virtual desktop or redirecting a topmost application of the second virtual desktop to the first virtual desktop when the user switches to the first virtual desktop. (Paragraph 39 defines the “topmost app” can mean the app that is active in the desktop, the app with focus of the operating system (OS))
However, Thompson teaches: [0039] Tracking Topmost Application on Other Desktops[0040] In order to provide users with a more logical experience with virtual desktop software, the system of the present invention has the capability to track the last active application on each virtual desktop. Normally, virtual desktops will return the user to the topmost window on a virtual desktop. However, on Macintosh systems (and likely others) it is possible to have an application be active but not have any open windows. The present invention implements a method to track the last active application on a virtual desktop and make that application active again upon returning to that desktop, even if it does not have any windows present on that desktop.
Accordingly, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, having the teachings of Huo and Thompson before them, to include Thompson’s tracking topmost/last active application on virtual desktop in Huo’s system performing multiple virtual desktop sessions. One would have been motivated to make such a combination to preserve user context and reduce interaction time when switching between applications on the virtual desktops .
Regarding claim 5, Huo teaches:
The method of claim 1, further comprising: receiving a user request in the second virtual desktop to copy data from the redirected application and receiving a subsequent user request in the second virtual desktop to paste the data into an application executing in the second virtual desktop; and transferring the data from the first virtual desktop to the second virtual desktop over the established connection between the first virtual desktop and the second virtual desktop to perform a paste operation. (Page 11, [0044] For example, if a user copies data on the client device 200 (e.g., in an application) and wishes to paste it in the first virtual desktop 202 (e.g., in an application), then the copied data can be conveyed to the virtual desktop 202 over a virtual channel 220. Similarly, when data is copied from the virtual desktop 202 and pasted in the client device 200, the data can be conveyed over the virtual channel 220. In the same way, copy/paste data between the first virtual desktop 202 and the second virtual desktop 204 can be exchanged over the corresponding virtual channel 222. This redirection of copy and paste data between a client and a virtual desktop is referred to as clipboard redirection.)
Regarding claim 7, Huo teaches:
The method of claim 1, wherein the application is redirected from the first virtual desktop to the second virtual desktop as a seamless window. (Page 7,[0031] Behind the scenes, however, the application can be running inside a desktop session, but only the application's user interface (UI) may be visible and accessible to the user on the client device. As in a full desktop session, with virtual applications user inputs can be conveyed from the client device to the remote desktop and redirected to the operating system (OS) of the remote desktop, so that the OS can deliver the inputs to the application, while the GUI of the application is streamed back and displayed on the client device. It should be understood that the term “virtual desktop”, as used herein, can apply to cases where access is provided to the substantially entire desktop as well as to cases where access is limited to certain portions of the remote computing environment, such as in the case of virtual applications.)
Regarding claim 8, A teaches the elements of claim 1 as outlined above. Huo also teaches:
A computing device, comprising: (claim 8. A computing device for dynamically switching feature redirection between desktops under nested mode in virtual desktop environments, comprising: ).
Regarding claim 9, the claim recites similar limitation as corresponding claim 2 and is rejected for similar reasons as claim 2 using similar teachings and rationale.
Regarding claim 10, the claim recites similar limitation as corresponding claim 3 and is rejected for similar reasons as claim 3 using similar teachings and rationale.
Regarding claim 12, the claim recites similar limitation as corresponding claim 5 and is rejected for similar reasons as claim 5 using similar teachings and rationale.
Regarding claim 14, the claim recites similar limitation as corresponding claim 7 and is rejected for similar reasons as claim 7 using similar teachings and rationale.
Regarding claim 15, A teaches the elements of claim 1 as outlined above. Huo also teaches:
A non-transitory computer readable storage medium comprising one or more sequences of instructions, the instructions when executed by one or more processors causing the one or more processors to execute the operations of: (claim 15. A non-transitory computer readable storage medium for dynamically switching feature redirection between desktops under nested mode in virtual desktop environments comprising one or more sequences of instructions, the instructions when executed by one or more processors causing the one or more processors to execute the operations of).
Regarding claim 16, the claim recites similar limitation as corresponding claim 2 and is rejected for similar reasons as claim 2 using similar teachings and rationale.
Regarding claim 17, the claim recites similar limitation as corresponding claim 3 and is rejected for similar reasons as claim 3 using similar teachings and rationale.
Regarding claim 19, the claim recites similar limitation as corresponding claim 5 and is rejected for similar reasons as claim 5 using similar teachings and rationale.
Claims 6, 13 and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Huo (PCT/CN2021/142402 ) in view of Thompson (US 20050125739 A1 and further in view of Huang (US 20220229922 A1).
Regarding claim 6 , Huo does not appear to explicitly teach:
The method of claim 1, further comprising redirecting a file from the first virtual desktop to the second virtual desktop including presenting a virtual drive mounted in the second virtual desktop that is mapped to the first virtual desktop.
However, Huang teaches: [0026] With the CDR feature, data located on the client device (e.g., 120-1, 120-2, 120-N) can be presented in virtual drives in the VM (e.g., 110-1, 110-2, 110-N). For example, directories, files, or drives located on the client device (e.g., 120-1, 120-2, 120-N) can be presented in virtual drives in the virtual desktop. Users can work with the virtual drives in the same way they work with disk drives that are local on the host server (e.g., 102-1, 102-2, 102-N), and applications running in the virtual desktop can likewise access the virtual drives in the same way as local drives on the host server (e.g., 102-1, 102-2, 102-N). When an input/output (I/O) request is produced on the virtual desktop (e.g., by an application in the virtual desktop) to a shared directory located on the client device (e.g., 120-1, 120-2, 120-N), a CDR component running in the virtual desktop can forward the I/O request to the client device (e.g., 120-1, 120-2, 120-N) over the network. A corresponding client-side CDR component on the client device (e.g., 120-1, 120-2, 120-N) can receive and implement the I/O request, whether by retrieving data and sending it back to the virtual desktop, by writing to a file on the client device (e.g., 120-1, 120-2, 120-N), etc. as the case may be. [0031] The virtual desktop 302 (or an application 308 in the desktop) can access the shared client drive 324 by producing an input/output (I/O) request targeting the virtual drive 326. For example, an application 308 can produce a read or write request to a file in the virtual drive 326 and the request can be routed to the shared client drive 324 by a redirection driver 312. In an embodiment utilizing the Windows operating system (OS) the driver can for example be an RDPDR driver. Hence, I/O requests to the virtual drive 326 can be forwarded to or intercepted by the redirection driver 312 and conveyed to the shared client drive 324. Responses to application 308 requests forwarded by the redirection driver 312 can be routed back from the client 304 to the requesting applications 308 through the redirection driver 312. See also [0027] and [0030]
Accordingly, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, having the teachings of Huang and Huo before them, to include Huang’s client-drive using a virtual drive inside a virtual desktop in Huo’s system performing multiple virtual desktop sessions. One would have been motivated to make such a combination to more efficiently access and transfer files across two desktops.
Regarding claim 13, the claim recites similar limitation as corresponding claim 6 and is rejected for similar reasons as claim 6 using similar teachings and rationale.
Regarding claim 20, the claim recites similar limitation as corresponding claim 6 and is rejected for similar reasons as claim 6 using similar teachings and rationale.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/C.A.E./Examiner, Art Unit 2199
/LEWIS A BULLOCK JR/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2199