DETAILED ACTION
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments, see Remarks, filed June 22, 2026, with respect to the rejection(s) of claim(s) 1-13 under 35 USC 103 have been fully considered and are persuasive. Therefore, the rejection has been withdrawn. However, upon further consideration, a new ground(s) of rejection is made in view of a new interpretation of Lin et al. (US 20120187568 A1; Lin).
The original interpretation of the Lin reference interpreted the semiconductor component as 124. However, upon further review Lin defines structures 144 as the claimed semiconductor component rather than a substrate or interposer. The Lin reference (flipped) figure 5s comprises a semiconductor die 144, component encapsulation 172, a substrate 246 comprising an insulating layer 238 with vias 240 through apertures, external connectors 244, substrate encapsulant 242. interconnect structure 154 on the semiconductor component, and the surface of the substrate component is in contact with the surface of the component encapsulant.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-3,6-13 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lin et al. (US 20120187568 A1; Lin) in view of Kuo et al. (US 20210375708 A1: Kuo).
Regarding claim 1, Lin discloses an electronic device, comprising a substrate (Fig. 5S, 246;¶77) comprising: a dielectric layer (Fig. 5S, 238; 73) comprising a dielectric layer top side, a dielectric layer bottom side, a dielectric layer lateral side between the dielectric layer top side and the dielectric layer bottom side, and a dielectric layer aperture (location of 240 pattern) that pass through the dielectric layer from the dielectric layer top side to the dielectric layer bottom side; a conductive pattern on (Fig. 5S, 240; 73) wherein the conductive pattern extends into the dielectric layer aperture toward the dielectric layer top side; wherein the conductive pattern extends into the dielectric layer aperture toward the dielectric layer top side; an external interconnect first structure (Fig. 5S, 244; 176) comprising an external interconnect first structure top side coupled (electrically) to the conductive pattern; and a substrate encapsulant (Fig. 5S, 242; 75) that surrounds and contacts the dielectric layer latera side, a lateral side of the conductive pattern, and a lateral side of the external interconnect first structure; and a semiconductor component (Fig. 5S, 144; ¶65) comprising a component bottom side coupled to the dielectric layer top side and an interconnection structure (Fig. 5S, 154; ¶72) electrically coupled to the conductive pattern… ; and a component encapsulant (Fig. 5S, stack of 172/212; ¶72,78) that laterally surrounds the semiconductor component (Fig. 5S, 144; ¶65), wherein the component encapsulant comprises a component encapsulant bottom side that contacts (peripheral sides) a top side of the substrate encapsulant.
Since the device of Lin is flipped the top is oriented on the bottom; the bottom is oriented on the top.
Lin is silent on using a seed layer.
Kuo discloses a device in a flipped orientation from Lin where the seed layer, a seed layer (Fig. 15B, between RDL via V1 and chip contact 138t; ¶43) on the dielectric layer bottom side, wherein the seed layer extends into the dielectric layer aperture toward the dielectric layer top side; a conductive pattern (Fig. 15B, CL1; ¶43) on the seed layer,
Before the effective filing date of the invention it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art to use a seed layer with the conductive patterns for aiding in connecting the conductor to other conductive layers.
Regarding claim 2, Lin in view of Kuo discloses the electronic device of claim 1, wherein the dielectric layer (Fig. 5S, 238; ¶73) comprises a photo-definable dry film.
Photo-definable is interpreted to mean that the layer may be patterned using light.
Regarding claim 3, Lin in view of Kuo discloses the electronic device of claim 1, wherein the dielectric layer comprises a dry film of dielectric material that is not photo-definable. (Fig. 5S, 238; ¶73)
Applicant uses lasers (light) to pattern both definable and not photo-definable. (¶58 & 61) It is unclear what applicant means by not photo-definable in light of the written description. Laminating layers does not cause a material to become not photo-definable unless layers between the target layer and light source change the composition of the layer to make it resistant to a light source.
Regarding claim 6, Lin in view of Kuo discloses the electronic device of claim 1, wherein the component encapsulant (Fig. 5S, stack of 172/212; ¶72,78) contacts a component (Fig. 5S, 144; ¶72) lateral side of the semiconductor component.
Since the device of Lin is flipped the top is oriented on the bottom; the bottom is oriented on the top.
Regarding claim 7, Lin in view of Kuo discloses the electronic device of claim 1, wherein the component encapsulant (Fig. 5S, stack of 172/212; ¶72,78) contacts a component (Fig. 5S, 144; ¶72) top side and a component lateral side of the semiconductor component.
Since the device of Lin is flipped the top is oriented on the bottom; the bottom is oriented on the top.
Regarding claim 8, Lin in view of Kuo discloses the electronic device of claim 1, wherein: the conductive pattern (Fig. 5S, 240; ¶74) comprises one or more electroplated conductive layers; and the external interconnect first structure (Fig. 5S, 244; ¶76) comprises one or more electroplated conductive layers.
Regarding claim 9, Lin in view of Kuo discloses the electronic device of claim 1, wherein the seed layer (Fig. 15B, between RDL via V1 and contact 138t; ¶143 Kuo) contacts the interconnection structure (Fig. 15B, electric contact to 132; ¶61 Kuo) of the semiconductor component.
Before the effective filing date of the invention it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art to use a seed layer with the conductive patterns for aiding in connecting the conductor to other conductive layers.
Regarding claim 10, Lin in view of Kuo discloses the electronic device of claim 1, wherein: a width of the dielectric layer (Fig. 5S, 238; ¶73) between opposite dielectric lateral sides (two outermost lateral sides) is greater than a width of the semiconductor component (Fig. 5S, 144; ¶73) between corresponding component lateral sides; and the width of the dielectric layer (Fig. 5S, 238; ¶73) between the opposite dielectric lateral sides is less than a width of the substrate (Fig. 5S, 246;¶77) between corresponding substrate lateral sides.
Comparing to applicant's figure 1.
Regarding claim 11, Lin in view of Kuo discloses the electronic device of claim 1, wherein the substrate (Fig. 5S, 246;¶77) lacks a seed layer between the conductive pattern (Fig. 5S, 240; ¶74) and the external interconnect first structure. (Fig. 5S, 244; ¶76)
Regarding claim 12, Lin in view of Kuo discloses the electronic device of claim 1, comprising: an external interconnect second structure (Fig. 5S,ball 244; ¶76) coupled to a bottom side of the external interconnect first structure (Fig. 5S, not shown UBM under 244; ¶76); and wherein the substrate encapsulant (Fig. 5S, 242; ¶75) laterally surrounds at least a portion of a lateral side of the external interconnect second structure.
Regarding claim 13, Lin in view of Kuo discloses the electronic device of claim 12, wherein: the external interconnect first structure comprises (Fig. 5S, 244; ¶76 UBM comprises pillar under balls .A pillar is a stud) a conductive stud; and the external interconnect second structure comprises a solder ball. (Fig. 5S,ball 244; ¶76)
Claim(s) 4 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lin et al. (US 20120187568 A1; Lin) in view of Kuo et al. (US 20210375708 A1: Kuo) and further in view of Hsieh et al. (US 4708943 A; Hsieh).
Regarding claim 4, Lin in view of Kuo discloses the electronic device of claim 1, but is silent on wherein the dielectric layer has a loss tangent of 0.015 or less.
Lin discloses the insulating layer 238 contains one or more layers of SiO2, Si3N4, SiON, Ta2O5, Al2O3, or other material having similar insulating and structural properties.
In the art to achieve a desired loss tangent layers such as Si3N4 are laminated.
Hsieh discloses silicon nitride with a loss tangent from about 0.002 to about 0.02. (Column 1 lines 54-59)
The claimed loss tangent of 0.015 or less represents a range covered by Hsieh.
Therefore, while, Hsieh does not expressly teaches the range of 0.015 or less some of its value ” about 0.002 to about 0.02” fall within the claim range of 0.015 or less, in the case where the claimed ranges “overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art” a prima facie case of obviousness exists. See MPEP 2144.05, I. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to enable using “about 0.002 to about 0.02”, as disclosed in prior art, to arrive at the recited limitation for the benefit of dielectric layer integrity in high temperature devices.
Claim(s) 4 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lin et al. (US 20120187568 A1; Lin) in view of Kuo et al. (US 20210375708 A1: Kuo) and further in view of Strothmann et al. (US 20150243575 A1; Strothmann).
Regarding claim 5, Lin in view of Kuo discloses the electronic device of claim 1, but is silent on wherein a thickness of the dielectric layer between the dielectric layer top side and the dielectric layer bottom side is greater than 20 pm.
Strothmann discloses a similar device with an analogous dielectric layer (Fig. 1, 170; ¶58) that is one or more layers, and includes a thickness of 7-11 mu. This is interpreted to mean dielectric layer 170 comprises three layers each with a thickness of 7-11mu.
Therefore, before the effective filing date it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art to have a thickness greater than 20mu to accommodate high temperatures, high density, high speed functioning devices.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 14-20 are allowed.
The following is an examiner’s statement of reasons for allowance, which paraphrases and summarizes the claimed invention without intending to be limiting, wherein the legally defined scope of the claimed invention is defined by the allowed claims themselves in view of the written description under 35 USC 112. This statement is not intended to necessarily state all the reasons for allowance or all the details why the claims are allowed and has not been written to specifically or impliedly state that all the reasons for allowance are set forth (MPEP 1302.14).
Cited art (US 20120187568 A1; Lin) discloses electroplating the conductive layer and external interconnect but does not have a seed layer. US-20220077077-A1 discloses electroplating multiple conductive layer buy passing current through a seed layer. CN-112542449-A discloses forming a TIV by running current through a seed layer. CN-111863601-A uses a second seed layer to grow an external conductor. The relative art does not disclose plating a conductive external layer by running a current through a seed layer
Regarding claim 14, the references of the Prior Art of record and considered pertinent to the applicant's disclosure and to the examiner’s knowledge does not teach or render obvious, at least to the skilled artisan, the instant invention regarding: " and electroplating an external interconnect first structure on the conductive pattern by applying current to the seed layer.”, as recited in Claim 14, with the remaining features.
Conclusion
/LAWRENCE C TYNES JR./Examiner, Art Unit 2899