DETAILED ACTION
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claims1-14 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-14 and 21are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lian et al. (US PGpub: 2021/0020779 A1), herein after Lian, in view of know arts like Lian and Blanchard et al. (US PGpub: 2017/0069727 A1), herein after Blanchard or Amethystna et al. (US PGpub: 2024/0006529 A1), herein after Amethystna.
Regarding claim 1, Lian teaches a semiconductor device comprising:
a semiconductor substrate having a top surface and a majority carrier type; (as shown in picture);
a well (20) in the semiconductor substrate, the well having the majority carrier type;
a conductive plate (60B) above the well; and
an insulator (60A) on the top surface, the insulator (60A) located directly between the well and the field plate (60B).
Lian does not explicitly teach the well and Dielectric layer is below top surface of substrate
However, Lian teaches well (the interpretation is that a well which flows current within can be a well. Since current has to be flown from one terminal of the well to another terminal of the well in order for the device to function, the well 20 is considered well resistor). This is also taught in FIG. 22 of Blanchard where p-well 54 is a conductive well. With reference to FIG. 4 in Amethystna, well 22 is considered well resistor as current flows from one terminal to the other. In Amethystna, Dielectric is below top surface of substrate and located directly between well and Shield field plate which is conductive plate)
Hence, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to use Lian’s semiconductor device with other teaching from Lian or Blanchard or Amethystna so that device characteristics like breakdown voltage can be improved.
Regarding claim 2, Lian (in view of Lian or Amethystna) teaches the semiconductor device of claim 1, wherein: the well resistor (20) includes a first terminal and a second terminal (first terminal on the right and second terminal is on the left in Lian) and the conductive plate is conductively connected to the first terminal or the second terminal (field plate 60B is coupled to right portion of the terminal). In Amethystna, First terminal is conductively connected to conductive plate 46 in order to reduce the parasitic capacitance between the interconnect 56 and the interconnects 58 and the parasitic capacitance between the interconnect 56 and the gates 26.
Regarding claim 3, Lian teaches (in view of Lian or Amethystna) the semiconductor device of claim 2, wherein: the well resistor is a p-type resistor (in Amethystna ; the second terminal is configured to receive a current from a current source (second terminal biased thru well contact 36 in second terminal) ; and the conductive plate is conductively connected to the first terminal (field plate 46 connected conductively to first terminal via drain region 32). It is also taught in FIG. 22 of Blanchard where p-well 54 is a conductive well.
Regarding claim 4, Lian teaches the semiconductor device of claim 2, wherein: the majority carrier type is an n-type resistor (in Lian 20 is an n-type well. Through appropriately setting the first predetermined distance d1, the second predetermined distance d2 and the third predetermined distance d3, the lateral DMOS 100 may have improved breakdown voltage/voltage sustain performance while permitting the well region 20 to be doped with a higher well dopant concentration to further reduce the on resistance Ron. Paragraph [0031], [0036]) ; the first terminal is a higher voltage terminal; the second terminal is a lower voltage terminal; and the conductive plate is coupled to the first terminal (right side terminal is first terminal which is considered at higher voltage and current flows from drain side to source (second terminal), second terminal being at lower voltage).
Regarding claim 5, Lian teaches, (in view of Blanchard or Amethystna) in the semiconductor device of claim 1, wherein the conductive plate comprises a polysilicon layer (In Blanchard 70 field plate is polysilicon. Also, in Amethystna, field plate 46 is polysilicon).
Regarding claim 6, Lian teaches (in view of Amethystna) the semiconductor device of claim 1, wherein the conductive plate comprises a metal interconnect layer (46 comprises a metal interconnect 48).
Regarding claim 7, Lian teaches the semiconductor device of claim 1, further comprising an isolation trench (70A, 70B and 70C comprised STI) in the semiconductor substrate around the well (around substrate and well as in FIG. 4).
Regarding claim 8, Lian teaches the semiconductor device of claim 1, wherein the conductive plate (60B is connected to bias voltage via 60CT) is connected to a voltage source configured to bias the field plate independent of a voltage on terminals of the well (well resistor bias is done thru either 50CT or 40CT).
Regarding claim 9, Lian teaches an integrated circuit comprising:
a resistor well (20) extending into a semiconductor substrate;
a dielectric layer (60A) extending into the resistor well (extending to 70B); and
a conductive field plate (70C) located over the dielectric layer (70B);
Lian does not explicitly teach the conductive field plate configured to modulate a majority carrier concentration within the resistor well while the resistor well conducts a current.
However, Lian teaches the conductive field plate configured to modulate a majority carrier concentration within the resistor well while the resistor well conducts a current. (the interpretation is that a well which flows current within can be a well resistor. Since current has to be flown from one terminal of the well to another terminal of the well in order for the device to function, the well 20 is considered well resistor. Because of bias differences majority carrier distribution will affect the current flow). This is also taught in FIG. 22 of Blanchard where p-well 54 is a conductive well. With reference to FIG. 4 in Amethystna, well 22 as current flows from one terminal to the other.
Hence, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to use Lian’s semiconductor device with other teaching from Lian or Blanchard or Amethystna so that device characteristics like breakdown voltage can be improved.
Regarding claim 10, Lian teaches (in view of Blanchard or Amethystna) the integrated circuit of claim 9, wherein: the resistor well is p-type; the conductive field plate is conductively connected to a low-side terminal of the resistor well; and the conductive field plate is configured to reduce a voltage coefficient of the resistor well (the thicker oxide of the field plate (70 is the field plate which increases voltage coefficient) at the bottom of the trench is better able to withstand a higher voltage than the thinner oxide near the top of the trench. Therefore, the breakdown voltage is increased, in Paragraph [0017] in Blanchard in order to increase breakdown voltage). In Amethystna, the second terminal is configured to receive a current from a current source (second terminal biased thru well contact 36 in second terminal) ; and the field plate is conductively connected to the first terminal (field plate 46 connected conductively to first terminal via drain region 32)
Regarding claim 11, Lian teaches the integrated circuit of claim 9, wherein: the resistor well is n-type (in Lian 20 is an n-type well. Through appropriately setting the first predetermined distance d1, the second predetermined distance d2 and the third predetermined distance d3, the lateral DMOS 100 may have improved breakdown voltage/voltage sustain performance while permitting the well region 20 to be doped with a higher well dopant concentration to further reduce the on resistance Ron. Paragraph [0031], [0036]); the conductive field plate is coupled to a high-side terminal of the resistor well ; and the conductive field plate is configured to reduce a voltage coefficient of the resistor well. Also, in Lian, the conductive field plate 70C is configured to increase a voltage coefficient of the resistor well in order for the breakdown voltage/voltage sustain performance, on resistance (Ron) and size etc. to the lateral DMOS 100 to optimize electrical characteristics of the lateral DMOS 100.
Regarding claim 12, Lian teaches the integrated circuit of claim 9, wherein the conductive field plate includes a polysilicon layer (In Blanchard 70 filed plate is polysilicon. Also, in Amethystna, field plate 46 is polysilicon)..
Regarding claim 13, Lian teaches the integrated circuit of claim 9, further comprising an isolation trench that conductively isolates the resistor well from the substrate (70A, 70B and 70C comprised STI, in the semiconductor substrate around the well resistor (around substrate and well) as in FIG. 4).
Regarding claim 14, Lian teaches the integrated circuit of claim 9, wherein the conductive field plate is configured to increase a voltage coefficient of the resistor well (the thicker oxide of the field plate (70 is the field plate which increases voltage coefficient) at the bottom of the trench is better able to withstand a higher voltage than the thinner oxide near the top of the trench. Therefore, the breakdown voltage is increased, in Paragraph [0017] in Blanchard in order to increase breakdown voltage). Also, in Lian, the conductive field plate 70C is configured to increase a voltage coefficient of the resistor well in order for the breakdown voltage/voltage sustain performance, on resistance (Ron) and size etc. to the lateral DMOS 100 to optimize electrical characteristics of the lateral DMOS 100.
Regarding claim 21, Lian teaches An electronic device, comprising:
a semiconductor substrate having a first conductivity type and a first dopant concentration (as shown in picture, BL2 within substrate N type conductivity);
a well (20, N-type in FIG. 1) region extending into the semiconductor substrate;
the well region having the first conductivity type and a greater second dopant concentration (the drain dopant concentration is higher N+ within well region constituting greater concentration);
a dielectric layer (60A) over into the well region;
and a first terminal (CT) extending from the well region to a top surface of the semiconductor substrate between a first portion and a second portion of the dielectric layer (between right and left portion);
and
a conductive plate (60B) located over the dielectric layer between the first terminal and the second terminal; and
Lian does not explicitly teach the well and Dielectric layer is below top surface of substrate and a dielectric layer extending into the well region and a second terminal extending from the well region to the top surface between the second portion and a third portion of the dielectric layer;
However, Lian teaches well (the interpretation is that a well which flows current within can be a well. Since current has to be flown from one terminal of the well to another terminal of the well in order for the device to function, the well 20 is considered well resistor). This is also taught in FIG. 22 of Blanchard where p-well 54 is a conductive well. With reference to FIG. 4 in Amethystna, well 22 is considered well resistor as current flows from one terminal to the other. In Amethystna, Dielectric is below top surface of substrate and located directly between well and Shield field plate which is conductive plate). I below figure dielectric layer have multiple portions. So, a second terminal extending from the well region (58) to the top surface between the second portion and a third portion of the dielectric layer (2nd or 3rd portions are considered two side portions of dielectric layer)
Hence, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to use Lian’s semiconductor device with other teaching from Lian or Blanchard or Amethystna so that device characteristics like breakdown voltage can be improved.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/SHEIKH MARUF/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2897