DETAILED ACTION
Application Status
The claim set filed on 5/31/2023 is acknowledged. Claims 1-13 are currently pending and under consideration.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement filed on 3/7/2024 has been considered except where lined through.
Claim Objections
Claim 10 is objected to because of the following informalities: Claim 10 recites the limitation “can be” which is similar to optional and does not necessarily have to occur. It is suggested that Application replace can be with “is”. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Interpretation
Independent claims 1 and 11 recite “dihydrofolate”. A review of the prior art appears to use the term dihydrofolate sparingly. It appears that dihydrofolate is more commonly referred to as dihydrofolic acid with is a folic acid derivative which is converted to tetrahydrofolic acid by dihydrofolate reductase and appears in line with Applicants mention of how dihydrofolate is produced in the specification as originally filed (see page 3). Accordingly, for prior art purposes dihydrofolate will be interpreted as being synonymous with “dihydrofolic acid”.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 4 and 6 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
A broad range or limitation together with a narrow range or limitation that falls within the broad range or limitation (in the same claim) may be considered indefinite if the resulting claim does not clearly set forth the metes and bounds of the patent protection desired. See MPEP § 2173.05(c). In the present instance, claim 6 recites the broad recitation 1-200 mg/kg, and the claim also recites preferred ranges or amounts which is the narrower statement of the range/limitation. The claim(s) are considered indefinite because there is a question or doubt as to whether the feature introduced by such narrower language is (a) merely exemplary of the remainder of the claim, and therefore not required, or (b) a required feature of the claims.
Regarding claim 4, the phrase "preferably" renders the claim indefinite because it is unclear whether the limitation(s) following the phrase are part of the claimed invention. See MPEP § 2173.05(d).
Claim 10 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(d) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, 4th paragraph, as being of improper dependent form for failing to further limit the subject matter of the claim upon which it depends, or for failing to include all the limitations of the claim upon which it depends. Claim 10 depends from claim 1 and recites “the diabetes can be non-insulin dependent diabetes or insulin dependent diabetes”. Since the claim recites “can be” which is similar to optionally, the diabetes does not have to be either non-insulin dependent or insulin dependent diabetes. In this instance, the claim would not further limit the diabetes of claim 1. Applicant may cancel the claim(s), amend the claim(s) to place the claim(s) in proper dependent form, rewrite the claim(s) in independent form, or present a sufficient showing that the dependent claim(s) complies with the statutory requirements.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 101
Claims 11-12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 because the claimed invention is not directed to patent eligible subject matter. Based upon an analysis with respect to the claim as a whole, claim(s) 11-12 do not recite something significantly different than a judicial exception.
The analysis has been conducted in accordance with the most recent 2014 Interim Guidelines for Subject Matter Eligibility, published by USPTO in the Federal Register on 12/16/2014, http://www.gpo.gov/fdsys/pkg/FR-2014-12-16/pdf/2014-29414.pdf. See information about the Interim Guidelines at http://www.uspto.gov/patents/law/exam/interim_guidance_subject_matter_eligibility.jsp.
Based upon an analysis with respect to the claims as a whole, Claims 11-12 directed to a judicial exception (i.e., law of nature, a natural phenomenon, or an abstract idea) without significantly more. Claims 11-12 recite compositions comprising a natural product and as such are directed towards a law of nature and a natural phenomenon. The claimed composition does not have markedly different characteristics from what occurs in nature, and are a “product of nature” exception. Further, the claims do not include any additional elements that are sufficient to amount to significantly more than the judicial exceptions.
The rationale for this determination is explained below:
Step 1: Is the claim to a process, machine, manufacture or composition of matter?
The elected subject matter, within the scope of the instant claims is construed as a composition comprising dihydrofolate.
So the answer to Step 1 is: Yes, the claims are drawn to a composition of matter.
Step 2A: Is the claim directed to a law of nature, a natural phenomenon, or an abstract idea?
The claimed subject matter appears to describe a composition comprising a natural product, dihydrofolate.
Because the compound is naturally occurring, the composition is considered a “product of nature,” which falls within each of the categories: “laws of nature” and “natural phenomena”. Thus, the claims are drawn to judicially recognized exceptions. See p74623, left column, of the Federal Registry notice: …Courts have held that naturally occurring products and some man-made products that are essentially no different from a naturally occurring product are ‘‘products of nature’’ that fall under the laws of nature or natural phenomena exception. (Section I (3); pp. 74622-4, of the Federal Registry notice discusses Natural Products.).
The next question within step 2A is: does the nature based product show “markedly different characteristics” from any naturally occurring counterpart(s) in their natural state, based on structure, function and/or properties?
Claims 11-12 recite a composition comprising a natural product in a single formulation. See p. 74623 of the Federal registry notice, middle column:
“The markedly different characteristics analysis compares the nature-based product limitation to its naturally occurring counterpart in its natural state. When there is no naturally occurring counterpart to the nature based product, the comparison should be made to the closest naturally occurring counterpart. In the case of a nature-based combination, the closest counterpart may be the individual nature-based components that form the combination, i.e., the characteristics of the claimed nature-based combination are compared to the characteristics of the components in their natural state”.
Establishment of a marked difference cannot be based on some inherent or innate characteristic of the naturally occurring counterpart. See p. 74623, footnote 28:
“To show a marked difference, a characteristic must be changed as compared to nature, and cannot be an inherent or innate characteristic of the naturally occurring counterpart. Funk Bros. Seed Co. v. Kalo Inoculant Co., 333 U.S. 127, 130 (1948) (‘‘[The inventor did] not create a state of inhibition or of non-inhibition in the bacteria. Their qualities are the work of nature. Those qualities are of course not patentable.’’); In re Marden, 47 F.2d 958 (CCPA 1931) (eligibility of a claim to ductile vanadium held ineligible, because the ‘‘ductility or malleability of vanadium is . . . one of its inherent characteristics and not a characteristic given to it by virtue of a new combination with other materials or which characteristic is brought about by some chemical reaction or agency which changes its inherent characteristics’’). Further, a difference in a characteristic that came about or was produced independently of any effort or influence by applicant cannot show a marked difference. Roslin, 750 F.3d at 1338 (Because ‘‘any phenotypic differences came about or were produced ‘quite independently of any effort of the patentee’ ’’ and were ‘‘uninfluenced by Roslin’s efforts’’, they ‘‘do not confer eligibility on their claimed subject matter’’ (quoting Funk Bros.)).
In the instant case, there seems to be no indication in the specification that the composition comprising the above natural product has any characteristics (structural, functional or other properties) that are different from the naturally occurring compounds, individually.
Thus the composition does not have markedly different characteristics from what occurs in nature, and is a “product of nature exception”.
So the answer to Step 2A is: Yes, the claims are drawn to a natural composition.
Step 2B: Does the claim recite additional elements that amount to significantly more than the judicial exemption?
The claims have no additional elements. Because the claim does not include any additional features that could add “significant more” to the exception the answer to Step B is: No, the claims do not recite additional elements that amount significantly more than the judicial exception.
The claims do not qualify as eligible subject matter, and are properly rejected under 35 U.S.C. § 101.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-5 and 7-13 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102s(1) as being anticipated by William J. Cross, III (US20190231807A1, 2019-08-01) referred to herein as Cross.
Cross teaches a composition comprising a pharmaceutically effective amount of a folic compound and at least two additional antioxidant compounds (claim 1 of Cross). With regards to the folic compound, Cross teaches that the folic compound includes, but is not limited to, dihydrofolic acid (claim 2 of Cross). Cross further provides a solid dose of the composition in the form of a gel capsule (Example 11). Moreover, Cross teaches a method of treating diabetic neuropathy, said method comprising administering to a patient who has diabetic neuropathy a composition comprising an effective amount of a folic compound and at least two additional antioxidant compounds (claim 11 of Cross). With regards to diabetic, Cross teaches that diabetic refers to known types of diabetes including gestational diabetes, type 1 diabetes and type 2 diabetes (paragraph 0027). With regards to administering, Cross teaches that administering includes, but is not limited to, oral administration (paragraph 0045). Please note: Claim 5 has been included in this rejection since the claim does appear to limit the amount of time before a meal or after a meal, and therefore, encompasses administration of the compound at any time point within the day.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 6 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over William J. Cross, III (US20190231807A1, 2019-08-01) referred to herein as Cross, as applied to claims 1-5 and 7-13 above.
Cross teaches a composition comprising a pharmaceutically effective amount of a folic compound and at least two additional antioxidant compounds (claim 1 of Cross). With regards to the folic compound, Cross teaches that the folic compound includes, but is not limited to, dihydrofolic acid (claim 2 of Cross). Cross further provides a solid dose of the composition in the form of a gel capsule (Example 11). Moreover, Cross teaches a method of treating diabetic neuropathy, said method comprising administering to a patient who has diabetic neuropathy a composition comprising an effective amount of a folic compound and at least two additional antioxidant compounds (claim 11 of Cross). With regards to diabetic, Cross teaches that diabetic refers to known types of diabetes including gestational diabetes, type 1 diabetes and type 2 diabetes (paragraph 0027). With regards to administering, Cross teaches that administering includes, but is not limited to, oral administration (paragraph 0045). With regards to the effective amount, Cross teaches that it has been found useful to administer a dose of at least 100 mg of a folic compound to an adult patient (paragraph 0051).
Cross does not specifically teach the amount of a folic compound as claimed in claim 6.
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, prior to the effective filing date of the instantly claimed invention, to optimize the amount of folic compound taught by Cross in the composition for treatment of diabetic neuropathy. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make such an optimization, with a reasonable expectation of success, because:
-Cross teaches that amounts of folic acid varies widely depending on the conditions being treated (paragraph 0049).
Moreover, generally, differences in concentration or temperature will not support the patentability of subject matter encompassed by the prior art unless there is evidence indicating such concentration or temperature is critical. "[W]here the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, it is not inventive to discover the optimum or workable ranges by routine experimentation." In re Aller, 220 F.2d 454, 456, 105 USPQ 233, 235 (CCPA 1955)
Conclusion
Therefore, No claim is allowed.
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Daniels et al. (US20140073598A1, 2014-03-13).
/BRANDON J FETTEROLF/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1626