DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Response to Amendment
The amendment filed 03/16/2026 has been entered. Claims 1 and 14-15 have been amended. Claim 12 has been canceled. Accordingly, claims 1-11 and 13-20 remain pending and are the claims addressed and examined below.
In view of the amendments to the claimed subject matter, the following new grounds of rejections are necessitated.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments, see pages 2-4, filed 03/16/2026, with respect to the rejection(s) of claim(s) 1-20 under 35 USC 102 have been fully considered and are persuasive. Therefore, the rejection has been withdrawn. However, upon further consideration, a new ground(s) of rejection is made in view of newly found prior art found in an updated search necessitated by the amendments made to the claims – see Zguris et al. (US 2022/0258414; herein referred to as Zguris) and Tumbleston et al. (US 2018/0071976; herein referred to as Tumbleston) as applied in the rejections below.
Double Patenting
Applicant’s amendments to claim 1 have overcome the nonstatutory double patenting rejections previously set forth in the Office action mailed 01/15/2026. Therefore, the nonstatutory double rejections have been withdrawn.
Specification
The disclosure is objected to because of the following informalities: paragraph [0045] of the specification as filed states “… the opposite side of the first substrate 42 from the second substrate 46 such that the first substrate 42 is provided between …”; however, paragraph [0042] introduces “… The textured window 40 includes a first substrate 44 having a plurality of internal channels 42 formed therein …”.
Accordingly, the recitation in paragraph [0045] provided above should be amended to be consistent with preceding paragraphs within the specification such that it reads “… the opposite side of the first substrate [[42]] 44 from the second substrate 46 such that the first substrate [[42]] 44 is provided between …”. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-11 and 13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Feller et al. (US 2021/0094231; of record, herein referred to as Feller) in view of Tumbleston et al. (US 2018/0071976; herein referred to as Tumbleston) and further in view of Zguris et al. (US 2022/0258414; herein referred to as Zguris).
As to claim 1: Feller discloses the claimed three-dimensional printing system (i.e., apparatus for producing objects by additive manufacturing, specifically an apparatus for manufacturing an object from a light polymerizable resin) (Feller at [0002], [0006], [0007], [0040], FIG. 1) comprising:
a tank (i.e., resin cassette 10) containing a liquid photopolymer resin (i.e., resin cassette 10 includes window 11 and circumferential frame 12 connected to and surrounding the window 11; the window 11 and circumferential frame 12 forming a well configured to receive a light polymerizable resin 21) (Feller at [0043], FIG. 1, FIG. 2);
a textured substrate disposed within the tank (i.e., resin cassette 10 includes window 11, and the window 11 has internal structures defining fluid flow passages therein, with the internal structures distributed across the length and width of the window 11; the internal structures comprising pillars of any shape/width/length and the passages comprising regularly or irregularly intersecting channels; window 11 being disposed within circumferential frame 12 of cassette 10) (Feller at [0043], [0044], FIG. 1, FIG. 3),
the textured substrate being configured to allow light to pass through into the liquid photopolymer resin (i.e., window 11 is light transmissive and therefore configured to pass an enlarged image therethrough) (Feller at [0040], [0041], [0043], [0044], [0045], FIG. 1, FIG. 3);
Feller discloses the textured substrate including a plurality of internal channels (i.e., the window 11 has internal structures defining fluid flow passages therein, with the internal structures distributed across the length and width of the window 11; the internal structures comprising pillars and passages of any shape/width/length and the passages comprising regularly or irregularly intersecting channels) (Feller at [0043], [0044], [0049], [0050], [0052], FIG. 1, FIG. 3, FIGs. 5-7). Though, Feller fails to disclose the claimed plurality of internal channels within the textured substrate.
Moreover, Feller discloses the resin cassette 10, and therefore window 11 having intermediate portion 11b with pillars and passages, is connected to a gas exchanger 42 comprising a liquid side 42a in order for the oxygen-carrying liquid to be supplied in the passages (Feller at [0006], [0043], [0044], [0049], [0050], [0052], FIG. 1, FIG. 3, FIGs. 5-7); gas exchanger 42 comprising liquid side 42a supplies an oxygen carrying liquid to the window 11 in the resin cassette 10; the oxygen carrying liquid being a non-aqueous, organic liquid such as a fluorocarbon or a silicone oil; and the oxygen-carrying liquid is supplied to the passages in intermediate portion 11b of window 11; and pump 41 is operatively associated with the window 11 and the gas exchanger liquid side 42a for circulating the oxygen carrying liquid therebetween (Feller at [0006], [0049], [0050], [0051], FIG. 3, FIGs. 5-7).
Though, Feller fails to explicitly disclose the claimed pipe; and an auxiliary reservoir external to the tank and containing lubricant, the auxiliary reservoir being configured to supply the lubricant to the textured substrate via the pipe; and the pipe extending into the tank and being in direct contact with at least one of the plurality of internal channels within the textured substrate.
However, Tumbleston teaches a build plate with a permeable sheet having channels therein for providing fluid or gas flow to the permeable sheet and, consequently, to the build surface; for example, Tumbleston teaches laminating two sheets around spacers and subsequently removing the spacers to form longitudinal channels in the sheet (Tumbleston at [0098], [0270], FIG. 29).
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to utilize the build plate having a sheet with channels formed within the sheet as such is known in the art of three-dimensional printing given the discussion of Tumbleston above presenting a reasonable expectation of success; and doing so is combining prior art elements according to known methods to yield predictable results (i.e., providing a fluid or a gas to the sheet and, consequently, to the build surface).
Feller, modified by Tumbleston, disclose the claimed plurality of channels being within the textured substrate; though, modified Feller still fails to explicitly disclose the claimed pipe; and an auxiliary reservoir external to the tank and containing lubricant, the auxiliary reservoir being configured to supply the lubricant to the textured substrate via the pipe, and the pipe extending into the tank and being in direct contact with at least one of the plurality of internal channels within the textured substrate.
However, Zguris teaches an additive manufacturing device comprising a print surface configured to contact a three-dimensional object formed by additive manufacturing, the print surface comprises a first component comprising a solid matrix and a second component comprising a fluid, wherein the second component is at least partially disposed within the first component (Zguris at [0006]). Zguris further teaches additive manufacturing device 100 may comprise tank 102 and print surface 104 disposed within tank 102, print surface 104 comprising first component 108 and second component 110, the second component 110 comprising a fluid such as a fluorinated liquid, a silicone oil and/or an ionic liquid (Zguris at [0020], [0024], [0035], FIG. 1, FIG. 2B).
Additionally, Zguris teaches the additive manufacturing device further comprising a reservoir, the reservoir being configured to contain second component 110 (e.g., the fluid), and the reservoir 202b being external to the tank such that the second component 110 is fed to the tank 102 through inlet/pipe 204 to the tank 102 via a hydraulic pressure source such as a pump (Zguris at [0035], [0048], FIG. 2B).
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to incorporate the pipe and auxiliary reservoir external to the tank and containing lubricant the auxiliary reservoir being configured to supply the lubricant to the textured substrate via the pipe, and the pipe extending into the tank as such is known in the art of additive manufacturing given the discussion of Zguris above presenting a reasonable expectation of success; and doing so is combining prior art elements according to known methods to yield predictable results with the added benefit of doing so allowing the fluid to be replenished to the print surface when evaporation of the fluid occurs overtime during use of the print surface resulting in a print surface with a relatively long lifetime (as recognized by Zguris at [0018], [0045]). Moreover, it would have been prima facie obvious to rearrange the pipe of Zguris to being in direct contact with at least one of the plurality of internal channels within the textured substrate since it has been held that a mere rearrangement of an element without modification of the operation of the device involves only routine skill in the art. One would have been motivated to rearrange the pipe to be in direct contact with at least one of the plurality of internal channels within the textured substrate for the purpose of efficiently delivering lubricant to the print surface.
As to claim 2: Feller, Tumbleston and Zguris disclose the three-dimensional printing system of claim 1. Feller further discloses the claimed wherein: the textured substrate comprises a first substrate that is optically transparent (i.e., the window 11 includes bottom portion 11c made from glass such that it is light transmissive) (Feller at [0043], [0044], [0045], [0052], FIG. 1, FIG. 3) and
a second substrate formed on a surface of the first substrate (i.e., the window 11 includes a top portion 11a, an intermediate portion 11b and a bottom portion 11c; FIG. 3 shows the intermediate portion 11b formed on a surface of the bottom portion 11c) (Feller at [0043], [0044], [0045], [0052], FIG. 1, FIG. 3),
the second substrate includes a textured surface facing the liquid photopolymer resin(i.e., the window 11 includes a top portion 11a, an intermediate portion 11b and a bottom portion 11c, with the internal structures formed in the intermediate portion 11b which are facing the light polymerizable resin 21), and the plurality of internal channels are formed in the second substrate (i.e., the window 11 includes a top portion 11a, an intermediate portion 11b and a bottom portion 11c, with the internal structures formed in the intermediate portion 11b) (Feller at [0043], [0044], [0045], [0052], FIG. 1, FIG. 3).
As to claim 3: Feller, Tumbleston and Zguris disclose the three-dimensional printing system of claim 2. Feller further discloses the claimed wherein the textured surface includes at least one groove formed in the second substrate (i.e., the internal structures comprise pillars of any shape, width, and length; the intermediate portion 11b of the window 11 including the internal structures) (Feller at [0043]).
As to claim 4: Feller, Tumbleston and Zguris disclose the three-dimensional printing system of claim 3. Feller further discloses the claimed wherein each of the at least one groove has a cubic shape (i.e., the internal structures comprise pillars of any shape, width, and length; the intermediate portion 11b of the window 11 including the internal structures) (Feller at [0043]).
As to claim 5: Feller, Tumbleston and Zguris disclose the three-dimensional printing system of claim 2. Feller further discloses the claimed wherein the first substrate is formed of a glass material (i.e., the window 11 includes bottom portion 11c made from glass such that it is light transmissive) (Feller at [0043], [0044], [0045], [0052], FIG. 1, FIG. 3).
As to claim 6: Feller, Tumbleston and Zguris disclose the three-dimensional printing system of claim 2. Feller further discloses the claimed wherein the second substrate is formed of at least one selected from the group consisting of: a silicone polymer and a fluorinated polymer (i.e., the window 11 includes intermediate portion 11b made from polydimethylsiloxane, PDMS) (Feller at [0044], [0047]).
As to claim 7: Feller, Tumbleston and Zguris disclose the three-dimensional printing system of claim 6. Feller further discloses the claimed wherein the second substrate is formed of polydimethylsiloxane (i.e., the window 11 includes intermediate portion 11b made from polydimethylsiloxane, PDMS) (Feller at [0044], [0047]).
As to claim 8: Feller, Tumbleston and Zguris disclose the three-dimensional printing system of claim 2. Feller further discloses the claimed wherein the plurality of internal channels are formed in the second substrate in a branched pattern such that at least some of the plurality of internal channels are connected to each other (i.e., intermediate portion 11b of window 11 includes the internal structures comprising pillars and passages of any shape, width, and length, and the passages comprising irregularly or regularly intersecting channels) (Feller at [0043]).
As to claim 9: Feller, Tumbleston and Zguris disclose the three-dimensional printing system of claim 1. Feller further discloses the claimed wherein the lubricant is a fluorinated oil (i.e., the oxygen carrying liquid being a liquid fluorocarbon; paragraph [0029] of Applicant’s specification as filed states “the fluorinated oil is preferably a perfluorocarbon liquid” and given Feller discloses specific examples of perfluorocarbon liquids being used as the oxygen carrying liquid, it can be concluded Feller therefore reads on the claimed lubricant is a fluorinated oil) (Feller at [0032], [0051]).
As to claim 10: Feller, Tumbleston and Zguris disclose the three-dimensional printing system of claim 1. Feller further discloses the claimed wherein the textured substrate is formed of a porous polymer material (i.e., the window 11 includes intermediate portion 11b made from polydimethylsiloxane, PDMS) (Feller at [0044], [0047]).
As to claim 11: Feller, Tumbleston and Zguris disclose the three-dimensional printing system of claim 2. Feller further discloses the claimed wherein the second substrate (i.e., window 11) includes a first layer (i.e., intermediate portion 11b) and a second layer (i.e., top portion 11a) each formed of a porous polymer material (i.e., window top portion 11a comprises a polymer such as an oxygen-permeable polymer including amorphous fluoropolymer; window intermediate portion 11b comprises polydimethylsiloxane, PDMS), the plurality of internal channels are formed in the first layer (i.e., the internal structures formed in the intermediate portion 11b), and the second layer is disposed on a top surface of the first layer such that the second layer is disposed between the first layer and the liquid photopolymer resin (i.e., the window 11 includes a top portion 11a, an intermediate portion 11b and a bottom portion 11c, in a sandwich configuration) (Feller at [0043], [0044], [0045], [0052], FIG. 1, FIG. 3).
As to claim 13: Feller, Tumbleston and Zguris disclose the three-dimensional printing system of claim 1. Zguris further discloses the claimed three-dimensional printing system further comprising: a pump configured to supply the lubricant from the auxiliary reservoir to the plurality of internal channels (Zguris at [0046], FIG. 2B), for similar motivation discussed in the rejection of claim 1.
Claims 14-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Feller et al. (US 2021/0094231; of record, herein referred to as Feller) in view of Tumbleston et al. (US 2018/0071976; herein referred to as Tumbleston).
As to claim 14: Feller discloses the claimed textured window for a three-dimensional printing system (i.e., resin cassette 10 for manufacturing an object from a light polymerizable resin) (Feller at [0019], FIG. 1, FIG. 3), the textured window comprising:
a first substrate that is optically transparent (i.e., resin cassette 10 includes light-transmissive window 11 which comprises a bottom portion 11c made from glass) (Feller at [0043], [0044], [0045], [0052], FIG. 1, FIG. 3), and
a second substrate formed on a surface of the first substrate (i.e., the window 11 includes an intermediate portion 11b; FIG. 3 shows the intermediate portion 11b formed on a surface of the bottom portion 11c) (Feller at [0043], [0044], [0045], [0052], FIG. 1, FIG. 3),
the second substrate having a textured outer surface (i.e., window 11 has internal structures defining fluid flow passages therein, with the internal structures distributed across the length and width of the window 11; the internal structures comprising pillars of any shape/width/length and the passages comprising regularly or irregularly intersecting channels; with the internal structures formed in the intermediate portion 11b) (Feller at [0043], [0044], [0045], [0052], FIG. 1, FIG. 3).
Feller discloses the second substrate including a plurality of internal channels (i.e., the window 11 has internal structures defining fluid flow passages therein, with the internal structures distributed across the length and width of the window 11; the internal structures comprising pillars and passages of any shape/width/length and the passages comprising regularly or irregularly intersecting channels; with the internal structures formed in the intermediate portion 11b) (Feller at [0043], [0044], [0049], [0050], [0052], FIG. 1, FIG. 3, FIGs. 5-7). Though, Feller fails to disclose the claimed plurality of internal channels formed within an inner surface of the second substrate.
However, Tumbleston teaches a build plate with a permeable sheet having channels therein for providing fluid or gas flow to the permeable sheet and, consequently, to the build surface; for example, Tumbleston teaches laminating two sheets around spacers and subsequently removing the spacers to form longitudinal channels within the sheet (Tumbleston at [0098], [0270], FIG. 29).
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to utilize the build plate having a sheet with channels formed within the sheet as such is known in the art of three-dimensional printing given the discussion of Tumbleston above presenting a reasonable expectation of success; and doing so is combining prior art elements according to known methods to yield predictable results (i.e., providing a fluid or a gas to the sheet and, consequently, to the build surface).
As to claim 15: Feller and Tumbleston disclose the textured window of claim 14. Feller further discloses the claimed wherein the textured outer surface includes at least one groove formed in the outer surface of the second surface (i.e., the internal structures comprise pillars and passages of any shape, width, and length; the intermediate portion 11b of the window 11 including the internal structures) (Feller at [0043]).
As to claim 16: Feller and Tumbleston disclose the textured window of claim 14. Feller further discloses the claimed wherein the first substrate is formed of a glass material (i.e., the window 11 includes bottom portion 11c made from glass such that it is light transmissive) (Feller at [0043], [0044], [0045], [0052], FIG. 1, FIG. 3).
As to claim 17: Feller and Tumbleston disclose the textured window of claim 14. Feller further discloses the claimed wherein the second substrate is formed of at least one selected from the group consisting of: a silicone polymer and a fluorinated polymer (i.e., the window 11 includes intermediate portion 11b made from polydimethylsiloxane, PDMS) (Feller at [0044], [0047]).
As to claim 18: Feller and Tumbleston disclose the textured window of claim 17. Feller further discloses the claimed wherein the second substrate is formed of polydimethylsiloxane (i.e., the window 11 includes intermediate portion 11b made from polydimethylsiloxane, PDMS) (Feller at [0044], [0047]).
As to claim 19: Feller and Tumbleston disclose the textured window of claim 14. Feller further discloses the claimed wherein the second substrate is formed of a porous polymer material (i.e., the window 11 includes intermediate portion 11b made from polydimethylsiloxane, PDMS) (Feller at [0044], [0047]).
As to claim 20: Feller and Tumbleston disclose the textured window of claim 14. Feller further discloses the claimed wherein the second substrate includes a first layer (i.e., intermediate portion 11b) and a second layer (i.e., top portion 11a) each formed of a porous polymer material (i.e., window top portion 11a comprises a polymer such as an oxygen-permeable polymer including amorphous fluoropolymer; window intermediate portion 11b comprises polydimethylsiloxane, PDMS), and the plurality of internal channels are formed in the first layer (i.e., the internal structures formed in the intermediate portion 11b) (Feller at [0043], [0044], [0045], [0052], FIG. 1, FIG. 3).
Conclusion
/BAILEIGH KATE DARNELL/Examiner, Art Unit 1743