DETAILED ACTION
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 02/03/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
KAWAMURA discloses wherein a side surface of the first portion 2 and at least of a part of a side surface of the second portion 9 face each other in a first direction X perpendicular to a thickness direction Z of the display device.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by KAWAMURA et al. 20220181581.
Regarding claim 1, fig. 4 of KAWAMURA discloses a display device comprising:
a support substrate comprising a first portion 2 and a second portion 9 that are separated from each other;
a substrate 3 (20-24 and 14) fixed to one surface (horizontal surface) of the second portion 9 of the support substrate, and comprising a display area R1 on the first portion 2 of the support substrate, a peripheral area R3 on the second portion 9 of the support substrate, and a bending area R4 connecting the display area R1 to the peripheral area R3; and
a display portion 4 in the display area of the substrate,
wherein a side surface of the first portion 2 and at least of a part of a side surface of the second portion 9 face each other in a first direction X perpendicular to a thickness direction Z of the display device.
Regarding claim 2, fig. 4 of KAWAMURA discloses wherein the first portion of the support substrate defines an insertion groove (region between top 8 and bottom 8) into which the second portion 9 of the support substrate is inserted.
Regarding claim 3, fig. 4 of KAWAMURA discloses further comprising a protective member 32 in the insertion groove.
Regarding claim 4, fig. 4 of KAWAMURA discloses wherein a portion of an edge of a plane (bottom side surface of bottom 8) of the first portion 2 of the support substrate overlaps a planar shape of the display area.
Regarding claim 6, fig. 4 of KAWAMURA further comprising a protection layer 13 on the substrate and corresponding to the bending area.
Regarding claim 7, fig. 4 of KAWAMURA discloses wherein a size of a planar shape of the first portion 2 of the support substrate is greater than a size of a planar shape of the second portion 9 of the support substrate.
Regarding claim 8, fig. 4 of KAWAMURA discloses wherein at least a portion of a boundary of the first portion of the support substrate is below the display area.
Regarding claim 9, fig. 4 of KAWAMURA discloses wherein at least a portion of a boundary of the second portion of the support substrate is below the display area.
Regarding claim 10, fig. 4 of KAWAMURA necessary discloses wherein a boundary of the display area (dotted line) is inside a boundary of the first portion 2 of the support substrate in a plan view (looking down from top of page of fig. 4).
Regarding claims 1 and 5, fig. 4 of KAWAMURA discloses a display device comprising:
a support substrate 20 comprising a first portion 9 and a second portion 2 that are separated from each other;
a substrate 2 fixed to one surface of the second portion 2 of the support substrate, and comprising a display area R1 on the first portion of the support substrate, a peripheral area R3 on the second portion of the support substrate, and a bending area R4 connecting the display area R1 to the peripheral area R3; and
a display portion 4 in the display area of the substrate,
wherein a side surface of the first portion and at least of a part of a side surface of the second portion face each other in a first direction X perpendicular to a thickness direction Z of the display device; and
wherein at least a portion of the second portion 2 of the support substrate overlaps the display area R1 in a plan view (fig. 4 looking down the page is plan view and would overlap as claimed).
Regarding claim 11, fig. 4 of KAWAMURA discloses a display device comprising:
a support substrate comprising a first portion 2 and a second portion 9 that are separated from each other; and
a substrate 3 on the support substrate, and having an area (bending area R4) between the first portion of the support substrate and the second portion of the support substrate that is bent,
wherein one surface (top surface of 9) of the second portion 9 of the support substrate and an other surface (bottom surface of 9) of the second portion of the support substrate that oppose each other, are attached to the substrate,
and wherein a side surface of the first portion 2 and at least of a part of a side surface of the second portion 9 face each other in a first direction perpendicular to a thickness direction of the display device.
Regarding claim 12, fig. 4 of KAWAMURA discloses further comprising an adhesive member 32 between the other surface of the second portion of the support substrate and the substrate.
Regarding claim 13, fig. 4 of KAWAMURA discloses wherein the second portion 9 of the support substrate is inside the first portion 2.
Regarding claim 17, fig. 4 of KAWAMURA discloses wherein the second portion 9 of the support substrate is inside the first portion 2 of the support substrate.
Regarding claim 18, fig. 4 of KAWAMURA discloses comprising a protective member 10/32 between the second portion 9 of the support substrate and the first portion 2 of the support substrate.
Regarding claim 19, fig. 4 of KAWAMURA discloses wherein the substrate further comprises a bending portion R4 with filler 13 therein.
Regarding claims 11, 14 and 15, fig. 4 of KAWAMURA discloses a display device comprising:
a support substrate comprising a first portion 9 and a second portion 2 that are separated from each other; and
a substrate 2 on the support substrate, and having an area (bending area) between the first portion of the support substrate and the second portion of the support substrate that is bent,
wherein one surface (top surface) of the second portion 2 of the support substrate and an other surface (bottom surface) of the second portion of the support substrate that oppose each other, are attached to the substrate, wherein the substrate comprises a display area R1 comprising a display portion 4, and a peripheral area R2 that is adjacent to the display area,
wherein a side surface of the first portion and at least of a part of a side surface of the second portion face each other in a first direction X perpendicular to a thickness direction Z of the display device; and
wherein at least a portion of the second portion 2 of the support substrate overlaps the display area in a plan view (necessary the case from a top view of from top page there is overlap).
Regarding claim 16, fig. 4 of KAWAMURA discloses wherein a boundary of the display area is on the second portion of the support substrate.
Regarding claim 20, fig. 4 of KAWAMURA discloses an electronic device comprising a display device, the display device comprising:
a support substrate comprising a first portion 2 and a second portion 9 that are separated from each other;
a substrate 3 (20-24 and 14) on the first portion 2 and the second portion 9 of the support substrate, and comprising a display area R1; and
a display portion 4 in the display area,
wherein the second portion 2 of the support substrate is attached to the substrate, and
wherein at least a portion of the second portion 2 of the support substrate overlaps the display area in a plan view (necessary the case from a down the page of fig. 4),
and
wherein a side surface of the first portion and at least of a part of a side surface of the second portion face each other in a first direction X perpendicular to a thickness direction Z of the display device.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/VONGSAVANH SENGDARA/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2893