CTNF 18/327,100 CTNF 77082 DETAILED ACTION Notice of Pre-AIA or AIA Status 07-03-aia AIA 15-10-aia The present application, filed on or after March 16, 2013, is being examined under the first inventor to file provisions of the AIA. Tittle 06-11 AIA The title of the invention is not descriptive. A new title is required that is clearly indicative of the invention to which the claims are directed. Method claims appear in the invention, and the Tittle does not contain the method. Please, revise. 06-11-01 AIA The following title is suggested: A PRINTED CIRCUIT BOARD ASSEMBLY AND METHOD THE SAME . Abstract The abstract of the disclosure is objected to because: In line 4, the phrase of "may be" is not understood because the term "may be" recites to a broad range or limitation followed by linking terms and a narrow range or limitation within the broad range or limitation is considered indefinite since the resulting claim does not clearly set forth the metes and bounds of the patent protection desired. A corrected abstract of the disclosure is required and must be presented on a separate sheet, apart from any other text. See MPEP § 608.01(b) . Drawings 06-36 AIA The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a). The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims. Therefore, the "a first set of connecting portion openings and a second set of connecting portion openings, claims 3 and 6" must be shown or the feature(s) canceled from the claim(s). No new matter should be entered. Corrected drawing sheets in compliance with 37 CFR 1.121(d) are required in reply to the Office action to avoid abandonment of the application. Any amended replacement drawing sheet should include all of the figures appearing on the immediate prior version of the sheet, even if only one figure is being amended. The figure or figure number of an amended drawing should not be labeled as "amended." If a drawing figure is to be canceled, the appropriate figure must be removed from the replacement sheet, and where necessary, the remaining figures must be renumbered and appropriate changes made to the brief description of the several views of the drawings for consistency. Additional replacement sheets may be necessary to show the renumbering of the remaining figures. Each drawing sheet submitted after the filing date of an application must be labeled in the top margin as either "Replacement Sheet" or "New Sheet" pursuant to 37 CFR 1.121(d). If the changes are not accepted by the examiner, the applicant will be notified and informed of any required corrective action in the next Office action. The objection to the drawings will not be held in abeyance. Claim Objections 07-29-01 AIA Claim s 1, 3-5, 6-8, 13 are objected to because of the following informalities: Regarding claim 1, lines 7-8, please, change "at least two plurality of printed circuit board units" to - - the at least two of the plurality of printed circuit board units - -. Regarding claim 2, lines 1-2, please, change “the plurality of printed circuit board units comprises ” to - - the plurality of printed circuit board units comprise - - for proper grammar. Regarding claims 3 and 6, each in lines 2 and 4, the phrase of "a first set of connecting portion openings. a second set of connecting portion openings" is not understood because these limitations as above do not describe and shown in a specification and drawings. Please, revise. Regarding claim 5, lines 1-2, please, change “the plurality of printed circuit board units comprises ” to - - the plurality of printed circuit board units comprise - - for proper grammar. Regarding claim 5, lines 7-8, please, change "the second connecting portion is electrically coupled to the first surface of the board connector" to - - the second connecting portion is electrically coupled to the second surface of the board connector - - for proper reading. Regarding claim 13, line 1, it is unclear because examiner does not know what does applicant mean of " method " and what does "the method" refer or perform to? Appropriate correction is required. Please, change “A method” to - - A method of forming or making a printed circuit board assembly - -. Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102 07-07-aia AIA 07-07 The following is a quotation of the appropriate paragraphs of 35 U.S.C. 102 that form the basis for the rejections under this section made in this Office action: A person shall be entitled to a patent unless – 07-08-aia AIA (a)(1) the claimed invention was patented, described in a printed publication, or in public use, on sale, or otherwise available to the public before the effective filing date of the claimed invention. Claim(s) 1-2, 5, 9, 11-14, 16-17, and 20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102a(1) as being anticipated by Trobough (U.S. 2005/0286239). As to claim 1, Trobough discloses a printed circuit board assembly comprising: a plurality of printed circuit board units (108, 112, para-0021+); and a board-connector (100) for joining at least two of the plurality of printed circuit board units (108, 112), the board connector (100) comprises: a first surface (top surface) and an opposing second surface (bottom surface); and a plurality of openings (114), wherein the plurality of openings (114) comprises a first set of connector openings for providing electrical connections between at least two plurality of printed circuit board units (108, 112). As best understood to claim 2, Trobough discloses in figure 4B the plurality of printed circuit board units (108, 112) comprise: a first printed circuit board unit (108) having a first connecting portion (the right portion on the package substrate 109, hereafter A), wherein the first connecting portion of the first printed circuit board unit (108) is electrically coupled to the first surface (top surface) of the board connector (100); and a second printed circuit board unit (112) having a second connecting portion (414), wherein the second connecting portion (414) of the second printed circuit board unit is electrically coupled to the second surface (bottom surface) of the board connector (100). As best understood to claim 5, Trobough discloses the plurality of printed circuit board units comprise: a first printed circuit board (108) unit having a first connecting portion (the right portion on the package substrate 109, hereafter A), wherein the first connecting portion is electrically coupled to the first surface (top surface) of the board connector (100); and a second printed circuit board unit (112) having a second connecting portion (414), wherein the second connecting portion is electrically coupled to the [[first]] second surface of the board connector. As to claim 9, Trobough discloses the first printed circuit board unit (108) comprises a central processing unit (CPU, para-0021). As to claim 11, Trobough discloses the plurality of printed circuit board units comprises at least three printed circuit board units (108, 112, and 106 or 516, figure 5A) for providing electrical connections and mechanical support to electrical components for parallel pre-fix scan operations. As to claim 12, Trobough further comprises an electrically conductive material (406) filling the first set of openings (114) in the board connector (100), wherein the electrically conductive material protrudes beyond the first and second surfaces of the board connector (100), see figures 4A-4E As best understood to claim 13, Trobough discloses a method of forming/making a printed circuit board assembly comprising: forming a first printed circuit board unit (108) with a first connecting portion (A); forming a second printed circuit board unit (112) with a second connecting portion (414); forming a printed circuit board connector (100) having a first surface (top surface) and an opposing second surface (bottom surface); electrically coupling the first connecting portion (A) of the first printed circuit board (108) unit with the first surface of the printed circuit board connector (100); and electrically coupling the second connection portion (414) of the second printed circuit board unit (112) with the first surface or the second surface of the printed circuit board connector (100). As to claim 14, Trobough further comprises: forming openings (114) in the print circuit board connector; and filling the openings with an electrically conductive material (406, para-0024+), wherein the electrically conductive material protrudes beyond the first and second surfaces of the printed circuit board connector (100), see figures 4A- 4E. As to claim 16, Trobough discloses a printed circuit board connector (100) comprising: a first surface (top surface) and an opposing second surface (bottom surface); a plurality of openings (114) formed in the printed circuit board connector, wherein the plurality of openings (114) comprises a first set of connector openings, wherein the first set of connector openings (114) is provided with an electrically conductive material (406) for coupling at least two printed circuit board units (108, 112). As to claim 17, Trobough discloses the plurality of openings further comprises a second set of connector openings (114) for providing alignment with openings in connecting portions of the two printed circuit board units (108, 112). As to claim 20, Trobough discloses the printed circuit board connector (100) is a molded array solder connection interposer. Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103 07-20-aia AIA The following is a quotation of 35 U.S.C. 103 which forms the basis for all obviousness rejections set forth in this Office action: A patent for a claimed invention may not be obtained, notwithstanding that the claimed invention is not identically disclosed as set forth in section 102, if the differences between the claimed invention and the prior art are such that the claimed invention as a whole would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention pertains. Patentability shall not be negated by the manner in which the invention was made. 07-21-aia AIA Claim (s) 10 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Trobough in view of Goh et al. (U.S. 2018/0331081) . Regarding claim 10, Trobough discloses all of the limitations of claimed invention except for the second printed circuit board unit comprises a discrete graphics processing unit or d-GPU. Goh teaches integrating system in package comprising a SiP device having a substrate (figure 3) comprises a discrete graphics processing unit or d-GPU, para- 0019+. It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date to have a teaching of Goh employed in the PCB assembly of Trobough in order to provide higher performance and processing power than integrated graphics, resulting in smoother gameplay, faster frame rates, and better graphics quality . 07-21-aia AIA Claim (s) 3, 6-7, and 15 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Trobough in view of Sato et al. (U.S. Patent 7,405,948) . As best understood to claims 3, 6, and 15, Trobough discloses a second set of connector openings (114) that is aligned with both the first connecting portion (A) of the first printed circuit board unit (108) and the second connecting portion (414) of the second printed circuit board unit (112). Trobough discloses all of the limitations of claimed invention except for the first connecting portion comprises a first set of connecting portion openings for providing alignment and attachment with the board connector and the second connecting portion comprises a second set of connecting portion openings for providing alignment and attachment with the board connector. Sato teaches a circuit board device as shown in figure 4 comprising the first connecting portion of the first circuit board (39) comprises a first set of connecting portion openings (top 45) for providing alignment and attachment with the board connector (43) and the second connecting portion of the second circuit board (35) comprises a second set of connecting portion openings (bottom 45) for providing alignment and attachment with the board connector. It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date to have a teaching of Sato employed in the PCB assembly of Trobough in order to provide electrically interconnection structure. Regarding claim 7, Trobough as modified by Sato discloses a bridge board (106) having a plurality of bridge board openings, wherein the bridge board is positioned on the second surface of the board connector (104) . 07-21-aia AIA Claim (s) 18-19 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Trobough in view of Roth et al. (U.S. 2021/0249952). Regarding claim 18, Trobough discloses all of the limitations of claimed invention except for the printed circuit board connector is made of a composite material composed of woven fiberglass cloth with an epoxy resin binder. Roth teaches a semiconductor structure (100) as shown in figure 1 comprising the printed circuit board connector (101) is made of a composite material composed of woven fiberglass cloth with an epoxy resin binder, para-0025. It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date to have a teaching of Roth employed in the PCB assembly of Trobough in order to provide excellent flammable resistance, low thermal conductivity, and high tensile and dielectric strength. Regarding claim 19, Trobough in view of Roth teaches the composite material has a coefficient of thermal expansion (CTE) that is compatible with the two printed circuit board units. Allowable Subject Matter 07-43 Claims 4 and 8 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims. Any inquiry concerning this communication or earlier communications from the examiner should be directed to TUAN T DINH whose telephone number is (571)272-1929. The examiner can normally be reached 8am-5pm, M-F. Examiner interviews are available via telephone, in-person, and video conferencing using a USPTO supplied web-based collaboration tool. To schedule an interview, applicant is encouraged to use the USPTO Automated Interview Request (AIR) at http://www.uspto.gov/interviewpractice. If attempts to reach the examiner by telephone are unsuccessful, the examiner’s supervisor, Timothy Dole can be reached at 571-272-2229. The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is 571-273-8300. Information regarding the status of published or unpublished applications may be obtained from Patent Center. Unpublished application information in Patent Center is available to registered users. To file and manage patent submissions in Patent Center, visit: https://patentcenter.uspto.gov. Visit https://www.uspto.gov/patents/apply/patent-center for more information about Patent Center and https://www.uspto.gov/patents/docx for information about filing in DOCX format. For additional questions, contact the Electronic Business Center (EBC) at 866-217-9197 (toll-free). If you would like assistance from a USPTO Customer Service Representative, call 800-786-9199 (IN USA OR CANADA) or 571-272-1000. /TUAN T DINH/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2847 Application/Control Number: 18/327,100 Page 2 Art Unit: 2847 Application/Control Number: 18/327,100 Page 3 Art Unit: 2847 Application/Control Number: 18/327,100 Page 4 Art Unit: 2847 Application/Control Number: 18/327,100 Page 5 Art Unit: 2847 Application/Control Number: 18/327,100 Page 6 Art Unit: 2847 Application/Control Number: 18/327,100 Page 7 Art Unit: 2847 Application/Control Number: 18/327,100 Page 8 Art Unit: 2847 Application/Control Number: 18/327,100 Page 9 Art Unit: 2847 Application/Control Number: 18/327,100 Page 10 Art Unit: 2847 Application/Control Number: 18/327,100 Page 11 Art Unit: 2847 Application/Control Number: 18/327,100 Page 12 Art Unit: 2847