DETAILED ACTION
Claims 1-13 are presented for examination.
Specification
The disclosure is objected to because of the following informalities: Applicant mentions “Fig. 13” that is not in provided drawings. It should have been “Fig. 11” as this figure shows an input device 160 in communicatively connected to the processor 140.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Zavattari et al (US Pub. 2013/01398001; hereinafter Zavattari).
The applied reference has a common inventors (Carlo Zavattari and Sumeet S. Bhagavat) with the instant application. Based upon the earlier effectively filed date of the reference, it constitutes prior art under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2). This rejection under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) might be overcome by: (1) a showing under 37 CFR 1.130(a) that the subject matter disclosed in the reference was obtained directly or indirectly from the inventor or a joint inventor of this application and is thus not prior art in accordance with 35 U.S.C. 102(b)(2)(A); (2) a showing under 37 CFR 1.130(b) of a prior public disclosure under 35 U.S.C. 102(b)(2)(B) if the same invention is not being claimed; or (3) a statement pursuant to 35 U.S.C. 102(b)(2)(C) establishing that, not later than the effective filing date of the claimed invention, the subject matter disclosed in the reference and the claimed invention were either owned by the same person or subject to an obligation of assignment to the same person or subject to a joint research agreement.
As per claim 1, Zavattari discloses a system for controlling the surface profile of wafers sliced from an ingot in a wire saw [Abstract; Fig. 1; para 0017; “… an exemplary system for controlling the surface profile of wafers cut from an ingot 102 by a wire saw machine 103 is shown in Fig. 1 …”] comprising:
a wire saw base including a fixed bearing sidewall [Fig. 3; para 0022; a stationary race 118] and a free bearing sidewall opposite the fixed bearing sidewall [Fig. 3; para 0022; a rotating race 116];
a wire guide assembly [Fig. 1-3; para 0020; wire guides 106] for supporting wires [Fig. 1-3; para 0020; web of wires 104], the wire guide assembly including rollers having a first end connected to the fixed bearing sidewall [Fig. 3; 118] and a second end supported by the free bearing sidewall [Fig. 3; 116], wherein a wire guide rotates on a bearing [Fig. 1-3; bearing 114], wherein thermal deformation of the fixed bearing sidewall from a first state to a second state corresponds to a change in a cutting surface profile of a cut wafer from a first cutting surface profile to a second cutting surface profile [para 0028; “This change in temperature of the bearings 114 alters their displacement and that of the wire guides 106 and wire 104. Control of the displacement of the wire guides 106 and wires 104 controls the shape of the surface of the wafers, which in turn controls the nanotopology of the surface.”];
a temperature regulation system attached to the fixed bearing sidewall for controlling thermal deformation of the fixed bearing sidewall [Fig. 2-3; para 0023; a heat exchanger 124 (acts as a temperature regulation system)];
a control system for controlling the temperature of the fixed bearing sidewall including a temperature sensor for measuring the temperature of the fixed bearing sidewall [Fig. 2-3; para 0036; “A valve 170 (broadly, a “control system”) is provided in these embodiments to control (i.e., adjust, alter or change) the flow rate of the fluid, which in turn controls the temperature of the bearings 114.”]; and,
a processor connected to the temperature regulation system and the control system, the processor configured to control the temperature of the fixed bearing sidewall at a desired temperature by activating the temperature regulation system [Fig. 2-3; para 0025, 0027-0030; “ The processor, shown schematically in FIGS. 2 and 3 and indicated generally at 140 is communicatively coupled to the temperature sensors 134, 136, the displacement sensors 130, 132, and the heat exchanger 124. Generally, and as discussed in greater detail below, the processor 140 is configured for receiving an input from a user identifying a desired wafer nanotopology profile or shape of wafers sliced from the ingot. Based on this input and the measured temperature of the fluid, the processor 140 communicates instructions to the heat exchanger 124 to control (i.e., adjust, alter or change) the temperature of the fluid. The adjustment of the temperature of the fluid in turn controls the temperature of the portions of the bearings 114 in contact with the fluid, and in turn the other portions of the bearings. This change in temperature of the bearings 114 alters their displacement and that of the wire guides 106 and wires 104. Control of the displacement of the wire guides 106 and wires 104 controls the shape of the surfaces of the wafers, which in turn controls the nanotopology of the surfaces.”].
As per claim 13, Zavattari discloses a system for controlling a cutting surface profile of wafers cut from an ingot by a wire saw [Abstract; Fig. 1; para 0017; “… an exemplary system for controlling the surface profile of wafers cut from an ingot 102 by a wire saw machine 103 is shown in Fig. 1 …”], the system comprising:
a temperature regulation system attached to a fixed bearing sidewall of a wire saw base for controlling thermal deformation of the fixed bearing sidewall [Fig. 2-3; para 0023; a heat exchanger 124 (acts as a temperature regulation system)];
a control system for controlling the temperature of the fixed bearing sidewall including a temperature sensor for measuring the temperature of the fixed bearing sidewall and a displacement sensor for measuring thermal deformation of the fixed bearing wall [Fig. 2-3; para 0036; “A valve 170 (broadly, a “control system”) is provided in these embodiments to control (i.e., adjust, alter or change) the flow rate of the fluid, which in turn controls the temperature of the bearings 114.”]; and,
a processor in communication with the temperature regulation system and the control system, the processor configured to control the temperature of the fixed bearing sidewall at a desired temperature by activating the temperature regulation system [Fig. 2-3; para 0025, 0027-0030; “ The processor, shown schematically in FIGS. 2 and 3 and indicated generally at 140 is communicatively coupled to the temperature sensors 134, 136, the displacement sensors 130, 132, and the heat exchanger 124. Generally, and as discussed in greater detail below, the processor 140 is configured for receiving an input from a user identifying a desired wafer nanotopology profile or shape of wafers sliced from the ingot. Based on this input and the measured temperature of the fluid, the processor 140 communicates instructions to the heat exchanger 124 to control (i.e., adjust, alter or change) the temperature of the fluid. The adjustment of the temperature of the fluid in turn controls the temperature of the portions of the bearings 114 in contact with the fluid, and in turn the other portions of the bearings. This change in temperature of the bearings 114 alters their displacement and that of the wire guides 106 and wires 104. Control of the displacement of the wire guides 106 and wires 104 controls the shape of the surfaces of the wafers, which in turn controls the nanotopology of the surfaces.”].
As per claim 2, Zavattari discloses wherein the processor is configured to maintain the temperature of the fixed bearing sidewall at a first desired temperature, the first desired temperature corresponding to the first cutting surface profile of the cut wafer [para 0001, 0006-0008; surface profiles; para 0027-0030; “The recipe specifies a temperature set point (i.e., a desired temperature) …”; para 0034; “The processor 140 may continue to monitor the temperature measurements received from the temperature sensors 134, 136. The processor 140 may send instructions to the heat exchanger 124 to again adjust the temperature of the fluid when its temperature deviates from the temperature set point by more than a variance (e.g., about +/-0.1 degrees Celsius).”].
As per claim 3, Zavattari discloses wherein the processor is configured to raise the temperature of the fixed bearing housing to a second desired temperature, the second desired temperature corresponding to the second cutting surface profile of the cut wafer [para 0001, 0006-0008; surface profiles; para 0027-0030; “… the processor 140 communicates instructions to the heat exchanger 124 to control (i.e., adjust, alter or change) the temperature of the fluid.”; “The recipe specifies a temperature set point (i.e., a desired temperature) …”].
As per claim 4, Zavattari discloses wherein the processor is configured to lower the temperature of the fixed bearing housing to a third desired temperature, the third desired temperature corresponding to a third cutting surface profile of the cut wafer [para 0001, 0006-0008; surface profiles; para 0027-0030; “… the processor 140 communicates instructions to the heat exchanger 124 to control (i.e., adjust, alter or change) the temperature of the fluid.”; “The recipe specifies a temperature set point (i.e., a desired temperature) …”].
As per claim 5, Zavattari discloses wherein the control system further comprises a memory for storing temperature profiles, each temperature profile associated with a cutting surface profile and defining a temperature set point for the fixed bearing sidewall, the processor configured to retrieve the associated temperature set points from the memory, the processor configured for communicating instructions to the control system to control the temperature regulation system [Fig. 2-3; para 0027-0030; “… the processor 140 communicates instructions to the heat exchanger 124 to control (i.e., adjust, alter or change) the temperature of the fluid.”; “… the processor retrieves a recipe associated with the input from a memory 150.”; “The recipe specifies a temperature set point (i.e., a desired temperature) of the bearings 114 and/or temperature controlling fluid associated with the recipe.”].
As per claim 6, Zavattari discloses wherein the temperature regulation system includes fluid channels and a valve in fluid connection with the fluid channels, the processor connected to the valve, the processor configured to maintain the temperature of the fixed bearing sidewall at a desired by activating the valve [Fig. 2-3; para 0008; “… a fluid in thermal communication with the bearing, and a valve for controlling a flow rate of the fluid.”; para 0018; “The temperature of the bearings is controlled by controlling the temperature of a temperature-controlled fluid circulated in fluid communication with the bearings …”; here the fluid communication is the fluid channels; para 0044; “… the processor 140 can also communicate instructions to the valve to control the flow rate of the fluid.”; “The resultant actions of both the heat exchanger 124 and the valve 170 control the temperature of the bearings 114 …”].
As per claim 7, Zavattari discloses wherein the fluid channels are internal to the fixed bearing sidewall [para 0018; “The temperature of the bearings is controlled by controlling the temperature of a temperature-controlled fluid circulated in fluid communication with the bearings …”; para 0022; “A temperature-controlling fluid (referred to interchangeably as "fluid") is in thermal communication with the bearings 114 …”; para 0036; “The valve 170 is in fluid communication with the inlets 120, 126 and/or outlets 122, 128 via pipes, hoses, or other suitable structures.”; here fluid communication is the fluid channels and it could be internal or external].
As per claim 8, Zavattari discloses wherein the fluid channels are on an inner surface of the fixed bearing sidewall [para 0018; “The temperature of the bearings is controlled by controlling the temperature of a temperature-controlled fluid circulated in fluid communication with the bearings …”; para 0022; “A temperature-controlling fluid (referred to interchangeably as "fluid") is in thermal communication with the bearings 114 …”; para 0036; “The valve 170 is in fluid communication with the inlets 120, 126 and/or outlets 122, 128 via pipes, hoses, or other suitable structures.”; here fluid communication is the fluid channels and it could be internal or external].
As per claim 9, Zavattari discloses wherein the fluid channels are on an outer surface of the fixed bearing sidewall [para 0018; “The temperature of the bearings is controlled by controlling the temperature of a temperature-controlled fluid circulated in fluid communication with the bearings …”; para 0022; “A temperature-controlling fluid (referred to interchangeably as "fluid") is in thermal communication with the bearings 114 …”; para 0036; “The valve 170 is in fluid communication with the inlets 120, 126 and/or outlets 122, 128 via pipes, hoses, or other suitable structures.”; here fluid communication is the fluid channels and it could be internal or external].
As per claim 10, Zavattari discloses wherein the temperature regulation system includes a heat exchanger, the processor communicatively connected to the heat exchanger, the processor configured to maintain the temperature of the fixed bearing sidewall at a desired temperature by activating the heat exchanger [Fig. 2-3; para 0027-0030; “… the processor 140 communicates instructions to the heat exchanger 124 to control (i.e., adjust, alter or change) the temperature of the fluid.”].
As per claim 11, Zavattari discloses further comprising a sensor connected to the fixed bearing sidewall for measuring thermal displacement of the fixed bearing sidewall [Fig. 3; para 0025; displacement sensors 130 and 132 and communicatively coupled to the processor 140; para 0027; temperature sensors 134 and 136 and communicatively coupled to the processor 140; para 0043; “In another embodiment, the displacement of the bearings 114 is measured by the displacement sensors 130, 132 at set intervals during slicing of the ingot 102. The displacement measurements are then received by the processor 140. In response to the received measurements, the processor 140 determines the temperature set point of the bearings 114 necessary to reduce or eliminate their displacement and ameliorate the negative effects that such displacement can have on the wafers.”].
As per claim 12, Zavattari discloses wherein the control system is connected to a valve of the temperature regulation system for controlling a flow rate of fluid of the temperature regulation system [Fig. 2-3; para 0036; “A valve 170 (broadly, a “control system”) is provided in these embodiments to control (i.e., adjust, alter or change) the flow rate of the fluid, which in turn controls the temperature of the bearings 114.”].
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
A. US-20220234250 discloses a method for slicing off a multiplicity of wafers from workpieces during a number of slicing operations by means of a wire saw.
B. US-20130174828 discloses systems and methods are disclosed for controlling the surface profiles of wafers cut in a wire saw machine.
C. US-20130144420 discloses wire saw machines used to slice ingots into wafers.
D. US-20130139801 discloses methods for controlling the displacement of bearings in the wire saw machines.
N. KR-20180125039 discloses wire saw machines used to slice ingots into wafers and more particularly to systems for controlling the surface profile of sliced wafers in wire saw machines.
O. CN-111993614 discloses a method for cutting a plurality of wafers from a workpiece by a wire saw during a plurality of slicing operations wherein in the slicing operation, controlling the temperature of the fixed bearing of the wire guide roller according to a temperature profile.
Conclusion
/SURESH SURYAWANSHI/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2116
1 Prior art cited by applicant in the submitted information discloser statement.