DETAILED ACTION
Priority
Acknowledgment is made of applicant’s claim for foreign priority under 35 U.S.C. 119 (a)-(d). The certified copy has been received / retrieved and recorded.
Claim Objections
Claim 4 is objected to because of the following informalities:
Regarding claim 4, “PI” used first time in the claim should be fully spelled. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-4 and 6-7 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102 (a) (1) as being anticipated by Hu (CN110545625A).
Regarding claim 1, Hu, figure 11, discloses a flexible printed circuit comprising: an intermediate layer (layer 11 with circuit layer on top and bottom of the surface) and two protective layers (upper part of layer 30 and layer 31, on the upper and lower side) wrapped on opposite sides of the intermediate layer, the intermediate layer comprising a substrate layer (11) in the middle, the substrate layer having a through hole (though hole of conductive section 14), wherein the intermediate layer further comprises a first line layer and a second line layer respectively provided on opposite sides of the substrate layer (circuit layer 20, on both the sides) a first overlay layer (the other part or layer 30) and a second overlay layer (the other part of layer 30) respectively provided on opposite sides of the substrate layer and a guide member (conductive section 14) embedded in the through hole and connecting the first and second line layers (see figure), the first line layer being embedded in the first overlay layer and the second line layer being embedded in the second overlay layer (see figure).
Regarding claim 2, Hu further discloses wherein the surfaces of the first line layer and the first overlay layer are flush on the side away from the substrate layer, and the surfaces of the second line layer and the second overlay layer are flush on the side away from the substrate layer (see figure).
Regarding claim 3, Hu further discloses wherein the protective layer comprises a adhesive layer (30) attached to the outer side of the intermediate layer, and an insulating layer (31) located on the side of the adhesive layer away from the intermediate layer.
Regarding claim 4, Hu further discloses wherein both the substrate layer and the insulating layer are PI materials (see description, figure 1-4).
Regarding claim 6, Hu further discloses wherein the first line layer, the second line layer and the guide member are made of copper (see description of figure 1).
Regarding claim 7, Hu discloses the structure. The recitation the first line layer and the second line layer are prepared by means of PI metallization, copper plating and copper reduction on opposite sides of the substrate layer in turn, are process limitation in a product claim. Such process limitations defines the claimed invention over the prior art to the degree that it defines the product itself. A process limitation cannot serve to patentably distinguish the product over the prior art, in the case that the product is same as, or obvious over the prior art. See Product-by-Process in MPEP § 2113 and 2173.05(p) and In re Thorpe, 777 F.2d 695, 227 USPQ 964, 966 (Fed. Cir. 1985).
Therefore, Hu meets the limitation.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 5 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hu, as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Kim (US 2022/0304147), and Funaya (US 2009/0046441).
Regarding claim 4, Hu does not disclose wherein the first overlay layer and the second overlay layer are light-sensitive overlay films.
Kim, figure 2, discloses a circuit board with the insulating layers formed of light-sensitive (photo sensitive layer, 120, paragraph 0111), reliably forming the cavity (paragraph 0012, 0050).
Funaya, 8 and 9, discloses a circuit board with a light-sensitive (photo-sensitive resin, including forming via / opening (paragraph 0172. 0176).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art at the time of effective filing date of the application to provide the board of Hu with the first overlay layer and the second overlay layer are light-sensitive overlay films, as taught by Kim, and Funaya, in order to have controlled openings for forming via / circuits.
Additionally, it has been held to be within the general skill of a worker in the art to select a known material on the basis of its suitability for the intended use as a matter of obvious design choice. In re Leshin, 227 F.2d 197, 125 USPQ 416 (CCPA 1960).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Echigo (6,274,821), figure 1, discloses a circuit board with a substrate (L2i), a through hole in the substrate (via in the substrate, see figure, a first line pattern, a second line pattern (traces on the substrate), and overlay on the top and bottom (L2R and L3R).
Higashitani (2010/0224395), figure 5A-5I, discloses a circuit board formed with insulating substrate including a film and an adhesive (paragraph 0168).
/ISHWARBHAI B PATEL/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2847
IBP / April 27, 2025