DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of claims 1-6 in the reply filed on February 4, 2026 is acknowledged.
Claims 7-20 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected invention, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Election was made without traverse in the reply filed on February 4, 2026.
Specification
The title of the invention is not descriptive. A new title is required that is clearly indicative of the invention to which the claims are directed.
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are:
source supply part in claim 1;
light supply part in claim 1.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-2 and 6 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Son (KR20180089603, provided translation cited below).
In regards to claim 1, Son teaches a deposition device comprising:
a substrate support (10) that supports a substrate (12) (fig. 1-2; para. 39-41);
an evaporation source (30, source supply part) that supplies an organic deposition material (fig. 1-2; para. 39, 46-48);
a mask (22, deposition mask) position between the substrate and the evaporation source (fig. 1-2; para. 39, 43-45);
a mask cleaning unit (50, light supply part) comprising a UV light source (52) that is movable (detachably disposed), where the mask is between the mask cleaning unit and the substrate (fig. 1-2; para. 51, 61, 69-72).
In regards to claim 2, Son teaches the evaporation source (30, source supply part) supplies the organic material (para. 46-48) and the UV light source (52) provides the ultraviolet rays (para. 51, 70).
In regards to claim 6, Son teaches the mask comprises slits (24, open part) in a deposition part and areas that are solid provide a blocking part for the deposition part (fig. 3; para. 78).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 3-4 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Son as applied to claims 1-2 and 6 above, and further in view of Mironov (Paper: Photolithography in the vacuum ultraviolet (172 nm) with sub-400 nm resolution: photoablative patterning of nanostructures and optical components in bulk polymers and thin films on semiconductors).
In regards to claims 3-4, Son teaches the UV irradiation removes the organic material by weaking bonds (dissociate by light) (para. 51, 85).
Son does not explicitly teach the light has a wavelength of about 160 nm to about 172 nm, and the light has energy of about 7.21 eV to about 7.75 eV.
However, Mironov teaches the use of Xe2 excimer lamp that outputs a UV with a wavelength of 172-nm and an energy of 7.2-eV (pg. 16796-left paragraph top). Mironov teaches the UV energy is used photoablation or organic material (pg. 16796-left paragraph middle, 16796-right paragraph middle).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, at the time of the claimed invention, to incorporate the Xe2 excimer lamp of Mironov onto the UV light source of Son because Mironov teaches it will provide nanoscale features of precise dimension (pg. 16804-left paragraph top).
Claim 5 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Son as applied to claims 1-2 and 6 above, and further in view of Nakai (US 20190358684).
In regards to claim 5, Son teaches the mask comprising slits (24) that provide deposition part and area around the mask support member (20) provide around the slits (fig. 3; para. 78).
Son does not explicitly the blocking part includes a metal, and the deposition part includes a fine metal pattern.
However, Nakai teaches a vapor deposition mask is a metal mask with a fine metal pattern (para. 61-62) which will provide a blocking part comprising metal and a deposition part that is metal.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, at the time of the claimed invention, to incorporate the metal mask of Nakai onto the mask of Son because Nakai teaches organic matter adhering to a mask can be appropriately removed with the appropriate chemicals (para. 6).
Conclusion
/Binu Thomas/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1717