Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statements (IDS) submitted on 11/28/2023, 01/25/2024, 01/30/2024 are in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Claim Status
Claims 1-18 are pending with claims 1-18 being examined.
Claim Objections
Claim 5 objected to because of the following informalities:
“The assembly of any of claim 2” should read –the assembly of claim 2--.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 6-7, 14 and 17-18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Schembri et al. (US20020001839 A1; hereinafter “Schembri“ previous of record) in view of Bell (US 2020064343 A1; hereinafter “Bell”).
Regarding claim 1, Schembri teaches an assembly (Schembri; fig. 1. and [0089]-[0090] “a 1”x3” glass slide hybridization chamber”), comprising:
a sample device including a bottom portion and a top portion (Schembri; [0029] “a substrate and a cover”), wherein:
the bottom portion (Schembri; fig. 1. 2) is releasably coupled to the top portion (Schembri; [0079] teaches the cover is held together with screws);
a gap is formed between the bottom portion and the top portion when the bottom portion is coupled to the top portion, the gap configured to receive a sample substrate (Schembri; fig. 1. 1, 2, 3. Gap is area between cover 3 and base 1 for receiving substrate 2).
Schembri fails to teach the top portion includes a well and a plurality of first snap joint elements, at least a pair of the plurality of first snap joint elements arranged on the top portion substantially opposite from each other; and a lid including a cover and a skirt, wherein: the cover includes: a planar outer surface; and an inner surface separated from the planar outer surface by a thickness of the cover; and the skirt extends about a perimeter of the inner surface, wherein: the skirt and the inner surface define a recess; the skirt includes a plurality of second snap joint elements extending therefrom, at least a pair of the plurality of second snap joint elements arranged on the skirt substantially opposite from each other, wherein: when the lid engages with the sample device, the plurality of first snap joint elements engage with the plurality of second snap joint elements respectively to form a seal between the lid and a periphery of the well of the top portion.
However, Bell teaches the analogous art of an assembly (Bell; fig. 1. 100) that includes a top portion that includes a well (Bell; fig. 1. 120, 122 and [0027] “opening 122 may include a set of opening or wells”), a plurality of first snap joint elements, at least a pair of the plurality of first snap joint elements arranged on the top portion substantially opposite from each other (Bell; fig. 1. 128); a lid (Bell; fig. 1. 112) including a cover (Bell; fig. 1. 110) and a skirt (Bell; fig. 1. 120 periphery around cover 120), wherein: the cover includes: a planar outer surface (Bell; fig. 1. 112); and an inner surface separated from the planar outer surface by a thickness of the cover (Bell; fig. 1. 112, 124); and the skirt extends about a perimeter of the inner surface, wherein: the skirt and the inner surface define a recess (Bell; [0023] “the at least one tab slot may be a recess”); the skirt includes a plurality of second snap joint elements extending therefrom, at least a pair of the plurality of second snap joint elements arranged on the skirt substantially opposite from each other (Bell; fig. 1. 128), wherein: when the lid engages with the sample device, the plurality of first snap joint elements engage with the plurality of second snap joint elements respectively to form a seal between the lid and a periphery of the well of the top portion (Bell; fig. 1. 128, 156).
Examiner will interpret Bells elements 110 and 120 as a detachable top/cover portion as disclosed by Bell [0033].
To one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention it would have been obvious to modify Schembri’s top portion to include a well and a plurality of first snap joint elements, at least a pair of the plurality of first snap joint elements arranged on the top portion substantially opposite from each other; and a lid including a cover and a skirt, wherein: the cover includes: a planar outer surface; and an inner surface separated from the planar outer surface by a thickness of the cover; and the skirt extends about a perimeter of the inner surface, wherein: the skirt and the inner surface define a recess; the skirt includes a plurality of second snap joint elements extending therefrom, at least a pair of the plurality of second snap joint elements arranged on the skirt substantially opposite from each other, wherein: when the lid engages with the sample device, the plurality of first snap joint elements engage with the plurality of second snap joint elements respectively to form a seal between the lid and a periphery of the well of the top portion as taught by Bell because Bell teaches an assembly (Bell; fig. 1. 100) that includes a top portion that includes a well (Bell; fig. 1. 120, 122 and [0027] “opening 122 may include a set of opening or wells”), a plurality of first snap joint elements, at least a pair of the plurality of first snap joint elements arranged on the top portion substantially opposite from each other (Bell; fig. 1. 128); a lid (Bell; fig. 1. 112) including a cover (Bell; fig. 1. 110) and a skirt (Bell; periphery around cover 120), wherein: the cover includes: a planar outer surface (Bell; fig. 1. 112); and an inner surface separated from the planar outer surface by a thickness of the cover (Bell; fig. 1. 112, 124); and the skirt extends about a perimeter of the inner surface, wherein: the skirt and the inner surface define a recess (Bell ; [0023] “the at least one tab slot may be a recess”); the skirt includes a plurality of second snap joint elements extending therefrom, at least a pair of the plurality of second snap joint elements arranged on the skirt substantially opposite from each other (Bell; fig. 1. 128), wherein: when the lid engages with the sample device, the plurality of first snap joint elements engage with the plurality of second snap joint elements respectively to form a seal between the lid and a periphery of the well of the top portion (Bell; fig. 1. 128, 156).
This allows to have a removable and secure top cover and lid.
Regarding claim 6, modified Schembri teaches the assembly of claim 1 (see above) to include a sample device (see above).
Modified Schembri fails to teach the sample device includes a plurality of second snap joint elements includes a cantilevered clip and one of the plurality of first snap joint elements includes an aperture or a recess configured to receive the cantilevered clip when the lid is engaged with the sample device.
However, Bell teaches the analogous art of an assembly (Bell; fig. 1. 100) that includes a plurality of second snap joint elements (Bell; fig. 1. 128) wherein one of the plurality of second snap joint elements includes a cantilevered clip and one of the plurality of first snap joint elements includes an aperture or a recess configured to receive the cantilevered clip when the lid is engaged with the sample device (Bell; fig. 1. 128, 156).
To one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention it would have been obvious to modify Schembri’s sample device to include a cantilevered clip and one of the plurality of first snap joint elements includes an aperture or a recess configured to receive the cantilevered clip when the lid is engaged with the sample device as taught by Bell because Bell teaches an assembly (Bell; fig. 1. 100) that includes a plurality of second snap joint elements (Bell; fig. 1. 128) wherein one of the plurality of second snap joint elements includes a cantilevered clip and one of the plurality of first snap joint elements includes an aperture or a recess configured to receive the cantilevered clip when the lid is engaged with the sample device (Bell; fig. 1. 128, 156).
This would allow engagement between the first and second snap joint elements.
Regarding claim 7, modified Schembri teaches the assembly of claim 1 (see above) to include a skirt (see above).
Modified Schembri fails to teach the skirt extends about the perimeter of the inner surface at an angle that is greater than 90°.
However, Bell teaches the analogous art of an assembly (Bell; fig. 1. 100) that includes a lid (Bell; fig. 1. 112) including a cover (Bell; fig. 1. 110) and a skirt (Bell; periphery around cover 120) wherein the skirt extends about the perimeter of the inner surface at an angle that is greater than 90° (Bell; fig. 1. 120 periphery around cover 120 appears to be at an angle of 90° or more).
To one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention it would have been obvious to modify Schembri’s skirt to extend about the perimeter of the inner surface at an angle that is greater than 90° as taught by Bell because Bell teaches an assembly (Bell; fig. 1. 100) that includes a lid (Bell; fig. 1. 112) including a cover (Bell; fig. 1. 110) and a skirt (Bell; periphery around cover 120) wherein the skirt extends about the perimeter of the inner surface at an angle that is greater than 90° (Bell; periphery around cover 120 appears to be at an angle of 90° or more).
This would allow for the skirt to cover the perimeter of the substrate.
Regarding claim 14, Schembri teaches the assembly of claim 1 (see above) to include a plurality of snap joint elements (see above).
Modified Schembri fails to teach wherein the plurality of second snap joint elements include three cantilevered clips, two of which are located on one side of the skirt and the other of which is located on an opposite side of the skirt.
However, Bell teaches the analogous art of an assembly (Bell; fig. 1. 100) that includes second snap joint elements (Bell; fig. 1. 128) wherein the plurality of second snap joint elements include three cantilevered clips, two of which are located on one side of the skirt and the other of which is located on an opposite side of the skirt (Bell; fig. 1. 128).
To one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention it would have been obvious to modify Schembri’s plurality of snap joint elements to include three cantilevered clips, two of which are located on one side of the skirt and the other of which is located on an opposite side of the skirt as taught by Bell because Bell teaches an assembly (Bell; fig. 1. 100) that includes second snap joint elements (Bell; fig. 1. 128) wherein the plurality of second snap joint elements include three cantilevered clips, two of which are located on one side of the skirt and the other of which is located on an opposite side of the skirt (Bell; fig. 1. 128).
This cantilevered clips on the second snap joint elements would allow engagement with the first snap joint elements.
Regarding claim 17, Schembri teaches the assembly of claim 1 (see above) to include a lid (see above).
Modified Schembri fails to teach wherein the lid is made from a polyethylene material, a polyurethane material, a polyethylene terephthalate material, a polystyrene material, a polycarbonate material, a polypropylene material, or a combination thereof.
However, Bell teaches the analogous art of an assembly (Bell; fig. 1. 100) that includes a lid (Bell; fig. 1. 112) including a cover (Bell; fig. 1. 110). Examiner will interpret Bells lid and cover as a one part detachable portion, wherein the lid is made from a polyethylene material, a polyurethane material, a polyethylene terephthalate material, a polystyrene material, a polycarbonate material, a polypropylene material, or a combination thereof (Bell; [0027] “the test strip cover and any components of each may be constructed of plastic”).
Plastic is well known in the art to be made from a polyethylene material, a polyurethane material, a polyethylene terephthalate material, a polystyrene material, a polycarbonate material, a polypropylene material, or a combination thereof.
To one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention it would have been obvious to modify Schembri’s lid to be made from a polyethylene material, a polyurethane material, a polyethylene terephthalate material, a polystyrene material, a polycarbonate material, a polypropylene material, or a combination thereof as taught by Bell because Bell teaches an assembly (Bell; fig. 1. 100) that includes a lid (Bell; fig. 1. 112) including a cover (Bell; fig. 1. 110).
Examiner will interpret Bells lid and cover as a one part detachable portion, wherein the lid is made from a polyethylene material, a polyurethane material, a polyethylene terephthalate material, a polystyrene material, a polycarbonate material, a polypropylene material, or a combination thereof (Bell; [0027] “the test strip cover and any components of each may be constructed of plastic”).
This allows for material cost-effectiveness and mass production.
Regarding claim 18, modified Schembri teaches the assembly of claim 1 (see above), wherein the sample substrate is a glass slide (Schembri; [0060]).
Claims 2-4 and 8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Schembri et al. (US20020001839 A1; hereinafter “Schembri“ previous of record) in view of Bell (US 2020064343 A1; hereinafter “Bell”) as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Edens et al. (US 20140112845 A1; hereinafter “Edens”).
Regarding claim 2, modified Schembri teaches the assembly of claim 1 (see above) to include a well (see above) .
Schembri fails to teach the well further comprises a gasket disposed around the periphery of the well, wherein when the lid engages with the sample device, the gasket couples with a periphery of the skirt to form the seal.
However, Edens teaches the analogous art of an assembly (Edens; fig. 28. 2800) that includes a lid (Eden; fig. 28. 2804) comprising at least one well (Eden; fig. 28. 2824) and a gasket disposed around the periphery of the well (Edens; fig. 33. 3300, 3302 and [0219] “each protrusion (well) includes an upper seal and a lower seal;”) wherein when the lid engages with the sample device, the gasket couples with a periphery of the skirt to form the seal (Edens; fig. 33. 2804, 3300, 3302).
To one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention it would have been obvious to modify Schembri’s well to include a gasket disposed around the periphery of the well, wherein when the lid engages with the sample device, the gasket couples with a periphery of the skirt to form the seal as taught by Edens because Edens teaches an assembly (Edens; fig. 28. 2800) that includes a lid (Eden; fig. 28. 2804) comprising at least one well (Eden; fig. 28. 2824) and a gasket disposed around the periphery of the well (Edens; fig. 33. 3300, 3302 and [0219] “each protrusion (well) includes an upper seal and a lower seal;”) wherein when the lid engages with the sample device, the gasket couples with a periphery of the skirt to form the seal (Edens; fig. 33. 2804, 3300, 3302).
This would allow for a proper seal between the lid and the well.
Regarding claim 3, modified Schembri teaches the assembly of claim 2 (see above) to include at least one well (see above).
Modified Schembri fails to teach the well is defined by the sample substrate and the gasket.
However, Edens teaches the analogous art of an assembly (Edens; fig. 28. 2800) that includes a lid (Eden; fig. 28. 2804) comprising at least one well (Eden; fig. 28. 2824) and a gasket disposed around the periphery of the well (Edens; fig. 33. 3300, 3302) and tubes (substrate) (Edens; fig. 28. 210), wherein the well is defined by the sample substrate and the gasket (Edens; fig; 28. 210, 2804, 2824, and fig. 33. 2804, 2824, 3300, 3302).
To one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention it would have been obvious to modify Schembri’s at least one well to be defined by the sample substrate and the gasket as taught by Edens because Edens teaches an assembly (Edens; fig. 28. 2800) that includes a lid (Eden; fig. 28. 2804) comprising at least one well (Eden; fig. 28. 2824) and a gasket disposed around the periphery of the well (Edens; fig. 33. 3300, 3302) and tubes (substrate) (Edens; fig. 28. 210), wherein the well is defined by the sample substrate and the gasket (Edens; fig; 28. 210, 2804, 2824, and fig. 33. 2804, 2824, 3300, 3302).
This would allow to provide a sealed enclosure to place the sample.
Applicant discloses in [0020] the “sample is deposited on a substrate” therefore, Edens’ tubes meet the limitation.
Regarding claim 4, modified Schembri teaches the assembly of claim 2 (see above) to include at least one well (see above).
Modified Schembri fails to teach the well is a sealed chamber defined by the sample substrate, the gasket, and the lid.
However, Edens teaches the analogous art of an assembly (Edens; fig. 28. 2800) that includes a lid (Eden; fig. 28. 2804) comprising at least one well (Eden; fig. 28. 2824) and a gasket disposed around the periphery of the well (Edens; fig. 33. 3300, 3302) and tubes (substrate) (Edens; fig. 28. 210), wherein the well is a sealed chamber defined by the sample substrate, the gasket and the lid (Edens; fig; 28. 210, 2804, 2824, and fig. 33. 2804, 2824, 3300, 3302).
This would allow to provide a sealed enclosure to place the sample.
Applicant discloses in [0020] the “sample is deposited on a substrate” therefore, Edens’ tubes meet the limitation.
Regarding claim 8, modified Schembri teaches the assembly of claim 1 (see above) to include a skirt (see above).
Modified Schembri fails to teach the skirt has a flange that is parallel to the planar outer surface.
However, Edens teaches the analogous art of an assembly (Edens; fig. 28. 2800) that includes a skirt (Edens; fig. 29. 2908) wherein the skirt has a flange that is parallel to the planar outer surface (Edens; fig. 29. 2910).
To one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention it would have been obvious to modify Schembri’s skirt to include a flange that is parallel to the planar outer surface as taught by Edens because Edens teaches an assembly (Edens; fig. 28. 2800) that includes a skirt (Edens; fig. 29. 2908) wherein the skirt has a flange that is parallel to the planar outer surface (Edens; fig. 29. 2910).
This would allow to have a surface area to remove the lid.
Claims 5 and 9-13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Schembri et al. (US20020001839 A1; hereinafter “Schembri“ previous of record) in view of Bell (US 2020064343 A1; hereinafter “Bell”) and Edens et al. (US 20140112845 A1; hereinafter “Edens”) as applied to claims 2 and 8 above, and further in view of Curry et al. (US 20110212002 A1; hereinafter “Curry”).
Regarding claim 9, modified Schembri teaches the assembly of claim 8 (see above) to include second snap joint elements (see above).
Modified Schembri fails to teach wherein one of the plurality of second snap joint elements has a support section and a tab portion, the support section extending from the flange and having same thickness as the flange.
However, Curry teaches the analogous art of an assembly (Curry; [0131] “‘funnel/lid assembly”) that includes snap joint elements (Curry; [0130] “the securing mechanism is a snap-fit or stopper-fit”) that has a support section (Curry; fig. 4A. 30) and a tab portion (Curry; fig. 4A. 32), the support section extending from the flange and having same thickness as the flange (Curry; fig. 4A. 30).
Examiner notes that support section 30 seems to create a “flange” towards the end as illustrated in fig. 4A. 30. Therefore, Curry meets the limitation.
To one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention it would have been obvious to modify Schembri’s snap joint elements to have a support section and a tab portion, the support section extending from the flange and having same thickness as the flange as taught by Curry because Curry teaches an assembly (Curry; [0131] “funnel/lid assembly”) that includes snap joint elements (Curry; [0130] “the securing mechanism is a snap-fit or stopper-fit”) that has a support section (Curry; fig. 4A. 30) and a tab portion (Curry; fig. 4A. 32), the support section extending from the flange and having same thickness as the flange (Curry; fig. 4A. 30).
This allows to remove (un-snap) the lid when using the assembly to apply sample.
Regarding claim 10, modified Schembri teaches the assembly of claim 9 (see above) to include a tab portion (see above).
Modified Schembri fails to teach the tab portion includes a first part and a second part that are angled at less than 90° and at greater than 90°, respectively, relative to the flange.
However, Curry teaches the analogous art of an assembly (Curry; [0131] “‘funnel/lid assembly”) that includes a first part and a second part (Curry; fig. 4A. 30 upper section is first part and lower section is second part) wherein the first part and second part are angled at less than 90° and at greater than 90°, respectively, relative to the flange (Curry; fig. 4A. 30 illustrates what appears to be a first part and second part angled at less than 90° and at greater than 90°respectively).
To one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention it would have been obvious to modify Schembri’s tab portion to includes a first part and a second part that are angled at less than 90° and at greater than 90°, respectively, relative to the flange as taught by Curry because Curry teaches an assembly (Curry; [0131] “‘funnel/lid assembly”) that includes a first part and a second part (Curry; fig. 4A. 30 upper section is first part and lower section is second part) wherein the first part and second part are angled at less than 90° and at greater than 90°, respectively, relative to the flange (Curry; fig. 4A. 30 illustrates what appears to be a first part and second part angled at less than 90° and at greater than 90°respectively).
This allows to have a counter pressure mechanism.
Regarding claim 11, modified Schembri teaches the assembly of claim 10 (see above) to include a first part (see above).
Modified Schembri fails to teach the first part is angled at greater than about 75° relative to the flange.
However, Curry teaches the analogous art of an assembly (Curry; [0131] “‘funnel/lid assembly”) that includes a first part (Curry; fig. 4A. 30 upper section is first part) wherein the first part is angled at greater than about 75° relative to the flange (Curry; fig. 4A. 30 upper section appears to be angled at greater than about 75° relative to the flange).
This allows leverage to the tab portion.
Regarding claim 12, modified Schembri teaches the assembly of claim 9 (see above) to include a first tab portion (see above).
Modified Schembri fails to teach the first part of the tab portion includes a locking lip at an end of the first part that is distal to the support section, the locking lip extending towards the cover.
However, Curry teaches the analogous art of an assembly (Curry; [0131] “‘funnel/lid assembly”) that includes a first part of the tab portion (Curry; fig. 4A. 30 upper section) wherein the first part of the tab portion includes a locking lip at an end of the first part that is distal to the support section, the locking lip extending towards the cover (Curry; fig. 4A. 34).
To one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention it would have been obvious to modify Schembri’s first tab portion to include a locking lip at an end of the first part that is distal to the support section, the locking lip extending towards the cover as taught by Curry because Curry teaches an assembly (Curry; [0131] “‘funnel/lid assembly”) that includes a first part of the tab portion (Curry; fig. 4A. 30 upper section) wherein the first part of the tab portion includes a locking lip at an end of the first part that is distal to the support section, the locking lip extending towards the cover (Curry; fig. 4A. 34).
This allows to lock the lid to the bottom portion
Regarding claim 13, modified Schembri teaches the assembly of claim 9 (see above) to include a second tab portion (see above).
Modified Schembri fails to teach the second part of the tab portion includes a nob at an end of the second part that is distal to the support section, the nob extending away from the cover.
However, Curry teaches the analogous art of an assembly (Curry; [0131] “‘funnel/lid assembly”) that includes a second part (Curry; fig. 4A. 30 lower section is second part) wherein the second part of the tab portion includes a nob at an end of the second part that is distal to the support section, the nob extending away from the cover (Curry; fig. 4A. 30 illustrates wat appears to be a nob at an end of the second part that is distal to the support section, the nob extending away from the cover, and [0074] “lid comprises tab 30”).
To one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention it would have been obvious to modify Schembri’s second tab portion to include a nob at an end of the second part that is distal to the support section, the nob extending away from the cover as taught b Curry because Curry teaches an assembly (Curry; [0131] “‘funnel/lid assembly”) that includes a second part (Curry; fig. 4A. 30 lower section is second part) wherein the second part of the tab portion includes a nob at an end of the second part that is distal to the support section, the nob extending away from the cover (Curry; fig. 4A. 30 illustrates wat appears to be a nob at an end of the second part that is distal to the support section, the nob extending away from the cover, and [0074] “lid comprises tab 30”).
This allows for adding leverage to remove the lid.
Claim 15 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Schembri et al. (US20020001839 A1; hereinafter “Schembri” previous of record) in view of Bell (US 2020064343 A1; hereinafter “Bell”) as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Hong et al. (US 20160250632 A1; hereinafter “Hong”).
Regarding claim 15, modified Schembri teaches the assembly of claim 1 (see above) to include a lid (see above).
Modified Schembri fails to teach the lid is formed using injection molding.
However, Hong teaches the analogous art of an assembly (Hong; [0079] “assembled device”) that includes a lid (Hong; fig. 1A. 20) wherein the lid is formed using injection molding (Hong; [0070] “the lid can be injection molded”).
To one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention it would have been obvious to modify Schembri’s lid to be injection molded as taught by Hong because Hong teaches an assembly (Hong; [0079] “assembled device”) that includes a lid (Hong; fig. 1A. 20) wherein the lid is formed using injection molding (Hong; [0070] “the lid can be injection molded”).
This allows for cost-effectiveness mass production.
Claim 16 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Schembri et al. (US20020001839 A1; hereinafter “Schembri” previous of record) in view of Bell (US 2020064343 A1; hereinafter “Bell”) as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Jackson (US 20060254918 A1; hereinafter “Jackson”).
Regarding claim 16, modified Schembri teaches the assembly of claim 1 (see above) to include a lid (see above).
Modified Schembri fails to teach the lid is made from a polyphenylsulfone material.
However, Jackson teaches the analogous art of an assembly (Jackson; fig. 1. 24), that includes base plates (Jackson; fig. 1.106) and a lid (Jackson; fig. 1. 20).
Jackson teaches the base plate, follower plate and cam are made from a polyphenylsulfone material.
It would have been obvious to manufacture the lid using a polyphenylsulfone material for cost-effectiveness mass production of the entire assembly.
To one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention it would have been obvious to manufacture the lid from a polyphenylsulfone material for cost-effectiveness mass production of the entire assembly.
Conclusion
/A.R./Examiner, Art Unit 1798
/CHARLES CAPOZZI/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1798