DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
This Office Action is in response to Applicant's amendments filed April 7, 2026. Claims 1, 7-8, and 17-18 have been amended. Claims 19-21 have been added. Claims 6, and 9-16 have been canceled. Currently, claims 1-5, 7-8, and 17-21 are pending.
Applicant’s cancellation of claim 6 overcomes the 112(a) rejection outlined in the previous Office Action. The 112(a) rejection is withdrawn.
Applicant’s Amendment to claim 17 does not overcome the 112(b) rejection outlined in the previous Office Action. The 112(b) rejection of claim 17 is maintained and presented below.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claims 1 and 18 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 17 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Regarding claim 17, the claim recites a device with different components which are compatible with or configured to perform specific functions but it is not clear how these components are integrated with the photoelectric conversion apparatus. Therefore, the metes and bounds of the device are not clear.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 3-5, 7, and 17-21 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Choi et al. (US 20140048853 A1) herein after “Choi” in view of Tezuka (US 20210028203 A1).
Regarding claim 1, Fig. 34 of Choi discloses a photoelectric conversion apparatus (Fig. 34, an image sensor, ¶ [0095]), comprising:
a first semiconductor layer (Fig. 34, second substrate 200a, ¶ [0074]) having a front surface (Fig. 34, first surface A, ¶ [0082]) and a back surface (Fig. 34, second surface B, ¶ [0089]) and including a photoelectric conversion unit (Fig. 34, photodiodes 210, ¶ [0082]) between the front surface (A) and the back surface (B);
a circuit substrate (Fig. 34, first substrate 100, first insulation layer 110, ¶ [0075-0076]) arranged closer to the front surface (A) than to the back surface (B);
a first insulating film (Fig. 34, sixth insulation layer 228, ¶ [0086]) arranged between the front surface (A) and the circuit substrate (100, 110);
a second insulating film (Fig. 34, seventh insulation layer 222, ¶ [0086]) arranged between the front surface (A) and the first insulating film (228);
a third insulating film (Fig. 34, eighth insulation layer 218, ¶ [0086]) arranged between the front surface (A) and the second insulating film (222);
a wiring layer (Fig. 34, sixth wiring 220, ¶ [0086]) arranged between the front surface (A) and the second insulating film (222); and
a conductive member (Fig. 34, fourth wiring 124, ¶ [0088]) arranged between the first insulating film (228) and the circuit substrate (100, 110),
wherein the first insulating film (228) includes at least one of silicon oxide and silicon oxycarbide (“The sixth insulation layer 228 may include oxide such as silicon oxide”, ¶ [0112]),
wherein a hole portion (Fig. 34, conductive contact plug 246, ¶ [0095]) provided with a conductive material and penetrating through the first insulating film (228) and the second insulating film (222) is disposed,
wherein an entire first end portion (top portion of 246 in fig 34) of the hole portion (246) on the first semiconductor layer (200a) side of the second insulating film (222) is in contact with the third insulating film (218), and
wherein a second end portion (bottom portion of 246 in Fig. 34) of the hole portion (246) on the first insulating film (228) side of the second insulating film (222) is in contact with the conductive member (124).
Choi fails to disclose wherein the second insulating film includes at least one of silicon carbide, silicon nitride, and silicon carbonitride.
In the similar field of endeavor of imaging devices, Fig. 4B of Tezuka discloses wherein the second insulating film (Fig. 4B, insulating film 140, ¶ [0040]) includes at least one of silicon carbide, silicon nitride, and silicon carbonitride (Fig. 4B, “formed of silicon carbide, silicon carbonitride, silicon nitride”, ¶ [0040]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the time of the effective filling date of the invention to modify the insulating layers of Choi with the materials as disclosed by Tezuka, to reduce capacitance (see Tezuka, ¶ [0040]) and/or because the use of conventional materials to perform their known function is prima-facie obvious (MPEP 2144.07).
Regarding claim 3, Choi and Tezuka together disclose the photoelectric conversion apparatus according to claim 1 as applied above, but Choi fails to disclose wherein the first insulating film has a property of supplying hydrogen, and the second insulating film has a property of inhibiting diffusion of hydrogen.
In the similar field of endeavor of imaging devices, Fig. 4B of Tezuka discloses wherein the first insulating film (152) has a property of supplying hydrogen (Fig. 4B, “the insulating films 128, 136, 144, 152, and 162 can be used as a hydrogen supply source”, ¶ [0097]), and the second insulating film (140) has a property of inhibiting diffusion of hydrogen (Fig. 4B, “the insulating films 130, 140, 148, and 160… has a property of preventing diffusion of hydrogen”, ¶ [0098]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the time of the effective filling date of the invention to modify the insulating layers of Choi with the materials as disclosed by Tezuka, to reduce dark current (see Tezuka, ¶ [0002]).
Regarding claim 4, Choi and Tezuka together disclose the photoelectric conversion apparatus according to claim 1 as applied above, and Fig. 34 of Choi further discloses wherein the third insulating film (218) includes at least one of silicon oxide and silicon oxycarbide (“The eighth to the sixth insulation layers 218, 222 and 228 may include oxide, for example, silicon oxide”, ¶ [0086]).
Regarding claim 5, Choi and Tezuka together disclose the photoelectric conversion apparatus according to claim 1 as applied above, and Fig. 34 of Choi further discloses wherein a fourth insulating film (Fig. 34, fifth insulation layer 126, ¶ [0076]) is arranged between the circuit substrate (100, 110) and the first insulating film (228), and the hole portion (246) penetrates through the fourth insulating film (126).
Choi fails to disclose the fourth insulating film includes at least one of silicon nitride and silicon oxycarbide.
In the similar field of endeavor of imaging devices, Fig. 4B of Tezuka discloses wherein the fourth insulating film (Fig. 4B, insulating film 160, ¶ [0040]) includes at least one of silicon nitride and silicon oxycarbide (“The insulating material such as silicon carbide, silicon carbonitride, silicon nitride”, ¶ [0040]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the time of the effective filling date of the invention to modify the insulating layers of Choi with the materials as disclosed by Tezuka, to reduce capacitance (see Tezuka, ¶ [0040]) and/or because the use of conventional materials to perform their known function is prima-facie obvious (MPEP 2144.07).
Regarding claim 7, Choi and Tezuka together disclose the photoelectric conversion apparatus according to claim 1 as applied above, and Fig. 34 of Choi further discloses wherein a contact plug (plug connected to 212) is disposed closer to the front surface (A) than to the back surface (B), and the first end portion of the hole portion (246) is disposed toward the front surface (A) with respect to an end portion of the contact plug (plug connected to 212) facing the circuit substrate (100, 110).
Regarding claim 17, Choi and Tezuka together disclose the photoelectric conversion apparatus according to claim 1 as applied above, and Fig. 32 of Choi further discloses a device (Fig. 32, system 700, ¶ [0205]) comprising:
the photoelectric conversion apparatus according to claim 1; and
at least one of:
an optical apparatus compatible with the photoelectric conversion apparatus;
a control apparatus configured to control the photoelectric conversion apparatus;
a processing apparatus (Fig. 32, central process unit (CPU) 720, ¶ [0207]) configured to process a signal output from the photoelectric conversion apparatus (Fig. 32, “The CMOS image sensor 710 may be integrated together with a CPU, a digital signal processor (DSP), a microprocessor, etc”, ¶ [0207]);
a display apparatus configured to display information obtained by the photoelectric conversion apparatus;
a storage apparatus configured to store the information obtained by the photoelectric conversion apparatus; and
a mechanical apparatus configured to operate based on the information obtained by the photoelectric conversion apparatus.
Regarding claim 18, Fig. 34 of Choi discloses a substrate, comprising:
a first semiconductor layer (200a) having a front surface (A) and a back surface (B) and including a photoelectric conversion unit (210) between the front surface (A) and the back surface (B);
a first insulating film (228) arranged closer to the front surface (A) than to the back surface (B);
a second insulating film (222) arranged between the front surface (A) and the first insulating film (228);
a third insulating film (218) arranged between the front surface (A) and the second insulating film (222); and
a wiring layer (220) arranged between the front surface (A) and the second insulating film (222); and
a conductive member (124) arranged between the first insulating film (228) and the circuit substrate (100, 110),
wherein the substrate is to be laminated on a circuit substrate (100, 110) arranged closer to the front surface (A) than to the back surface (B),
wherein the first insulating film (228) includes at least one of silicon oxide and silicon oxycarbide (“The sixth insulation layer 228 may include oxide such as silicon oxide”, ¶ [0112]),
wherein a hole portion (246) provided with a conductive material and penetrating through the first insulating film (228) and the second insulating film (222) is disposed, and
wherein an entire first end portion of the hole portion (246) on the first semiconductor layer (200a) side of the second insulating film (222) is in contact with the third insulating film (218), and
wherein a second end portion of the hole portion (246) on the first insulating film (228) side of the second insulating film (222) is in contact with the conductive member (124).
Choi fails to disclose wherein the second insulating film includes at least one of silicon carbide, silicon nitride, and silicon carbonitride.
In the similar field of endeavor of imaging devices, Fig. 4B of Tezuka discloses wherein the second insulating film (140) includes at least one of silicon carbide, silicon nitride, and silicon carbonitride (Fig. 4B, “formed of silicon carbide, silicon carbonitride, silicon nitride”, ¶ [0040]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the time of the effective filling date of the invention to modify the insulating layers of Choi with the materials as disclosed by Tezuka, to reduce capacitance (see Tezuka, ¶ [0040]) and/or because the use of conventional materials to perform their known function is prima-facie obvious (MPEP 2144.07).
Regarding claim 19, Choi and Tezuka together disclose the photoelectric conversion apparatus according to claim 1 as applied above, and Fig. 34 of Choi further discloses wherein the conductive member (124) is in contact with the circuit substrate (100, 110).
Regarding claim 20, Choi and Tezuka together disclose the photoelectric conversion apparatus according to claim 19 as applied above, and Fig. 34 of Choi further discloses wherein the circuit substrate (100, 110) comprises a second semiconductor layer (100) and an insulating film (110).
Regarding claim 21, Choi and Tezuka together disclose the photoelectric conversion apparatus according to claim 1 as applied above, and Fig. 34 of Choi further discloses wherein a width of the hole portion (246) is different from a width of the conductive member (124).
Claims 2, and 8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Choi (US 20140048853 A1) and Tezuka (US 20210028203 A1) in further view of Miyazaki et al. (US 20220352226 A1) herein after “Miyazaki”.
Regarding claim 2, Choi and Tezuka together disclose the photoelectric conversion apparatus according to claim 1 as applied above, but Choi and Tezuka fail to disclose wherein the photoelectric conversion apparatus has a via provided with the conductive material and penetrating through the first insulating film and the second insulating film, and the via is in contact with the wiring layer.
In the similar field of endeavor of image sensors, Fig. 33 of Miyazaki discloses wherein the photoelectric conversion apparatus has a via (Fig. 33, connection wire 1067, ¶ [0257]) provided with the conductive material and penetrating through the first insulating film (Fig. 33, interlayer dielectric film 1056, ¶ [0271]) and the second insulating film (Fig. 33, interlayer dielectric film 1042, ¶ [0248]), and the via (1067) is in contact with the wiring layer (Fig. 33, first wiring layer 1030, ¶ [0248]) (“The lower end of the connection wire 1067 is connected to the wire 1034 of the first wiring layer 1030”, ¶ [0261]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the time of the effective filling date of the invention to modify the wiring layers of Choi with the arraignment as disclosed by Miyazaki, to allow stable signals to propagate between the lower wiring layer and the upper wiring layer (see Miyazaki, ¶ [0290]).
Regarding claim 8, Choi and Tezuka together disclose the photoelectric conversion apparatus according to claim 7 as applied above, but Choi and Tezuka fail to disclose wherein, in vertical projection onto a projection surface parallel to the front surface, a part of the first end portion of the hole portion overlaps the photoelectric conversion unit on the projection surface.
In the similar field of endeavor of image sensors, Fig. 33 of Miyazaki discloses wherein, in vertical projection onto a projection surface parallel to the front surface (top in Fig. 33), a part of the end portion of the hole portion (1043) overlaps the photoelectric conversion unit (1011) on the projection surface.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the time of the effective filling date of the invention to modify the wiring layers of Choi with the arraignment as disclosed by Miyazaki, to allow stable signals to propagate between the photoconversion area and the upper wiring layer (see Miyazaki, ¶ [0290]).
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/C.A.N./Examiner, Art Unit 2893
/YARA B GREEN/Supervisor Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2893