DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1, 3-7 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Dimaano Jr(USPGPUB DOCUMENT: 2019/0051585, hereinafter Dimaano Jr) in view of Kim (USPGPUB DOCUMENT: 2019/0237382, hereinafter Kim).
Re claim 1 Dimaano Jr discloses in Fig 5d a package structure, comprising: a lead frame(410), including a die pad(112) and a plurality of lead pads(114) around the die pad(112); a chip die(130), disposed on the die pad(112), wherein the lead pads(114) are electrically connected with the chip die(130) via a plurality of lead wires(180/182), respectively; a thermal conductive adhesive layer(382), disposed on the chip die(130) at a same elevation level as a part of the lead wires(180/182) above the chip die(130); and a packaging material(185), encapsulating the lead frame(410), the chip die(130), the thermal conductive adhesive layer(382), and the lead frame(410) is exposed on a bottom surface of the package material; wherein the package structure includes an upper thermal conduction path(since 382 is thermally conductive this may be interpreted as the package structure includes an upper thermal conduction path) and a lower thermal conduction path(by way of 135/120)[0053,0054], the upper thermal conduction path passing through the chip die(130), the thermal conductive adhesive layer(382), and the lower thermal conduction path(by way of 135/120)[0053,0054] passing through the chip die(130) and the lead frame(410).
Dimaano Jr does not disclose a thermal conductive plate, and the thermal conductive plate, wherein the thermal conductive plate is exposed on a top surface of the package material, the upper thermal conduction path passing through the chip die(130), the thermal conductive adhesive layer(382), and the thermal conductive plate, and the lower thermal conduction path passing through the chip die(130) and the lead frame(410); wherein the thermal conductive plate does not directly contact the lead frame.
Dimaano Jr does not disclose wherein the thermal conductive plate does not directly contact the lead frame.
Kim disclose in Fig 7 a thermal conductive plate(left130/right130), and the thermal conductive plate,
wherein the thermal conductive plate(left130/right130) does not directly contact the lead frame(114).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the invention to apply the teachings of Kim to the teachings of Dimaano Jr in order to have a semiconductor package with improved reliability [0004, Kim]. wherein the thermal conductive plate(left130/right130 of Kim) is exposed on a top surface of the package material, the upper thermal conduction path passing through the chip die(130), the thermal conductive adhesive layer(382), and the thermal conductive plate, and the lower thermal conduction path passing through the chip die(130) and the lead frame(410);
Re claim 3 Dimaano Jr and Kim disclose the package structure according to claim 1, wherein a part of the lead wires(180/182) above the chip die(130) are buried in the thermal conductive adhesive layer(382); or, a part of the lead wires(180/182) above the chip die(130) are disposed outside the thermal conductive adhesive layer(382).
Re claim 4 Dimaano Jr and Kim disclose the package structure according to claim 1, wherein the lead frame(410), the chip die(130), the thermal conductive adhesive layer(382), and the thermal conductive plate are respectively disposed at different elevation levels.
Re claim 5 Dimaano Jr and Kim disclose the package structure according to claim 1, wherein in a manufacturing process of the package structure, a plurality of thermal conductive plates are disposed on a tape by corresponding thermal conductive adhesive (382) layers, ; thereafter each set, including the thermal conductive plate and the thermal conductive adhesive layer is removed from the tape, to be disposed on a corresponding one of a plurality of chip die(130)s.
The limitations “wherein in a manufacturing process of the package structure, a plurality of thermal conductive plates are disposed on a tape by corresponding thermal conductive adhesive (382) layers, ; thereafter each set, including the thermal conductive plate and the thermal conductive adhesive layer is removed from the tape, to be disposed on a corresponding one of a plurality of chip die(130)s” are(is) considered to be process limitations that do not carry weight in a claim drawn to structure. In re Thorpe, 777 F.2d 695, 698, 227 USPQ 964, 966 (Fed. Cir. 1985), MPEP 2113.
Re claim 6 Dimaano Jr and Kim disclose the package structure according to claim 1, wherein the package structure is applied to a package of quad flat no lead (QFN), quad flat package (QFP), ball grid array (BGA), land grid array (LGA), or dual flat no lead (DFN)[0019].
Re claim 7 Dimaano Jr and Kim disclose the package structure according to claim 1, wherein an exposed portion of the thermal conductive plate on the package material includes a shape of square, rectangular, circle, oval, triangular, or polygonal (Fig 4B).
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 1 has/have been considered but are moot because the arguments do not apply to any of the references being used in the current rejection.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/PATRICIA D VALENZUELA/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2812