Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are:
Estimation unit in claim 2, 6, and 7. The term estimation unit is a nonce phrase coupled to functional language, described in the specification at [0024] which states the control device 200 functions as an estimation unit. The control device 200 is a computer system [0019].
Switching unit in claim 5. The term switching unit is a nonce phase coupled to functional language, described at [0025] which states that the control device 200 functions as a switching unit. As noted above, control device 200 is a computer system.
Power supply control unit in claim 3. The term power supply control unit is a nonce phrase having no underlying structure. Corresponding to item 204 and disclosed as an element of the computer system 200, there is no discussion of the particulars of the structure of the power supply control unit.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 2-3 and 5-7 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim limitation “estimation unit” invokes 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph. However, the written description fails to disclose the corresponding structure, material, or acts for performing the entire claimed function and to clearly link the structure, material, or acts to the function. The estimation unit is disclosed as being the control system 200 which is a computer. There is no corresponding disclosed algorithm corresponding to the claimed “estimating” function carried out by collating collected information. MPEP 2181(II)(B) requires a disclosed algorithm for each claimed computer implemented function, which in this case is not present. Therefore, the claim is indefinite and is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, second paragraph.
Applicant may:
(a) Amend the claim so that the claim limitation will no longer be interpreted as a limitation under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph;
(b) Amend the written description of the specification such that it expressly recites what structure, material, or acts perform the entire claimed function, without introducing any new matter (35 U.S.C. 132(a)); or
(c) Amend the written description of the specification such that it clearly links the structure, material, or acts disclosed therein to the function recited in the claim, without introducing any new matter (35 U.S.C. 132(a)).
If applicant is of the opinion that the written description of the specification already implicitly or inherently discloses the corresponding structure, material, or acts and clearly links them to the function so that one of ordinary skill in the art would recognize what structure, material, or acts perform the claimed function, applicant should clarify the record by either:
(a) Amending the written description of the specification such that it expressly recites the corresponding structure, material, or acts for performing the claimed function and clearly links or associates the structure, material, or acts to the claimed function, without introducing any new matter (35 U.S.C. 132(a)); or
(b) Stating on the record what the corresponding structure, material, or acts, which are implicitly or inherently set forth in the written description of the specification, perform the claimed function. For more information, see 37 CFR 1.75(d) and MPEP §§ 608.01(o) and 2181.
Claim limitation “power supply control unit” invokes 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph. However, the written description fails to disclose the corresponding structure, material, or acts for performing the entire claimed function and to clearly link the structure, material, or acts to the function. There is no description of the structure corresponding to the claimed unit. Therefore, the claim is indefinite and is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, second paragraph.
Applicant may:
(a) Amend the claim so that the claim limitation will no longer be interpreted as a limitation under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph;
(b) Amend the written description of the specification such that it expressly recites what structure, material, or acts perform the entire claimed function, without introducing any new matter (35 U.S.C. 132(a)); or
(c) Amend the written description of the specification such that it clearly links the structure, material, or acts disclosed therein to the function recited in the claim, without introducing any new matter (35 U.S.C. 132(a)).
If applicant is of the opinion that the written description of the specification already implicitly or inherently discloses the corresponding structure, material, or acts and clearly links them to the function so that one of ordinary skill in the art would recognize what structure, material, or acts perform the claimed function, applicant should clarify the record by either:
(a) Amending the written description of the specification such that it expressly recites the corresponding structure, material, or acts for performing the claimed function and clearly links or associates the structure, material, or acts to the claimed function, without introducing any new matter (35 U.S.C. 132(a)); or
(b) Stating on the record what the corresponding structure, material, or acts, which are implicitly or inherently set forth in the written description of the specification, perform the claimed function. For more information, see 37 CFR 1.75(d) and MPEP §§ 608.01(o) and 2181.
Claim limitation “switching unit” invokes 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph. However, the written description fails to disclose the corresponding structure, material, or acts for performing the entire claimed function and to clearly link the structure, material, or acts to the function. The claimed switching unit is described as being a function of the computer system 200. There is no corresponding disclosed algorithm corresponding to the function carried out by the claimed switching unit as required in MPEP 2181(II)(B). Therefore, the claim is indefinite and is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, second paragraph.
Applicant may:
(a) Amend the claim so that the claim limitation will no longer be interpreted as a limitation under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph;
(b) Amend the written description of the specification such that it expressly recites what structure, material, or acts perform the entire claimed function, without introducing any new matter (35 U.S.C. 132(a)); or
(c) Amend the written description of the specification such that it clearly links the structure, material, or acts disclosed therein to the function recited in the claim, without introducing any new matter (35 U.S.C. 132(a)).
If applicant is of the opinion that the written description of the specification already implicitly or inherently discloses the corresponding structure, material, or acts and clearly links them to the function so that one of ordinary skill in the art would recognize what structure, material, or acts perform the claimed function, applicant should clarify the record by either:
(a) Amending the written description of the specification such that it expressly recites the corresponding structure, material, or acts for performing the claimed function and clearly links or associates the structure, material, or acts to the claimed function, without introducing any new matter (35 U.S.C. 132(a)); or
(b) Stating on the record what the corresponding structure, material, or acts, which are implicitly or inherently set forth in the written description of the specification, perform the claimed function. For more information, see 37 CFR 1.75(d) and MPEP §§ 608.01(o) and 2181.
Claims 2-3 and 5-7 rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, as failing to comply with the written description requirement. The claim(s) contains subject matter which was not described in the specification in such a way as to reasonably convey to one skilled in the relevant art that the inventor or a joint inventor, or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the inventor(s), at the time the application was filed, had possession of the claimed invention. Claims 2-3 and 5-7 are rejected under this heading in view of the rejection noted above under 35 USC 112(b) and in view of MPEP 2163.03(VI).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 101
Claims 2, 6, 7, 10, and 14-15 rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 because the claimed invention is directed to an abstract idea without significantly more. The claim(s) recite(s) an estimation unit or estimation function which estimates a pattern shape by collating data. This judicial exception is not integrated into a practical application because the addition of the subject matter of dependent claims 2, 6-7, 10, and 14-15 with the subject matter of their parent claims does not alter the or add to the abstract idea presented by the estimation function or step. The estimation function or step corresponds to the abstract idea of a mental process including the collection and organization of information of particular content. The disclosure lacks specificity of what the estimation function/step may include and appears to coincide with the conventional mental process of shape estimation carried out by a human mind which conventionally collects and organizes information to estimate a shape. The claimed subject matter drawn to the abstract idea does not improve the underlying function of a computer or a field of technology. The claim(s) does/do not include additional elements that are sufficient to amount to significantly more than the judicial exception because the other elements of the claim do not interact with the abstract idea other than as a means to supply information upon which the abstract idea is claimed to operate. Therefore, rather than adding significantly more, the abstract idea presented uses the other elements of the claim as a tool for information gathering.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-2 and 6-9 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being clearly anticipated by US Patent Application Publication 2021/0296086.
Regarding claims 1 and 9, ‘086 discloses an apparatus and method for plasma assisted imaging comprising a sample in a sample chamber (124 in chamber 120), observed with a charged particle beam generated by beam source 102 comprising plasma generation means (126, 127) to which a bias is applied [0033-0034] to generate plasma which is guided by for example a nozzle as a guide means [0033-0034] to a sample which is then irradiated with a charged particle beam [0035].
Regarding claim 2, ‘086 further discloses a secondary electron detector 123 in Fig. 1 and an estimation unit corresponding to the computer system 130.
Regarding claim 6-7, ‘086 discloses the apparatus of claim 1 further including a database (memory means) and estimation unit (computer system) in Item 130 (Items 131,132).
Regarding claim 8, ‘086 discloses a plasma generation device in an insulated state in that at least the device is insulated with respect to pressure since the chamber is a controlled vacuum environment.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 4 and 11-13 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
/DAVID A VANORE/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2881