Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of Group I, drawn to a pressure relief cap for a battery module, in the reply filed on March 2nd, 2026 is acknowledged.
Claims 17-20 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected method of venting a battery module, there being no allowable generic or linking claim.
Election was made without traverse in the reply filed on March 2nd, 2026.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102/103
Claims 1-7 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as anticipated by or, in the alternative, under 35 U.S.C. 103 as obvious over Chen (Chinese Patent Publication No. e A), as evidenced by the Merriam Webster definition of “concentric”.
Regarding claim 1, Chen teaches a pressure relief cap (unidirectional gas permeable valve) (Figure 1, Element 60).
The limitation “a pressure relief cap for a battery module” of the instant claim is a recitation of intended use that occurs in the preamble. The use of the product is not germane to the issue of patentability of the product itself, unless Applicant presents evidence from which the examiner could reasonably conclude that the claimed product differs in kind from those of the prior art. Thus, the instant claim requires the pressure relief cap capable of being used in a battery module. See MPEP 2111.02, 2113. However, Chen teaches the pressure relief cape used in a battery module (Paragraph 10).
Chen teaches the pressure relief cap comprising:
a body (lower casing and upper casing) (Paragraph 76) including:
a base portion (Figure 6, Element 61) defining a first thickness;
a first circular projection (Figure 6, Element 614) defining a second thickness, as shown in the annotated Figure below.
Annotated Figure 6 of Chen
Chen teaches the second thickness that is lesser than the first thickness of the base portion (Paragraph 77).
Chen teaches the first circular projection extends orthogonally from the base portion; and a second circular projection extending orthogonally from the base portion, as shown in the annotated Figure below.
Annotated Figure 6 of Chen
The Merriam Webster definition of “concentric” is having a common center. Therefore, as seen in the Figure below, the second circular projection is concentric with the first circular projection, as they are stacked in a concentric manner such that they share a common center.
In the alternative, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to arranged the second circular projection to be concentric with the first circular projection, as suggested by the drawings of Chen.
Regarding claim 2, Chen teaches the pressure relief cap of claim 1, wherein the second circular projection defines a third thickness (outermost annular portion) that is lesser than the second thickness of the first circular projection (Paragraph 77).
Regarding claim 3, Chen teaches the pressure relief cap of claim 1, wherein the first circular projection includes an outer surface having a first surface portion and a second surface portion connected to the first surface portion, wherein the first surface portion extends from the base portion up to the second surface portion, and wherein the first surface portion includes a straight profile and the second surface portion includes a tapering profile, as shown in the annotated Figure below.
The Examiner has interpreted the “tapering profile” limitation of the instant claim as any surface having an angle with respect to the straight profile.
Annotated Figure 6 of Chen
Regarding claim 4, Chen teaches the pressure relief cap of claim 3.
The limitations of:
“the body of the pressure relief cap is adapted to be coupled with the base plate of the battery module”
“the through-opening of the base plate is adapted to receive the first circular projection of the body therein”
“the inner surface of the base plate is adapted to engage with the first surface portion of the first circular projection”
defines the pressure relief cap and battery module by what they do, rather than what they are. This is a functional limitation evaluated in conjunction with the remainder of the claim. See MPEP 2173.05(g).
Furthermore, there does not appear to be a difference between the prior art structure and the structure resulting from the claimed use because Chen teaches features of the structure of the pressure relief cap and the battery module which overlap with those of the instant claim. Since Chen teaches the same structure as disclosed by the Applicant, notably of the body of the pressure relief cap, the through opening of the base plate, and the inner surface of the base plate, the pressure relief cap of Chen would be capable of performing in the manner claimed.
However, the examiner also presents the prior art of Chen teaches the body of the pressure relief cap is adapted to be coupled with a base plate (top cover) (Figure 1, Element 10) of the battery module (Figure 1, Element 1), wherein the base plate includes a through-opening (venting hole) (Figure 1, Element 50) and an inner surface facing the through-opening,
wherein, when the body is coupled with the base plate (one-way venting valve mounted in the venting opening), the through-opening of the base plate is adapted to receive the first circular projection of the body therein (Paragraphs 73-74), as shown in the annotated Figure below.
Annotated Figure 4 of Chen
Further, Chen teaches that when the body is coupled with the base plate (one-way venting valve mounted in the venting opening), the inner surface of the base plate is adapted to engage with the first surface portion of the first circular projection.
Annotated Figures 4 and 6 of Chen
Regarding claim 5, Chen teaches the pressure relief cap of claim 4.
The limitation of “the first circular projection is adapted to be coupled with the base plate via a friction fit” defines the pressure relief cap by what it does, rather than what it is. This is a functional limitation, and therefore was evaluated in conjunction with the remainder of claim. See MPEP 2173.05(g).
Chen teaches the claimed structure as stated in the above rejection, particularly the first circular portion coupled with the base plate, and therefore would be capable of performing in the manner claimed.
Regarding claim 6, Chen teaches the pressure relief cap of claim 4.
The limitation of “the second circular projection is adapted to be coupled with the base plate via an interference fit.” defines the pressure relief cap by what it does, rather than what it is. This is a functional limitation, and therefore was evaluated in conjunction with the remainder of claim. See MPEP 2173.05(g).
Chen teaches the claimed structure as stated in the above rejection, particularly the second circular portion coupled with the base plate, and therefore would be capable of performing in the manner claimed.
Regarding claim 7, Chen teaches the pressure relief cap of claim 4.
The limitation of “the circular groove is adapted to receive the second circular projection of the body” defines the base plate by what it does, rather than what it is. This is a functional limitation, and therefore was evaluated in conjunction with the remainder of claim. See MPEP 2173.05(g).
Chen teaches the claimed structure as stated in the above rejection, particularly the base plate having a circular groove and the body coupled with the base plate, and therefore would be capable of performing in the manner claimed.
However, the Examiner also presents that Chen teaches the base plate has a circular groove. The pressure relief cap, as seen in Figure 6 of Chen, is circular and therefore when inserted into the venting hole of Chen, the ordinary artisan would recognize that the groove of the venting hole in the base plate of Chen, as shown below, is necessarily circular to engage with the pressure relief cap in order to established the air-tight battery as desired by Chen (Paragraph 67).
Further, Chen teaches when the body is coupled with the base plate, the circular groove is adapted to receive the second circular projection of the body therein, as shown in the annotated Figure below.
Annotated Figure 4 of Chen
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 8 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Chen as applied to claims 1-7 above, and further in view of Buskirk (U.S. Patent Publication No. 2896007 A).
Regarding claim 8, Chen teaches the pressure relief cap of claim 1.
Chen does not teach the body is made of a thermoplastic material.
However, Buskirk discloses vent caps for storage battery cells (Column 1, Lines 15-20) which permit relief of excess pressure of gases by emitting them from the cells (Column 1, Lines 45-55). Buskirk teaches that the vent caps are preferably made of a resilient material, such as polyethylene or other plastics which are acid resistant, do not harden appreciably, and can be snap fitted or forced into a filler hole opening of the cell cover in order to seal it against leakage of electrolyte (Column 1, Lines 58-65).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the body of the pressure relief cap of Chen to incorporate the teachings of Buskirk in which the body is made of polyethylene. Doing so would advantageously result in resilient properties of the cap, including the prevention against hardening and the ability to snap fit the vent cap into an opening of the cell cover in order to prevent leaks of the electrolyte, as recognized by Buskirk.
Claims 5-6 are alternately rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Chen as applied to claims 1-7 above, and further in view of Zukor (U.S. Patent No. 7357709 B2).
Regarding claim 5, Chen teaches the pressure relief cap of claim 4.
As discussed above and shown in the annotated Figure below, Chen teaches the first circular projection is coupled with the base plate.
Annotated Figures 4 and 6 of Chen
In the event that the structure of the pressure relief cap of Chen is not found to have the necessary structure to be adapted to be coupled with the base plate via a friction fit, an alternate rejection of Chen in view of Zukor is presented below.
Zukor discloses vents useful in a variety of applications, including electrical component housings in order to equalize pressure between the housing interior and the surrounding environment (Column , Lines 5-10). Zukor teaches an embodiment of the invention including a housing, a port in the housing, and a vent disposed over the port (Column 2, Lines 10-15). Zukor teaches the vent includes a body and shell, which are assembled using only an interference fit (Column 2, Lines 60-67), which provides a rugged and durable vent that avoids the use of sealants and adhesives, which may degrade over time (Column 3, Lines 1-3). Zukor teaches that in the method of securing the interference fit, a friction fitting may be used (Column 5, Lines 5-10). Zukor solves a similar problem as the claimed invention, namely relieving pressure in a housing via a vent installed in an opening of the housing.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the coupling of the first circular projection and the base plate of Cheng to incorporate the teachings of Zukor in which the coupling is an interference fit, specifically a friction fit. Doing so would advantageously result in a rugged and durable pressure relief cap that avoids the use of sealants and adhesives to secure the first circular projection to the base plate, which may degrade overtime, as recognized by Zukor.
Regarding claim 6, Chen teaches the pressure relief cap of claim 4.
As discussed above and shown in the annotated Figure below, Chen teaches the second circular projection is coupled with the base plate.
Annotated Figure 4 of Chen
In the event that the structure of the pressure relief cap of Chen is not found to have the necessary structure to be adapted to be coupled with the base plate via an interference fit, an alternate rejection of Chen in view of Zukor is presented below.
As discussed above, Zukor discloses vents useful in a variety of applications, including electrical component housings in order to equalize pressure between the housing interior and the surrounding environment (Column , Lines 5-10). Zukor teaches the vent included in the housing including a body and shell, which are assembled using only an interference fit (Column 2, Lines 60-67), which provides a rugged and durable vent that avoids the use of sealants and adhesives, which may degrade over time (Column 3, Lines 1-3). Zukor solves a similar problem as the claimed invention, namely relieving pressure in a housing via a vent installed in an opening of the housing.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the coupling of the second circular projection and the base plate of Cheng to incorporate the teachings of Zukor in which the coupling is an interference fit. Doing so would advantageously result in a rugged and durable pressure relief cap that avoids the use of sealants and adhesives to secure the second circular projection to the base plate, which may degrade overtime, as recognized by Zukor.
Claims 9-12, 15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Chen as applied to claims 1-4, 7 above, and further in view of Huang (U.S. Patent Publication No. 20240039109 A1) and Lee (U.S. Patent Publication No. 20240274859 A1).
Regarding claim 9, Chen teaches a battery module (Figure 1, Element 1) comprising a housing (shell) (Figure 1, Element 200) including a first end plate (top cover assembly) (Figure 1, Element 100) defining a first end of the battery module, as seen in the annotated Figure below.
Chen teaches the housing to house and enclose the electrode assembly (Paragraph 27), wherein the top cover has a size and shape that matches the opening of the housing (Paragraph 56). Therefore, the ordinary artisan can imagine that the housing of Chen includes a second end plate defining a second end of the battery module opposite the first end, a first side plate coupled to the first end plate and the second end plate, and a second side plate opposite the first side plate, the second side plate being coupled to the first end plate and the second end plate, as illustrated in the annotated Figure below, further meeting the instant claimed limitations.
Annotated Figures 1 and 2 of Chen
As discussed above in the rejection of claim 1, Chen teaches:
a pressure relief cap for a battery module, the pressure relief cap comprising:
a body including:
a base portion defining a first thickness;
a first circular projection defining a second thickness that is lesser than the first thickness of the base portion, wherein the first circular projection extends orthogonally from the base portion; and
a second circular projection extending orthogonally from the base portion, wherein the second circular projection is concentric with the first circular projection, as seen in the annotated Figure below:
Annotated Figure 6 of Chen
Chen teaches a base plate (top cover) (Figure 1, Element 10) coupled to the first end plate (Figure 1, Element 100). As discussed above in the rejection of claim 4, Chen teaches the base plate includes a through-opening (venting hole) (Figure 1, Element 50) and an inner surface facing the through-opening, wherein the pressure relief cap is coupled with the base plate as shown in the annotated Figure below.
Annotated Figure 4 of Chen
Chen teaches that the pressure relief cap (one-way venting valve) is airtight (Paragraph 76) and that the airtightness of the battery is desirably ensured via the cover plate (Paragraph 67). As Chen teaches the pressure relief cap is mounted to the cover plate assembly (first end plate) which is mounted to the housing, Chen is considered to teach the pressure relief cap forming a third substantially fluid-tight seal with the first end plate or it would have been obvious for the pressure relief cap to form a third substantially fluid-tight seal with the first end plate in order to establish an air tight battery, as taught by Chen.
Chen is silent as to a plurality of battery cells secured within the housing between the first end plate, the second end plate, the first side plate, and the second side plate.
However, Lee discloses a cell assembly including a plurality of electrode assemblies (Paragraph 0017), each electrode assembly comprising a cathode sheet, separator, and an anode sheet wound together (Paragraph 0012). Lee teaches a pouch exterior material formed to surround the outer circumference of the cell assembly (Paragraph 0012), further including a cap coupled to an open end of the pouch exterior material (Paragraph 0019). Lee teaches that when cell assembly, comprising a plurality of electrode assemblies are comprised in the pouch exterior material, the energy density is improved (Paragraph 0051).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the electrode assembly of Chen to incorporate the cell assembly of Lee, such that the top cover assembly and housing of Chen which enclose the electrode assembly enclose a cell assembly comprising a plurality of electrode assemblies (battery cells). Doing so would advantageously result in improved energy density, as recognized by Lee.
Chen is silent as to a cover surrounding the plurality of battery cells, the cover forming a first substantially fluid-tight seal with the first end plate and a second substantially fluid-tight seal with the second end plate.
However, Huang discloses a battery housing structure (Paragraph 0002). Huang teaches the battery housing structure to hold at least one battery cell, the housing structure having a tubular structure configured to accommodate the battery cell. Huang teaches end plates (Figure 3, Element 220; Figure 5, Element 220) which are mounted to the housing (cover) (Figure 3, Element 210) to form an accommodation space (Paragraph 0007). Huang teaches a sealing element disposed between the end plate and the housing so that the accommodation space is hermetically sealed (Paragraph 0007). Huang teaches the housing functions as a protective shell disposed outside the battery to protect it from collisions and impact (Paragraph 0086).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the battery module of Chen to incorporate the teachings of Huang in which a cover (housing having a tubular structure) surrounds the plurality of battery cells and forms a first substantially fluid-tight seal with the first end plate and a second substantially fluid-tight seal with the second end plate. Doing so would advantageously result in additional protection of the battery against external collisions and impact, as recognized by Huang.
The limitation “the pressure relief cap is adapted to disengage from the base plate upon an internal pressure within the battery module exceeding a pressure threshold” defines the pressure relief cap by what it does, rather than what it is. This is a functional limitation, and therefore was evaluated in conjunction with the remainder of claim 9. Chen teaches the claimed structure as stated in the above rejection, and therefore would be capable of performing in the manner claimed.
Regarding claim 10, Chen teaches the battery module of claim 9, wherein the second circular projection defines a third thickness (outermost annular portion) that is lesser than the second thickness of the first circular projection (Paragraph 77).
Regarding claim 11, Chen teaches the battery module of claim 9, wherein the first circular projection includes an outer surface having a first surface portion and a second surface portion connected to the first surface portion, wherein the first surface portion extends from the base portion up to the second surface portion, and wherein the first surface portion includes a straight profile and the second surface portion includes a tapering profile, as shown in the annotated Figure below.
The Examiner has interpreted the “tapering profile” limitation of the instant claim as any surface having an angle with respect to the straight profile.
Annotated Figure 6 of Chen
Regarding claim 12, Chen teaches the battery module of claim 11, wherein the through-opening of the base plate receives the first circular projection of the body therein (Paragraphs 73-74), and wherein the inner surface of the base plate engages with the first surface portion of the first circular projection, as shown in the annotated Figures below.
Annotated Figure 4 of Chen
Annotated Figures 4 and 6 of Chen
Regarding claim 15, Chen teaches the battery module of claim 9, wherein the base plate has a circular groove that receives the second circular projection of the body therein, as shown in the annotated Figure below.
The pressure relief cap, as seen in Figure 6 of Chen, is circular and therefore when inserted into the venting hole of Chen, the ordinary artisan would recognize that the groove of the venting hole in the base plate of Chen, as shown below, is necessarily circular to engage with the pressure relief cap in order to established the air-tight battery as desired by Chen (Paragraph 67).
Annotated Figure 4 of Chen
Claims 13-14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Chen in view of Huang and Lee as applied to claims 9-12, 15 above, and further in view of Zukor (U.S. Patent No. 7357709 B2).
Regarding claim 13, Chen teaches the battery module of claim 9, wherein the first circular projection is coupled with the base plate, as discussed above and shown in the annotated Figure below.
Annotated Figures 4 and 6 of Chen
Chen is silent as to the first circular projection coupled with the base plate via a friction fit.
Zukor discloses vents useful in a variety of applications, including electrical component housings in order to equalize pressure between the housing interior and the surrounding environment (Column , Lines 5-10). Zukor teaches an embodiment of the invention including a housing, a port in the housing, and a vent disposed over the port (Column 2, Lines 10-15). Zukor teaches the vent includes a body and shell, which are assembled using only an interference fit (Column 2, Lines 60-67), which provides a rugged and durable vent that avoids the use of sealants and adhesives, which may degrade over time (Column 3, Lines 1-3). Zukor teaches that in the method of securing the interference fit, a friction fitting may be used (Column 5, Lines 5-10). Zukor solves a similar problem as the claimed invention, namely relieving pressure in a housing via a vent installed in an opening of the housing.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the coupling of the first circular projection and the base plate of Cheng to incorporate the teachings of Zukor in which the coupling is an interference fit, specifically a friction fit. Doing so would advantageously result in a rugged and durable pressure relief cap that avoids the use of sealants and adhesives to secure the first circular projection to the base plate, which may degrade overtime, as recognized by Zukor.
Regarding claim 14, Chen teaches the battery module of claim 9, wherein the second circular projection is coupled with the base plate, as discussed above and shown in the annotated Figure below.
Annotated Figure 4 of Chen
Chen is silent as to the second circular projection coupled to the base plate via an interference fit.
However, as discussed above, Zukor discloses vents useful in a variety of applications, including electrical component housings in order to equalize pressure between the housing interior and the surrounding environment (Column , Lines 5-10). Zukor teaches the vent included in the housing including a body and shell, which are assembled using only an interference fit (Column 2, Lines 60-67), which provides a rugged and durable vent that avoids the use of sealants and adhesives, which may degrade over time (Column 3, Lines 1-3). Zukor solves a similar problem as the claimed invention, namely relieving pressure in a housing via a vent installed in an opening of the housing.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the coupling of the second circular projection and the base plate of Cheng to incorporate the teachings of Zukor in which the coupling is an interference fit. Doing so would advantageously result in a rugged and durable pressure relief cap that avoids the use of sealants and adhesives to secure the second circular projection to the base plate, which may degrade overtime, as recognized by Zukor.
Claim 16 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Chen in view of Huang and Lee as applied to claims 9-12, 15 above, and further in view of Buskirk.
Regarding claim 16, Chen teaches the battery module of claim 9.
Chen does not teach the body is made of a thermoplastic material.
However, as discussed above, Buskirk discloses vent caps for storage battery cells (Column 1, Lines 15-20) which permit relief of excess pressure of gases by emitting them from the cells (Column 1, Lines 45-55). Buskirk teaches that the vent caps are preferably made of a resilient material, such as polyethylene or other plastics which are acid resistant, do not harden appreciably, and can be snap fitted or forced into a filler hole opening of the cell cover in order to seal it against leakage of electrolyte (Column 1, Lines 58-65).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the body of the pressure relief cap of Chen to incorporate the teachings of Buskirk in which the body is made of polyethylene. Doing so would advantageously result in resilient properties of the cap, including the prevention against hardening and the ability to snap fit the vent cap into an opening of the cell cover in order to prevent leaks of the electrolyte, as recognized by Buskirk.
Conclusion
/O.A.J./Examiner, Art Unit 1789
/MARLA D MCCONNELL/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1789