DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1 and 3 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Mori (US 2015/0158137, previously cited) in view of Nakajima (JP 2020-114072, see provided machine translation).
Regarding claim 1, Mori teaches a grinding apparatus used at a time of grinding a workpiece, the grinding apparatus comprising: a chuck table (31) that has a holding surface (fig 2; upper surface) for holding the workpiece (described in [0057]); a grinding unit that has a spindle (42) to which a grinding wheel (44) in which a plurality of grindstones (442; fig 11) are arrayed in an annular shape ([0062]) is mounted (fig 2); and an exterior cover (2 fig 1) that includes an opening facing the grinding unit and a door capable of covering the opening (not shown in figures, but described [0039]) and having an inner surface that covers both the chuck table and the grinding unit (as shown in fig 1, the chuck table and grinding unit are covered by cover 2 which includes door as described [0039]).
Mori does not teach a work bench fixed to an inner surface of the door having a plate which can be in a folded position and extended position. Nakajima teaches an apparatus (the teachings of Nakajima are pertinent to the problem addressed by applicant, which is providing a location to place tools) including a work bench (15; fig 3) fixedly attached to an inner surface of a door (3) and having a plate being positioned in a folded position (position shown by dotted line in fig 3), where a distal end of the plate is in contact with the door (upper end in contact with door 3 as shown in fig 3 and described [0022]), when the door is in a closed state in which the opening is covered by the door to prevent interference with the interior of the housing and being positioned in an extended position, where the plate is perpendicular to the door and the distal end is not in contact with the door, when the door is in an opened state in which the opening is exposed (the state shown by solid lines in fig 3). It would have been obvious for a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to include the work bench of Nakajima on the inner surface of the door of Mori which faces the grinding unit, as this provides a convenient place to place tools for maintenance as taught by Nakajima ([0022]).
Regarding claim 3, Mori, as modified by Nakajima, teaches all the limitations of claim 1 as described above. Nakajima further teaches the work bench (included in the apparatus of Mori as described in the rejection of claim 1 above) further includes a coupling member (16) attached to the door and coupled to the plate (shown in fig 3), wherein the plate is rotated about the coupling member to move from the folded position to the extended position (as indicated by arcing arrow in fig 3; [0022]).
Claim(s) 2 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Mori and Nakajima as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Jackson (US 3210893, previously cited).
Regarding claim 1, Mori, as modified, teaches all the limitations of claim 1 as described above. Mori does not teach a shelf on the inner surface of the door configured to receive a case that houses a replacement grinding wheel. Jackson teaches a grinding apparatus including a shelf (62) on the inner surface of a door (12; shown in fig 2), wherein the shelf is configured to receive a case (elements 63) that houses a replacement grinding wheel (61; note that the case and replacement grinding wheel are not positively recited as a part of the claimed apparatus). It would have been obvious for a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to include a shelf on the inner surface of the door of Mori, as this provides storage for a spare grinding wheel as taught by Jackson (col 3, lines 56-62).
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 19 Jan 2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. Regarding claim 1 and its dependents, applicant argues that Mori and Robinson to not teach the claimed work bench with the folded and extended positions. However, as detailed above, the newly cited Nakajima reference renders such a work bench obvious.
Applicant’s amendments have overcome the previous rejection under 112b.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/MARCEL T DION/Examiner, Art Unit 3723
/BRIAN D KELLER/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3723