DETAILED ACTION
This action is responsive to the following communications: the Amendment filed 2/10/2026.
Claims 1-20 are pending.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statements (IDS) submitted on 6/5/2024 and 10/22/2024 are in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statements are being considered by the examiner.
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of Species I in the reply filed on 2/10/2026 is acknowledged.
Claims 6-7 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected Species, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Note, claim 7 is withdrawn for being dependent on withdrawn claim 6. Election was made without traverse in the reply filed on 2/1/2026.
Drawings
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a). The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims. Therefore, the claimed subject matter of claim 19 must be shown or the feature(s) canceled from the claim(s). For example, claim 19 recites the limitation “wherein the metal via extends laterally beyond respective edges of the through-via, and the metal via physically contacts the dielectric isolation layer”, which does not appear to be shown in the Drawings of the current application. As shown in Figures 5-7 and 9-14 of the Drawings it appears that the metal via 40 does not extend beyond the respective edges of though-via 16 and does not physically contact the dielectric isolation layer 38. No new matter should be entered.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 17 and 19-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Yu et al. (US 2021/0225809 A1, hereinafter “Yu”).
Regarding independent claim 17, Yu discloses a method comprising:
forming a package comprising:
forming a first redistribution structure 210 (“interconnect device”- ¶0020) (see Fig. 2B); and
bonding a device die 100 (“peripheral device”- ¶0016) over the first redistribution structure 210 (see Fig. 3A), wherein the device die 100 comprises:
a semiconductor substrate 102 (“semiconductor substrate”- ¶0016);
an integrated circuit 104 (“devices”- ¶0017) at a front surface of the semiconductor substrate 102;
a dielectric isolation layer 110 (specifically the “dielectric layers of interconnect structure 110”- ¶0017) contacting a back surface of the semiconductor substrate 102;
a through-via 112 (“through-vias”- ¶0018) penetrating through the semiconductor substrate 102 and the dielectric isolation layer 110; and
a metal via 108 (“pads…metal”- ¶0019) contacting the through-via 112, since 108 indirectly contacts 112; and
forming a second redistribution structure 316 (“metallization pattern”- ¶0029) over the device die, 100 wherein the second redistribution structure 316 is electrically connected to the first redistribution structure 210 through the through-via 112 (¶0029) (see Fig. 3D).
Regarding claim 19, Yu discloses wherein the metal via 108 extends laterally beyond respective edges of the through-via 112, and the metal via 108 physically contacts the dielectric isolation layer 110 (see Fig. 3D).
Regarding claim 20, Yu discloses wherein the dielectric isolation layer 110 comprises an inorganic dielectric material (i.e., silicon oxide) (¶0017).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 1-5 and 8-16 are allowed.
Regarding independent claim 1, Yu discloses a method comprising:
bonding a composite die 100 (“peripheral device”- ¶0016) on a redistribution structure 210 (“interconnect device”- ¶0020) (see Fig. 3A), wherein the composite die 100 comprises:
a device die (i.e., “integrated circuit die”- ¶0016) comprising:
a semiconductor substrate 102 (“semiconductor substrate”- ¶0016); and
a through-semiconductor via 112 (“through-vias”- ¶0018) penetrating through the semiconductor substrate 102;
a metal via 108 (“pads…metal”- ¶0019) at a surface of the device die; and
encapsulating the composite die 100 in an encapsulant 310 (“dielectric material”- ¶0027) (see Fig. 3B);
performing a planarization process on the composite die 100 and the encapsulant 310 (¶0028) (see Fig. 3C); and
forming a conductive feature 316 (“metallization pattern”- ¶0029) electrically coupling to the metal via 108 (see Fig. 3D).
Yu does not expressly disclose a sacrificial carrier attached to the device die and wherein the sacrificial carrier is removed to reveal the metal via.
Thus, regarding independent claim 1, the claim is allowed, because the prior art of record including Yu, either singularly or in combination, does not disclose or suggest the combination of limitations including, but not limited to, “a sacrificial carrier attached to the device die” and “performing a planarization process on the composite die and the encapsulant, wherein the sacrificial carrier is removed to reveal the metal via”.
Claims 2-5 and 8-11 are allowed as being dependent on allowed claim 1.
Regarding independent claim 12, Tsou et al. (US 2021/0375768 A1, hereinafter “Tsou”) discloses a method comprising:
forming a device wafer 300 (“wafer”- ¶0039) comprising:
performing a backside grinding process on a backside of a semiconductor substrate 410 (“silicon substrate”- ¶0029), so that a through-via 414 (“via structures”- ¶0029) is revealed from the backside of the semiconductor substrate 410 (¶0037) (see Figs. 1C-1D);
recessing the semiconductor substrate 410 from the backside, wherein a portion of the through-via 414 protrudes out of the semiconductor substrate 410 (¶0038) (see Figs. 1D-1E);
forming a dielectric isolation layer 431 (“insulating layer”- ¶0039) on a back surface of the semiconductor substrate 410, wherein the through-via 414 is revealed through the dielectric isolation layer 431 (see Fig. 1F);
forming a metal via 438 (“metal pads”- ¶0041) contacting the through-via 414 (see Fig. 1F); and
forming a dielectric layer 432 (“dielectric material”- ¶0040), wherein the metal via 438 is in the dielectric layer 432 (see Fig. 1F).
Tsou does not expressly disclose attaching a sacrificial carrier to the device wafer to form a composite wafer and sawing the composite wafer into a plurality of composite dies, wherein the sacrificial carrier is also sawed as sacrificial dies.
Thus, regarding independent claim 12, the claim is allowed, because the prior art of record including Tsou, either singularly or in combination, does not disclose or suggest the combination of limitations including, but not limited to, “attaching a sacrificial carrier to the device wafer to form a composite wafer” and “sawing the composite wafer into a plurality of composite dies, wherein the sacrificial carrier is also sawed as sacrificial dies”.
Claims 13-16 are allowed as being dependent on allowed claim 12.
Claim 18 is objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Regarding claim 18, the prior art of record including Yu and/or Tsou, either singularly or in combination, does not disclose or suggest the combination of limitations including, but not limited to, “[the method]… comprising: encapsulating the device die in an encapsulant, wherein when the device die is encapsulated, the device die is attached to a sacrificial carrier; and polishing the encapsulant, wherein the sacrificial carrier is removed during the polishing”.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure:
Chen et al. (US 2021/0134704 A1), which discloses a method of forming a semiconductor package comprising forming through vias in a device die.
/JAY C CHANG/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2817