DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election of Group 1 and Species (a) in the reply filed on April 29th, 2026 is acknowledged. Because applicant did not distinctly and specifically point out the supposed errors in the restriction requirement, the election has been treated as an election without traverse (MPEP § 818.01(a)).
Claims 4, and 20 withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected Group and/or species, there being no allowable generic or linking claim.
Claim Objections
Claim 11 is objected to because of the following informalities:
Claim 11 recites “a ratio of area of the hole to area of the second welding zone” in Lines 1-2 and should read --a ratio of an area of the hole to an area of the second welding zone--.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 1 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 1 recites the limitation "the pole" in Line 3. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim 10 recites the limitation "the stress relief portion" in Line 3. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. The examiner will interpret claim 10 as depending from claim 7.
Claims 1-3, and 5-19 are rejected as they depend from claim 1.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-3, 5-6 and 18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lei et al. (CN209401759(U) and using Machine Translation as English version), hereinafter Lei, in view of Cheng et al. (CN205985164 (U) and using Machine Translation as English version as cited in IDS), hereinafter Cheng.
Regarding claim 1, Lei discloses a top cover assembly of a battery comprising:
a top cover plate (i.e., at least top cover assembly ref. 7 includes top cover plate ref. 71 as shown in Fig. 1 and disclosed in at least [0064], also see [0062]);
poles disposed on the top cover plate (i.e., at least first electrode terminal ref. 72 and the second electrode terminal ref. 73 disposed on the top cover plate ref. 71 as shown in Fig. 1 and disclosed in at least [0064]),
wherein a pole comprises a first welding zone (i.e., at least as disclosed in [0094] and shown in Fig. 7, whereby the adapter piece ref. 8 includes a first part ref. 81, a second part ref. 82 and a third part ref. 83, whereby a protrusion is formed on the third part ref. 83 by stamping, and the protrusion is welded to the first electrode terminal ref. 72, etc., also see [0076]-[0077], [0079]-[0080]); and
adapting pieces configured to be electrically connected to the poles (i.e., at least as disclosed in [0094] and shown in Fig. 7, whereby the adapter piece ref. 8 includes a first part ref. 81, a second part ref. 82 and a third part ref. 83, whereby a protrusion is formed on the third part ref. 83 by stamping, and the protrusion is welded to the first electrode terminal ref. 72, etc., also see [0076]-[0077], [0079]-[0080]),
wherein the adapting piece comprises a second welding zone (at least as disclosed in [0094] and shown in Fig. 7, whereby the adapter piece ref. 8 includes a first part ref. 81, a second part ref. 82 and a third part ref. 83, whereby a protrusion is formed on the third part ref. 83 by stamping, and the protrusion is welded to the first electrode terminal ref. 72, etc., also see [0076]-[0077], [0079]-[0080]), and
the second welding zone is configured to be correspondingly welded to the first welding zone to implement electrical connection (at least as disclosed in [0094] and shown in Fig. 7, whereby the adapter piece ref. 8 includes a first part ref. 81, a second part ref. 82 and a third part ref. 83, whereby a protrusion is formed on the third part ref. 83 by stamping, and the protrusion is welded to the first electrode terminal ref. 72, etc., also see [0076]-[0077], [0079]-[0080]).
However, Lei is silent as to both the first welding zone and the second welding zone are disposed obliquely with respect to a plane in which the top cover plate is located.
Cheng teaches a connection structure of power battery utmost point post and switching piece (Title). Cheng further teaches poles (i.e., at least Par. [26-35], Figs. 1-2, 4-5), wherein the pole(s) (i.e., at least as shown in Figs. 1-2, ref. 1, also see refs. 11-12) comprises a first welding zone (i.e., at least groove ref. 3 as shown in Figs. 1-2); and
adapting pieces configured to be electrically connected to the poles (i.e., at least as shown in Fig. 1 and Figs. 3-5, ref. 2 with protrusions refs. 21 (ref. 212), such that said ref. 2 is at least configured to be electrically connected to said pole(s) so as to ensure the stability of ref. 2 and pole ref. 1 connecting structure, so as to improve welding efficiency, etc. as disclosed in at least Page 3:P13), wherein the adapting piece comprises a second welding zone (i.e., at least ref. 2 provided with protrusions ref. 21, etc., as shown in at least Figs. 1 and 3-5, also see refs. 211-212), and the second welding zone is configured to be correspondingly welded to the first welding zone to implement electrical connection (at least as shown in Fig. 1 and Figs. 3-5, ref. 2 with protrusions refs. 21 (ref. 212), such that said ref. 2 is at least configured to be electrically connected to said pole(s) so as to ensure the stability of ref. 2 and pole ref. 1 connecting structure, so as to improve welding efficiency, etc. as disclosed in at least Page 3:P13, and such that projection(s) ref. 21 are closely coupled to groove ref. 3 by way of welding as discussed in at least Page 3:P12).
Cheng further teaches both the first welding zone and the second welding zone are disposed obliquely with respect to a plane (e.g. horizontal plane) (i.e., at least as disclosed in Figs. 3-5 and Page 3:P14-16 ref. 21 cross section shape is in “Λ”, and the cross-sections of groove ref. 3 is in “V”-shaped, etc.).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to have modified Lei with the teachings of Cheng, whereby the top cover assembly of a battery including the top cover plate, poles, first/second welding zone(s), adapting piece, etc., as disclosed by Lei further includes a first welding zone and the second welding zone are disposed obliquely with respect to a plane in which the top cover plate is located as taught by Cheng so as to so as to ensure the stability of the pole and connecting structure, thereby improving welding efficiency, such that projection(s) are closely coupled to groove(s) by way of welding, etc.
Regarding claim 2, Lei and Cheng discloses the top cover assembly as discussed above in claim 1. Lei further discloses the pole is of an axisymmetric structure (i.e., at least as shown in Figs. 1-3, etc.).
However, Lei is silent as to the first welding zone and the second welding zone are disposed symmetrically with respect to an axis of the pole.
Cheng teaches in the Abstract and Page 3:P13 and Page 3:P12 ref. 2 is at least configured to be electrically connected to said pole(s) so as to ensure the stability of ref. 2 and pole ref. 1 connecting structure, so as to improve welding efficiency, etc., such that projection(s) ref. 21 are closely coupled to groove ref. 3 by way of welding, etc., and whereby as discussed above in claim 1, both the first welding zone and the second welding zone are disposed obliquely with respect to a plane (e.g. horizontal plane) (i.e., at least as disclosed in Figs. 3-5 and Page 3:P14-16 ref. 21 cross section shape is in “Λ”, and the cross-sections of groove ref. 3 is in “V”-shaped, etc.), such that as shown in at least Fig. 4 this at least provides the first welding zone and the second welding zone are disposed symmetrically with respect to an axis of the pole so as to be cross section shape is in “Λ”, and the cross-sections of groove ref. 3 is in “V”-shaped, etc., and lacking any further distinction thereof.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to have modified the combined teachings of Lei and Cheng further with the teachings of Cheng, whereby the top cover assembly of a battery including the top cover plate, poles, first/second welding zone(s), adapting piece, etc., as disclosed by Lei further includes the first welding zone and the second welding zone are disposed symmetrically with respect to an axis of the pole as taught by Cheng so as to so as to ensure the stability of the pole and connecting structure, thereby improving welding efficiency, such that projection(s) are closely coupled to groove(s) by way of welding, etc.
Regarding claim 3, Lei and Cheng discloses the top cover assembly as discussed above in claim 1. Lei further discloses the pole comprises a first protruding portion (i.e., at least as shown in Figs. 2-3, such that the skilled artisan would appreciate that said pole at least provides a protruding portion so that as disclosed in [0094] and shown in Fig. 7, the adapter piece ref. 8 includes a first part ref. 81, a second part ref. 82 and a third part ref. 83, whereby a protrusion is formed on the third part ref. 83 by stamping, and the protrusion is welded to the first electrode terminal ref. 72, etc., also see [0076]-[0077], [0079]-[0080]).
However, Lei is silent as to the pole comprises a first protruding portion that protrudes toward the inside of the battery, and the first welding zone is located in at least part of the first protruding portion; and the adapting piece comprises a second recessed portion that mates with the first protruding portion, and the second welding zone is located in a zone of the second recessed portion that corresponds to the first welding zone.
Cheng further teaches the pole comprises a first protruding portion that protrudes toward the inside of the battery, and the first welding zone is located in at least part of the first protruding portion; and the adapting piece comprises a second recessed portion that mates with the first protruding portion, and the second welding zone is located in a zone of the second recessed portion that corresponds to the first welding zone (i.e., at least as shown in Annotated Fig. 1), such that both the first welding zone and the second welding zone are disposed obliquely with respect to a plane (e.g. horizontal plane) (i.e., at least as disclosed in Figs. 3-5 and Page 3:P14-16 ref. 21 cross section shape is in “Λ”, and the cross-sections of groove ref. 3 is in “V”-shaped, etc.), and whereby as shown in at least Fig. 4 this at least provides the adapting piece comprises a second recessed portion that mates with the first protruding portion, and the second welding zone is located in a zone of the second recessed portion that corresponds to the first welding zone so as to be cross section shape is in “Λ”, and the cross-sections of groove ref. 3 is in “V”-shaped, etc., and lacking any further distinction thereof.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to have modified the combined teachings of Lei and Cheng further with the teachings of Cheng, whereby the top cover assembly of a battery including the top cover plate, poles, first/second welding zone(s), adapting piece, etc., as disclosed by Lei further includes the pole comprises a first protruding portion that protrudes toward the inside of the battery, and the first welding zone is located in at least part of the first protruding portion; and the adapting piece comprises a second recessed portion that mates with the first protruding portion, and the second welding zone is located in a zone of the second recessed portion that corresponds to the first welding zone taught by Cheng so as to so as to ensure the stability of the pole and connecting structure, thereby improving welding efficiency, such that projection(s) are closely coupled to groove(s) by way of welding, etc.
Annotated Figure 1 (Cheng)
Regarding claim 5, Lei and Cheng discloses the top cover assembly as discussed above in claim 3. However, Lei is silent as to the second recessed portion or the second protruding portion is a hollow frustum structure or a hollow taper structure, wherein the hollow frustum structure or the hollow taper structure is symmetrical with respect to the axis of the pole, and the second welding zone is located in at least part of a side surface of the hollow frustum structure or the hollow taper structure.
Cheng further teaches the second recessed portion or the second protruding portion is at least a hollow taper structure, wherein the hollow taper structure is symmetrical with respect to the axis of the pole, and the second welding zone is located in at least part of a side surface of the hollow taper structure (i.e., at least as shown in at least Annotated Fig. 4 below), such that the skilled artisan would appreciate that said portion(s) are at least a hollow taper structure so that both the first welding zone and the second welding zone are disposed obliquely with respect to a plane (e.g. horizontal plane) (i.e., at least as disclosed in Figs. 3-5 and Page 3:P14-16 ref. 21 cross section shape is in “Λ”, and the cross-sections of groove ref. 3 is in “V”-shaped, etc.), etc., and so as to ensure the stability of ref. 2 and pole ref. 1 connecting structure, thereby improving welding efficiency, etc., as disclosed in at least Page 3:P13, and such that projection(s) ref. 21 are closely coupled to groove ref. 3 by way of welding as discussed in at least Page 3:P12, and lacking any further distinction thereof.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to have modified the combined teachings of Lei and Cheng further with the teachings of Cheng, whereby the top cover assembly of a battery including the top cover plate, poles, first/second welding zone(s), adapting piece, etc., as disclosed by Lei further includes the pole comprises a first protruding portion that protrudes toward the inside of the battery, and the first welding zone is located in at least part of the first protruding portion; and the adapting piece comprises a second recessed portion that mates with the first protruding portion, and the second welding zone is located in a zone of the second recessed portion that corresponds to the first welding zone taught by Cheng so as to so as to ensure the stability of the pole and connecting structure, thereby improving welding efficiency, such that projection(s) are closely coupled to groove(s) by way of welding, etc.
Annotated Figure 4 (Cheng)
Regarding claim 6, Lei and Cheng discloses the top cover assembly as discussed above in claim 5. Although the combined teachings of Lei and Cheng are silent as to an axial section of the hollow frustum structure or the hollow taper structure has a base angle of less than 20°, since Cheng teaches in in Figs. 3-5 and Page 3:P14-17 ref. 21 cross section shape is in “Λ”, and the cross-sections of groove ref. 3 is in “V”-shaped, etc., and further teaches the cross-sectional shape of projection ref. 21 and groove ref. 3 may be arranged as other shapes, and can be set according to actual requirements so as to be mutually matched, etc., the skilled artisan would appreciate changes in size/proportion and/or shape are a matter of obvious engineering choice so as to ensure the stability of the pole and connecting structure, thereby improving welding efficiency, such that projection(s) are closely coupled to groove(s) by way of welding, etc.
Regarding claim 18, Lei and Cheng discloses the top cover assembly as discussed above in claim 1. Lei further discloses a battery comprising a battery cell (i.e., at least secondary battery as disclosed in at least [0007], [0011], etc., and lacking any further distinction thereof, also see [0014], [0020]), and
the top cover assembly as discussed above in claim 1, wherein the battery cell comprises tabs, and the tabs are electrically connected to the poles through the adapting pieces (i.e., at least as disclosed in [0076], whereby the first connecting part ref. 122 of the first electrode ref. 12 can be welded to the adapter piece ref. 8 by ultrasonic welding or other means, and finally, the adapter piece ref. 8 can be welded to the first electrode terminal ref. 72, etc., such that each first electrode tab ref. 12 also includes a first extension ref. 121, which is connected between the first connecting portion ref. 122 and the first body ref. 11, etc., also see [0004], [0006], [0012]-[0017], [0033], [0069]-[0074]).
Claims 7-10, 12-15, 17, and 19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lei and Cheng as applied to claims 1 and 18 above, and further in view of Jiang et al. (U.S. PGPub US 2020/0328399 A1), hereinafter Jiang.
Regarding claim 7, Lei and Cheng discloses the top cover assembly as discussed above in claim 1. However, Lei is silent as to wherein the adapting piece further comprises a stress relief portion, wherein the stress relief portion is configured to relieve a welding stress applied to the second welding zone.
Jiang teaches a battery cover plate assembly, cell, battery module, power battery, and electric vehicle (Title). Jiang further teaches the adapting piece further comprises a stress relief portion (i.e., at least as shown in Annotated Fig. 3 and [0061], whereby a first connection region ref. 115 on the flipping member ref. 102 may form a connecting hole for accommodating the boss ref. 106, and in this way, the outer periphery of the boss and an inner wall of the connecting hole are firmly welded by using the annular welding joint, such that the boss may be a cylindrical structure or may have a through hole structure in an axial direction of the cylindrical structure, and alternatively, as shown in FIG. 4, a through hole may be also disposed in the axial direction of the cylindrical structure, and in other implementations, the score and the first welding region may be further disposed in different planes by using various convex or concave structures, etc.), and lacking any further distinction thereof as to said stress relief portion.
Since Jiang teaches an adapting piece comprising a stress relief portion (i.e., hole) as discussed above, properties and/or functions such as the stress relief portion is configured to relieve a welding stress applied to the second welding zone are presumed inherent (MPEP 2112.01, I.).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to have modified the combined teachings of Lei and Cheng further with the teachings of Jiang, whereby the top cover assembly of a battery including the top cover plate, poles, first/second welding zone(s), adapting piece, etc., as disclosed by the combined teachings of Lei and Cheng further includes the adapting piece further comprises a stress relief portion as taught by Jiang so that the outer periphery of the boss and an inner wall of the connecting hole are firmly welded by using the annular welding joint, such that the boss may be a cylindrical structure or may have a through hole structure in an axial direction of the cylindrical structure, etc.
Annotated Figure 3 (Jiang)
Regarding claim 8, Lei and Cheng discloses the top cover assembly as discussed above in claim 7. However, Lei is silent as to the stress relief portion is symmetrical with respect to the axis of the pole, and the second welding zone is disposed around the stress relief portion.
Jiang further teaches the stress relief portion is symmetrical with respect to the axis of the pole, and the second welding zone is disposed around the stress relief portion (i.e., at least as shown in Annotated Fig. 3 above in claim 7 and [0061], whereby a first connection region ref. 115 on the flipping member ref. 102 may form a connecting hole for accommodating the boss ref. 106, and in this way, the outer periphery of the boss and an inner wall of the connecting hole are firmly welded by using the annular welding joint, such that the boss may be a cylindrical structure or may have a through hole structure in an axial direction of the cylindrical structure, and alternatively, as shown in FIG. 4, a through hole may be also disposed in the axial direction of the cylindrical structure, and in other implementations, the score and the first welding region may be further disposed in different planes by using various convex or concave structures, etc.), and lacking any further distinction thereof as to said stress relief portion.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to have modified the combined teachings of Lei and Cheng further with the teachings of Jiang, whereby the top cover assembly of a battery including the top cover plate, poles, first/second welding zone(s), adapting piece, etc., as disclosed by the combined teachings of Lei and Cheng further includes the stress relief portion is symmetrical with respect to the axis of the pole, and the second welding zone is disposed around the stress relief portion as taught by Jiang so that the outer periphery of the boss and an inner wall of the connecting hole are firmly welded by using the annular welding joint, such that the boss may be a cylindrical structure or may have a through hole structure in an axial direction of the cylindrical structure, etc.
Regarding claim 9, Lei and Cheng discloses the top cover assembly as discussed above in claim 7. However, Lei silent as to the stress relief portion is disposed at center of the second recessed portion or the second protruding portion.
Jiang further teaches the stress relief portion is disposed at center of the second recessed portion or the second protruding portion (i.e., at least as shown in Annotated Fig. 3 above in claim 7 and [0061], whereby a first connection region ref. 115 on the flipping member ref. 102 may form a connecting hole for accommodating the boss ref. 106, and in this way, the outer periphery of the boss and an inner wall of the connecting hole are firmly welded by using the annular welding joint, such that the boss may be a cylindrical structure or may have a through hole structure in an axial direction of the cylindrical structure, and alternatively, as shown in FIG. 4, a through hole may be also disposed in the axial direction of the cylindrical structure, and in other implementations, the score and the first welding region may be further disposed in different planes by using various convex or concave structures, etc.), and lacking any further distinction thereof as to said stress relief portion.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to have modified the combined teachings of Lei and Cheng further with the teachings of Jiang, whereby the top cover assembly of a battery including the top cover plate, poles, first/second welding zone(s), adapting piece, etc., as disclosed by the combined teachings of Lei and Cheng further includes the stress relief portion is disposed at center of the second recessed portion or the second protruding portion as taught by Jiang so that the outer periphery of the boss and an inner wall of the connecting hole are firmly welded by using the annular welding joint, such that the boss may be a cylindrical structure or may have a through hole structure in an axial direction of the cylindrical structure, etc.
Regarding claim 10, Lei and Cheng discloses the top cover assembly as discussed above in claim 1. However, Lei is silent as to the stress relief portion is a hole.
Jiang teaches a battery cover plate assembly, cell, battery module, power battery, and electric vehicle (Title). Jiang further teaches the stress relief portion is a hole (i.e., at least as shown in Annotated Fig. 3 above in claim 7 and [0061], whereby a first connection region ref. 115 on the flipping member ref. 102 may form a connecting hole for accommodating the boss ref. 106, and in this way, the outer periphery of the boss and an inner wall of the connecting hole are firmly welded by using the annular welding joint, such that the boss may be a cylindrical structure or may have a through hole structure in an axial direction of the cylindrical structure, and alternatively, as shown in FIG. 4, a through hole may be also disposed in the axial direction of the cylindrical structure, and in other implementations, the score and the first welding region may be further disposed in different planes by using various convex or concave structures, etc.), and lacking any further distinction thereof as to said stress relief portion.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to have modified the combined teachings of Lei and Cheng further with the teachings of Jiang, whereby the top cover assembly of a battery including the top cover plate, poles, first/second welding zone(s), adapting piece, etc., as disclosed by the combined teachings of Lei and Cheng further includes the stress relief portion is a hole as taught by Jiang so that the outer periphery of the boss and an inner wall of the connecting hole are firmly welded by using the annular welding joint, such that the boss may be a cylindrical structure or may have a through hole structure in an axial direction of the cylindrical structure, etc.
Regarding claim 12, Lei and Cheng discloses the top cover assembly as discussed above in claim 1. However, Lei is silent as to the pole further comprises a position limiting portion configured to cooperate with the stress relief portion so as to limit a position of the adapting piece.
Jiang teaches a battery cover plate assembly, cell, battery module, power battery, and electric vehicle (Title). Jiang further teaches the pole further comprises a position limiting portion configured to cooperate with the stress relief portion so as to limit a position of the adapting piece (i.e., at least as shown in Annotated Fig. 3 above in claim 7 and [0061], whereby a first connection region ref. 115 on the flipping member ref. 102 may form a connecting hole for accommodating the boss ref. 106, and in this way, the outer periphery of the boss and an inner wall of the connecting hole are firmly welded by using the annular welding joint, such that the boss may be a cylindrical structure or may have a through hole structure in an axial direction of the cylindrical structure, and alternatively, as shown in FIG. 4, a through hole may be also disposed in the axial direction of the cylindrical structure, and in other implementations, the score and the first welding region may be further disposed in different planes by using various convex or concave structures, etc.), and lacking any further distinction thereof as to said stress relief portion.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to have modified the combined teachings of Lei and Cheng further with the teachings of Jiang, whereby the top cover assembly of a battery including the top cover plate, poles, first/second welding zone(s), adapting piece, etc., as disclosed by the combined teachings of Lei and Cheng further includes the pole further comprises a position limiting portion (e.g., boss) configured to cooperate with the stress relief portion (e.g., hole) so as to limit a position of the adapting piece as taught by Jiang so that the outer periphery of the boss and an inner wall of the connecting hole are firmly welded by using the annular welding joint, such that the boss may be a cylindrical structure or may have a through hole structure in an axial direction of the cylindrical structure, etc.
Regarding claim 13, Lei and Cheng discloses the top cover assembly as discussed above in claim 12. However, Lei is silent as to wherein the stress relief portion is a hole, and the position limiting portion is a protruding structure that mates with the hole.
Jiang teaches a battery cover plate assembly, cell, battery module, power battery, and electric vehicle (Title). Jiang further teaches the stress relief portion is a hole, and the position limiting portion is a protruding structure that mates with the hole (i.e., at least as shown in Annotated Fig. 3 above in claim 7 and [0061], whereby a first connection region ref. 115 on the flipping member ref. 102 may form a connecting hole for accommodating the boss ref. 106, and in this way, the outer periphery of the boss and an inner wall of the connecting hole are firmly welded by using the annular welding joint, such that the boss may be a cylindrical structure or may have a through hole structure in an axial direction of the cylindrical structure, and alternatively, as shown in FIG. 4, a through hole may be also disposed in the axial direction of the cylindrical structure, and in other implementations, the score and the first welding region may be further disposed in different planes by using various convex or concave structures, etc.), and lacking any further distinction thereof as to said stress relief portion.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to have modified the combined teachings of Lei and Cheng further with the teachings of Jiang, whereby the top cover assembly of a battery including the top cover plate, poles, first/second welding zone(s), adapting piece, etc., as disclosed by the combined teachings of Lei and Cheng further includes the stress relief portion is a hole, and the position limiting portion is a protruding structure that mates with the hole as taught by Jiang so that the outer periphery of the boss and an inner wall of the connecting hole are firmly welded by using the annular welding joint, such that the boss may be a cylindrical structure or may have a through hole structure in an axial direction of the cylindrical structure, etc.
Regarding claim 14, Lei and Cheng discloses the top cover assembly as discussed above in claim 12. However, Lei is silent as to the position limiting portion is disposed at center of the first recessed portion or the first protruding portion.
Jiang further teaches the position limiting portion is disposed at center of the first recessed portion or the first protruding portion (i.e., at least as shown in Annotated Fig. 3 above in claim 7 and [0061], whereby a first connection region ref. 115 on the flipping member ref. 102 may form a connecting hole for accommodating the boss ref. 106, and in this way, the outer periphery of the boss and an inner wall of the connecting hole are firmly welded by using the annular welding joint, such that the boss may be a cylindrical structure or may have a through hole structure in an axial direction of the cylindrical structure, and alternatively, as shown in FIG. 4, a through hole may be also disposed in the axial direction of the cylindrical structure, and in other implementations, the score and the first welding region may be further disposed in different planes by using various convex or concave structures, etc.), and lacking any further distinction thereof as to said stress relief portion.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to have modified the combined teachings of Lei and Cheng further with the teachings of Jiang, whereby the top cover assembly of a battery including the top cover plate, poles, first/second welding zone(s), adapting piece, etc., as disclosed by the combined teachings of Lei and Cheng further includes the position limiting portion is disposed at center of the first recessed portion or the first protruding portion as taught by Jiang so that the outer periphery of the boss and an inner wall of the connecting hole are firmly welded by using the annular welding joint, such that the boss may be a cylindrical structure or may have a through hole structure in an axial direction of the cylindrical structure, etc.
Regarding claim 15, Lei and Cheng discloses the top cover assembly as discussed above in claim 1. However, Lei is silent as to the adapting piece further comprises a boss structure symmetrical relative to the axis of the pole and protruding toward the outside of the battery, wherein the boss structure is a semi-closed hollow structure, and the second welding zone is located on the boss structure.
Jiang teaches a battery cover plate assembly, cell, battery module, power battery, and electric vehicle (Title). Jiang further teaches in [0061] a first connection region ref. 115 on the flipping member ref. 102 may form a connecting hole for accommodating the boss ref. 106, and in this way, the outer periphery of the boss and an inner wall of the connecting hole are firmly welded by using the annular welding joint, such that the boss may be a cylindrical structure or may have a through hole structure in an axial direction of the cylindrical structure, and alternatively, as shown in FIG. 4, a through hole may be also disposed in the axial direction of the cylindrical structure, and in other implementations, the score and the first welding region may be further disposed in different planes by using various convex or concave structures, etc.
Jiang further teaches the adapting piece further comprises a boss structure symmetrical relative to the axis of the pole and protruding toward the outside of the battery, wherein the boss structure is a semi-closed hollow structure, and the second welding zone is located on the boss structure. (i.e., at least as shown in Annotated Fig. 5 and [0066] a first connection region ref. 115 to be electrically connected to the score member ref. 101 and a second connection region ref. 116 to be electrically connected to an outer electrode terminal ref. 112 of a battery are formed on the flipping member ref. 102, and in addition, as shown in Fig. 2 and Fig. 5, a deformation cushion region ref. 117 is further formed on the flipping member ref. 102, the deformation cushion region ref. 117 being disposed between the first connection region ref. 115 and the second connection region ref. 116 and around the first connection region ref. 115, etc.), and lacking any further distinction thereof as to said stress relief portion.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to have modified the combined teachings of Lei and Cheng further with the teachings of Jiang, whereby the top cover assembly of a battery including the top cover plate, poles, first/second welding zone(s), adapting piece, etc., as disclosed by the combined teachings of Lei and Cheng further includes the adapting piece further comprises a boss structure symmetrical relative to the axis of the pole and protruding toward the outside of the battery, wherein the boss structure is a semi-closed hollow structure, and the second welding zone is located on the boss structure as taught by Jiang so that the outer periphery of the boss and an inner wall of the connecting hole are firmly welded by using the annular welding joint, such that the boss may be a cylindrical structure or may have a through hole structure in an axial direction of the cylindrical structure, etc.
Annotated Figure 5 (Jiang)
Regarding claim 17, Lei and Cheng discloses the top cover assembly as discussed above in claim 15. However, Lei is silent as to the boss structure comprises a second recessed portion recessed toward the inside of the boss structure, and the second welding zone is located in the second recessed portion; and height of the second recessed portion is not greater than height of the boss structure in a direction of the axis of the pole.
Jiang further teaches the boss structure comprises a second recessed portion recessed toward the inside of the boss structure, and the second welding zone is located in the second recessed portion; and height of the second recessed portion is not greater than height of the boss structure in a direction of the axis of the pole (i.e., at least as shown in Annotated Fig. 5 above in claim 15 and [0066] a first connection region ref. 115 to be electrically connected to the score member ref. 101 and a second connection region ref. 116 to be electrically connected to an outer electrode terminal ref. 112 of a battery are formed on the flipping member ref. 102, and in addition, as shown in Fig. 2 and Fig. 5, a deformation cushion region ref. 117 is further formed on the flipping member ref. 102, the deformation cushion region ref. 117 being disposed between the first connection region ref. 115 and the second connection region ref. 116 and around the first connection region ref. 115, etc.), and lacking any further distinction thereof as to said stress relief portion.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to have modified the combined teachings of Lei and Cheng further with the teachings of Jiang, whereby the top cover assembly of a battery including the top cover plate, poles, first/second welding zone(s), adapting piece, etc., as disclosed by the combined teachings of Lei and Cheng further includes the boss structure comprises a second recessed portion recessed toward the inside of the boss structure, and the second welding zone is located in the second recessed portion; and height of the second recessed portion is not greater than height of the boss structure in a direction of the axis of the pole as taught by Jiang so that the outer periphery of the boss and an inner wall of the connecting hole are firmly welded by using the annular welding joint, such that the boss may be a cylindrical structure or may have a through hole structure in an axial direction of the cylindrical structure, etc.
Regarding claim 19, Lei and Cheng discloses the top cover assembly and battery as discussed above in claim 18. Since Lei and Cheng disclose the battery as discussed above in claim 18, and no further structure is provided, this at least provides an electric apparatus, wherein the battery according to claim 18, is configured to supply electric energy, such that since an identical and/or substantially identical product to that claimed is provided by Lei and Cheng, properties and/or functions such as configured to supply electric energy are presumed inherent (MPEP 2112.01, I.).
In the alternative, Jiang teaches in [0006] a battery cover plate assembly, a cell using the battery cover plate assembly, a battery module using the cell, a power battery using the battery module, and a vehicle using the power battery.
Jiang further teaches in [0002] the present disclosure relates to the battery field, and relates to a battery cover plate assembly, a cell using the battery cover plate assembly, a battery module using the cell, a power battery using the battery module, and a vehicle using the power battery.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to have modified the combined teachings of Lei and Cheng further with the teachings of Jiang, whereby the top cover assembly of a battery including the top cover plate, poles, first/second welding zone(s), adapting piece, etc., as disclosed by the combined teachings of Lei and Cheng further includes electric apparatus, wherein the battery is configured to supply electric energy as taught by Jiang so as to provide a battery cover plate assembly, a cell using the battery cover plate assembly, a battery module using the cell, a power battery using the battery module, and a vehicle using the power battery.
Claims 11 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lei and Cheng and Jiang as applied to claim 10 above, and further in view of Hattori et al. (U.S. PGPub US 2013/0224536 A1), hereinafter Hattori.
Regarding claim 11, Lei and Cheng and Jiang discloses the top cover assembly as discussed above in claim 10. However, Lei is silent as to a ratio of area of the hole to area of the second welding zone is not greater than 4%.
Hattori teaches a prismatic secondary battery (Title). Hattori further teaches in [0037] the optimal size of the welded spots formed on the positive electrode size varies depending on the height and width of the convexity, but when the welded spots are to account for the majority of the cross-section of the convexity in the radial direction of the second through-hole, it is possible to increase the tensile stress resistance of the welded spots; this effect can be demonstrated very favorably when the maximum cross-sectional area of at least the welded spots of the position corresponding to the convexity in the radial direction of the second through-hole is made to be 80% of the cross-sectional area of the convexity or more, which at least provides a ratio range that encompasses the claimed range of a ratio of area of the hole to area of the second welding zone is not greater than 4%, thus a prima facie case of obviousness exists (MPEP 2144.05, I.).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to have modified the combined teachings of Lei and Cheng and Jiang further with the teachings of Hattori, whereby the top cover assembly of a battery including the top cover plate, poles, first/second welding zone(s), adapting piece, hole, etc., as disclosed by the combined teachings of Lei and Cheng and Jiang further includes a range that encompasses the claimed range of a ratio of area of the hole to area of the second welding zone is not greater than 4% as taught by Hattori so that it is possible to increase the tensile stress resistance of the welded spots, such that this effect can be demonstrated very favorably when the maximum cross-sectional area of at least the welded spots of the position corresponding to the convexity in the radial direction of the second through-hole is made to be 80% of the cross-sectional area of the convexity or more, etc.
Claim 16 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lei and Cheng and Jiang as applied to claim 15 above, and further in view of Yang et al. (CN209880722(U) and using Machine Translation as English version), hereinafter Yang.
Regarding claim 16, Lei and Cheng and Jiang discloses the top cover assembly as discussed above in claim 15. However, Lei is silent as to the boss structure has an adhesive layer inside.
Yang teaches a secondary battery comprises a shell, an electrode assembly, a top cover assembly, etc. (Abstract). Yang further teaches in [0008] an adapter component, and an insulating adhesive, etc. Yang further teaches in [0073]-[0074] to reduce the risk of short circuits, this application preferably provides insulating adhesive ref. 5 on the adapter ref. 4, which at least provides a boss structure has an adhesive layer inside, such as that shown in at least Figs. 2-3 and 6, etc., and lacking any further distinction thereof.
Yang further teaches in [0007] the purpose of this utility model is to provide a secondary battery that can reduce the risk of impurities falling into the electrode assembly and improve safety performance.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to have modified the combined teachings of Lei and Cheng and Jiang further with the teachings of Yang, whereby the top cover assembly of a battery including the top cover plate, poles, first/second welding zone(s), adapting piece, hole, boss, etc., as disclosed by the combined teachings of Lei and Cheng and Jiang further includes the boss structure has an adhesive layer inside as taught by Yang so as to provide a secondary battery that can reduce the risk of impurities falling into the electrode assembly and improve safety performance.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Urano et al. (U.S. PGPub US 2017/0149046 A1) discloses a secondary battery (Title), whereby as disclosed in [0115] a diaphragm, refs. 5e, 5f, 5g convex portion, ref. 5w side wall portion, ref. 5x inner side wall portion, ref. 10 battery container, ref. 11 battery lid, ref. 12 battery can, ref. 20A external terminal, ref. 30A current collector plate, ref. 31 base portion, ref. 31f annular groove, ref. 31g through-hole, ref. 31h thin portion, ref. 31w inner wall portion, ref. 32 terminal portion, ref. 40 electrode group (wound electrode group), ref. 100 secondary battery, c center, ref. CL1 center line, f focal point, g gravity center, ref. W welding portion, etc.
/JOSHUA P MCCLURE/Examiner, Art Unit 1727
/BARBARA L GILLIAM/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1727