DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 10-22 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wu(USPGPUB DOCUMENT: 2022/0084934, hereinafter Wu) in view of Zhang (USPGPUB DOCUMENT: 2022/0216134, hereinafter Zhang) and Boeck (USPGPUB DOCUMENT: 2010/0187657, hereinafter Boeck) and Boccardi (USPGPUB DOCUMENT: 2012/0024700, hereinafter Boccardi).
Re claim 10 Wu discloses in Fig 3 a method of fabricating a semiconductor device, the method comprising: providing a substrate; forming a first patterned layer(top10/bottom10) on the substrate, the first patterned layer(top10/bottom10) including a first capacitor plate[0039]; forming a first dielectric layer(top20/bottom20/40) over the first patterned layer(top10/bottom10); forming a second patterned layer(top10/bottom10) over the first dielectric layer(top20/bottom20/40), the second patterned layer(top10/bottom10) including a second capacitor plate[0039]; and etching portions[0090] of the first dielectric layer(top20/bottom20/40) through the openings in the patterned photoresist layer to form air gaps(30) at the edges of the second capacitor plate[0039].
Wu does not discloses forming a patterned photoresist layer over the substrate, the patterned photoresist layer including openings at one or more edges of the second capacitor plate[0039]; such that, upon etching the portions of the first dielectric layer, at least a portion of a lower surface of the second capacitor plate is exposed through at least one of the air gaps; forming a first patterned metal layer on the substrate, the first patterned metal layer including a first capacitor plate; forming a first dielectric layer over the first patterned metal layer; forming a second patterned metal layer over the first dielectric layer, the second patterned metal layer including a second capacitor plate;
Zhang discloses forming a patterned photoresist layer(201/202) over the substrate(1), the patterned photoresist layer including openings (undercut) at one or more edges
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the invention to apply the teachings of Zhang to the teachings of Wu in order to increase the yield of electronic device products [0004, Zhang]. In doing so, the patterned photoresist layer including openings (undercut of Zhang) at one or more edges of the second capacitor plate[0039 of Wu];
Wu and Zhang does not discloses such that, upon etching the portions of the first dielectric layer, at least a portion of a lower surface of the second capacitor plate is exposed through at least one of the air gaps; forming a first patterned metal layer on the substrate, the first patterned metal layer including a first capacitor plate; forming a first dielectric layer over the first patterned metal layer; forming a second patterned metal layer over the first dielectric layer, the second patterned metal layer including a second capacitor plate;
Boeck discloses such that, upon etching the portions of the first dielectric layer(414/416/418)[0031], at least a portion of a lower surface of the second capacitor plate(114/124) is exposed through at least one of the air gaps(112 of Boeck).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the invention to apply the teachings of Boeck to the teachings of Wu in order to have one or more isolation cavities comprise cavities filled with a gas having a low dielectric constant (e.g., air) [0011, Boeck].
Wu and Zhang and Boeck does not discloses forming a first patterned metal layer on the substrate, the first patterned metal layer including a first capacitor plate; forming a first dielectric layer over the first patterned metal layer; forming a second patterned metal layer over the first dielectric layer, the second patterned metal layer including a second capacitor plate;
Boccardi discloses forming a first patterned metal layer(130a-d of Boccardi) on the substrate(100 of Boccardi), the first patterned metal layer(130a-d of Boccardi) including a first capacitor plate(capacitor plate)[0003 of Boccardi]; forming a first dielectric layer(120c) [0034 of Boccardi] over the first patterned metal layer; forming a second patterned metal layer(130a-d of Boccardi) over the first dielectric layer, the second patterned metal layer including a second capacitor plate(capacitor plate)[0003 of Boccardi];
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the invention to apply the teachings of Boccardi to the teachings of Wu in order to have facilitate the performance of a large number of sensor readings in parallel [0005, Boccardi].
Re claim 11 Wu and Zhang and Boeck and Boccardi disclose the method of claim 10, wherein etching the portions of the first dielectric layer(top20/bottom20/40) through the openings in the patterned photoresist layer to form air gaps(30) at the edges of the second capacitor plate[0039] comprises: etching the portions of the first dielectric layer(top20/bottom20/40) through the openings in the patterned photoresist layer to form air gaps(30) at the edges of the second capacitor plate[0039].
Re claim 12 Wu and Zhang and Boeck and Boccardi disclose the method of claim 10, wherein the first patterned metal layer(130a-d of Boccardi) further includes a first metal structure, and the second patterned metal layer(130a-d of Boccardi) further includes a second metal structure and a metal via that electrically couples the first metal structure to the second metal structure.
Re claim 13 Wu and Zhang and Boeck and Boccardi disclose the method of claim 12, further comprising: performing a patterned etch of the first dielectric layer(top20/bottom20/40) to form an opening in the first dielectric layer(top20/bottom20/40), wherein the metal via is subsequently formed in the opening in the first dielectric layer(top20/bottom20/40).
Re claim 14 Wu and Zhang and Boeck and Boccardi disclose the method of claim 10, further comprising: after forming the air gaps(30) at the edges of the second capacitor plate[0039], etching exposed portions of the second capacitor plate[0039].
Re claim 15 Wu and Zhang and Boeck and Boccardi disclose the method of claim 14, wherein etching the exposed portions of the second capacitor plate[0039] causes edges and corners of the second capacitor plate[0039] to be rounded.
Re claim 16 Wu and Zhang and Boeck and Boccardi disclose the method of claim 14, further comprising: after forming the air gaps(30) at the edges of the second capacitor plate[0039], forming oxide on the exposed portions of the second capacitor plate[0039].
Re claim 17 Wu and Zhang and Boeck and Boccardi disclose the method of claim 14, wherein the air gaps(30) are non-overlapping with respect to one another and are disposed at corners of a lower surface of the second capacitor plate[0039].
Re claim 18 Wu and Zhang and Boeck and Boccardi disclose the method of claim 14, wherein the air gaps(30) are overlapping with respect to one another and are disposed at corners and edges of a lower surface of the second capacitor plate[0039].
Re claim 19 Wu and Zhang and Boeck and Boccardi disclose the method of claim 10, further comprising: before forming the first dielectric layer(top20/bottom20/40), forming a passivation layer over the substrate and the first patterned metal layer(top10/bottom10).
Re claim 20 Wu and Zhang and Boeck and Boccardi disclose the method of claim 10, further comprising: removing the patterned photoresist layer; forming a second dielectric layer(top20/bottom20/40) over the substrate; and forming at least one opening in the second dielectric layer(top20/bottom20/40) to expose an upper surface of the second capacitor plate[0039].
Re claim 21 Wu and Zhang and Boeck and Boccardi disclose the method of claim 10, wherein the air gaps(112 of Boeck) are formed only at corners of the second capacitor plate(capacitor plate)[0003 of Boccardi].
Re claim 22 Wu and Zhang and Boeck and Boccardi disclose the method of claim 10, wherein the first capacitor plate(capacitor plate)[0003 of Boccardi] and the second capacitor plate(capacitor plate)[0003 of Boccardi] are each part of a capacitive isolation structure.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 10-22 have been considered but are moot because the arguments do not apply to any of the references being used in the current rejection.
Conclusion
/PATRICIA D VALENZUELA/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2812