DETAILED ACTION
Applicant's submission filed on 1/30/2026 has been entered as compliant. Claim 1 has been amended and claims 17-20 are added to the current application. Elected claims 1-4 and 17-20 are pending and examined in the current application.
Withdrawn Claim Rejections
Rejection (office letter of 10/02/2025) of claims 1-4 made under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over JP 2019-024368 A, hereinafter, D1, in view of JP 2020141606A), hereinafter D2, further evidenced by IDS cited NPL “Development and Application of an Enzyme” vol. 24, no. 12, 1989, 78-85, p. 82, (Food Processing and Ingredients December issue have been withdrawn based on applicant’s amendments to claims of 1/30/2026.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-4 and 17-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Kawarada et al., (JP 2020141606A Machine Translation), hereinafter Kawarada.
Note: Machine Translation obtained from Espacenet is relied upon for rejection of claims and the para # cited refer to the para #s of machine translation.
Regarding claim 1, Kawarada teaches a composition, which is for producing or improving a cooked-rice food product (see para 10,section <1> which describes function as "quality preserving agent for cooked rice''),and
which contains the following component (A):
(A) Bacillus licheniformis-derived α-amylase (para 19 describes "α-amylase"
used is not particularly limited and may be derived from "Bacillus licheniformis''),
wherein said Bacillus licheniformis-derived α-amylase is in contact with raw rice
(see para 10, section <4> which describes "amount of α-amylase" in "uncooked rice'').
Regarding claim 2, Kawarada teaches the composition according to claim 1, wherein the improvement is suppressing scorching and/or aging of the cooked-rice food product (see para 5 that describes "suppresses aging" of "cooked rice"; also see para 8).
Regarding claims 3-4, Kawarada teaches the composition according to claim 1, which further contains the following component (B):
(B) a glycosyltransferase (see para 10, especially section <1> which describes "α- glycosyltransferase" as a component), wherein the glycosyltransferase is maltotriosyl transferase (see para 10, especially section <2> and <3>).
Regarding claim 17-18, Kawarada teaches the composition according to claim 1, wherein said component (A); i.e. the α-amylase, is present in an amount of 35 to 350 U per 100 g of raw rice (see para 10, especially section <4> ), which lies completely within the claimed range "from 0.001 to 10 U per 1 g of said raw rice" (i.e. 0.1 to 1000 U per 100 g) of claim 17 and also overlaps with the claimed range "from 0.002 to 1 U per 1 g of said raw rice" (i.e. 0.2 to 200 U per 100 g) of claim 18.
Regarding the overlapping of ranges between the invention and prior art composition it is noted that in the case where the claimed ranges "overlap or lie inside the ranges disclosed by the prior art" a prima facie case of obviousness exists (In re Wertheim, 541 F2d 257, 191 USPQ 90 (CCPA 1976); In re Woodruff, 919 F2d 1575, 1578, 16 USPQ2d 1934, 1936 (Fed. Cir. 1990)).
Regarding claim 19-20, Kawarada teaches the composition according to claim 3, wherein said component (B); i.e. glycosyltransferase, is present in an amount of 10 to 900 U of α glycosyltransferase per 100 g of raw rice (see para 10, especially section <2> ), which lies completely within the claimed range "from 0.005 to 500 U per 1 g of raw rice" (i.e., 0.5 to 50000 U per 100 g) of claim 19 and also lies completely within the claimed range "0.05 to 100 U per 1 g" (i.e. 5 to 10000 U per 100 g) of claim 20.
Regarding the overlapping of ranges between the invention and prior art composition it is noted that in the case where the claimed ranges "overlap or lie inside the ranges disclosed by the prior art" a prima facie case of obviousness exists (In re Wertheim, 541 F2d 257, 191 USPQ 90 (CCPA 1976); In re Woodruff, 919 F2d 1575, 1578, 16 USPQ2d 1934, 1936 (Fed. Cir. 1990)).
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 1/30/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) rejected claims 1-4 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on combination of references as applied in the prior rejection of record for the teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/JYOTI CHAWLA/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1791