DETAILED ACTION Notice of Pre-AIA or AIA Status The present application, filed on or after March 16, 2013, is being examined under the first inventor to file provisions of the AIA. Restriction Applicant’s election of Group II, with traverse, in the reply filed on 01/30/2026 is acknowledged. Response to Arguments Applicant traverses the restriction requirement citing no undue burden. Group I, comprising of claims 1-10, are drawn to a method for coupled operation, while Group II, comprising of claims 11-15, are drawn to a communication system. Group I does not require structures that claim 11 does, such a “a sensor circuit,” “a first communication interface,” “a second communication interface”, and “a control unit…configured to automatically activate or automatically change an active operation of the electric pump device depending on the received activation signal. As stated in the previous restriction requirement, Group I is drawn to a method for coupled operation that would require a different field of search than Group II. Group I is to method, while Group II is to the apparatus and structures for operating the method. This would require different search inquiries as Group II would require searching for specific structures while Group I would be searching for the specific method, regardless of the structures of Group II. As such, the arguments are not persuasive and the restriction is being maintained. Applicant is reminded that if/ when all the claims directed to the elected invention are in condition for allowance, and the nonelected invention(s) should be considered for rejoinder. Rejoinder involves withdrawal of a restriction requirement between an allowable elected invention and a nonelected invention and examination of the formerly nonelected invention on the merits. See MPEP 821.04. Claim Interpretation The following is a quotation of 35 U.S.C. 112(f): (f) Element in Claim for a Combination. – An element in a claim for a combination may be expressed as a means or step for performing a specified function without the recital of structure, material, or acts in support thereof, and such claim shall be construed to cover the corresponding structure, material, or acts described in the specification and equivalents thereof. The following is a quotation of pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph: An element in a claim for a combination may be expressed as a means or step for performing a specified function without the recital of structure, material, or acts in support thereof, and such claim shall be construed to cover the corresponding structure, material, or acts described in the specification and equivalents thereof. The claims in this application are given their broadest reasonable interpretation using the plain meaning of the claim language in light of the specification as it would be understood by one of ordinary skill in the art. The broadest reasonable interpretation of a claim element (also commonly referred to as a claim limitation) is limited by the description in the specification when 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, is invoked. As explained in MPEP § 2181, subsection I, claim limitations that meet the following three-prong test will be interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph: (A) the claim limitation uses the term “means” or “step” or a term used as a substitute for “means” that is a generic placeholder (also called a nonce term or a non-structural term having no specific structural meaning) for performing the claimed function; (B) the term “means” or “step” or the generic placeholder is modified by functional language, typically, but not always linked by the transition word “for” (e.g., “means for”) or another linking word or phrase, such as “configured to” or “so that”; and (C) the term “means” or “step” or the generic placeholder is not modified by sufficient structure, material, or acts for performing the claimed function. Use of the word “means” (or “step”) in a claim with functional language creates a rebuttable presumption that the claim limitation is to be treated in accordance with 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph. The presumption that the claim limitation is interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, is rebutted when the claim limitation recites sufficient structure, material, or acts to entirely perform the recited function. Absence of the word “means” (or “step”) in a claim creates a rebuttable presumption that the claim limitation is not to be treated in accordance with 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph. The presumption that the claim limitation is not interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, is rebutted when the claim limitation recites function without reciting sufficient structure, material or acts to entirely perform the recited function. Claim limitations in this application that use the word “means” (or “step”) are being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, except as otherwise indicated in an Office action. Conversely, claim limitations in this application that do not use the word “means” (or “step”) are not being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, except as otherwise indicated in an Office action. This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are: a sensor circuit of claim 11 with means “to automatically detect an activation or change of an active operation of the electric scrubbing brush”; “a first communication interface” of claim 11 with means “to transmit an activation signal depending on a detection of the activation or change”; “a second communication interface” of claim 11 with means “to receive the activation signal”; and “a control unit” of claim 11 with means “to automatically activate or automatically change an active operation of the electric pump device depending on the received activation signal.” Because this/these claim limitation(s) is/are being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, it/they is/are being interpreted to cover the corresponding structure described in the specification as performing the claimed function, and equivalents thereof. If applicant does not intend to have this/these limitation(s) interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, applicant may: (1) amend the claim limitation(s) to avoid it/them being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph (e.g., by reciting sufficient structure to perform the claimed function); or (2) present a sufficient showing that the claim limitation(s) recite(s) sufficient structure to perform the claimed function so as to avoid it/them being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph. Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102 The following is a quotation of the appropriate paragraphs of 35 U.S.C. 102 that form the basis for the rejections under this section made in this Office action: A person shall be entitled to a patent unless – (a)(1) the claimed invention was patented, described in a printed publication, or in public use, on sale, or otherwise available to the public before the effective filing date of the claimed invention. Claim(s) 11-15 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Post (US-2020/0019134) . Regarding claim 11 (Currently Amended), Post (US-2020/0019134) discloses a communication system for the coupled operation of an electric scrubbing brush, which is electrically operable by means of a first battery pack (first power source 125) and capable of being supplied with scrubbing liquid [paragraph 0027] , and an electric pump device for supplying the electric scrubbing brush with the scrubbing liquid [paragraph 0027] , wherein the electric pump device is electrically operable by means of a second battery pack (second power source 410) (“ The first electronic tool 115 is, for example, a power tool, fluid flow control devices, an electronic test and measurement device, a work site radio, or work flood light. Power tools can include drills, circular saws, jig saws, band saws, table saws, chop saws, miter saws, reciprocating saws, angle grinders, straight grinders, hammers, multi-tools, impact wrenches, rotary hammers, drill-drivers, hammer drill-drivers, impact drivers, angle drills, belt sanders, orbital sanders, planers, pipe cutters, grease guns, vacuum cleaners, outdoor power equipment (such as blowers, chain saws, edgers, hedge trimmers, lawn mowers, or trimmers), and the like. Electronic test and measurement devices can include digital multimeters, clamp meters, fork meters, wall scanners, IR thermometers, laser distance meters, laser levels, remote displays, insulation testers, moisture meters, thermal imagers, inspection cameras, and the like. Vacuum cleaners can include wet/dry vacuums, dust removal vacuums connectable to power tools (e.g., saws or sanders), stick vacuums, hand vacuums, upright vacuums, carpet cleaners, hard surface cleaners, canister vacuums, broom vacuums, and the like. Fluid flow control devices can include motorized water pumps, electronically controllable water flow valves, and the like. ”) [Post; paragraph 0027] ( These structures are considered what the communication system is intended to be used with and not an inherent part of the claimed “communication system”. As such, it will be considered that any mention of scrubbing brush or specific tools, which aren’t claimed, will broadly be considered as a tool, meaning that a “communication system” capable of operating a tool in the manner as claimed, then it will also be capable of operating specific tools, like a scrubbing brush) , the communication system comprising; a sensor circuit (operational sensor 520) for the first battery pack or for the electric scrubbing brush, which is configured to automatically detect an activation or change of an active operation of the electric scrubbing brush (tool) (“ The first adapter 120 further includes a power switching element 515, such as a FET or relay, and an operational sensor 520, such as a current or voltage sensor. The operational sensor 520 includes one or more sensors for detecting various operating conditions of a tool coupled to the power output 510, such as current drawn by the tool, as described in further detail below. ”) [Post; paragraph 0039] (“ In block 710, the controller 525 of the first adapter 120 broadcasts an activation signal. For example, the controller 525 broadcasts the activation signal wirelessly via the wireless hardware 530. The activation signal may include one or more of an indication of the operational state of first electronic tool 115 (e.g., indicating activation occurred) and a source identifier (e.g., an identity of the first adapter 120, an identity of the first electronic tool 115, or both). ”) [Post; paragraph 0047] ; a first communication interface (first adapter 120) for the first battery pack or for the electric scrubbing brush, wherein the first communication interface is connected to the sensor circuit and configured to transmit an activation signal depending on a detection of the activation or change (“ In block 710, the controller 525 of the first adapter 120 broadcasts an activation signal. For example, the controller 525 broadcasts the activation signal wirelessly via the wireless hardware 530. The activation signal may include one or more of an indication of the operational state of first electronic tool 115 (e.g., indicating activation occurred) and a source identifier (e.g., an identity of the first adapter 120, an identity of the first electronic tool 115, or both) ”) [Post; paragraph 0047] ; a second communication interface (second adapter 405) for the second battery pack or for the electric pump device, wherein the second communication interface is configured to receive the activation signal (“ In block 715, the controller 625 of the second adapter 405 (also referred to as a switching adapter) detects the activation signal broadcast by the first adapter 120. For example, the activation signal may be received by the wireless hardware 630 of the second adapter 405 (over the wireless link 130) and forwarded to the controller 625 of the second adapter 405. ”) [Post; paragraph 0048] ; and a control unit for the second battery pack or for the electric pump device, which is configured to automatically activate or automatically change an active operation of the electric pump device depending on the received activation signal (“ In block 720, the controller 625 of the second adapter 405 controls the second electronic tool 400 based on the activation signal detected in block 715. In some embodiments, controlling the second electronic tool 400 in block 720 includes the second adapter 405 activating the second electronic tool 400. ”) [Post; paragraph 0049] . Regarding claim 12 (Currently Amended), Post discloses the communication system according to claim 11, wherein the second communication interface (second adapter 405) is configured to receive the activation signal directly from the first communication interface (“ In block 715, the controller 625 of the second adapter 405 (also referred to as a switching adapter) detects the activation signal broadcast by the first adapter 120. For example, the activation signal may be received by the wireless hardware 630 of the second adapter 405 (over the wireless link 130) and forwarded to the controller 625 of the second adapter 405.”) [Post; paragraph 0048] . Regarding claim 13 (Currently Amended), Post discloses the communication system according to claim 11, comprising a local network router or a server computer unit (an “existing communication link”) , wherein the local network router or the server computer unit is configured receive the activation signal from the first communication interface and to transmit the activation signal to the second communication interface (“ In some embodiments, the activation signal broadcast by the first adapter 120 is transmitted via an existing communication link between the first adapter 120 and the second adapter 405 (e.g., a Bluetooth or Wi-Fi connection previously established). ”) [Post; paragraph 0047] . Regarding claim 14 (Currently Amended), Post discloses the communication system according to claim 1, comprising a first memory unit (memory 535) for the first battery pack (first adapter 120) (“ the first adapter 120 has an interface that mimics a power tool battery pack and is coupled to the battery interface 180 ”) [Post; paragraph 0029] or for the electric scrubbing brush, which stores information about the first battery pack and/or the electric scrubbing brush (“ Additionally, in such embodiments, the source identifier(s) and control action(s) are stored in the memory 535 of the first adapter 120. ”) [Post; paragraph 0071] . Regarding claim 15 (Currently Amended), Post discloses the communication system according to claim 1, comprising a second memory unit (memory 635 of the second adapter 405) (“ similarly apply to the second adapter 405 with respect to the second electronic tool 400 and the second power source 410 ”) [Post; paragraph 0033] for the second battery pack (second power source 410) or for the electric pump device, wherein the second memory unit (memory 635) stores information about the first battery pack and/or the electric scrubbing brush (“ The controller 625, in turn, determines that the activation signal is from the first electronic tool system 105, for example, based on a match of the source identifier of the activation signal with an identifier stored in the memory 635. In the event that an activation signal is received in block 715 that is from another device having a source identifier that does not match with an identifier stored in the memory 635 ”) [Post; paragraph 0048] . Conclusion The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. US-20220264667, US-2016/0100724, US-20130127397 and US-2017/0193761 are pertinent to claim 11. Any inquiry concerning this communication or earlier communications from the examiner should be directed to FILLIN "Examiner name" \* MERGEFORMAT JOEL DILLON CRANDALL whose telephone number is FILLIN "Phone number" \* MERGEFORMAT (571)270-5947 . The examiner can normally be reached FILLIN "Work Schedule?" \* MERGEFORMAT Mon - Fri 8:30 - 5:30 . Examiner interviews are available via telephone, in-person, and video conferencing using a USPTO supplied web-based collaboration tool. To schedule an interview, applicant is encouraged to use the USPTO Automated Interview Request (AIR) at http://www.uspto.gov/interviewpractice. If attempts to reach the examiner by telephone are unsuccessful, the examiner’s supervisor, FILLIN "SPE Name?" \* MERGEFORMAT Monica Carter can be reached at FILLIN "SPE Phone?" \* MERGEFORMAT 571-270-5947 . The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is 571-273-8300. Information regarding the status of published or unpublished applications may be obtained from Patent Center. Unpublished application information in Patent Center is available to registered users. To file and manage patent submissions in Patent Center, visit: https://patentcenter.uspto.gov. Visit https://www.uspto.gov/patents/apply/patent-center for more information about Patent Center and https://www.uspto.gov/patents/docx for information about filing in DOCX format. For additional questions, contact the Electronic Business Center (EBC) at 866-217-9197 (toll-free). If you would like assistance from a USPTO Customer Service Representative, call 800-786-9199 (IN USA OR CANADA) or 571-272-1000. /JOEL D CRANDALL/ Examiner, Art Unit 3723