DETAILED ACTION
Claims 1-14, submitted on June 6, 2023, are pending in the application and are rejected for the reasons set forth below. No claim is allowed.
The present application is being examined under the pre-AIA first to invent provisions of the Leahy-Smith America Invents Act (AIA ), Public Law 112-29, 125 Stat. 284. In the event the determination of the status of the application as subject to AIA 35 U.S.C. 102 and 103 (or as subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 102 and 103) is incorrect, any correction of the statutory basis (i.e., changing from AIA to pre-AIA ) for the rejection will not be considered a new ground of rejection if the prior art relied upon, and the rationale supporting the rejection, would be the same under either status.
Claim Rejections – 35 USC § 112
Claims 2-3 and 12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor regards as the invention.
In claim 2, the “control” is undefined. In claims 2-3, the “increased cytotoxicity and/or cytostasis” and “normal basal level” appear to be matters of opinion that would necessarily vary from person to person. Applicant’s specification does not provide some standard for measuring or otherwise determining whether these things are “increased” or “above the normal basal level.” See MPEP 2173.05(b) (relative terminology). The examiner therefore concludes that these two claims are indefinite.
In claim 12, it is unclear whether the claim is limited to cells “of human origin.” “Description of examples or preferences is properly set forth in the specification rather than the claims.” See MPEP 2173.05(d) (exemplary claim language).
Claim Rejections – 35 USC § 102/103
Claims 1-6 and 12-13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated, or in the alternative, under 35 U.S.C. 103 as prima facie obvious over Liu et al., Int. J. Oncol. 2016;49(2):793-802.
Liu (cited in applicant’s IDS1) discloses that “naltrexone exhibits non-cytotoxic anticancer activities and as such, may be best combined with other modalities and combination schedules that maximise the individual action of each partner” (p. 793). “[C]ells pre-treated with LDN [low dose naltrexone] were more sensitive to the cytotoxic effects of a number of common chemotherapy agents” (see abstract). This reference describes an in vitro screening assay that includes co-incubating A549 (immortalized human lung cancer) and HCT116 (immortalized human colorectal cancer) cells with LDN and a target chemotherapy agent, followed by measuring the cytotoxic effects of the chemotherapy agent (p. 794). The concentration of the LDN was 10 nM and 10 μm (p. 794), which appears, as discussed in detail below, to be “an amount sufficient to increase the concentration of OPRK1 above the normal basal levels expected in the specific cancer cell type” as recited in instant claim 3. The assay is conducted in phases, with the first phase including priming with LDN followed by treatment the target anti-cancer agent (p. 794), which meets the limitation of claim 4, although it is implicit that they could be administered simultaneously within the meaning of claim 6.
Liu describes many genes that are induced by treatment with naltrexone (see, e.g., Table I at p. 795 and the discussion thereof). The present invention appears to represent yet another gene that is affected by naltrexone, namely, the opioid receptor kappa-1 (OKRK1). The discovery, however, of such a previously unappreciated property of the prior art, or of a scientific explanation for the prior art’s functioning, does not render it patentably new to the discoverer. The claiming of a new use, new function, or unknown property that is inherently present in the prior art, although not specifically disclosed therein, does not necessarily make the instant claims patentable. See MPEP 2112(I) (something old does not become patentable upon the discovery of a new property).
The claims implicate OPRK1 in two ways: (1) “administration with a second agent that increases the expression of opioid receptor kappa-1 (OPRK1)” (see instant claim 1) and (2) “an amount sufficient to increase the concentration of OPRK1 above the normal basal levels expected in the specific cancer cell type” (see claim 3). Liu appears to disclose both of these limitations. First, Liu clearly discloses using naltrexone; and claim 1 states that “the second agent is … naltrexone.” Therefore, the disclosure of naltrexone in Liu necessarily meets the limitations of item “(1).” That is, Liu inherently discloses “administration with a second agent that increases the expression of opioid receptor kappa-1 (OPRK1),” even though it does not specifically disclose that naltrexone has any effect on OPRK1. Second, example concentrations taught by Liu include 10 nM naltrexone and 10 μM naltrexone (see the footnote below Table I of Liu at p. 795). Naltrexone has a molecular weight of 341 g/mol, so 10 nM and 10 μM as taught by Liu are, respectively, equivalent to 3.41 ng/mL and 3410 ng/mL. Applicant’s own specification explains (p. 12, para. 0041) that suitable concentrations of such a compound is “about 0.34 ng/ml to about 3,400 ng/ml.” The examiner therefore concludes that “10 nM naltrexone” and “10 μM naltrexone” as taught by Liu are within the meaning of an “an amount sufficient to increase the concentration of OPRK1 above the normal basal levels expected in the specific cancer cell type” as recited in claim 4.
The examiner therefore concludes that Liu seems to be identical to the instant claims, except it is silent as to a mechanism of action that is mediated, at least in part, by OPRK-1. See MPEP 2112(V) (once a reference teaching a product appearing to be substantially identical is made the basis of a rejection, and the examiner presents evidence or reasoning to show inherency, the burden of production shifts to the applicant). The burden of showing a patentable difference—if any—between the teachings of Liu and the instant claims now falls to applicant.
Double Patenting
Claims 1-14 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-12 of U.S. Patent No. 11,885,796 B2. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other. Claim 1 of the ‘796 Patent, of which the present application is a continuation, is directed to an in vitro method for identifying an anti-cancer agent, the therapeutic efficacy of which is enhanced upon administration with a second agent that increases the expression of opioid receptor kappa-1 (OPRK1), comprising the steps of: a) co-incubating a population of cells with a target anti-cancer agent and said second agent; and b) measuring the cytotoxicity and/or cytostasis in the population of cells; wherein the therapeutic efficacy of the target anti-cancer agent is enhanced if the cytotoxicity and/or cytostasis of the target anti-cancer agent is increased compared to a control, and wherein the second agent is 6-β-naltrexol or a pharmaceutically acceptable salt thereof and is provided in an amount sufficient to increase the concentration of OPRK1 by at least 10% above the normal basal levels expected in the population of cells.
Conclusion
THEODORE R. HOWELL
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 1628
/THEODORE R. HOWELL/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1628
December 19, 2025
1 See the information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on June 6, 2023. For a convenience, a courtesy copy of this reference is included with this communication.