DETAILED ACTION
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on June 8th 2023, October 20th 2023 and August 30th 2024 were filed. The submission is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Claim Objections
Claims 1 and 7-10 are objected to because of the following informalities:
In claim 1 and 7-10, the limitation of “ the metal material”, should change to “the plated metal material”, such that there would be a unifying terms throughout claims 1 and 7-10 as “the plated metal material”.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are:
Claim limitation “plating deviation suppression mechanism” in claims 1 has/have been interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because it uses/they use a generic placeholder “mechanism" coupled with functional language “…that suppress a deviation…” without reciting sufficient structure to achieve the function. Furthermore, the generic placeholder is only preceded by an insufficient structural modifier “plate deviation suppression”. A review of the specification shows that, although it is not clear, the following appears to be the corresponding structure described in the specification for the 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph limitation: The limitation “plating deviation suppression mechanism " has been described in Paragraph 0030, 0059 and 0062 as a plate that have a current flow direction that is opposite of the current flow direction in the heated metal material, and the current flowing in the plate will generate a magnetic field that will mechanically and electrically suppressing the heated metal material, such mechanical suppression (refer to Paragraph 0030) is suppressing the movement of the heated metal material by a magnetic force that generated by the counter magnetic field from the current that run through the plate; electrical suppression (refer to Paragraph 0062) is suppressing the rate of increase of the electrical current in the heated metal material through the counter magnetic field generated by the current that run through the heated metal material.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-4, 6-7 and 9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by JP6337738B2 herein set forth as JP37738B2.
Regarding claim 1, JP37738B2 discloses a forming system (refer as “hot stamping” in specification of Technical field section cited: “…a device for electrically heating a plated metal plate for hot stamping…”) comprising: a heating unit (heating unit #10, fig 2) that causes a current (refer to “I1” in fig. 2) to flow through a plated metal material (plated metal material #11, fig.2) to heat the metal material (plated metal material #11, fig.2); a forming die (refer to NPL-hot-stamping at footnote1 as evidence that “hot-stamping” inherently discloses a forming die) that forms the heated metal material (plated metal material #11, fig.2); and a plating deviation suppression mechanism (refer to fig.2 that the opposite current flow I2 generated in #12a ) that suppresses (refer to the interaction between “I1” and “I2” in fig.2, such that “I2” is always suppressing the “I1”changes in current flow and magnetic field no matter is start or stop heating) a deviation of a plating (refer to the shape of #11 in fig.2) in the metal material (plated metal material #11, fig.2) due to energization heating (refer to the heating of heating unit #10 in fig.2).
Regarding claim 2, JP37738B2 discloses substantially all feature set forth in claim 1, JP37738B2 further discloses wherein the plating deviation suppression mechanism (refer to fig.2 that the opposite current flow I2 generated in #12a ) electrically suppresses (refer to the interaction between “I1” and “I2” in fig.2, such that “I2” is always suppressing the “I1”changes in current flow and magnetic field no matter is start or stop heating) the deviation of the plating (refer to the shape of #11 in fig.2).
Regarding claim 3, JP37738B2 discloses substantially all feature set forth in claim 2, JP37738B2 further discloses wherein the plating deviation suppression mechanism (refer to fig.2 that the opposite current flow I2 generated in #12a ) suppresses (refer to the interaction between “I1” and “I2” in fig.2, such that “I2” is always suppressing the “I1”changes in current flow and magnetic field no matter is start or stop heating) a change in a current (refer as “I1” for heating) when energization heating (refer to the heating in fig.2) is stopped.
Regarding claim 4, JP37738B2 discloses substantially all feature set forth in claim 2, JP37738B2 further discloses wherein the plating deviation suppression mechanism (refer to fig.2 that the opposite current flow I2 generated in #12a ) suppresses (refer to the interaction between “I1” and “I2” in fig.2, such that “I2” is always suppressing the “I1”changes in current flow and magnetic field no matter is start or stop heating) a current (refer as start “I1” for heating)for energization heating (refer to the heating in fig.2).
Regarding claim 6, JP37738B2 discloses substantially all feature set forth in claim 1, JP37738B2 further discloses wherein the plating deviation suppression mechanism (refer to fig.2 that the opposite current flow I2 generated in #12a ) mechanically suppresses (refer to the interaction between “I1” and “I2” in fig.2, such that “I2” is always suppressing the “I1”changes in current flow and magnetic field no matter is start or stop heating, magnetic field is mechanical force) the deviation of the plating (refer to the shape of #11 in fig.2).
Regarding claim 7, JP37738B2 discloses substantially all feature set forth in claim 6, JP37738B2 further discloses wherein the plating deviation suppression mechanism (refer to fig.2 that the opposite current flow I2 generated in #12a ) separates the metal material (plated metal material #11, fig.2) and a magnetic body (refer to #12a and #13a in fig.2) from each other by a predetermined distance (refer to the distance between #12-13 and #11 in fig.2) or more during energization heating (refer to the heating in fig.2).
Regarding claim 9, JP37738B2 discloses substantially all feature set forth in claim 6, JP37738B2 further discloses wherein the plating deviation suppression mechanism (refer to fig.2 that the opposite current flow I2 generated in #12a ) is configured by a magnetic shield (refer to the magnetic shield that generated by “I2” in #12a and #13a in fig.2) disposed around the metal material (plated metal material #11, fig.2) during energization heating (refer to the heating in fig.2).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 5 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over JP6337738B2 herein set forth as JP37738B2, in view of CN107923860B herein set forth as CN23860B.
Regarding claim 5, JP37738B2 discloses substantially all feature set forth in claim 2, JP37738B2 further discloses wherein the plating deviation suppression mechanism (refer to fig.2 that the opposite current flow I2 generated in #12a ) is configured by the heating unit (heating unit #10, fig 2).
JP37738B2 does not explicitly disclose a control unit for controlling the heating unit, and the control unit is electrically connected to a power supply of the heating unit and controls a heating timing by the heating unit by transmitting a control signal to the power supply and controls a heating temperature by adjusting a magnitude of the current.
In the field of heating element control, CN23860B discloses a control unit (control circuit #4, fig.1) for controlling the heating unit (heater #22, fig.1), and the control unit (control circuit #4, fig.1) is electrically connected to a power supply (high voltage circuit #11, fig.1) of the heating unit (heater #22, fig.1) and controls a heating timing (refer to “predetermined time” cited in the citation below) by the heating unit (heater #22, fig.1) by transmitting a control signal (refer to the sensor signal of sensor #29 in fig.1) to the power supply (high voltage circuit #11, fig.1) and controls a heating temperature (refer to NPL-machine translate page 4 3rd paragraph cited: “…the granular substance detection system can use the control circuit calculating the heater resistor, and can accurately calculate the temperature of the heater using the calculated value. …”) by adjusting a magnitude of the current (refer to NPL machine translate Page 14 2nd paragraph cited: “…temperature T here, control the amount of current flowing through the heater 22 so that the heater 22 is in the range determined in advance…”).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified JP37738B2’s system with a control unit for controlling the heating unit, and the control unit is electrically connected to a power supply of the heating unit and controls a heating timing by the heating unit by transmitting a control signal to the power supply and controls a heating temperature by adjusting a magnitude of the current, as taught by CN23860B, in order to provide better control, more efficient energy consumption heating unit for the forming system, such that would reduce overhead cost and increase adaptability for the system.
Claim 8 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over JP6337738B2 herein set forth as JP37738B2, in view of EP3067128A1 herein set forth as EP67128A1.
Regarding claim 8, JP37738B2 discloses substantially all feature set forth in claim 6, JP37738B2 further discloses wherein the plating deviation suppression mechanism (refer to fig.2 that the opposite current flow I2 generated in #12a ) is configured by the heating unit (heating unit #10, fig 2) that heats the metal material (plated metal material #11, fig.2).
JP37738B2 does not explicitly disclose heats the metal material outside the forming die.
In the similar field of hot stamping system, EP67128A1 discloses heats (refer to annotated “heater section” in fig.2a) the metal material (workpiece #100, fig.2a) outside the forming die (refer to annotated “forming section” in fig.2a).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified JP37738B2’s system with heats the metal material outside the forming die, as taught by EP67128A1, in order to provide a production line that capable for a faster production rate, such that would lower overhead cost per product, and able to provide better profit margin.
Claim 10 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over JP6337738B2 herein set forth as JP37738B2, in view of EP3281717A2 herein set forth as EP81717A2.
Regarding claim 10, JP37738B2 discloses substantially all feature set forth in claim 6, JP37738B2 further discloses wherein the magnetic shield (refer to #12a and #13a in fig.2) is composed of two members (refer to #12a and #13a in fig.2) and covers the metal material plated metal material #11, fig.2) by combining the two members (refer to #12a and #13a in fig.2) during energization heating (refer to the heating in fig.2).
JP37738B2 does not explicitly discloses wherein the magnetic shield is composed of two semi-circular members.
In the similar field of hot stamping system, EP81717A2 discloses wherein the magnetic shield (refer to first forming plate #110 and second forming plate #120 in fig.1) is composed of two semi-circular members (refer to shape of first forming plate #110 and second forming plate #120 in fig.1).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified JP37738B2’s system with wherein the magnetic shield is composed of two semi-circular members, as taught by EP3281717A2, in order to create the capability to handle a different shape of the metal material, such that would increase the utilization and marketability of the system.
Claim 11 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over JP6337738B2 herein set forth as JP37738B2, in view of EP3281717A2 herein set forth as EP81717A2, and further in view of EP3067128A1 herein set forth as EP67128A1.
Regarding claim 11, the modification of JP37738B2 and EP81717A2 discloses substantially all features set forth in claim 10, JP37738B2 or EP81717A2 does not explicitly disclose wherein the magnetic shield is retracted from a periphery of the metal material at the time of forming.
In the similar field of hot stamping system, EP67128A1 discloses disclose wherein the magnetic shield (refer to the annotated “heater section” in fig.2a) is retracted from a periphery of the metal material (workpiece #100 fig.2a) at the time of forming (refer to annotated “forming section” in fig. 2a).
.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified JP37738B2’s system with wherein the magnetic shield is retracted from a periphery of the metal material at the time of forming, as taught by EP67128A1, in order to provide a production line that capable for a faster production rate, such that would lower overhead cost per product, and able to provide better profit margin.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
FROST et al (US2016/0228934A1) discloses a hot stamping system that only read a some of the dependent claims.
Fukuchi et al (US2014/0069162A1) discloses another hot stamping system that also only read on some of the limitation in dependent claims.
Dykstra (US8479552B1) discloses a method of die forming that read of some of the dependent claims.
/YEONG JUEN THONG/Examiner, Art Unit 3761 February 18th 2026
/STEVEN W CRABB/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3761
1 Refer to attached NPL-Chapter 7: Hot Stamping in “Sheet Metal Forming - Processes and Application” by T. Altan and A.E. Tekkaya, page 2 in NPL(page# 134) mentioning die for the stamping.