DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-5, 8-10, 12 and 15-17 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Otremba et al. (PG Pub. No. US 2014/0301039 A1).
Regarding claim 1, Otremba teaches an electronic package (¶ 0034: 300a), comprising:
a first substrate (¶ 0034: carrier 302);
an electronic component (¶ 0034: chip 304) arranged on and/or formed in the first substrate (fig. 3A: 304 arranged on 302);
a thermally conductive second substrate (¶¶ 0037, 0041: 314, including a cooling function) comprising a first portion (central portion) and a second portion (peripheral portion) integrally connected to the first portion (fig. 3A: central and peripheral portions of 314 integrally formed), wherein at least the first portion among the first and second portion is fixedly attached to the electronic component (fig. 3A: at least central portion of 314 fixedly attached to 304);
a package material (¶ 0036: encapsulation material 306) arranged to encapsulate the electronic component and to at least partially encapsulate the first and second substrate (fig. 3A: 306 encapsulates 304 and at least a portion of 302 and/or a portion of 314), wherein the package material comprises a recess formed therein (¶ 0037 & fig. 3A: recess 308 formed in 306) that extends up to a surface of the first portion (fig. 3A: 308 extends to a surface of central portion of 314), and
a contour of the recess, viewed in a direction in which the recess extends towards the first portion, is formed to allow identification of an orientation of the electronic package viewed in the direction (fig. 3A: 308 allows for identification of vertical and/or horizontal orientation of 300a).
Regarding claim 2, Otremba teaches the electronic package according to claim 1, wherein the second substrate is attached to the electronic component using an attaching material (¶ 0042: 314 attached to 304 by solder or glue).
Regarding claims 3 and 8, Otremba teaches the electronic package according to previous claims 1 and 2, wherein the electronic package comprises a plurality of leads to allow electrical contact with the electronic package, wherein the second substrate is comprised in a clip, the clip further comprising a lead portion extending from the second portion to at least one lead among the plurality of leads, wherein the lead portion is electrically or integrally connected to the at least one lead, and wherein the clip electrically connects a terminal of the electronic component to the at least one lead; and/or
wherein the first substrate is electrically conductive (302 includes at least one electrically conductive lead) and is electrically connected to a second terminal of the electronic component (¶ 0042: 304 includes electrically conductive pads), and wherein the first substrate is configured to allow electrical access to the second terminal of the electronic component (¶ 0042: 302 electrically connected to at least one die pad).
Regarding claims 4 and 9, Otremba teaches the electronic package according to claims 1 and 2, wherein the electronic component comprises a semiconductor die, and wherein the first substrate comprises a die pad; and/or
wherein the package material comprises a body of solidified molding compound (¶ 0036 & fig. 3A: 306 comprises molding compound in solid form).
Regarding claims 5 and 10, Otremba teaches the electronic package according to previous claims 1 and 2, wherein the electronic package further comprises a conductive coating and/or layer stack arranged in the recess on the surface of the first portion(¶ 0047: 308 exposes metallization).
Regarding claim 12, Otremba teaches a method for manufacturing an electronic package (300a), the method comprising the steps of:
providing an electronic package (300a) comprising:
a first substrate (302);
an electronic component (304) arranged on and/or formed in the first substrate (fig. 3A);
a thermally conductive second substrate (314) comprising a first portion and a second portion integrally connected to the first portion (314 comprises integrally connected central and peripheral portions), wherein at least the first portion among the first and second portion is fixedly attached to the electronic component (fig. 3A); and
a package material (306) arranged to encapsulate the electronic component and to at least partially encapsulate the first and second substrate (fig. 3A); and
forming a recess (308) in the package material extending up to a surface of the first portion (fig. 3A),
wherein the recess has a contour, viewed in a direction in which the recess extends towards the first portion, is formed to allow identification of an orientation of the electronic package viewed in the direction (fig. 3A).
Regarding claim 15, Otremba teaches the method according to claim 12, wherein the second substrate is attached to the electronic component using an attaching material (¶ 0042: 314 attached to 304 by solder or glue).
Regarding claim 16, Otremba teaches the method according to claim 12, further comprising arranging a conductive coating and/or layer stack in the recess on the surface of the first portion (¶ 0047: metallization arranged in 308); and/or
wherein the electronic package comprises a plurality of leads to allow electrical contact with the electronic package, wherein the second substrate is comprised in a clip, the clip further comprising a lead portion extending from the second portion to at least one lead among the plurality of leads, wherein the lead portion is electrically or integrally connected to the at least one lead, and wherein the clip electrically connects a terminal of the electronic component to the at least one lead.
Regarding claim 17, Otremba teaches the method according to claim 12,
wherein the first substrate is electrically conductive (302 includes at least one electrically conductive lead) and is electrically connected to a second terminal of the electronic component (¶ 0042: 304 includes electrically conductive pads), and wherein the first substrate is configured to allow electrical access to the second terminal of the electronic component (¶ 0042: 302 electrically connected to at least one die pad); and/or
wherein the electronic component comprises a semiconductor die, and wherein the first substrate comprises a die pad.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 6-7, 11 and 18-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Otremba as applied to claims 1 and 2 above, and further in view of Levardo et al. (PG Pub. No. US 2020/0365549 A1).
Regarding claims 6 and 18, Otremba teaches the electronic package according to claim 2 and the method according to claim 15, comprising a second portion (second/peripheral portion of 314).
Otremba does not teach wherein the second portion comprises an overflow recess or hole facing the electronic component, and wherein the attaching material occupies at least part of the overflow recess or hole.
Levardo teaches a semiconductor package (¶ 0068 & fig. 2B among others: 106) including a second substrate (¶ 0069: 110, similar to 314 of Otremba), a second portion of the second substrate comprising an overflow recess or hole (¶ 0069: recesses 114) facing an electronic component (fig. 2A: 114 faces electronic component 102), and wherein an attaching material (¶ 0069: encapsulant 128) occupies at least part of the overflow recess or hole (fig. 2A: 128 occupies at least a portion of 114).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to configure the second portion of Otremba with an overflow recess, as a means to lock the encapsulant and the second substrate (Levardo, ¶ 0005), preventing delamination and improving electric reliability of the package (Levardo, ¶ 0008).
Regarding claims 7, 11 and 19-20, Otremba teaches the electronic packages according to claims 2 and 3 and the methods according to claims 15 and 18, comprising a second substrate (314).
Otremba does not teach wherein the second substrate comprises a plurality of protruding portions extending from the second portion to the electronic component defining a space between the electronic component and a remainder of the second substrate, and wherein the space is at least partially filled with the attaching material.
Levardo teaches a semiconductor package (¶ 0068 & fig. 2B among others: 106) including a second substrate (¶ 0069: 110, similar to 314 of Otremba), a second portion of the second substrate comprising protrusions (¶ 0069: recesses 114 define protrusions in surfaces of 110) extending from the second portion to the electronic component defining a space between the electronic component and a remainder of the second substrate (fig. 2A: protrusions of 110 extend to 102 and define recesses 114 between 102 and upper surface of 110), and wherein the space is at least partially filled with attaching material (fig. 2A: 114 at least partially filled with encapsulant 128).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to configure the second portion of Otremba with protrusions, as a means to lock the encapsulant and the second substrate (Levardo, ¶ 0005), preventing delamination and improving electric reliability of the package (Levardo, ¶ 0008).
Claim(s) 13-14 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Otremba.
Regarding claim 13-14, Otremba teaches the method according to claim 12, comprising step a) and step b), wherein step a) comprises:
a1) providing the first substrate (fig. 3A: 302 provided);
a2) arranging the electronic component on the first substrate (fig. 3A: 304 arranged on 302);
a3) attaching at least the first portion among the first and second portion to the electronic component (fig. 3A: at least central portion of 314 attached to 304); and
a4) providing the package material (fig. 3A: 306 provided),
wherein the first substrate is comprised in a leadframe (¶ 0030).
Otremba is silent to wherein step b) comprises:
arranging a masking layer configured to define a position and shape of the recess,
etching the package material using the masking layer, and
removing the masking layer,
wherein the etching comprises
chemical etching and wherein the masking layer comprises a metal; and/or
applying a laser to laser-remove a portion of the package material, and
wherein step a4) comprises
applying a molding compound and allowing the molding compound to solidify to thereby form a body of solidified molding compound, the body of solidified molding compound forming the package material of the electronic package, wherein the leadframe comprising a frame portion and a plurality of the first substrates connected to the frame portion for manufacturing a plurality of respective electronic components, and
wherein the method further comprises singulating the electronic package from the frame portion after step a4).
However, these methods are obvious in view of Applicant’s admission above, that the claimed methods are obvious variants to those used to provide the product disclosed by Otremba.
Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to add the detail of the explicit methods of steps a) and b), as a means to optimize manufacturing efficiency by utilizing known methods to form the package(s) of Otremba.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments, see page 9 lines 1-5, filed 2/5/2026, with respect to the 35 USC § 112(b) rejections of claims 5, 10 and 16 have been fully considered and are persuasive. Accordingly, the 35 USC § 112(b) rejections of claims 5, 10 and 16 have been withdrawn.
Regarding the Applicant’s argument, regarding the response to the election/restriction requirement, stating “Applicant clearly explained that examination of all the claims can be made without serious search burden. Search-burden statements are thus not admissions of obviousness and should not be treated as such MPEP § 803; MPEP § 2129” is moot in view of the claims as currently presented. The Examiner notes that the Applicant has merely provided a conclusory statement (‘clearly explained’), and has failed to provide proof or evidence as to the lack of a serious search burden. Products and methods for making such products are categorized in different classes/subclasses, such that a complete examination for both products and methods requires extensive additional searching. However, the claims as currently presented are substantially overlapping in scope, such that no burden currently exists.
Applicant's arguments regarding the 35 USC § 102 and 35 USC §103 rejections of claims 1-20 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.Regarding the Applicant’s argument stating:
“Otremba's coolant receiving recess 308 does not have any "a contour of the recess, viewed in a direction in which the recess extends towards the first portion, is formed to allow identification of an orientation of the electronic package viewed in the direction" as recited in claim 1”, the Examiner respectfully disagrees.
In figs. 3A-3B, Ortega teaches a recess (308) including a contour (outline) viewed in a direction in which the recess extends along line 310 toward a central portion of second substrate 314 which allows for identification of a distinct orientation of the package. For example, in fig. 3A, 308 is configured to expose a surface of element 314, which is arranged above pad 316b. Therefore, 308 allows for visual identification of the package orientation, i.e. with 314 positioned in a top right region, 316c in a bottom right region, 302b in a top left region, and 302c in a bottom left region.
In response to applicant's argument that the references fail to show certain features of the invention, it is noted that the features upon which applicant relies (i.e., protrusions, different corner radii, chamfers, etc.) are not recited in the rejected claim(s). Although the claims are interpreted in light of the specification, limitations from the specification are not read into the claims. See In re Van Geuns, 988 F.2d 1181, 26 USPQ2d 1057 (Fed. Cir. 1993). Since the plain meaning of ‘contour’ is an outline of a shape, Ortega teaches a contour of 308 suitable for visual identification of an orientation of the package of figs. 3A-3B.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/BRIAN TURNER/ Examiner, Art Unit 2818