DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-3 and 12-14 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) and under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Li et al. (WO 2023/093094), where Li et al. (US 2023/0422617) (hereafter “Li”) is used as the English equivalent.
Regarding claims 1-3 and 12-14, Li teaches an electroluminescent device comprising an anode, a hole transporting layer, an emission layer, an electron transporting layer, and a cathode (paragraph [0089]-[0099]) (claim 1). Li teaches that the emitting dopant can have the following structure,
,
, and
(paragraph [0057]) (claims 1-3 and 12-14).
meets formula 1, where X1 and X2 are N(R12), R12 is a substituted aryl group, R6 and R9 are tert-butyl groups, R1, R3-R5, R7, R8, R10, and R11 are hydrogen atoms, R2 is formula 2-2, and Rc, Rd, Rg, and Rh are hydrogen atoms.
Claim(s) 1 and 12 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Jiang et al. (CN111440122A) (hereafter “Jiang”), where machine translation is used as the English equivalent.
Regarding claims 1 and 12, Jiang teaches an electroluminescent device comprising an anode, a hole transporting layer, an emission layer, an electron transporting layer, and a cathode (pages 234-250 of the machine translation) (claim 1). Jiang teaches that the dopant in the emission layer can have the following structure,
(paragraph [0094] of the CN document) (claims 1 and 12).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-9 and 12-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Geum et al. (US 2021/0277026) (hereafter “Geum”) in view of Qu et al. (Angew. Chem. Int. Ed 2022, 61, e202201886) (hereafter “Qu”).
Regarding claims 1-9 and 12-20, Geum teaches an electroluminescent device comprising an anode, a hole transporting layer, an emission layer, an electron transporting layer, and a cathode (paragraph [0391]-[0394]) (claim 1). Geum teaches that the emission layer can comprise a dopant that meets the following formula,
, where R1, R10, and R11 can be alkyl groups, a heteroaryl group, such as a carbazole, or an aryl group, such as a fluorene, spirobifluorene, or a fluorene group (paragraphs [0012]-[0018], [0058]-[0061], and [0078]-[0122]). Geum teaches the following compounds that meet the above formula,
,
,
, and
are a few examples (paragraph [0188]). Geum does not limit that location of the substitute groups.
Geum does not specifically teach where the compound is substituted with a spirobifluorene group.
Qu teaches similar boron compounds as taught by Geum (page 2 Figure 2). Qu teaches that the compounds are used as dopant for electroluminescent devices (page 1). Qu teaches that adding a spirobifluorene group to the core boron heterocyclic groups lead to a device with improve performance (page 7 paragraph under the heading conclusion).
The Office points out that sections 2144.09 I and II of the MPEP state " A prima facie case of obviousness may be made when chemical compounds have very close structural similarities and similar utilities. “An obviousness rejection based on similarity in chemical structure and function entails the motivation of one skilled in the art to make a claimed compound, in the expectation that compounds similar in structure will have similar properties.” In re Payne, 606 F.2d 303, 313, 203 USPQ 245, 254 (CCPA 1979). See In re Papesch, 315 F.2d 381, 137 USPQ 43 (CCPA 1963) (discussed in more detail below) and In re Dillon, 919 F.2d 688, 16 USPQ2d 1897 (Fed. Cir. 1991) (discussed below and in MPEP § 2144) for an extensive review of the case law pertaining to obviousness based on close structural similarity of chemical compounds. See also MPEP § 2144.08, paragraph II.A.4.(c).” and “Compounds which are position isomers (compounds having the same radicals in physically different positions on the same nucleus) or homologs (compounds differing regularly by the successive addition of the same chemical group, e.g., by -CH2- groups) are generally of sufficiently close structural similarity that there is a presumed expectation that such compounds possess similar properties. In re Wilder, 563 F.2d 457, 195 USPQ 426 (CCPA 1977). See also In re May, 574 F.2d 1082, 197 USPQ 601 (CCPA 1978) (stereoisomers prima facie obvious).
Isomers having the same empirical formula but different structures are not necessarily considered equivalent by chemists skilled in the art and therefore are not necessarily suggestive of each other. Ex parte Mowry, 91 USPQ 219 (Bd. App. 1950) (claimed cyclohexylstyrene not prima facie obvious over prior art isohexylstyrene). Similarly, homologs which are far removed from adjacent homologs may not be expected to have similar properties. In re Mills, 281 F.2d 218, 126 USPQ 513 (CCPA 1960) (prior art disclosure of C8 to C12 alkyl sulfates was not sufficient to render prima facie obvious claimed C1 alkyl sulfate).
Homology and isomerism involve close structural similarity which must be considered with all other relevant facts in determining the issue of obviousness. In re Mills, 281 F.2d 218, 126 USPQ 513 (CCPA 1960); In re Wiechert, 370 F.2d 927, 152 USPQ 247 (CCPA 1967). Homology should not be automatically equated with prima facie obviousness because the claimed invention and the prior art must each be viewed “as a whole.” In re Langer, 465 F.2d 896, 175 USPQ 169 (CCPA 1972) (Claims to a polymerization process using a sterically hindered amine were held unobvious over a similar prior art process because the prior art disclosed a large number of unhindered amines and only one sterically hindered amine (which differed from a claimed amine by 3 carbon atoms), and therefore the reference as a whole did not apprise the ordinary artisan of the significance of hindered amines as a class.).”
Regarding claims 1-8 and 12-19, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention modify the compounds of Geum to comprise a spirobifluorene group as taught by Qu. The motivation would have been to improve performance of the electroluminescent device.
Furthermore, regarding claims 9 and 20, it would have been a prima facie case of obviousness change the position groups on the modified compounds of Geum in view of Qu to arrive at compounds that meet the applicant’s claimed compounds, such as
and
. The modified compounds of Geum in view of Qu are positional isomers of the applicant’s claimed compounds; therefore, the claimed compounds would be obvious and one of ordinary skill in the art would expect the compounds to act in a similar manner as the compounds of Geum in view of Qu.
Claim(s) 10 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Geum et al. (US 2021/0277026) (hereafter “Geum”) in view of Qu et al. (Angew. Chem. Int. Ed 2022, 61, e202201886) (hereafter “Qu”) as applied to claims 1-9 and 12-20 above, and further in view of Tada et al. (WO 2021/200252), where Tada et al. (US 2023/0139757) (hereafter “Tada”) is used as the English equivalent.
Regarding claim 10, Geum in view of Qu does not teach were the host materials meet the applicant’s claimed formulas.
Tada teaches a similar boron dopant material for use in the emission layer of an electroluminescent device (paragraphs [0203]-[0207]). Tada teaches that when host materials of the light emitting layer is a mixture of
, which meets applicant’s formula HT-1, and
, which meets applicant’s formula ET-1, the device has improved lifetime (paragraphs [0203]-[0207]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the device of Geum in view of Qu so the host material of the emission layer is a mixture of
and
as taught by Tada. The motivation would have been to improve the lifetime of the device.
Claim(s) 11 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Geum et al. (US 2021/0277026) (hereafter “Geum”) in view of Qu et al. (Angew. Chem. Int. Ed 2022, 61, e202201886) (hereafter “Qu”) as applied to claims 1-9 and 12-20 above, and further in view of Baldo et al. (Nature 2000, 403, 750-753) (hereafter “Baldo”) and Lin et al. (US 2020/0119289) (hereafter “Lin”).
Regarding claim 11, Geum in view of Qu does not teach the presence of a sensitizer in the emission layer of the electroluminescent device.
Baldo teaches that one can improve the efficiency of an electroluminescent device by adding a phosphorescent dopant to the emission layer of the device to act as a sensitizer for a fluorescent dopant (page 753 left column last paragraph). Baldo teaches that the sensitizer helps with energy transfer to the light emitting dopant.
Lin teaches phosphorescent materials that can be used as a phosphorescent sensitizer for the emission layer of an electroluminescent device (paragraph [0099]). Lin teaches that phosphorescent material can have the following structure,
, which meets applicant’s formula D-1 (paragraph [0094]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to add a phosphorescent material, such as
as taught by Lin, to the emission layer of the electroluminescent device of Qeum in view of Qu to act as a phosphorescent sensitizer as taught by Baldo. The motivation would have been to improve the efficiency of the device.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Jiang et al. (CN 111620890) teaches boron compounds substituted with a spiro group.
/ANDREW K BOHATY/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1759