Response to Arguments
Applicant's amendments and arguments filed 12/3/2025 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. Please see amendments addressed below.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-4, 6, 8, and 10 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Watanabe (20190088493).
Regarding claim 1, Watanabe teaches an semiconductor device comprising:
a semiconductor substrate (10; par. 32) including a first area (Rcell) and a second area (Rmark + Rteg) in a plane perpendicular to stacking direction (please see fig. 10 which shows, in the plane going from left to right in the page, that in said left to right plane, Rcell is a first area and Rmark + Rteg are a second area);
a plurality of memory cells (please see fig. 11) provided in the first area;
a mark (17 + 16 + STI) provided in the second area and having a first side surface and a second side surface that intersects with the first side surface (please note both 17 and 16 are rectangles and thus have 4 sides in the page plane); and
a plurality of patterns (90 + ST; please note that ST can also be under 17, as taught in par. 46) provided in the second area and provided on the plane along the first side surface and aling the second side surface (please see above).
Please note that multiple embodiments of prior art are used above. It would have been obvious to a PHOSITA, at the time said invention was made to utilize these embodiments in combination since are related to similar fields of endeavor.
Regarding claim 2, Watanabe teaches an semiconductor device according to claim 1, wherein the plurality of patterns are formed as a linear shape (please see figure above).
Regarding claim 3, Watanabe teaches an semiconductor device according to claim 1, wherein the plurality of patterns are formed as a matrix shape (please see figure above).
Regarding claim 4, Watanabe teaches an semiconductor device according to claim 1, wherein a width of each of the plurality of patterns is less than a width of the mark (please see figure above).
Furthermore, the Federal Circuit held that, where the only difference between the prior art and the claims was a recitation of relative dimensions of the claimed device and a device having the claimed relative dimensions would not perform differently than the prior art device, the claimed device was not patentably distinct from the prior art device
Regarding claim 6, Watanabe teaches an semiconductor device according to claim 1, wherein the plurality of patterns and the memory cells have the same stacked structure (please see figure above).
Regarding claim 8, Watanabe teaches an semiconductor device according to claim 1, wherein the mark includes an insulating film (“STI” are shallow trench isolation).
Regarding claim 10, Watanabe teaches an semiconductor device according to claim 1, wherein the mark includes one or more alignment marks.
Claim(s) 11-14 and 16 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Watanabe (20190088493).
Regarding claim 11, Watanabe teaches an semiconductor device comprising:
[ a semiconductor substrate including a plurality of first areas and a second area a plane perpendicular to a stacking direction, the second area interposed between adjacent ones of the plurality of first areas;
a plurality of memory arrays provided in the first areas, respectively;
a mark provided in the second area and having a first side surface and a second side surface that intersects with the first side surface; and
a plurality of patterns provided in the second area and provided on the first side surface and the second side surface.] (please see rejection for claim 1 above)
Regarding claim 12, Watanabe teaches an semiconductor device according to claim 11, wherein the plurality of patterns are formed as a linear shape (please see rejection for claim 2).
Regarding claim 13, Watanabe teaches an semiconductor device according to claim 11, wherein the plurality of patterns are formed as a matrix shape (please see rejection for claim 3).
Regarding claim 14, Watanabe teaches an semiconductor device according to claim 11, wherein a width of each of the plurality of patterns is less than a width of the mark (please see rejection for claim 4).
Regarding claim 16, Watanabe teaches an semiconductor device according to claim 11, wherein the plurality of patterns and cells of the memory arrays have the same stacked structure (please see rejection for claim 6).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claim 5 objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter: a semiconductor device according to claim 1, wherein a width of each of the plurality of patterns is equal to or less than about 10 μm.
Claim 7 objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter: a semiconductor device according to claim 1, wherein a distance between the mark and the plurality of patterns is equal to or more than about 2.5 μm and equal to or less than about 4 μm.
Claim 9 objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter: a semiconductor device according to claim 1, wherein the first area is a chip area and the second area is a kerf area interposed between the first area and another first area.
Claim 15 objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter: a semiconductor device according to claim 11, wherein a width of each of the plurality of patterns is equal to or less than about 10 μm.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/CALEB E HENRY/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2818