DETAILED ACTION
Status
The filing on 01/12/2026 amended claims 1, 8, 10 and added claims 12-20. Claims 1-20 are pending and rejected on new grounds of rejections necessitated by the amendments of claims 1 and 8. The rejection of claim 10 is maintained.
Objection/s to the Application, Drawings and Claims
The filing on 01/12/2026 appropriately amended the title; hence the objection/s to the title made in the last office action are withdrawn.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 12 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, as failing to comply with the written description requirement. The claim(s) contains subject matter which was not described in the specification in such a way as to reasonably convey to one skilled in the relevant art that the inventor or a joint inventor, or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the inventor(s), at the time the application was filed, had possession of the claimed invention. Claim 12 recites “a first heat conduction member between the bracket and the cooling member, the first heat conduction member contacting both the bracket and the motor; and a second heat conduction member between the motor and the bracket, the second heat conduction member contacting both the cooling member and the bracket.” The specification as originally filed discloses “a first heat conduction member between the motor and the bracket, the first heat conduction member contacting both the motor and the bracket; and a second heat conduction member between the bracket and the cooling member, the second heat conduction member contacting both bracket and the cooling member.”
For the purpose of examination, claim 12 is interpreted as originally disclosed.
Claim 13 depends on claim 12; hence it is also rejected based on the same ground/s of rejection/s.
Claim Rejections – 35 USC § 102
Claims 8, 10, 11 and 16-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1)/(a)(2) as being anticipated by Iwashita (US 20210041777 A1).
Regarding claim 8, Iwashita teaches a light source (21) device comprising: a light source (21) configured to emit an excitation light beam having a first wavelength; a heat generation member (34) configured to convert the first wavelength of the excitation light beam emitted from the light source (21) into a light beam having a second wavelength different from the first wavelength; a bracket (46 and/or 25) configured to hold the heat generation member (34), the heat generation member (34) being stationary; a casing (40) having an opening penetrating through the casing (40), the casing (40) accommodating the light source (21), the heat generation member (34), and the bracket (46 and/or 25), and the bracket (46 and/or 25) being fixed to an inside of the casing (40); and a cooling member (28 and/or 35) connected to the bracket (46 and/or 25), the cooling member (28 and/or 35) configured to: cool the heat generation member (34) via the bracket (46 and/or 25); and seal the opening.
Regarding claim 10, Iwashita teaches a light source (21) device comprising: a light source (21) configured to emit an excitation light beam having a first wavelength; a heat generation member (34) configured to convert the first wavelength of the excitation light beam emitted from the light source (21) into a light beam having a second wavelength different from the first wavelength; a bracket (46 and/or 25) having a hole and configured to hold the heat generation member (34); a casing (40) having an opening penetrating through the casing (40), the casing (40) accommodating the light source (21), the heat generation member (34), and the bracket (46 and/or 25), and the bracket (46 and/or 25) being fixed to an inside of the casing (40); and a cooling member (28 and/or 35) penetrating through the hole and couple to the heat generation member (34), the cooling member (28 and/or 35) configured to: cool the heat generation member (34); and seal the opening.
Regarding claim 11, Iwashita further teaches a heat conduction member (35) between the heat generation member (34) and the cooling member (28 and/or 35).
Regarding claim 17, Iwashita further teaches the heat conduction member (35) contacts all of the heat generation member (34), the bracket (46 and/or 25) and the cooling member (28 and/or 35; Fig. 4-5).
Regarding claim 18, Iwashita further teaches the heat generation member (34), the heat conduction member (35) and the cooling member (28) are arranged in order along a first direction (Fig. 4-5).
Regarding claim 19, Iwashita further teaches the bracket (46 and/or 25) and the heat conduction member (35) are arranged in order along a second direction different from the first direction (Fig. 4-5).
Regarding claims 16 and 20, Iwashita further teaches an elastic member (59) between the casing (40) and the cooling member (28 and/or 35); and a screw (13) fixing the bracket (46 and/or 25) and the cooling member (28 and/or 35; Fig. 4).
Claim Rejections - AIA 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-7, 9, 12, and 13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Masuda (US 20160291449 A1) in view of Kobayashi (US 20190049829 A1) and in further view of Chikayama (US 20170192346 A1).
Regarding claim 1, Masuda teaches a light source (10) device comprising: a light source (10) configured to emit an excitation light beam having a first wavelength; a heat generation member (30) configured to convert the first wavelength of the excitation light beam emitted from the light source (10) into a light beam having a second wavelength different from the first wavelength; a substrate (32) to which the heat generation member (30) is attached; a motor (33) configured to rotate the substrate (32); a casing (5) having an opening (Fig. 5) penetrating through the casing (5), the casing (5) accommodating the light source (10), the heat generation member (30), and the substrate (32); and a cooling member (74) configured to: cool the heat generation member (30) and seal the opening.
Masuda does not explicitly teach a bracket configured to hold the motor (33);
Kobayashi teaches a bracket (111 and/or 115) having a hole and configured to hold the motor (112) or the heat generation member (113) where the casing (housing of 100) having an opening ([0035]) penetrating through the casing (housing of 100), the casing (housing of 100) accommodating the light source (101, 102, 103), the heat generation member (113), the substrate (113), and the bracket (111 and/or 115); and the substrate holder (111) seals the opening (Fig. 1).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skills in the art at the time of the invention to combine Masuda with Kobayashi such that the cooling member connected to the bracket, the cooling member configured to: cool the heat generation member via the bracket and seal the opening; because Kobayashi provides a mechanism for attaching the cooling member to the substrate.
Neither Masuda nor Kobayashi teaches the bracket (120) being fixed to an inside of the casing (101).
Chikayama teaches a bracket (120) having a hole and configured to hold the motor (34) or the heat generation member (30) wherein the bracket (120) being fixed to an inside of the casing (101).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skills in the art at the time of the invention to Masuda and Kobayashi with Chikayama; because it improves the stability of the motor.
Regarding claim 2, the combination of Masuda, Kobayashi and Chikayama consequently results in an elastic member (204 Kobayashi) between the casing (5 of Masuda) and the cooling member (74 of Masuda); and a screw ([0032]) fixing the bracket and the cooling member (74 of Masuda).
Regarding claim 3, the combination of Masuda, Kobayashi and Chikayama consequently results in an elastic member (204 of Kobayashi) between the casing (5 of Masuda) and the cooling member (74 of Masuda); and a screw ([0032] of Kobayahsi) fixing the casing (5 of Masuda) and the cooling member (74 of Masuda).
Regarding claim 4, Kobayashi further teaches using screws to attach different parts of the casing and bracket together. Neither Masuda nor Kobayashi explicitly teach the screw penetrates the casing, the elastic member, and the cooling member to fix the cooling member to the casing.
Having the screw penetrating the casing, the elastic member, and the cooling member to fix the cooling member to the casing is a matter of common sense; hence it is prima facie obvious.
Regarding claims 5, 6 and 9, Masuda further teaches a heat conduction member (73) to transfer heat from the phosphor (30) and/or the motor (33) to the cooling member (74).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skills in the art at the time of the invention to place the heat conduction member (73 of Masuda) between the bracket (111 and/or 115 of Kobayashi) and the cooling member (74 Masuda) or between the motor (33 of Masuda), which is a part of the heat generation member (30 of Masuda), and the bracket (111 and/or 115 of Kobayashi); because it is a matter of common sense.
Regarding claim 7, Masuda further teaches a display apparatus (Fig. 7) comprising: the light source (10) device according to claim 1; an image generation panel (95) configured to generate an image from a light beam emitted from the light source (10) device; and a projection optical system (98) configured to project the image.
Regarding claim 12, Masuda further teaches a heat conduction member (73) to transfer heat from the phosphor (30) and/or the motor (33) to the cooling member (74).
Niether Masuda, Kobayashi, nor Chikayama teaches a first heat conduction member between the bracket and the cooling member, the first heat conduction member contacting both the bracket and the cooling member; and a second heat conduction member between the motor and the bracket, the second heat conduction member contacting both the motor and the bracket.
Having a first heat conduction member between the bracket and the cooling member, the first heat conduction member contacting both the bracket and the cooling member; and a second heat conduction member between the motor and the bracket, the second heat conduction member contacting both the motor and the bracket amount to combining prior art elements according to known methods to yield predictable results. Combining prior art elements according to known methods to yield predictable results is prima facie obvious. KSR Int'l Co. v. Teleflex, Inc., 550 U.S. 398 (2007).
Regarding claim 13, the consequently of the having the first and second conduction members necessarily results in the motor, the first heat conduction member, the bracket, the second heat conduction member and the cooling member are arranged in order along a first direction.
Claims 14 and 15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Iwashita in view of Nagahara (US 20140375970 A1).
Regarding claim 14, Iwashita does not explicitly teach a first heat conduction member interposed between the bracket and the heat generation member, the first heat conduction member contacting both the bracket and the heat generation member; and a second heat conduction member interposed between the cooling member and the bracket, the second heat conduction member contacting both the cooling member and the bracket.
Nagahara teaches having thermal grease, a heat dissipation sheet, an adhesive agent, or the like interposing between the heat generation and heat dissipation components ([0033]).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skills in the art at the time of the invention to having first and second heat conduction members as claimed as taught Nagahara; because it enhances heat dissipation efficiency. Furthermore, combining prior art elements according to known methods to yield predictable results is prima facie obvious. KSR Int'l Co. v. Teleflex, Inc., 550 U.S. 398 (2007).
Regarding claim 15, having the first and second heat conduction member as in claim 14 necessarily results in the heat generation member, the first heat conduction member, the bracket, the second heat conduction member and the cooling member are arranged in order along a first direction.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments with respect to claims 1 and 8 have been considered but are moot in view of the new ground(s) of rejection necessitated by the amendment/s of claim 1.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
Any response to this action should be mailed to:
Commissioner for Patents
P.O. Box 1450
Alexandria, Virginia 22313-1450
Or faxed to:
(571) 273-8300, (for formal communications intended for entry)
Or:
(571) 273-7490, (for informal or draft communications, please label “PROPOSED” or “DRAFT”)
Hand-delivered responses should be brought to:
Customer Service Window
Randolph Building
401 Dulany Street
Alexandria, VA 22314
/BAO-LUAN Q LE/
Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2882