DETAILED ACTION
Response to Arguments
Rejections under 35 USC 112(b)
Applicant’s remarks, with respect to the rejection under 35 USC 112(b) have been fully considered. The amendment to claim 15 overcomes the antecedent basis problem. The rejection under 35 USC 112(b) has been withdrawn.
Rejections under 35 USC 103
The amendment to claim 1 overcomes the rejection of claim 1 under 35 USC 103. Therefore, the rejection has been withdrawn. However, upon further consideration, a new ground(s) of rejection is made in view of Ibrahim, et. al. (EP 3444181 A1).
Priority
Acknowledgment is made of applicant’s claim for foreign priority under 35 U.S.C. 119 (a)-(d) filed on 09/15/2022. Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-2, 6-7 and 9-10, 12-13, and 16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wu, et. al. (US 20220062460 A1), hereinafter Wu in view of Gil (US 20120045363 A1) and Ibrahim, et. al. (EP 3444181 A1), hereinafter Ibrahim.
Regarding claim 1, Wu teaches a floor covering for an aircraft interior (intended use) (self-sanitizing structure that includes a body having a contact surface that can be contacted by a person, Abstract, [0002]-[0003], [0082] teaches surfaces of an airplane cabin, Fig. 1, Figs. 2, Fig. 4, Figs. 9-11), comprising:
a substrate (upper body 108, Figs. 3, 4, 8, 10, [0084]);
a plurality of lights distributed across the surface of the substrate (Figs. 3, 4, 8, 10); and
at least one sensor configured to detect the presence of an object on the substrate (local sensors 126 in Fig. 3, [0105]);
wherein at least one of the plurality of UV lights emits UV radiation when the at least one sensor detects the presence of an object on the substrate ([0073], [0079], [0105]-[0106], [0125]-[0126], [0146], [0152]).
Wu does not teach that the lights are UV lights. Wu does not teach wherein the substrate comprises a plurality of holes through the substrate and the plurality of UV lights are situated in the plurality of holes.
Gil teaches UV lights (UV-C radiation, [0007]).
Ibrahim teaches wherein the substrate (cover sheet 106, [0057], Fig. 6) comprises a plurality of holes (multiple holes 336, [0057]) through the substrate and the plurality of lights are situated in the plurality of holes (light sources 112 may extend at least partially in corresponding hole 336, [0057]).
Gil modifies the combination by suggesting using UV lights. Ibrahim modifies the combination by suggesting holes that extend all the way through the substrate, with a plurality of lights situated in the plurality of holes
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the teachings of Pierre because UV-C radiation is a unique and rapid method of surface disinfection that is lethal to bacteria, virus, pathogens, and other microorganisms, (Gil, [0006]). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the teachings of Ibrahim because such a configuration allows light from the corresponding light source to travel through the corresponding hole to provide lighting effects to the layers above (Ibrahim, [0057]).
Regarding claim 6, Wu teaches wherein the lights are configured to act as a germicide ([0002] sanitizing electromagnetic radiation, [0071], [0088]).
Wu does not teach that the lights are UV lights.
Gil teaches UV lights (UV-C radiation, [0007]).
Gil modifies the combination by suggesting using UV lights.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the teachings of Pierre because UV-C radiation is a unique and rapid method of surface disinfection that is lethal to bacteria, virus, pathogens, and other microorganisms, (Gil, [0006]).
Regarding claim 7, Wu teaches wherein the plurality of lights comprise light emitting diodes (Fig. 10).
Wu does not teach that the lights are UV lights.
Gil teaches UV lights (UV-C radiation, [0007]).
Gil modifies the combination by suggesting using UV lights.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the teachings of Pierre because UV-C radiation is a unique and rapid method of surface disinfection that is lethal to bacteria, virus, pathogens, and other microorganisms, (Gil, [0006]).
Regarding claim 9, Wu teaches wherein the sensor is configured to detect the force of an object on the substrate ([0105], [0126]).
Regarding claim 10, Wu does not explicitly teach wherein the object is a foot or footwear.
Gil teaches wherein the object is a foot or footwear (bottom of footwear including shoes, athletic shoes, socks and sandals, [0015]).
Gil modifies the combination by suggesting that the object is footwear.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the teachings of Gil because shoes contain viruses and bacteria that can be eliminated/sterilized, (Gil, Abstract).
Regarding claim 12, Wu teaches wherein the lights are configured to cease emitting radiation after a particular period of time has elapsed ([0007], [0008], [0141], Fig. 17D).
Wu does not teach that the lights are UV lights/ UV radiatio.
Gil teaches UV lights/UV radiation (UV-C radiation, [0007]).
Gil modifies the combination by suggesting using UV lights that emit UV-C radiation.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the teachings of Pierre because UV-C radiation is a unique and rapid method of surface disinfection that is lethal to bacteria, virus, pathogens, and other microorganisms, (Gil, [0006]).
Regarding claim 13, Wu teaches wherein the power source is connected to the plurality of UV lights and is arranged to energize the plurality of lights (local or remote power source 122/160, [0097]-[0098]).
Wu does not teach that the lights are UV lights.
Gil teaches UV lights (UV-C radiation, [0007]).
Gil modifies the combination by suggesting using UV lights.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the teachings of Pierre because UV-C radiation is a unique and rapid method of surface disinfection that is lethal to bacteria, virus, pathogens, and other microorganisms, (Gil, [0006]).
Regarding claim 16, Wu teaches a floor covering for an aircraft interior (intended use) (self-sanitizing structure that includes a body having a contact surface that can be contacted by a person, Abstract, [0002]-[0003], [0082] teaches surfaces of an airplane cabin, Fig. 1, Figs. 2, Fig. 4, Figs. 9-11), comprising:
a substrate (upper body 108, Figs. 3, 4, 8, 10, [0084]);
a plurality of lights distributed across the surface of the substrate (Figs. 3, 4, 8, 10); and
at least one sensor configured to detect the presence of an object on the substrate (local sensors 126 in Fig. 3, [0105]);
wherein at least one of the plurality of UV lights emits UV radiation when the at least one sensor detects the presence of an object on the substrate ([0073], [0079], [0105]-[0106], [0125]-[0126], [0146], [0152]), and
wherein the plurality of lights form a mesh with the substrate (Fig. 10 shows that the LED light array is integrated with the upper body 108 so as to form a mesh).
Wu does not teach that the lights are UV lights.
Gil teaches UV lights (UV-C radiation, [0007]).
Gil modifies Wu by suggesting using UV lights.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the teachings of Pierre because UV-C radiation is a unique and rapid method of surface disinfection that is lethal to bacteria, virus, pathogens, and other microorganisms, (Gil, [0006]).
Claim 8 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wu (US 20220062460 A1), in view of Gil (US 20120045363 A1) and Ibrahim (EP 3444181 A1), further in view of Rosenbaum (US 20220040352 A1).
Regarding claim 8, Wu in view of Gil does not teach wherein the plurality of UV lights are coupled to a plurality of fibre optic cables.
Rosenbaum teaches wherein the plurality of UV lights are coupled to a plurality of fibre optic cables ([0007]).
Rosenbaum modifies the combination by suggesting the plurality of UV lights are coupled to a plurality of fiber optic cables.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the teachings of Rosenbaum because the fiber optic cable allows UV light having a wavelength of 200-250 nm to be emitted along the fiber optic cable (Rosenbaum, [0007]).
Claim 11 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wu (US 20220062460 A1), in view of Gil (US 20120045363 A1) and Ibrahim (EP 3444181 A1), further in view of Pierre, et. al. (Pierre, Danielle. What is the SteriShoe UV Shoe Sanitizer. SteriShoe. https://sterishoe.com/2020/10/17/what-is-the-sterishoe-uv-shoe-sanitizer/?srsltid=AfmBOor0g9jXoRPpim-gT7nVI_XrinXay2x4R46iqYbAP55WZdcnoZFg. October 17 2020.), hereinafter Pierre.
Regarding claim 11, Wu in view of Gil does not explicitly teach wherein the UV lights are configured to cease emitting UV radiation when the at least one sensor detects that the object is no longer present on the substrate.
Pierre teaches wherein the UV lights are configured to cease emitting UV radiation when the at least one sensor detects that the object is no longer present on the substrate (see section “Completely Safe Technology”, subsection “Compression Sensor” which teaches that when the SteriShoe is compressed inside the shoe, the UVC light turns on in response, and then when the SteriShoe is removed from the shoe, the UVC light turns off in response).
Pierre modifies the combination by suggesting utilizing a compression sensor to detect when the footwear is removed from the substrate of the floor covering and consequently ceasing the UV light from being emitted.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the teachings of Pierre because doing so prevents people from coming into direct contact with UVC light as a safety feature, (Pierre, see section “Completely Safe Technology”).
Claim 14 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wu (US 20220062460 A1), in view of Gil (US 20120045363 A1) and Ibrahim (EP 3444181 A1), further in view of Shukri (US 20210386886 A1).
Regarding claim 14, Wu does not teach wherein the power source is a solar cell.
Shukri teaches wherein the power source is a solar cell ([0027]).
Shukri modifies the combination by suggesting the power source is a solar cell.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the teachings of Shukri because solar cell can act as a source of power for a UV spectrum laser emitter (Shukri, [0027]).
Claim 15 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wu (US 20220062460 A1), in view of Gil (US 20120045363 A1) and Ibrahim (EP 3444181 A1), further in view of Childress, et. al. (US 20220111087 A1), hereinafter Childress.
Regarding claim 15, Wu does not teach wherein the power source is a battery of the aircraft.
Childress teaches wherein the power source is a battery of the aircraft ([0111], [0167], [0010]).
Childress modifies the combination by suggesting the power source is a battery of the aircraft.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the teachings of Childress because a battery supplies power and is able to be recharged (Childress, [0111]).
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
LAURA E TANDY
Examiner
Art Unit 2881
/WYATT A STOFFA/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2881