DETAILED ACTION
Application Status
This Non-Final action is in response to applicant’s amendment of 01/13/2026. Claims 1, 3-12, and 14-22 are examined and pending. Claims 2 and 13 are cancelled.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to the rejection(s) under 35 U.S.C. § 103 have been fully considered and are persuasive. Examiner notes that applicant specifically argue that deficiency was made in the rejection and that the latest claims on record were not the claims being rejected. Examiner agree and therefore updated the rejection of record. See rejection(s) below.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 3-12, and 14-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Tran (US 20210108926 A1) in view of Mielenz (US 20200201341 A1).
With respect to claim 1, Tran discloses a method comprising: generating, by one or more processors, a trajectory for an autonomous vehicle to traverse in order to follow a route to a destination (see at least [0072], [0114], and [0135]); identifying, by the one or more processors, an area through which the trajectory traverses (see at least [0069], [0072], [0112], [0114], and [0135]); determining, by the one or more processors, a reasonable penetration of the autonomous vehicle into the area based on the trajectory (see at least [0124]);
However, Tran do not specifically disclose determining a closest distance between the autonomous vehicle and an edge of the area according to the trajectory; and controlling, by the one or more processors, the autonomous vehicle in an autonomous driving mode according to the trajectory based on the determined closest distance.
Mielenz teaches determining a closest distance between the autonomous vehicle and an edge of the area according to the trajectory (see at least [0020], [0041-0044], and [0061-0063], Mielenz teaches determining or calculating how much to use of the area 103 which could be a sidewalk and as described in paragraphs 0061-0063 the vehicle can not pass exclusively using the area 103 and therefore at least partially of the area is used (at least used with two wheels of the vehicle), this implicitly teaches, that a distance is being maintained from an outer boundary of the sidewalk due to vehicle width and bottleneck area.); and controlling, by the one or more processors, the autonomous vehicle in an autonomous driving mode according to the trajectory based on the determined closest distance (see at least [0020], [0041-0044], and [0061-0063]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to have modified Tran, with a reasonable expectation of success to incorporate the teachings of Mielenz of determining a closest distance between the autonomous vehicle and an edge of the area according to the trajectory; and controlling, by the one or more processors, the autonomous vehicle in an autonomous driving mode according to the trajectory based on the determined closest distance. This would be done to safely locate the vehicle in a final pose taking into account prohibited areas and objects on the prohibited areas (see Mielenz para 0004).
With respect to claim 3, Tran discloses wherein the area is identified from predefined information and corresponds to an area within which the autonomous vehicle should avoid stopping (see at least [0069], [0072], [0112], [0114-0118], [0124], [00131-0133], [0135], and [0137-0143]).
With respect to claim 4, Tran discloses wherein the area is defined as a line having a pair of endpoints (see at least [0069], [0072], [0112], [0114], [0124], [0135], and [0137-0143]).
With respect to claim 5, Tran discloses wherein the area is defined as a polygon having three or more edges (see at least [0117], [0122], [0144], and [0183]).
With respect to claim 6, Tran discloses wherein the area is identified by the autonomous vehicle in real time (see at least [0075-0076]).
With respect to claim 7, Tran discloses wherein the area includes a railroad crossing (see at least [0124] and [Claim 10]).
With respect to claim 8, Tran discloses wherein the area includes a crosswalk (see at least [0074], [0109], [0124], [0140], and [0177]).
With respect to claim 9, Tran discloses wherein the area includes an intersection (see at least [0137-0138], [0141-0142], and [0144-0145]).
With respect to claim 10, Tran discloses wherein the area includes a lane of traffic (see at least [0014], [0074], [0077], and [0140]).
With respect to claim 11, Tran discloses wherein the area includes a no stopping zone (see at least [0074], [0109], [0115], [0122], and [0140]).
With respect to claims 12, 14, 15, 16, 17, 18, and 19, they are system claims that recite substantially the same limitations as the respective method claims 1, 3, 7, 8, 9, 10, and 11. As such, claims 12, 14, 15, 16, 17, 18, and 19 are rejected for substantially the same reasons given for the respective method claims 1, 3, 7, 8, 9, 10, and 11 and are incorporated herein.
With respect to claim 20, Tran discloses the system comprising the autonomous vehicle (see at least [0027], [0066], and [0119]).
Inquiry
/ABDALLA A KHALED/Examiner, Art Unit 3667