DETAILED ACTION
Application Status
This Non-Final action is in response to applicant’s amendment of 04/07/2025. Claims 1-20 are examined and pending. Claims 1-3 and 12-14 are currently amended.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to the rejection(s) under 35 U.S.C. § 103 have been fully considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference(s) applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Tran (US 20210108926 A1) in view of Mielenz (US 20200201341 A1).
With respect to claim 1, Tran discloses a method comprising: generating, by one or more processors, a trajectory for an autonomous vehicle to traverse in order to follow a route to a destination (see at least [0072], [0114], and [0135]); identifying, by the one or more processors, an area through which the trajectory traverses (see at least [0069], [0072], [0112], [0114], and [0135]); determining, by the one or more processors, a reasonable penetration of the autonomous vehicle into the area based on the trajectory (see at least [0124]);
However, Tran do not specifically disclose an amount of penetration of the autonomous vehicle into the area based on the trajectory; and controlling, by the one or more processors, the autonomous vehicle in an autonomous driving mode according to the trajectory based on the determined amount of penetration of the autonomous vehicle into the area.
Mielenz teaches an amount of penetration of the autonomous vehicle into the area based on the trajectory (see at least [0020], [0041-0044], and [0061-0063]); and controlling, by the one or more processors, the autonomous vehicle in an autonomous driving mode according to the trajectory based on the determined amount of penetration of the autonomous vehicle into the area (see at least [0020], [0041-0044], and [0061-0063]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to have modified Tran, with a reasonable expectation of success to incorporate the teachings of Mielenz of determining an amount of penetration of the autonomous vehicle into the area based on the trajectory; and controlling, by the one or more processors, the autonomous vehicle in an autonomous driving mode according to the trajectory based on the determined amount of penetration of the autonomous vehicle into the area. This would be done to safely locate the vehicle in a final pose taking into account prohibited areas and objects on the prohibited areas (see Mielenz para 0004).
With respect to claim 2, Tran discloses wherein the determined amount of penetration of the autonomous vehicle into the area corresponds to how close the autonomous vehicle is to an edge of the area (see at least [0069], [0072], [0112], [0114], [0124], [0135], and [0137-0143]).
With respect to claim 3, Tran discloses wherein the area is identified from predefined information and corresponds to an area within which the autonomous vehicle should avoid stopping (see at least [0069], [0072], [0112], [0114-0118], [0124], [00131-0133], [0135], and [0137-0143]).
With respect to claim 4, Tran discloses wherein the area is defined as a line having a pair of endpoints (see at least [0069], [0072], [0112], [0114], [0124], [0135], and [0137-0143]).
With respect to claim 5, Tran discloses wherein the area is defined as a polygon having three or more edges (see at least [0117], [0122], [0144], and [0183]).
With respect to claim 6, Tran discloses wherein the area is identified by the autonomous vehicle in real time (see at least [0075-0076]).
With respect to claim 7, Tran discloses wherein the area includes a railroad crossing (see at least [0124] and [Claim 10]).
With respect to claim 8, Tran discloses wherein the area includes a crosswalk (see at least [0074], [0109], [0124], [0140], and [0177]).
With respect to claim 9, Tran discloses wherein the area includes an intersection (see at least [0137-0138], [0141-0142], and [0144-0145]).
With respect to claim 10, Tran discloses wherein the area includes a lane of traffic (see at least [0014], [0074], [0077], and [0140]).
With respect to claim 11, Tran discloses wherein the area includes a no stopping zone (see at least [0074], [0109], [0115], [0122], and [0140]).
With respect to claims 12, 13, 14, 15, 16, 17, 18, and 19, they are system claims that recite substantially the same limitations as the respective method claims 1, 2, 3, 7, 8, 9, 10, and 11. As such, claims 12, 13, 14, 15, 16, 17, 18, and 19 are rejected for substantially the same reasons given for the respective method claims 1, 2, 3, 7, 8, 9, 10, and 11 and are incorporated herein.
With respect to claim 20, Tran discloses the system comprising the autonomous vehicle (see at least [0027], [0066], and [0119]).
Inquiry
/ABDALLA A KHALED/Examiner, Art Unit 3667